FB Twitter

Tan

Tan

4.6
out of 5
Ratings from 31 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.8
Comfort
4.7
Condition
4.8
Location
4.4
Value
4.3
Customer
Service
4.7


Family friendly stay

Review submitted on Sun, 27 Sep 2020
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Me, my husband and our 2 year old stayed in Tan cottage for 5 nights September 2020. The place was cosy, clean and extremely well presented. Loved the wooden beams and skylights. We found the owners to be very responsive prior to and during our stay. High chair, stair gates, toddler step, night light and other essentials we needed as a family were provided which meant we could travel (a little) lighter! Especially appreciated the toys which kept our little one entertained, the lovely welcome package after a long journey, and the fact that the owners were friendly, helpful, knowledgeable about the area and conscious of environmental issues. Lovely peaceful location with beautiful views as long as you don’t mind a little bit of a drive to get to the lakes. We enjoyed visiting Aira Force and walks around Keswick. If you do stay here make sure you try the fish and chips from Dalston village - best we’ve ever tried!



Lovely hideaway

Review submitted on Sun, 27 Sep 2020
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Really pleasant accommodation. Well presented. A little compact. Jude incredibly helpful with requests and also local knowledge. Small kitchen has everything you need.

Just make sure you look on a map before booking, if its a hideaway you want, this is great. Located between 2 small villages, just the occasional tractor going past! It is around an hour from Ambleside and Windermere etc, probably 30 min from Keswick. That being said, depending on your accommodation you only have a small wall between your patio and next door so not much privacy if you want to sit outside. Accommodation great for tiny ones, travel cot, high chair, stair gate provided but maybe not great when a little older, only a small area of grass for them to run around on.

We really enjoyed our stay as enjoyed the driving through the hills and country roads. Thanks again




Amazing country break in a luxury cottage, ideally situated for exploring the lake district.

Review submitted on Sun, 13 Sep 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Upon arriving we were happily greeted by Tim and who, along with Jude, were so helpful prior to, and throughout, our amazing stay at Hall Hills. They even put our shopping away!
The cottage was absolutely stunning, it has been converted into luxury holiday accommodation with very clever detailing, such as different light settings, zonal sound system, value windows for amazing night sky views and rear doors leading onto a private patio area.
Our little welcome gift was perfect and the information guide (both online and in the cottage) was fantastic. We visited many of the places recommended.
Highlights for us were Walby farm (kids loved it), walks to Cathedral Cavern and around Rydal Hall.
Its not a case of IF we would visit again, but when.





Jude Walker replied 41 days ago
So pleased you all had such a nice time at Hall Hills and the surrounding area. Walby Farm is great for a day out with little ones whatever the weather and they introduce new things every year so one visit is never enough. It was lovely to meet you all and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Lovely holiday

Review submitted on Sun, 06 Sep 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Second stay in these beautiful cottages, tan had everything we could possibly need, location is amazing, lovely to come back to after days out. Welcome box was a nice touch, directions information very good, lots of dvds and board games to choose from in the laundry, would highly recommend as a place to stay.



Jude Walker replied 47 days ago
Lovely to see you all again up this way, a holiday well deserved after such a busy time for you guys. Thank you for taking the time to write a lovely review, very much appreciated. Take care all.

Fabulous stay!

Review submitted on Wed, 26 Aug 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed for a week and couldn’t fault it. The cottage had everything we could need and Tim and Jude even ordered the sunshine which made it even better. The children loved exploring outside and watching the horses and cows in the fields. We loved our welcome gift thank you, appreciated our shopping being put away prior to arrival and all the little touches around the rooms. We all left feeling sad to be going and will definitely be back in the future! Thank you for being so welcoming and friendly. Jen, Darren, Emily and William



Jude Walker replied 59 days ago
Such kind words Darren, we couldn't have wished for a nicer review. So pleased you had such a wonderful week and we look forward to seeing you all again soon. Thank you

Wish we had stayed longer - a very comfortable few days

Review submitted on Sat, 01 Aug 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage was extremely clean, very comfortable and exactly what you would want in a holiday rental. It's built in an old dairy, but feels airy and modern inside. We have two small children, and it worked very well for them as well. It's located in a lovely rural setting, and at night with the skylights open we slept very soundly. The owners were extremely welcoming, they met us on arrival, told us where everything was and then left us to it for the course of the holiday, whilst also being clear they were open to being approached at any time. We went during COVID, and their set-up for this worked well. We regret not staying for longer, it really was a great trip.



Jude Walker replied 83 days ago
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a great review, your kind words mean a great deal to us. We also appreciate your understanding and support during lockdown and we are thrilled that you finally got your holiday. It was lovely meeting you all and we look forward to welcoming you all back anytime.

Lovely comfortable stay

Review submitted on Sun, 26 Jul 2020
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We enjoyed a very happy week staying in Tan, other family members stayed in Tethera and the Folly.
The cottage was very well equipped, warm and clean. The laundry room was handy and there were nice touches like a welcome pack on arrival and lots of games and brochures to look through. Everything functioned well and we were well looked after by Tim and Jude.




Comfortable cottage to stay in

Review submitted on Mon, 22 Jul 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Tan is a lovely, comfortable, quiet cottage to stay in, well equipped and clean. If you're looking for peace and quiet this is perfect. It's a good base to travel from, we covered quite an area on our trips out, from Gretna Green to Hill Top Farm (Beatrix Potters House) in the south of the county.



A Lovely Stay

Review submitted on Sat, 01 Jun 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Our first visit to Hall Hills, and more than likely not our last. I was expecting ( hoping? ) for something a little more homely bearing in mind it's location, but it was a pleasant place to rest on a night. The location is utterly fabulous, with more than enough places to walk, or just sit out and listen to the wildlife.

The only "downside" was the parking; if the adjoining properties are occupied, it's a little tight if you have a larger car, or there are more than one car per property.




November Stay

Review submitted on Sun, 11 Nov 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The property is great and fitted 6 of us easily. Jude was so friendly and accommodating - fantastic customer service.



Fairy Tale

Review submitted on Fri, 24 Aug 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We spent 5 nights with parents and kids. Absolutely magnificent and comfortable cottage in a very tranquil location. The owners were very careful and helpful. They have thought about every single detail to enjoy your stay in family. We will definitely come back and recommend the same to friends.



Relaxing stay

Review submitted on Wed, 09 May 2018
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
3.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a relaxing weekend in a well kept cottage. Cottage is on a quiet road, ideal for leisurely walks with children. Very close to motorway and easily accessible to the Lakes.
Sound system a hit with our teenager! Disappointed with the lack of mobile service but WiFi was good.




Great break

Review submitted on Mon, 16 Apr 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Me my wife and daughter spent a week in the tan.would recomend to anyone,great location,great staff,great place to stay.10/10



Superbly comfortable cottage with excellent view

Review submitted on Sun, 24 Sep 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The cottage is really comfortable with well equipped kitchen sets and choices of entertainment for the family. Friendly operator with ever smiling face made us we felt welcomed.

Highly recommended.




Lovely cottage in great location

Review submitted on Sat, 19 Aug 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We stayed in Tan Cottage at Hall Hills.

Lovely cottage in great location for exploring the Lake District.
Cosy but still spacious enough for family of 4.
Cottage was spotless and had all the equipment we needed.
Jude, the host was very welcoming and helpful during our stay.
Would definitely recommend.




We had a nice stay. Great, contemporary appartment and well restored.

Review submitted on Tue, 15 Aug 2017
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
It's a good base to visit the Lake District and The Pennines. Both very impressive areas. The landlady and -lord give all the space you need to enjoy your holiday. And if you need them, they are there for you.



Lovely property in beautiful surroundings

Review submitted on Mon, 14 Aug 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The property was very nicely finished and laid out, perfect for our two boys 2 & 5 years old.

Dalston is close by with shops & pubs - the Blue Bell in particular has great food.

Would definitely stay again.




Great location

Review submitted on Mon, 17 Jul 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Hall Hills really sweeps you away from the hustle and bustle of everyday life with a touch of luxury.



A lovely relaxing break

Review submitted on Mon, 10 Jul 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We enjoyed a restful and relaxing break at Tan last week. The location was perfect for trips to the lake district and the local scenery was stunning.
Jude and Tim were extremely friendly and helpful.
The kids loved the space and were made to feel safe and welcome when playing with their toys outside.
Tan was extremely comfortable and well equipped - we lacked nothing. The integrated sound system was fantastic as we love music and we were able to enjoy our favorite playlists throughout the house.
We have already recommended to friends and family and we would definitely consider a return visit. It is not easy to find value for money, cleanliness, friendliness and comfort all in one!





Perfect place to relax and unwind

Review submitted on Thu, 08 Jun 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is the second time we have stayed and on both occasions we have found the property to be both clean and well equipped. Its the owners attention to the little details that make it such a wonderful place to relax and is only a short journey to the lakes and Carlise. I would recommend a stay here 5 *



Great quality accommodation in a lovely location

Review submitted on Sun, 21 May 2017
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Our family of 4 stayed for a 4 day break in May. Excellent email communication prior to arriving and very accommodating with helpful additional items that could be provided for the children - reduced the amount of things we needed to pack (kids cutlery and plates, stair gate, cot, high chair, change mat, etc. The accommodation was extremely comfortable, clean and well-appointed, and the on-site laundry was a nice touch too. As was the bar, though we didn't use it, or given the option too (probably more there for larger group parties I'm guessing). The cottages are in a beautiful, quiet, tucked away spot, convenient for the Carlisle area and the Lakes. The latter are a bit of a drive to get to, so factor in at least a 30 minute drive. All in all, top quality holiday properties.



Great view from main bedroom

Review submitted on Wed, 19 Apr 2017
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Only there 3 nights but good accommodation and in good walking country. Carlisle only about 20 minutes away. Lakes a bit further.



Really lovely stay - wish we could have stayed longer

Review submitted on Mon, 03 Apr 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautifully converted barn in an incredible Cumbrian location. The apartment has every appliance you could need and a delicious welcome pack met us when we first arrived. The rooms are spacious and very nicely decorated. The outdoor terrace is great allowing for wonderful views of the hills. Tim and Jude were great hosts, even providing us a lift to the wedding we were attending nearby - very kind! Thanks again and hope to come back in the future.



Lovely accomodation

Review submitted on Mon, 31 Oct 2016
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
3.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Stayed at Hall Hills this year while working in Carlisle for a week. Bit of a trek out but was expecting that. The house was warm & comfortable, and Jude was a welcoming host.



Jude Walker replied more than 1 year ago
Hi Jess Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review, it is very kind of you especially after the hectic week you have had with the production of 'Dirty Dancing'. The show was superb and packed out every night. I am pleased you found everything in the property to your liking however I am sorry to hear that you felt the 6 mile drive into Carlisle each day was too far. We could have organised transport for you all if you had let us know, maybe next time. I am also a little confused as regards your low score for value for money, as there was only three staying in a sleeps five property during half term week for £32 per person per night which was the reduced rate we offered to fit with your budget from the show allowance. Sadly with your busy schedules you probably felt that there was little time to enjoy the property or the area. It was lovely to meet you all and best of luck with the rest of the tour. Best wishes Jude

Lovely Cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 19 Sep 2016
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a wonderful stay at this beautiful cottage near the scottish border.Good situated, friendly hosts and a child-friendly Place.We would defintely recommend to our Friends.



Wonderful stay

Review submitted on Tue, 06 Sep 2016
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Specious, clean and has outstanding fine decor details. Located about 20 minutes drive from Carlisle. Tim and Jude are really nice and helpful. Definitely i recommend this cottage to anyone.



August 2016 at Tan, Hall Hills

Review submitted on Sun, 21 Aug 2016
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
I stayed with my 21 year old son and my 16 year old daughter. The property had pretty much everything you'd need plus some insightful extras. The location is beautiful, peaceful and isolated, but near enough (by car) to the nearest village/town that you can have all the essentials to hand. The lack of mobile phone signal was frustrating but obviously not down to Tim and Jude, the owners. They kindly provide a landline in the communal laundry room for use just for this reason. The laundry room also contains a wealth of tourist information, details of local walks, a stock of DVDs and family games. There is an onsite bar, which we didn't make use of, but a novel extra for those who don't fancy the trek from the local pub. Parking and room to manoeuvre out of the property is limited but not a huge issue in the scheme of things. It wasn't the cheapest but you most definitely get what you pay for. I would happily recommend Hall Hills to friends and family and hope that I am able to come back at some point in the future.



Lovely cottage

Review submitted on Tue, 09 Aug 2016
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Wee booked the cottage for 3 nights for 4 adults and 2 babies(both aged less than 1). It was amazing 3 nights stay at a very lovely cottage with amazing view of open fields. Everything was very well thought. Not just from the point of view of adults but babies too. The arrangements were very impressive. The owners went extra miles to not just get our groceries unloaded in the apartment but arrange them as well.
They made sure that our stay with the babies was seamless. It was really nice to see changing mats, toys, books etc all available to us which is very rare to find at any cottage stay.

The only bummer we had was the brown water coming from the taps which made it slightly challenging with babies. I would suggest the owners to have a backup plan if such an issue was known to occur in the area and provide some help to those staying at the cottage. The situation made it a little challenging for us.

But apart from that, we absolutely loved our stay and would visit again in future for a little longer than 3 nights.

Thank you very much for the very pleasant experience at Hall Hills .




A wonderful place to relax and enjoy the countryside and nearby towns

Review submitted on Tue, 05 Apr 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fabulous place and the best of everything that you could wish for a pleasant and relaxing holiday.
Quality abounds and the owners are really helpful and provide excellent advice on places to visit.




High quality hide-away

Review submitted on Wed, 04 Nov 2015
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
3.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage was furnished to a high standard and overall we were very happy with our holiday accommodation. If we were to pick holes in it, I guess the downstairs open area did feel slightly cramped for five people but it wasn't a big problem. The TV was perhaps a little small but came with a great sound system. The dishwasher probably needs upgrading and the worktop space in the kitchen was somewhat limited. However, this should not detract from our overall happiness with the holiday. The bedrooms were extremely comfortable and the main bathroom was finished to a very high standard. The laundry room was great and there was a wealth of local guidebooks, games and DVDs for the children. While the location was a little bit out of the Lake District itself, it gave us the opportunity to explore a new part of Cumbria and we still easily made to 3 trips into the centre of the lakes during our week stay. Overall very happy.



Excellent Cottage

Review submitted on Sun, 30 Aug 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We enjoyed a lovely week at Hall Hills The cottage was very clean and tidy and our hosts very pleasant While it is located a good 30 minute drive from the Lake District the character of the cottage more than made up for it We would recommend Hall Hills to others as a first class facility.