FB Twitter

Saxford Barn

Saxford Barn

4.4
out of 5
Ratings from 49 reviews
98% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.4
Comfort
4.4
Condition
4.2
Location
4.2
Value
4.3
Customer
Service
4.8


Saxford Barn comprises of an entrance hall, ground floor cloak room, large lounge with colour TV, DVD player and CD player; luxury fitted kitchen with full size fridge/freezer, washing machine, oven and hob and dishwasher along with all crockery, cutlery, cooking utensils etc. Dining table and chairs at one end of the kitchen with French doors to the courtyard. The first floor has four bedrooms, one family room with one double bed and one single bed with en-suite shower room containing shower cubicle, basin and W/C, two twin bedrooms share the house bathroom which has bath with over head shower, basin and W/C. The master bedroom containing one double and one single bed has en-suite luxury bathroom, containing bath with overhead shower, his and hers basins and W C. There are two single sofa beds in the lounge area.

One hot tub is located at the property and included in the price

All bed linen and one bath towel per person included - extra towels for the hot tub are not provided.

Great hen weekend

Review submitted on Fri, 17 May 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed for a hen weekend. The whole booking process was easy and it was great to be able to ring and speak to the ladies in the office to get help and advice, and we booked an additional activity through them too. No matter who I spoke to in the office, they were organised and friendly and knew the details of my booking. The house was great - so clean and ideal for what we needed. We found everything we needed in the kitchen which was fully stocked and the bathrooms were fitted to a really high standard as well. Plenty space and comfort for all 12 of us and we had a fantastic time, spending a lot of the weekend in the house.
The cocktail making class was brilliant - Yrena was a really nice balance of relaxed, funny and interesting and she pitched it just right for the tone of the hen do. Everyone really enjoyed the class!


Alison from Ormskirk stayed at Saxford Barn for 2 nights in May 2019


Fantastic house for a group lots of room, great facilities

Review submitted on Wed, 08 May 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The only negative is there are lots of rules around the house so it’s not as relaxing as it could be

Paula from stayed at Saxford Barn for 2 nights in May 2019


Great place for group bookings

Review submitted on Wed, 17 Apr 2019
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
This is a great venue for large groups. Comfortable slept a group of 10, with room for all to enjoy a weekend away.

Brilliantly placed closed to York for a day or night out.


Guest from Dunstable stayed at Saxford Barn for 2 nights in April 2019


Hen party

Review submitted on Fri, 21 Sep 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fantastic location and excellent accommodation. Clean and spacious with everything you need for a great stay. Couldn’t recommend enough!! Perfect weekend. Thanks

Guest from Ossett stayed at Saxford Barn for 2 nights in September 2018


Hen party

Review submitted on Mon, 20 Aug 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A group of 10 of us stayed at saxford barn last weekend and we all had an amazing weekend. The accommodation was great and the hot tub just topped it off! The location was about 15 minuite taxi journey into the centre of york but no one complained as they loved the space and size of the barn! I would recommend this to anyone organising a large group weekend away as they were always there to get hold of if you needed them and provided me loads of Informatiin about the accomodation! Overall it was a fantastic weekend and everyone who went said they would go back there again.

Georgina from Tonbridge stayed at Saxford Barn for 2 nights in August 2018


A fabulous experience for a hen party!

Review submitted on Mon, 30 Jul 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Sanford Barn was fabulous! It provided everything we needed for our hen weekend! The hot tub was a big hit with all the hens and everyone said how lovely the house was! There were lots of leaflets to support you with your stay and recommendations for you to visit!

The courtyard provided your own private space and you are not overlooked by anyone whilst in there!

The accommodation is located just 4 miles out of the centre, so a 15 min car journey in! :)

I would highly recommend this place to anyone looking for a hen cottage as it was a big thumbs up from all of the hens and the bride to be!!!

Thank you Saxford Barn!!!


Jessica from Burton On Trent stayed at Saxford Barn for 2 nights in July 2018


Fabulous place to stay for a Hen Party

Review submitted on Mon, 18 Jun 2018
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have had an excellent stay at Saxford Barn! Perfect house for a hen party!! The kitchen with hot tub right outside is perfect to host the party!!
Located in a housing estate but we had no issues with this at all. Great location for the races and town.
Check in was super easy and the communication from the staff was great. Stress free from start to finish.
Would recommend this to anyone wanting a base for an excellent weekend!


Kate from Ashbourne stayed at Saxford Barn for 2 nights in June 2018


Perfect for a Hen Weekend

Review submitted on Tue, 29 May 2018
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fabulous house with plenty of storage, room and bathrooms!

Location roughly 20 minutes away from York centre (£14 in a taxi) however very close to a pub.
It is in a residentail area but that did not cause any problems apart from residents parking across the enterence of the barn doors. This did cause an issues as the enterance into the courtyard is extremly tight and you need as much room as possible to get a good enough swing. Although we did manage to get four cars inside, with one being a KIA sportage.
Customer service was excellent, we had an issue with the jets in the hot tub, I emailed on the evening and somebody cae round first thing in the morning to fix it.

The rooms are a decent size but beds could be upgraded.
Some of the fixtures and fittings are loose, which made me worry as I could of been charged for them even though they were like that when I arrived.

Overall, very happy with my stay and would recommend.


Francesca from Manchester stayed at Saxford Barn for 2 nights in May 2018


Stay at Saxford Barn York

Review submitted on Mon, 16 Apr 2018
3.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We enjoyed our stay at Saxford Barn. It was a good distance from York centre and the courtyard parking worked well.
Guests were impressed by the number of bathrooms and happy with their bedrooms which were all clean and a good size.
Some areas or the barn could be improved ...
.The lounge seemed very dark, and for that reason many of us congregated in the kitchen area.
This room could possibly benefit from some more lamps or wall hangings to make it feel a little cosier - and would give it a bit more of a 'rural barny feel'.
. A bed under the window in the tripple bedroom above the courtyard gates is actually quite dangerous... On two occasions girls who went to sit on the end of the bed, actually fell through, as the slats which had been clearly previously broken, hadn't had their rubber stoppers replaced, meaning that they were sliding around and could drop under the bed frame - please look at this to avoid future accidents.

We were overall happy with our stay and would recommend the accomodation and Villa Farm holidays .

Thank you


Jessica from stayed at Saxford Barn for 2 nights in April 2018


Hen Party

Review submitted on Mon, 05 Mar 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We recently stayed here for a hen party as a group of 10.

The cottage was very clean upon arrival, and we were relieved to know that we could put up decorations (as some rentals don’t allow this).

The location was good, a 15 minutes drive into York City Centre. The minibus which was recommended were very accomadating despite us not pre-booking, the only thing I would say is pre-book all journeys before your visit JUST IN CASE they are fully booked.

There was plenty of cutlery, pans and dishes for all of us. There was no salt and pepper (who remembers to pack those things?!) so just remember to take them!

The beds were comfortable and clean. The hot tub was fantastic and sooooo warm! And it stayed warm for the whole time we were there- some hot tubs go cool after a couple of hours.

I would definitely recommend booking Villa Farm for any other hen do or large group.


Kimberley from Chorley stayed at Saxford Barn for 2 nights in February 2018


great group accomodation

Review submitted on Tue, 27 Feb 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
we stayed in Saxford Barn for a hen weekend. The accomodation was perfect - plenty of room for everyone to stay and great communal areas. Hot tub was fab too. Couldn't fault the accomodation and would definitely stay again.
We booked the muni bus that was in the wwlcome file and the service was fantastic. We booked every trip into and home from the city centre with them.
Would defo recommend!!


Claire from Holyhead stayed at Saxford Barn for 2 nights in February 2018


Hen do weekend

Review submitted on Mon, 19 Feb 2018
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Brilliant weekend! Thank you!
Spacious, clean barn with good facilities. We also booked Salsa dancing, cocktail master class and taxis into York.
All excellent activites and brilliant service using the party organiser offered.
I would highly recommend all of the above!


Guest from Lincoln stayed at Saxford Barn for 2 nights in February 2018


Great new year break

Review submitted on Wed, 03 Jan 2018
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Second stay with this company and it has been excellent customer service through out .
Saxford Barn is located in a great village. We would definitely be looking to stay there again !


Claire from Tyne and Wear stayed at Saxford Barn for 3 nights in December 2017


Christmas stay at Saxford Barn

Review submitted on Wed, 27 Dec 2017
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Saxford Barn is lovely & spacious & the hot tub was great.
We all really enjoyed our time at the barn & thought it was good value for the money.
Our age group ranged from 19 to 74 & some of us found the beds not very comfortable & the bed settees were very uncomfortable. It was very difficult cooking a Christmas meal for 11 with a single oven & we found the cutlery & pans to be of very poor quality.
However overall we loved our stay there.


Christina from York stayed at Saxford Barn for 2 nights in December 2017


Great base for shopping weekend

Review submitted on Mon, 04 Dec 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The saXcode barn is a great Se for a trip to york with friends. Spacious clean well equipped and a short bus ride into york centre - brilliant way to avoid driving. We ate in the. Ill age pub in wiggington which was very good and made use of the hot tub to relax after a hard day at the shops. Would definitely recommend .

Barbara from Hexham stayed at Saxford Barn for 2 nights in November 2017


York Races

Review submitted on Mon, 28 Aug 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Barn was clean,tidy,spacious and outside had its own private courtyard with Hot Tub.
The Whitehorse pub (excellent Lager and food ) and village store(opens 6 am and sells racing posts) are both within 500 yards.
Taxi to races only £18
This all made for a relaxing few days in perfect surroundings close to York


Guest from stayed at Saxford Barn for 3 nights in August 2017


Perfect for a group of hens

Review submitted on Mon, 21 Aug 2017
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed at Saxford Barn for 2 nights for a hen do. It offered exactly what we needed with a large kitchen and living room space plus the added luxury of the hot tub. All the facilities were good, plenty of glasses, the most essential thing! The team of staff at villa farms were also really helpful with any enquiries we had.

The location was good, but bring in a residential area, we were aware of our noise levels.

The only areas for improvement would be more mirrors in all the bedrooms to help girls get ready. Also a few of the mattresses were quite squeaky, but for such a short stay it really wasn't a major issue.


Rebecca from Birmingham stayed at Saxford Barn for 2 nights in August 2017


Hen Weekend with the Geordie Girls

Review submitted on Mon, 07 Aug 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Absolutely top notch from start to finish! Three course meal and cocktail making class were superb. We will definitely be back!

Laura from South Sheilds stayed at Saxford Barn for 2 nights in August 2017


Weekend at the races

Review submitted on Mon, 17 Jul 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Stayed at the Saxford Barn for 2 nights with a group of 9. Very easy to find and parking was fine even with a 9 seat van locked away in the courtyard. The house itself is spacious and had everything that was needed to make our trip perfect! Large dinning room comfy beds and decent showers. The hot tub is an excellent feature where we chilled and had a BBQ ( which is big enough to feed 9 lads)
If you are looking for a place to stay close to York for groups then it is highly recommended .


Sam from Colchester stayed at Saxford Barn for 2 nights in July 2017


Would recommend

Review submitted on Tue, 11 Jul 2017
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Had a brilliant weekend spent with good friends. Lovely area would definitely recommend and definitely would return...

Lisa from Billingham stayed at Saxford Barn for 2 nights in July 2017


Weekend at the Saxford Barn

Review submitted on Mon, 26 Jun 2017
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We really enjoyed our stay at Saxford Barn. We would have liked some additional comfy seating outside .
We thought the fridge was not really big enough for 12. The selection of crockery and glasses was more than adequate.
Also the BBQ was fantastic and well presented.
We would definately stay again.


Louise from Dewsbury stayed at Saxford Barn for 2 nights in June 2017


Very pleasant stay and great for a large party

Review submitted on Mon, 08 May 2017
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
3.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I booked Saxford Barn for a hen party with 11 others. Booking the barn was very easy and the communication with the company was excellent. Somebody always answered my e mails very quickly.
The location of the barn is near to York. It is in the middle of a residential area so parking is difficult for a large party. although we tried to be as quiet as possible, we booked the barn for a hen party but we didn't feel we could play music in fear of disturbing the local residents. The hot tub was a great asset to the property. Overall I would highly recommend the barn perhaps not for a party in case of noise pollution.


Jennifer from Ilkley stayed at Saxford Barn for 2 nights in May 2017


Brilliant!

Review submitted on Mon, 03 Apr 2017
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Brilliant place to stay! Clean, comfy beds, spacious. The only down side was the internet connection was only good in the living room. We couldn't get any coverage in the kitchen.

Vivien from Leeds stayed at Saxford Barn for 2 nights in March 2017


Hen Weekend in Comfort

Review submitted on Mon, 13 Mar 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed as Saxford Barn for a hen weekend. It was in a perfect location for those that wanted to have a little explore with some local shops. We booked some of the party packages available through the website and when I asked about afternoon tea options in the area Villa Farms event organiser Sarah was more than helpful in organising this for us too. We had an awesome time and the barn was very clean and you could tell it is well looked after. My aunty suffers with a bad back but there were no complaints about the beds and she said how comfy they were. We also had someone who was Gluten Free and the catering contacts that villa farm use where so accommodating and we had one very happy Gluten Free party member who said she usually struggles with the lack of options available but the caterers got it bang on and she was one very happy lady as were we all. From the BBQ on the Friday night through to afternoon tea and cocktails on the Saturday we couldn't fault a thing and the Hen had a wonderful time. Big thank you for the efforts and organisational help from such friendly staff at Villa Farm. Highly Recommended.

Victoria from Warrington stayed at Saxford Barn for 2 nights in March 2017


1 night in November

Review submitted on Mon, 14 Nov 2016
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Great venue, expensive for time there. Hot tub addition is great. No hassle and clear instructions given. Fire alarm in kitchen randomly went off a number of times for no reason, including middle of the night.

Andrew from Lutterworth stayed at Saxford Barn for 1 nights in November 2016


Hen Weekend

Review submitted on Mon, 12 Sep 2016
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
3.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Really nice property, lots of space and enclosed for privacy, it is in a residential area so some respect for neighbors is required (no big deal) shower in the family bathroom was too hot but otherwise the accommodation was perfect for ten of us. Would recommend for larger group get togethers....you'll get the hot tub we didn't as we booked last year which was a shame but that is now part of the package. Highly recommend Saxford Barn.

Lianne from Lancaster stayed at Saxford Barn for 2 nights in September 2016


Hen party!

Review submitted on Tue, 06 Sep 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is a fabulous location for a hen party. Its so impressive when you first arrive. A massive plus point is the seating in the kitchen for 12 which was great for meals, and the large living room with plenty of seats and rooms for fun games.

The hot tub was a big hit and there were plenty of bathrooms for 12 girls.

From the initial booking to the final communications the owners were great to deal with. Very informative, friendly and with prompt responses.

Would definitely recommend.


Sarah from Hadston stayed at Saxford Barn for 2 nights in August 2016


Sax Ford barn

Review submitted on Mon, 05 Sep 2016
3.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
1.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Sax Ford barn is a lovely place and would recommend it to anyone who wants to spend time with family or friends. The place was fairly good value for money with plenty of room for people to enjoy both inside and out, it is in a great location not far from York centre. From the moment I booked the staff were very helpful easy to contact and made the whole process very simple. The only problems we found with the barn is in could have been cleaned to a far better standard considering there were signs everywhere reminding you extra charges would be charged for cleaning, the shower were grimy the bbq was disgusting with cigarette buts not only all over the floor outside but in the bottom of the BBQ, the tables were sticky we had to clean them before we used than and bedroom carpets didn't seem to have been hoovered.

Teresa from Billingham stayed at Saxford Barn for 2 nights in September 2016


3rd time at Saxford barn

Review submitted on Tue, 19 Jul 2016
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Love this place, you can't beat all your friends under one roof!
The location of the barn is spot on, the area is really nice, just a few doors away from the local pub too.
Will return again for sure, hopefully on a race day next time.


Chris from Leeds stayed at Saxford Barn for 2 nights in July 2016


Saxford barn

Review submitted on Mon, 18 Jul 2016
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
3.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I have now stayed at minster lodge, the farmhouse and saxford barn and have all been fantastic. 3 pubs within half a mile of saxford barn, enough to keep everyone happy.
See you next year.


Fern from Morley stayed at Saxford Barn for 2 nights in July 2016


Sister hen do

Review submitted on Mon, 20 Jun 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was an excellent location for my sisters hen do, it was near enough to York but much better than a hotel in terms of space and ability to do things together. Wigginton and Haxby are lovely and about £10-15 in a taxi. The team were great in booking the activities and catering so everything went really smoothly. It was a great house with plenty if space. The only thing I would say was that the parking/entrance was very tight but not much can be done about that! Overall excellent place and would go back. Thank you.

Lara from Billinge stayed at Saxford Barn for 2 nights in June 2016


Hen Party

Review submitted on Mon, 06 Jun 2016
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
2.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Myself and 11 friends stayed at Saxford barn for my hen party. On arrival the barn was clean but the fridge was broken, so when we put food etc on the shelf it fell down and most things we had taken to eat, and drink smashed, and burst because the shelf had been sellotaped and there was no warning of this, or we wouldn't have put glass dips, glass milk bottle, and also food for the evening on the shelf.... also the blinds had been broken and sellotaped too... There was also 2 cockroaches spotted in the enclosed parking area (near the hot tub).
Sarah and the girls who communicated with me throughout the stay were amazing! Emails and phone calls made throughout and they really made me feel relaxed about the booking.
Thank you to all involved!!


Simone from Chorley stayed at Saxford Barn for 2 nights in June 2016


Saxford Barn replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback following your stay at Saxford Barn. I am pleased to see that overall you enjoyed your stay. Please accept my sincere apologies with regards to the broken shelf in the fridge. We had ordered replacements, however these were not delivered in time for your arrival. We hope you do choose to stay at Saxford Barn again in the future

Really enjoyed the stay. House was really nice with hot tub. Good location for york

Review submitted on Mon, 18 Apr 2016
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Nice house, enjoyed the hot tub. Good location for york. Well organised check in and check out, good communication with booking agents. We would stay again.

Vicky from Glossop stayed at Saxford Barn for 2 nights in April 2016


A fun girls' weekend.

Review submitted on Wed, 06 Apr 2016
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We had a lovely few days at Saxford Barn. There was everything we could need for fun weekend.

Not too far from York and a few shops and pubs nearby to keep you going.

I would definitely go back.


Kirsty from London stayed at Saxford Barn for 3 nights in March 2016


Hen Party Weekend

Review submitted on Tue, 22 Mar 2016
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I stayed at the Saxford Barn with 12 people in our party for my Hen weekend, finding the barn was easy and it was located in a lovely little village with a pub and corner shop within walking distance its not out in the countryside as you would expect with a Barn but actually just opposite lots of bungalows.
There was parking available in the courtyard which was tight to get your car in and out of but ideal as the street is very narrow.
Throughout the run up to visiting the cottage the communication between myself and the company was excellent and they were quick to respond to any queries that I had.
The house was clean and tidy but extra attention paid to the windows and cobwebs would have made it perfect.
We had the cottage decorated for us and hampers were left with nibbles and party food for us to enjoy when we arrived, the house is well stocked with cutlery, crockery and glassware.
The beds were comfortable and rooms reasonably sized with excellent bathroom facilities. a little more attention to detail in relation to the cleanliness in the bathrooms would have been nicer. Basic towels, bedding and household stuff are provided (Washing up liquid, dishwasher tabs, cloths, hand soap etc.) Extra bedding and pillows would have been good as the pillows were small and very flimsy.
We booked several additional activities alongside our visit to Saxford Barn and we were very happy with all of these, great communication between us and the taxi provider.
The ladies in particular Jo who provided our pamper treatments went above and beyond and we couldn't thank her enough.
Our Cocktail Master-class was a favourite by far set up in the cottage and with 4 favourite cocktails to make there was something for everyone.
We also had caters provide Sunday Breakfast for us which was cooked off site before being delivered at our set time.
I would definitely recommend Saxford Barn to friends and if planning a party weekend the additional extras that are offered through this company are totally worth it.


Jennifer from Darlington stayed at Saxford Barn for 2 nights in March 2016


My hen do

Review submitted on Mon, 07 Mar 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent throughout from booking to the barn itself and the customer service. Barn was very clean and warm and perfect for my hen do. 5 miles from York centre and a park and ride a few mins down the road for shopping in York.

Kate from Chester stayed at Saxford Barn for 2 nights in March 2016


Weekend in a hot tub

Review submitted on Mon, 29 Feb 2016
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Slept 12 with no issues, great size living room and kitchen area and nice secluded courtyard with benches and room for 4 cars locked behind the gates. Opted on the hot tub for the weekend and this was an inspired decision. Hot when we arrived and provided the perfect spot for some down time between activities. £15-20 taxi in to the centre of York so not too bad. No complaints, would recommend.

Alex from Grimsby stayed at Saxford Barn for 2 nights in February 2016


Perfect for a hen party but sofa beds need replaced!

Review submitted on Mon, 01 Feb 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our group of 11 stayed for a weekend and the accommodation was great! Spacious, clean and well equipped. Only negatives were the sofa beds which were ridiculously uncomfortable and the lack of serving crockery for large groups (and coffee machine for coffee snobs)!
The accommodation could benefit from a few more homely touches (plants, vases, candles etc) but that is personal preference. The Barn is a 15 min taxi ride from York city centre so well placed for local attractions. The hot tub is a fantastic addition and was well received!


Sarah from Glasgow stayed at Saxford Barn for 2 nights in January 2016


Saxford Barn replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback regarding your recent stay at Saxford Barn. I am pleased to see that overall you enjoyed your stay and would return to Saxford Barn. I apologise that you found the sofa beds uncomfortable. We will take this into consideration when renewing the furniture. Thank you again for leaving your comments, we appreciate this as they can help us to improve for future guests.

A little disappointing

Review submitted on Mon, 09 Nov 2015
3.5
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
3.0
Value
2.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We rented the barn as 3 families (6 adults and 4 children) and there was plenty of space and a well stocked kitchen in terms of crockery, glasses etc., however there were some areas of the barn that were looking a little tired.

The ceiling in the kitchen featured a number of cracks and a gap in the plaster around one of the lights, one of the bedrooms had a chunk of plaster out of the wall and the family bathroom was showing signs of wear and tear. Also the sofas in the living room, although plentiful, were most uncomfortable, so much do that we opted to sit on the wooden kitchen chairs as they were more comfortable!

I normally wouldn't have commented on these things but the barn wasn't cheap, so I expected a higher standard.

The off road parking is a challenge to get into, and would only just fit 4 cars but then leaves you with no outdoor space ( not a problem for us in October I hasten to add.)

The village is lovely and the local pub served good food, but overall we were a bit disappointed with the barn.


Julie from Bedlington stayed at Saxford Barn for 2 nights in October 2015


Saxford Barn replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback regarding your recent stay at Saxford Barn. I am sorry that you were a little disappointed with your stay. We value guest feedback, positive and negative as this helps us to improve for the future. We had reported the crack around one of the spotlights in the kitchen to our maintenance team, to which the works were scheduled for the Monday following your departure. I apologise if the crack in the plaster caused any disturbance to you however I can assure you that this was not dangerous. The repair has now been completed. Thank you for your comments regarding the sofas, we will take this into consideration when next renewing the furniture. Thank you again for leaving your comments, we appreciate this as they can help us to improve for future guests.

Girlie weekend to York & Races

Review submitted on Mon, 24 Aug 2015
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed at Saxford barn as a group of 12 all female family & friends to make a weekend of the Ebor festival at York races.

It was a really great place to stay location wise, lovely little village, within 10 miles of both York & the shopping outlets & had all the facilities we needed for the weekend, The Black Horse pub at the end of the road was a great place to eat too. (cheap & great portions)

Despite the barn been in a residential area it had a secluded courtyard with room for 4 cars & the hot tub which was a lovely relaxing addition.

The one downside was the 2 sofa beds in the living room area, unfortunately they were not that comfortable, although manageable for 1-2 nights but longer periods may not be suitable.

Would definitely stay again. Thank you


Guest from Sheffield stayed at Saxford Barn for 2 nights in August 2015


Saxford Barn replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to complete our recent feedback survey. I am pleased to hear that overall you enjoyed your stay with us. We value guest feedback and appreciate your comments. We will take these into consideration for future improvements

Hen weekend

Review submitted on Mon, 17 Aug 2015
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We all had a fabulous time at Saxford barn. The property was very spacious and easily accommodated our group of 12, we all loved it (especially the hot tub)! There's buses nearby and a pub round the corner and easy enough to pop into York for the day.
The staff at villa farm were excellent at answering any queries we had coming up to our arrival and were extremely helpful.
Overall we had an excellent stay and wouldn't hesitate to return or recommend to a friend.


Carey from Edinburgh stayed at Saxford Barn for 2 nights in August 2015


Saxford Barn replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to complete our recent feedback survey. I am pleased to hear that overall you enjoyed your stay with us. We value guest feedback and appreciate your comments. We would be delighted if you choose to stay with us again in the future.

A fantastic hen party location

Review submitted on Mon, 13 Jul 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We can't fault the barn or the staff that helped. The service was great from booking through to leaving. Private, quiet and couldn't ask for anything better! X

Charlotte from stayed at Saxford Barn for 2 nights in July 2015


Saxford Barn replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback following your recent stay at Saxford Barn. We are pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay and would be delighted if you booked again.

3rd July saxford barn

Review submitted on Mon, 06 Jul 2015
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
10 minute drive from town centre. big house with four spacious bedrooms,very clean.nice courtyard so can have drinks outside.
definately recommend hot tub, we paid extra for this but well worth it.
actioned packed weekend. But we loved every minute,
Would definately recommend the BBQ package. We went for basic but lovely fresh food all cooked for you at barn,good quality and just what we needed after long journey up (not to cook).
cocktail making great fun and not to mention the naked butlers .fantastic x


Guest from Wisbech st mary stayed at Saxford Barn for 2 nights in July 2015


Saxford Barn replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback following your recent stay at Saxford Barn. We are pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay and would be delighted if you booked again.

A great find for groups visiting York

Review submitted on Wed, 24 Jun 2015
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Recently returned from friends stag weekend. Spent Fri to Mon and the barn will meet all of your expectations. There were 10 lads all 30+. When we arrived my initial fear was that it was too residential and too close to neighbours, and I feared we would feel on edge all of the time. However, the courtyard is nice and secluded with plenty of space and you soon forget about this. We had hired a hot tub for the weekend which we made good use of. The barn itself was ideal for us, everything we needed while being basic it is clean, comfortable and the beds were all comfortable.
The barn is pretty easy to get too and the instructions to get there and check in were simple. Pub and shops on your doorstep if required. We had a bbq and hot tub on the Friday. Taxi into York on the sat was £14 but traffic held us up and is nothing between 4 of us. We got a minibus back from York centre which was £18.
We parked 3 cars in the courtyard. Nobody in the street bothered us and all in all was a better option than a hotel. If returning to York in a group I would happily stay again.


Guest from stayed at Saxford Barn for 3 nights in June 2015


Saxford Barn replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback following your recent stay at Saxford Barn. We are pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay and would be delighted if you booked again.

Saxford Barn

Review submitted on Tue, 26 May 2015
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed in the barn the night before and night of the wedding, it was a great space especially as we were all able to eat together in the kitchen and there was space for us all in the living room to get ready together. We were really impressed with all the little extra bits that were in the house, washing up liquid, sponges, toilet roll etc. We have been to places before and had to provide these ourselves.

Katie from Bradford stayed at Saxford Barn for 2 nights in May 2015


Saxford Barn replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your comments regarding your stay at Saxford Barn. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and would be delighted if you decided to book with us again. Kindest regards, Sarah at Saxford Barn

Hen Weekend

Review submitted on Mon, 11 May 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I would highly recommend staying at this property, particularly if you are looking for somewhere for a hen party. The rooms were very spacious and clean and appeared to have been recently updated. Extra necessities such as cleaning products were provided which was very helpful. Overall, excellent value for money!

Laura from stayed at Saxford Barn for 2 nights in May 2015


Saxford Barn replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you Laura for providing your feedback on your recent stay at Saxford Barn. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and would be more than happy for you to stay with us again in the future. Thank you again for your kind comments.

Hen party

Review submitted on Tue, 21 Apr 2015
3.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
3.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The sofas were a little uncomfortable and the showers were not very strong and wouldn't work if another was on. But overall I would go back and we enjoyed ourselves.

Francesca from Huddersfield stayed at Saxford Barn for 2 nights in April 2015


Saxford Barn replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to complete our feedback survey. Guest feedback means a lot to us and we do rely on this in order to help improve. Following your feedback I have arranged for a plumber to have a look at the showers. I was unaware of this myself and hopefully the problem can be easily rectified. Should you have mentioned this to us during your stay we could have tried our best to solve the issue there and then. It may have been something as simple as topping up the water pressure on the boiler. However, thank you for bring this to my attention and please accept my apologies for the inconvenience. I am sorry that you felt the sofa beds were uncomfortable. I will raise this issue in our next staff meeting and hopefully we can reach an alternative to the current sofa beds in the property to improve comfort for guests. I am however pleased to hear that overall you did enjoy your stay at Saxford Barn and it would not affect your return. We are more than happy to offer you returning customer discount should you ever wish to stay at Saxford Barn or Villa Farm in the future.

Better than expected

Review submitted on Mon, 06 Apr 2015
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
3.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Don't actually think the pictures on the website do it justice - the barn was cosier than it looks. We were really pleased with everything except for the fact there was no recycling (that we could see, anyway). Also it was quite inconvenient for the people sleeping on the sofa beds who had to pack away their stuff every morning. I think it is probably better as a 10 bed, although there is certainly enough space for 12.


Guest from Holmfirth stayed at Saxford Barn for 2 nights in March 2015


Saxford Barn replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to complete our feedback questionnaire. We are pleased to hear that overall you enjoyed your stay and would choose to stay with us again. As a result of recent feedback regarding our website from you and other guests, we have had meetings with various website designers and are currently in the process of redesigning the website and updating with photos we have had taken professionally. We are sorry that you found the sofa beds inconvenient, however we do display the property description in our literature and the majority of guests are happy with this as they are aware prior to arriving. We hope you choose to stay at Saxford Barn in the future and we would be more than happy to offer you returning customer discount

Overall excellent with some little niggles

Review submitted on Tue, 24 Mar 2015
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The property was perfect for our needs. It would benefit from a bit of tlc I.e broken toilet seats and I got locked in the bathroom due to a broken lock.
My main feedback is that it was a big shock that there was no wifi. For 12 people under 30 years old this was a significant drawback to the property.
Overall had a lovely weekend. Thank you.


Helen from Halifax stayed at Saxford Barn for 2 nights in March 2015


Sarah replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to complete our feedback request. We are continuously striving to improve and guests honest feedback helps considerably with this. I will ensure the maintenance team check over the property and the problems are rectified immediately. We will take your comment regarding Wi-Fi into consideration and may look into installing this in the near future. Thank you once gain and we hope you choose to stay with us in the future