FB Twitter

Coachmans Cottage, Steeple Ashton

Coachmans Cottage, Steeple Ashton

5.0
out of 5
Ratings from 13 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.9
Condition
5.0
Location
4.9
Value
4.9
Customer
Service
5.0


Coachmans Cottage. Classic Country Style in a Quintessential Wiltshire English Village.
A Private Stand Alone Cottage, if you do not want to share facilities then this exclusive village cottage will be for you.
Stunning English Country Self Catering Holiday Cottage. A Beautiful Wiltshire Conservation Village near Bath, Stonehenge, Longleat, Stourhead and much more.
An idyllic retreat for 2 but fully equipped for 4 guests. The 2 bedroom accommodation is all on one level and has WiFi. There is a Pretty Courtyard Garden and Private Parking.

Coachmans Cottage located in a village which was like stepping back in time

Review submitted on Mon, 31 Dec 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A delight to have found, warmth and comfort in the immaculate cottage with hosts who really care. Coachmans is just off the village green in the village of Steeple Ashton, what a gem, a truly quintessentially English village, hard to find in these times, we would like to move here! We will be back.



Great cottage in a great location

Review submitted on Mon, 31 Dec 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Can't recommend Coachman's Holiday Cottage highly enough. Beautifully furnished, immaculately presented and with a warm welcome from the owners we really couldn't have asked for more. Great location too; did Bath and Stonehenge of course and then ventured further south. Such a beautiful area, came home with a list of things to do on our next visit.



What a find

Review submitted on Sat, 22 Dec 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We so enjoyed our holiday at Coachmans Cotttage - a real retreat from the hustle & bustle of today. Penny & Peter are perfect hosts - very welcoming & knowledgeable about the area. The cottage itself is perfection & was ideal for us. We really appreciated the bread, home made marmalade, chocolate cake & other provisions - what a thoughtful touch. Steeple Ashton is a beautiful village & it’s location ideal for reaching Bath, Trowbridge etc. We do hope to return in the future. Thanks Penny & Peter, & Merry Christmas to you all.



Lovely relaxing week

Review submitted on Thu, 22 Nov 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely relaxing week, Bath being the furthest we've traveled. The Roman Baths were well worth a visit, lunch in the Pump Room was a treat. Steeple Ashton is an oasis of calm, with Coachmans an ideal base. The provisions they were delicious and much appreciated. The cottage was perfect.



First trip to Wiltshire, I will return!

Review submitted on Tue, 06 Nov 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
First time I’ve holidayed in Wiltshire and therefore first time at this cottage. for me and my “girls”, Fleur and Lottie-Lola. I have nothing but praise – everything was perfect and immaculately clean. For somebody who is such a bad sleeper, it was heaven to sleep six nights in a row without waking up – bed and pillows were divine. There is everything you need at this cottage and the hosts, Peter and Penny, were wonderful – there if you needed them but otherwise I was left in my own little idyll. Home-made marmalade and shortbread biscuits were scrummy! Loved Wiltshire and local community – everybody was so friendly. Will definitely return. BTW, Long Arms pub just down the road was also a 10/10. Also, “Sign of the Angel” at Lacock, had a wonderful lunch there and dog friendly. What more could a girl want!



Excellent find!

Review submitted on Thu, 01 Nov 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful holiday at Coachman’s Cottage with Molly our cocker spaniel. The cottage was in a peaceful location, lovely and warm, well equipped and felt like “home from home”. It was a special treat to have Penny and her mum and dad next door; we had some lovely chats and realised what a small world it is! Steeple Ashton is a delightful village; the village shop and (especially) the local pub were well used. We had lots of trips out and enjoyed Bath, Stonehenge, Bradford-on-Avon, Frome and Corsham (a hidden gem) very much. We hope to revisit soon and explore southern Wiltshire.



Penny replied 76 days ago
Thank you for your warm review. I could have quite happily kidnapped the lovely Molly. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay here and very much look forward to welcoming you back, and we might even have some gems in the south of the county to point you towards.

A beautiful cottage in a wonderful location

Review submitted on Wed, 24 Oct 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A beautiful cottage in a wonderful location. Peaceful and pretty. Very well equipped with everything you would need. Warm and friendly hosts. What more could you want!



Penny replied 76 days ago
Thank you for your kind words and we are pleased that you were so happy with your find.

Wishing this wasn't our first visit

Review submitted on Mon, 17 Sep 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
As much as the district is full of incredible scenery, historic townships, world renowned sites, castles and gardens, we always returned "home" by mid afternoon to relax in this most "welcoming" environment. So peaceful, so beautiful, so friendly - Steeple Ashton excels in secluded hospitality. The Coachmans Cottage was lovely, surpassing all our expectations. The bed - oh my goodness, like sleeping in a cloud, the shower was totally drenching, the kitchen is just perfect for holiday cooking . Our hosts Peter and Penny were there to help whenever needed and fabulous at organising our days....and then there was the chocolate cake....Thank you heaps x



Penny replied 121 days ago
I am so pleased that everything surpassed your expectations. It was a delight hearing all of your stories about life in Australia, and I hope that your guide group enjoy "hitching up" with the group in this village. Best, Penny.

Our 11th Visit

Review submitted on Thu, 06 Sep 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our 11th year and our visits get better and better. This is the perfect base, for us, the area and a holiday. This year a first visit to Mottisfont, definitely to be repeated; Sunday lunch at Stourhead; a visit to Winchester (by train from Westbury). In between relaxing time, accompanied by Penny's wonderful chocolate cake. New bedroom layout is a delight. Thank you!



Penny replied 132 days ago
We always look forward to your arrival and it is such a pleasure to welcome you back. I know that you you enjoy your annual day trip by rail, such a relaxing way to travel, and Westbury Station is very handy for Steeple Ashton. See you next August, if not before.

Everything I hoped it would be.

Review submitted on Mon, 20 Aug 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage is perfect, the village is perfect and Peter and Penny are just wonderful, we stayed for just over two weeks and had a great time...and we will be going back at the first opportunity.



Penny replied 149 days ago
Thank you for taking the time to post this glowing review. It was a pleasure to meet you and your family and to hear anecdotes of your life overseas. We have now been welcoming guests to Coachmans Cottage for 14 years and we look forward to welcoming you back to Steeple Ashton on your next trip to England.

Wonderful Cottage

Review submitted on Sat, 28 Jul 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely cottage and village and could not find better hosts Penny and Peter thanks for all your help and lovely goodies you left. Loads to see around here Avebury and Malmesbury lovely. Once again Penny thanks for all your help we will be back. Your homemade marmalade was lovely as was all the welcome pack.



Penny replied 172 days ago
It was very nice to welcome you back to Coachmans and we look forward to your third visit. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay again this time.

An exceptional cottage.

Review submitted on Tue, 24 Jul 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
An exceptional cottage, warm and comfortable with luxuriously comfortable beds, plenty of hot water and personal touches in many of the rooms. We just loved Steeple Ashton and the surrounding area and the village shop had many of our food needs served to us by just lovely, welcoming volunteers. There was much to do and see in and our five days in the area staying in Coachman’ Cottage which provided us with a “flavour” and a wish to return. Thank you for your hospitality and for sharing your cottage with us.



Penny replied 176 days ago
I am so pleased that Coachmans Cottage worked well for you both. Steeple Ashton certainly is a very special village. We look forward to your return visit.

Review of Coachmans cottage

Review submitted on Thu, 12 Jul 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A very cosy cottage. The kitchen was small, but everything was there that we needed, including a welcome pack of food on our arrival. The cottage is tucked away, but is in easy walking distance to the local pub and village shop. We enjoyed our stay and would recommend the cottage.



Penny Hornsey replied 185 days ago
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of Coachmans Cottage. Your stay was during the hottest week that we have had in the UK for several years, and I understand that the high temperatures prevented you from seeing much that this location has to offer. Thank you for your suggestion of adding a fan to the cottage, this has been added for future guest comfort.