FB Twitter

Thatchers

Thatchers

4.8
out of 5
Ratings from 16 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.8
Comfort
4.9
Condition
4.8
Location
5.0
Value
4.7
Customer
Service
4.9


  • Stunning historic Arts and Crafts house in its own grounds
  • Huge enclosed, well kept garden
  • Peaceful family holidays or short breaks with the dogs!
  • Dog friendly pub a short walk away
  • Village location with shops
  • Cafes and vintage/retro funky burger van
  • Play areas for the kids!
  • Sandy beach a short distance away and very dog friendly.
  • On the Norfolk Coastal Path.

Perfect relaxing break with the dogs!

Review submitted on Mon, 07 Oct 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What an amazing place to spend a week relaxing with our dogs.
Such a beautiful cottage with a huge secure garden and with the beach and countryside walks just a few minutes away

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Great for dogs!

How likely are you to return?
Certainly will consider it.





Wonderful house, garden and location - we loved it

Review submitted on Sun, 29 Sep 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have just returned from two weeks at Thatchers and what a wonderful place it is. A lovely house with terrific gardens, very secluded and dog friendly. Five minutes from a lovely pub serving delicious meals, ten minutes walk to the beach, a wood only a short distance away - the dogs were in heaven. There is plenty to do within a short drive and Stalham and North Walsham are a short drive away and have the usual Supermarkets. In addition there are numerous farm shops in the area. What more could you ask for. Thank you Helen for allowing us to stay.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Great for dogs!

How likely are you to return?
Would love to come back!



A great family break

Review submitted on Tue, 10 Sep 2019
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The location of Thatchers is second to none and the garden perfect for children and dogs. The house is beautiful with 5 good sized bedrooms and a lovely kitchen and adjoining snug. It was amazingly well equipped. The fridges are a bit confusing as the big fridge is in the garage and there is also a chest freezer in a different place. Perhaps not the most convenient location if the weather was bad. The chest freezer was full of black mould but we were pleased to find it and turn it on.
However these small issues apart we had a great holiday and would certainly consider going again. It is a lovely house which makes a great base for beaches, play parks, NT houses and is nice to spend time in.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!



Sue at East Ruston Cottages replied 38 days ago
Dinah, thank you so much for your review and I know from our emails during your stay that your extended family loved the house and had a great time! When you come back, if you find any minor issues (like mould in the freezer) then do let us know and we will be able to get straight over to sort it out! We do like to make sure any issues and problems are sorted out ..... we just need to know about them from you while you are here. Looking forward to having you and your family back for another stay and I hope you have lots of lovely memories from this one.

Happy holiday at East Ruston Cottages Thatchers.

Review submitted on Sun, 25 Aug 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our 1st stay at this property a real family holiday. We loved it lots of room for all of us.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!





Thatchers

Review submitted on Sun, 16 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We all really enjoyed our holiday despite the awful weather. Thatchers was comfortable and extremely beautiful place. The area is lovely. Hopefully we will be back with better weather next time.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Great for dogs!





Another wonderful week at Thatchers

Review submitted on Mon, 10 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have just returned from our third family holiday staying at Thatchers, a beautiful Arts and Craft property in Happisburgh. We had another fantastic week, the property is located in a beautiful setting and is the perfect holiday home for our three generations of family (and three dogs) to stay in. The house and garden is spacious, comfortable and very well presented. We would recommend both Thatchers and East Ruston Cottages whom we book the house with. Sue, from East Ruston cottages, is friendly and the personal touch provided is excellent.
We have booked to return to Thatchers next year!

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!



Just what was needed

Review submitted on Sun, 19 May 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The property is great for families getting together and the garden was a huge hit with the dogs - they spent the whole week exploring and we have never seen them so tired. The property is perfect for taking time out and relaxing, recharging the batteries - it is such a peaceful location.

The Hill House Inn couldn't do enough for us, including providing take-away fish and chips one evening, and the local fish shop up the road was definitely on our list to visit.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!





ANOTHER WONDER STAY WITH EAST RUSHTON COTTAGES

Review submitted on Sun, 24 Mar 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Wonderful house, when driving up the gated gravel drive you immediately get goosebumps as you approach this beautiful thatched cottage and well kept gardens. The cottage has everything you could possibly need for a fantastic break with your four legged friends. The views are amazing and lovely coastal walks near by. Can’t recommend this highly enough. We have booked for next year already !!



Wonderful house for a dog friendly stay with friends and our 4 legged friends.

Review submitted on Sun, 06 Jan 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Thatchers is a wonderful house , cosy but spacious.
We had the most wonderful time , the house, garden & situation were perfect for 9 of us and our dogs!
Arriving alone at dusk to xmas lights & the heating on, homemade cake and fizz was so welcoming especially as I was spending the first night alone with just me and my dogs.
I can’t recommend the house and East Rushton cottages enough.
Thank you , we will be back.




Family Christmas

Review submitted on Fri, 04 Jan 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Thatchers felt like home the minute we arrived. Our welcome pack included a delicious home made sponge cake, which we did appreciate after a long journey & a great selection of doggie treats, made locally in Happisburgh. A lovely house with plenty of comfy furniture & kitchen/dining area with all facilities & utensils necessary for a big family gathering. Our dog loved all the space & his choice of bowls & beds!
The garden is beautiful & secure, our dog could run around and explore we had no fear that he may escape.
Wonderful walks on your doorstep & a great pub with a very friendly team , we ate here 3 times for lunch & dinner, food was very good.
Thatchers is perfect for a luxurious break any time of the year.




In need of some TLC

Review submitted on Sun, 04 Nov 2018
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
This property is excellent for a restful holiday. However for the money that is charged definitely needs a few issues sorting.



Sue Allen - Director of East Ruston Cottages Ltd replied 348 days ago
I am so very sorry you had a less than satisfactory experience at Thatchers, Christine and John and family. Most of the issues you make reference to could have been sorted quickly and easily during you stay and at a time to suit you if you had alerted us as soon as you discovered them - lightbulb, dvd connection, chair, smell in the cupboard, for example. Some of them were notified to me by email towards the end of your stay, giving little time to effect resolutions and yet others were included in the comments book and therefore only discovered after your departure, giving the owner no chance to rectify them during your stay. The Terms and Conditions agreed to at the time of booking state that problems are to be notified as soon as discovered and we include this so that owners can be given a fair chance to put things right for their guests. A link to the page on the website is here https://www.eastrustoncottages.co.uk/terms-conditions/ The price you paid for this half term week was £893 = £127/night. The house sleeps up to 10 people so at full capacity would equate to £12.70 per person, per night. This price includes heating, full use of all 5 double bedrooms and 3 bathrooms/toilets plus the 2 living areas and the acre of mature gardens/parking - dog proof and well maintained. I am confident that this represents good value for money given that you were also very welcome to bring your 4 dogs with you without any additional charge. In summary, I am very sorry that you found Thatchers not to be as you would like it, also that you did not feel you were able to contact me directly as soon as you discovered the issues that caused you dissatisfaction. I can confirm that Helen has rectified the issues you identified. Thank you for taking the time to provide a review.

Thatchers Happisburgh

Review submitted on Mon, 22 Oct 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a fantastic property, the grounds were also fantastic and totally dog proof (even for small dogs). Owner and gardener very friendly. Amazing cake on arrival. We would certainly stay again.



Fantastic house

Review submitted on Sun, 07 Oct 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Thatchers is fully equipped for all your needs, beds are so comfortable I didn’t want to get up!! Dogs loved the garden which is fully enclosed, they loved exploring. This was our second visit and will definitely be returning. Loved the cake which is a lovely idea. Thatchers is very close to a lovely, dog friendly beach.



Time of their lives

Review submitted on Mon, 01 Oct 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is a beautiful large house with what I would call grounds, not garden. Our two Labradors had the time of their lives here, running through the wooded area, down the drive, back round to the rear garden and then around again. The house was very well kept, clean and the snug was a cosy retreat. As just two of us and the dogs we had more than enough room, only using the downstairs space.

Would return without question.




Weekend for Happisburgh wedding

Review submitted on Wed, 26 Sep 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beauriful house fwas just rifght for our special occasion.everything was excelkent and we could even accommodate the retrievers who had lors od open space to run arpund safely.



Lord of the manor

Review submitted on Wed, 20 Jun 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
That's what you feel like !
Superb grounds ! Great size rooms, superb walks from the door & a pub within stagering distance !