FB Twitter

The Saltings

The Saltings

4.7
out of 5
Ratings from 10 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.9
Comfort
4.6
Condition
4.9
Location
4.6
Value
4.4
Customer
Service
4.7


The Saltings is a four star 'Gold' rated, Grade II listed, one bedroom cottage with an interesting history dating back to the 16th century. It's tucked into a corner of a private courtyard in the village of Batheaston, 10 minutes from Bath City, with a secure car parking space right in front of the cottage

The conversion to a high quality holiday let retained as many of the original period features of the property as possible, enhancing the building’s character through careful use of stone and wood to create a unique and very comfortable, character property, ideal for couples looking for a romantic or relaxing break, or singles looking for a home from home and more.

For those without a car, the bus stop to central Bath is on the High Street at the front of the building.

Great place to stay

Review submitted on Thu, 12 Sep 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Loved this quaint place in Bath. So comfortable and quiet. Was great being able to have meals at hand. Could walk or boat to the city but we drove and car parked. Nice to catch up on some laundry too. Would definitely stay here again.

Christine from Isle Of Benbecula stayed at The Saltings for 2 nights in September 2019


John and Jane replied 34 days ago
Thanks Christine. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay so much and would like to come again :-) Regards

Wonderful stay

Review submitted on Sun, 28 Jul 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Such a cute little cottage, really pleased with how clean it was. We rented four houses for a hen weekend and really enjoyed staying here.

Sara from Basildon Essex stayed at The Saltings for 2 nights in July 2019


John and Jane replied 83 days ago
Thanks for this review and for taking the time to review all the houses you stayed in. We really appreciate it and are glad you all had such a nice time :-) Regards

Small but perfect

Review submitted on Sun, 14 Jul 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a lovely property. My sister in law and cousin stayed there as part of my daughters hen weekend. They loved it. The spiral staircase is a little tight, walk up and down carefully, but they managed and it was worth it for the beautiful bedroom and bathroom. It’s a perfect location for a couple who want a break, so convenient to get to Bath with the bus stop on the doorstep.

Anne from Port Talbot stayed at The Saltings for 2 nights in July 2019


John and Jane replied 96 days ago
Thank you Anne for taking the time to review not only this house, but all five :-) We think you have summed up everything very well and we are so pleased you all had such a wonderful time. Regards

Hen Do Party

Review submitted on Wed, 24 Apr 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful serene property which provided a nice sanctuary for a mother-in-law on a busy hen do - beautifully furnished & cleaned to an excellent standard. Thank you!

Eleri from Liverpool stayed at The Saltings for 2 nights in April 2019


John and Jane replied 172 days ago
We are glad you found the Saltings to be a little haven away from your group - it's ideal for that isn't it? People are often surprised how quiet it is. Regards

Very Comfortable Self-catering very near Bath

Review submitted on Sun, 17 Mar 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Once again we booked a couple of days at 'Stay in Bath'.
Just as good as on previous visits so we were able to enjoy visiting Bath again. The bus service to Bath has a stop outside the door and takes about 10 minutes so could not be easier.
The apartment wants for nothing - everything that you need is there.
Underfloor heating means that it is always warm. Should there be any minor problem help is at hand from the caretaker. All in all very well organised.


John from Torquay stayed at The Saltings for 2 nights in March 2019


John and Jane replied 216 days ago
Thanks for your kind review John, much appreciated. We hope you will continue to visit us on a regular basis. Regards

Amazing cottage

Review submitted on Sun, 24 Feb 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This little gem is approx 10 min bus ride to Bath central. Bus stop outside the property.
A beautiful property tucked away in a peaceful road.
Was every thing we expected and more. Comfort, modern, stylish and perfect for a couple that wants to get away for the weekend.

Will definitely book again.


Alpesh


Alpesh from stayed at The Saltings for 2 nights in February 2019


John and Jane replied 234 days ago
Thanks for your kind review Alpesh, much appreciated. Looking forward to hearing from you in the future. Regards

Very quaint little cottage, dry easy to check in and nice location to catch boat into Bath.

Review submitted on Mon, 27 Aug 2018
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Extremely comfortable bed, did not like the bathroom so close to the bed. Everything you could need but oven so high tech could not work (even with instructions) and looked brand new, so I think no one else could work it out. High tech hob but after half and hour managed to get it going. A few stores of local produce left which was a lovely touch. Plenty of dvds if needed. All in all a very pleasant stay.

Guest from stayed at The Saltings for 2 nights in August 2018


John and Jane replied more than 1 year ago
We are pleased you enjoyed your stay Sam. Yes, the ensuite bathroom door is close to the bed. Older people probably find that very handy as it's not far to walk during the night :-) The oven is a bit high tech for sure. We bought a very expensive Smeg one, thinking it was what guests would like, but perhaps a very simple, cheap one might have been easier to use. The problem for you was it was set on child lock. So that had to be unlocked before you could use it. We always suggest gussts contact us if they are having difficulty with anything and our on-site handyman can come and help :-) Regards

.

Review submitted on Sat, 21 Jul 2018
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Due to the hot weather, summer sheets/quilts were provided. Maybe this is something that could be provided when the season changes. They also provided a fan when requested which was appreciated.

Guest from Brisbane stayed at The Saltings for 6 nights in July 2018


John and Jane replied more than 1 year ago
Thanks Malcolm and thank you again for choosing to stay with us after being an early guest in the Saltings 5 years ago, all the way from Australia! We thought the provision of lightweight sheets would help in this very hot (Australian style!) weather and the fan too, so glad you liked it. Hope you will come again, despite the long journey :-) Regards

A Peaceful Escape Very Convenient for Bath

Review submitted on Sun, 13 May 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were very pleased overall. All our questions, both before and during our stay were answered swiftly. The emailed instructions and guide to the area was very comprehensive.
Everything that we needed was in the cottage and everything worked! (not always the case elsewhere).

The convenience of the local bus into Bath was excellent and we also followed the recommendation of walking there along the canal towpath. We still have plenty left to do in Bath and so we shall return.

Thanks.


John from Torquay stayed at The Saltings for 2 nights in May 2018


John and Jane replied more than 1 year ago
Thanks John, nice to hear you enjoyed your stay and congrat's on being our first guest to use our electric car charging points :-) Looking forward to seeing you again soon.

A perfect escape

Review submitted on Mon, 07 May 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Three nights and the most perfect weather imaginable made our Bank Holiday break at The Saltings a total delight. Easy to find (though I know Bath quite well) and perfectly located away from the traffic jams and noisier streets of the City, this cottage has everything one could wish for in a romantic setting. From housekeeping to maintenance to a warm welcome and fantastic, professional yet friendly communication from the owners, there was simply nothing they hadn’t thought of. It meant we could arrive in the early hours without disturbing anyone for keys etc......it meant we could sleep in the most comfortable bed under exquisite linen.......and cook to our hearts’ content in the small but perfectly formed kitchen.

Thank you, John and Jane, for a fabulous stay.....and thank you Deborah for your kind welcome text and for the standard of preparation of The Saltings.

Next time we’ll stay even longer!!!


Michael from Southam stayed at The Saltings for 3 nights in May 2018


John and Jane replied more than 1 year ago
If we had written this review ourselves, it could not have been any more complimentary, so we are very pleased you enjoyed your stay so much. We love to go the extra mile to make things as perfect as possible for our guests, so it's great when they notice :-) We look forward to hosting you again soon. Regards John and Jane