FB Twitter

Nautilus

Nautilus

4.8
out of 5
Ratings from 22 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.8
Comfort
4.7
Condition
4.8
Location
4.9
Value
4.9
Customer
Service
4.9


  • Sleeps 4
  • Unlimited dogs welcome free of charge
  • A very, very short walk to the sandy, dog friendly beach
  • Countryside walks from the door - easy and quiet
  • All on one level inside
  • Very secure outside area with patio and furniture
  • Lots of light and air and open plan living/kitchen/dining area
  • Off road parking for 2 cars
  • Short walk to dog friendly cafe and approx mile beach walk to dog friendly pub/cafe/amusements/chippy

For us the perfect location

Review submitted on Sun, 22 Jan 2023
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage was small but well layed out all on one level. The welcome basket was a nice touch with goodies for the humans and pupsters! Great customer service from East Ruston and the owner of the property when we had questions. We had a fantastic few days away from all the hustle and bustle of life, just what we needed

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!

How likely are you to return?
Would love to come back!





NewYear vacation

Review submitted on Tue, 03 Jan 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Nautilus was fab for our doggies as so near the beach. Beds very comfortable and the cottage was warm and cosy. Kitchen clean and easy to manage appliances. Plenty of space even with two extra unplanned adults joining us. Bathroom lovely powerful shower. All in all lovely weekend and fab gifts to greet us. Shame it was not the weather to sit out in the garden. Neighbours very helpful when we arrived in the dark. Easy to walk to other seaside places along the beach. Enjoyed our voucher for Smallsticks and our new years eve celebrations with the locals in the pub in Happisburgh.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Great for dogs!

How likely are you to return?
Certainly will consider it.



Great bungalow

Review submitted on Sun, 01 Jan 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Last minute decision to visit UK. The bungalow was well equipped and warm. Loved the close proximity to beach and the doggie towels and hot water outside tap. The garden was secure and everything was catered for. Lovely scrummy welcome pack too.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Great for dogs!

How likely are you to return?
Certainly will consider it.





Bungalow was very comfortable and in a perfect location

Review submitted on Sat, 24 Dec 2022
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Bungalow was very comfortable and in a perfect location.
The one complaint would be the smart TV. We don't have a Netflix account so therefore could only watch one channel which only worked intermittently.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Great for dogs!

How likely are you to return?
Certainly will consider it.





Quiet beach stay

Review submitted on Tue, 22 Nov 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great comfy little house. Nice welcome basket and some eggs and milk in the fridge. A freezer for the dog food too.
Very close to the beach which we walked on every day.
The night sky stars were outstanding as so lovely and dark.
Plenty of dog blankets so we didn't need our own . We'll recommend to our friends.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Great for dogs!

How likely are you to return?
Certainly will consider it.





Property as described was very dog friendly , it was not as remote as we expected

Review submitted on Sat, 19 Nov 2022
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
3.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The picture of the property is a little misleading as it is in fact part of a dense holiday estate.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Great for dogs!

How likely are you to return?
Not again (but do please let us know why)





Perfect holiday home

Review submitted on Sun, 13 Nov 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Nautilus is a perfect holiday home for dogs and owners. You can walk to the beach within 5mins. Fully save for dogs and lovely welcome pack waiting for us x

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Great for dogs!

How likely are you to return?
Already booked!





Nautilus is a home from home

Review submitted on Sat, 22 Oct 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Nautilus is a lovely, welcoming place that was perfect for our stay. We (3 adults and 3 small dogs ) settled in immediately. The welcome pack was lovely and the dogs especially enjoyed the Nero’s biscuits. The kitchen was well equipped with all that we needed - we cooked on a couple of nights and went to the Lessingham Star pub another night. The porch was a very handy place for shoes, towels, dog paraphernalia and meant the house stayed clean and tidy. The most brilliant beach is on the doorstep and the dogs had the best time exploring. Smallsticks Cafe is not too far along the beach and we had a couple of their amazing breakfasts. A lovely relaxing break in a super house.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Great for dogs!

How likely are you to return?
Would love to come back!



Excellent place and location

Review submitted on Sat, 24 Sep 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was my first time to Norfolk with my dog Teddy and it was everything I expected. The Nautilus was all on one level and very welcoming. Prior to arrival I was sent instructions via email how to gain access and local information etc. The place was immaculate and had everything we needed, the distance to the beach was awesome especially for a golden retriever who loves sand and water. Even better there was a hose outside with hot and cold water after to hose Teddy down. Only issue I had was with the Bed due to it being a metal frame it made a noise every time you moved around, which is not what you need when the the dog is sleeping in the next room, but this is the only part I would recommend is improved for next time.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!

How likely are you to return?
Would love to come back!



A fabulous week at Nautilus

Review submitted on Sat, 10 Sep 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have just had the pleasure of staying at Nautilus on the Bush estate in Eccles on Sea. What drew us to this property was the closeness to the beach, as our greyhound, Ellis, is a real water hound. I have to say we were not disappointed at all. The cottage was exactly as shown in the pictures, comfortable and cosy, especially as we had some very wet evenings! Lots of throws for our dog, plenty of dog bowls and towels, a hot and cold tap outside to clean off the dogs after having fun on the beach, and some very yummy treats for us and Ellie in the form of a welcome basket. The location was perfect for us, a lovely beach on the doorstep and just a short walk to Cart Gap with the very nice Smallsticks Cafe. Happisburgh and Sea Palling aren't far away and definitely worth a visit. Horsey is a short drive away and if you are lucky you will see the seals on the beach, and a visit to Horsey Windpump is nice too. All in all, we had a fab holiday, and if we can we will be back!

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!

How likely are you to return?
Would love to come back!



Lovely Week At Nautilus

Review submitted on Sat, 27 Aug 2022
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely week at Natulius.
This is our second holiday to Norfolk this year, we stayed at another ERC property in May and decided to book again and wanted somewhere close to the beach.
We arrived after a long drive to a welcome pack for us and biscuits for the dog, which was appreciated. The portch is handy plenty of dog bowels, and towels for the dogs which is helpful and saves room in the car.
Nautilus is in a great location, a three minute walk to the beach, a lovely, quiet sandy beach and you can hear the sea at night!
Inside Nautilus is modern, the bathroom is a good size and lots of space for toiletries and the shower is good too. Ironing board and iron, washing machine which is always handy. There is a BBQ also.The garden isn't huge but it is nicely laid out and having the beach so close it isn't an issue as we made so much use of having the beach on the doorstep. We ate at The Star (our favourite) meals are brilliant and it's dog friendly and staff are lovely, you can walk from Nautilus it took us 35 minutes.We also ate at The Ship Inn too. We got a takeaway from Oriental Garden in Bacton (collection & cash only) but great food. We also got a lovely pizza from Monzu (pizza van) they pitch up at Wroxham- definitely recommend the wood fire pizza's they were brilliant.We also went to Smallsticks a 15 minute walk from Nautilus, a great place to visit for cake or food. We spent most of our time at the beach but we also went to Bacton Woods too, great walk. Tescos is also close by for essentials. We had a lovely stay, the location is peaceful and having the beach on the doorstep was definitely a plus for us. Also nice to have an 11am check out too.
Thank you for a great stay.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!

How likely are you to return?
Certainly will consider it.



A peaceful getaway

Review submitted on Sat, 23 Jul 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very peaceful holiday, cottage very well equipped with new items. Very short walk to the beautiful long beach, lovely for a early morning and late evening walk with dogs. If you want a peaceful getaway it's ideal. There was a very nice welcome pack awaiting including doggy treats too.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Great for dogs!

How likely are you to return?
Would love to come back!





Unspolied location

Review submitted on Sat, 16 Jul 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Perfect location if you have dogs, quiet beach just 50yds away, the perfect chill out holiday at an unspolied location

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Great for dogs!

How likely are you to return?
Would love to come back!





Excellent

Review submitted on Sat, 09 Jul 2022
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
This little cottage was perfect for us, the location was great right next to the beach and easy to get to other walks, our fury friends loved it as well, I would definitely recommend this cottage, we will be back. Thank you for making our brake comfortable and relaxing.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Great for dogs!

How likely are you to return?
Certainly will consider it.





Amazing short break

Review submitted on Wed, 29 Jun 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We spent an amazing few days at Nautilus with our two dogs. The bungalow is perfectly situated next to the beach in a quiet location. The dogs were well catered for and the accommodation was the perfect, cozy hideaway for us adults too. The garden was secure with facilities to wash the dogs off after a long beach walk. We can definitely recommend this quiet, cozy property to others. We already have another holiday booked with East Ruston next year. Can’t wait!

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!

How likely are you to return?
Would love to come back!





The little cottage near the sea.

Review submitted on Sat, 25 Jun 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had four beautiful days in this neat and tidy holiday cottage. The dogs loved the pretty fully enclosed garden, and we liked the nice comfortable beds. It was easy to keep clean, and has a spacious lounge/dining area leading from the kitchen. The cottage is situated in a private residential complex, and is literally a 5 minute walk to a fabulous almost deserted beach. The narrow roads in the vicinity are a little challenging, but once you eye up the passing points its very civilised.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Great for dogs!

How likely are you to return?
Would love to come back!





Wonderful addition to East Ruston Cottages

Review submitted on Wed, 22 Jun 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A spur of the moment short break which certainly did not disappoint. Great location only a short walk from a quite beach. A small but perfectly-formed property where the open plan living/kitchen/dining area was perfect for us and our greyhound. Good condition throuhgout and clearly recently refurbished including a lovely bathroom. Garden also lovely and secure for letting the hound sniff around!

Thoroughly recommend a walk along to Smallstick Cafe at Cart Gap (about 15 minutes along the beach towards Happisburgh) or further afield both Happisburgh itself and Sea Palling are around 2 miles along lovely quiet sandy beaches.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Great for dogs!

How likely are you to return?
Would love to come back!



Beautiful place in a beautiful location

Review submitted on Sat, 18 Jun 2022
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fantastic little place, quiet and in a perfect location for the beach. The dogs settled quickly. Nice secure garden, perfect for some Al-fresco dining in the summer. The windows are not great if you have a Houdini dog but the garden has high fences.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Ok for dogs.

How likely are you to return?
Certainly will consider it.





Wonderful Nautilus

Review submitted on Sat, 04 Jun 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
As frequent visitors to Norfolk we always look for locations close to the beach and plenty of countryside walks. Nautilus is perfect for both. With a short walk to the beach front you can beach walk to Sea Palling and then back along the coastal path once you’ve stopped off for a coffee and fresh doughnuts. The other way you walk to Happisburgh and take in the great views of the Lighthouse.

Very modern interior and well equipped for dogs. Very peaceful location and short drive to Stalham for all your shopping needs.

Visited The Star Inn Lessingham which is super dog friendly and great food, has a fantastic big back garden just overlooking fields.

Thank you for a wonderful week of exploring would most definitely recommend to those that like walking, peace and quiet away from major tourist areas and a great beach ☀️

Thank you Julie, Mark and Bella

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Great for dogs!

How likely are you to return?
Certainly will consider it.



A much needed short break

Review submitted on Tue, 31 May 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our first stay with East Runton Cottages. Cannot fault them, the information pack is genius and so helpful when downloaded on a mobile phone. Nothing is too much trouble and dealt with so quickly.
This is a new property to them and apart from one issue it’s a real gem. So bright and airy, a real treat to be able to lie in bed and hear the sea. It’s a short walk to a secluded, sandy beach where you are only met by other dog walkers and the occasional nosey seal. The area is amazing, like stepping back in time.
We ordered the afternoon tea packs and the selection of brownies, both delicious and would thoroughly recommend as a holiday treat.
For us, and probably because our garden is like Fort Knox, the garden gate could do with replacing but I get the impression it will be as the owners have taken so much care over everything else in the property.
I would live there in a heartbeat

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!

How likely are you to return?
Would love to come back!



Great location

Review submitted on Tue, 17 May 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely bungalow, very close to the beach. Very peaceful area and walking distance to both Cart Gap and Sea Palling.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Great for dogs!

How likely are you to return?
Certainly will consider it.





A little slice of paradise

Review submitted on Wed, 11 May 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This little bungalow was just perfect.
Although small the open plan living meant it was more than comfortable for us and our many dogs, it was just so beautifully laid out. You lie in bed and you can hear the sea. A short walk from this beautiful cottage and you have your own private beach, well it felt that way, Eccles is such a beautiful quiet beach. You can't help but feel relaxed whilst you were there. I will definitely be back.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Great for dogs!

How likely are you to return?
Would love to come back!