FB Twitter

OWL COTE

OWL COTE

4.8
out of 5
Ratings from 16 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.6
Comfort
4.8
Condition
4.8
Location
4.9
Value
4.6
Customer
Service
4.8


At the end of one of South West Scotland’s most stunning coastal driveways, rests Owl Cote & The Bird’s Nest, 2 luxury holiday homes on the beautiful shores of Carrick Bay, Gatehouse of Fleet in South West Scotland. Owl Cote has been beautifully “refreshed” with new carpets, repainted, new linens throughout and some wonderful new furniture. A true home from home.

Location, locaton, location

Review submitted on Thu, 28 Jan 2021
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Owl Cote is a very comfortable house with all you need for a relaxing stay. Beautiful, quiet location.



Set yourself up for the winter.

Review submitted on Sat, 21 Nov 2020
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely house with great views. We were fortunate enough to have a clear starry night, we sat out on the balcony, wrapped up in big cosy blankets, to catch the shooting stars and see the milky way. The house is equipped with everything you need for a relaxing break. We enjoyed having the wood burner on, especially when it was howling a gale outside. We will definitely be back again soon.




Donald replied 94 days ago
Hi Janette, many thanks for taking the time to review your stay with us at Owl Cote. We are glad you got the opportunity to experience Galloway's dark skies. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Short stay at Owl Cote

Review submitted on Tue, 27 Oct 2020
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Lovely stay at Owl Cote, wonderful accommodation with stunning views . The children enjoyed the morning coastal walks and exploring the local area . Wish we had stayed longer !



Donald replied 122 days ago
Hi Pamela, we really appreciate you taking the time to leave us a review. We are very lucky to have such amazing surroundings to enjoy. There is so much to see and do in the area. Hopefully we can welcome you back in the future.

Tranquility

Review submitted on Sat, 24 Oct 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Owl Cote was a well needed place to make the world feel normal to get away from the struggling world
A beautiful cottage in a stunning location with everything you need
Watch the sun go down over the sea with a glass of wine what more could you want
It was TRANQUILITY!




Donald replied 122 days ago
Hi Paul, many thanks for taking the time to review your stay with us. We try our best to make our guests experience a positive one and we feel very lucky to have such lovely surroundings. We hope we can welcome you back soon.

A magical Autumnal week in a very sunny Galloway

Review submitted on Tue, 20 Oct 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We've just returned from a glorious stay at Owl Cote - and it was hard to tear ourselves away. We were blessed with wonderful weather, with only a few hours of rain one morning, so we were able to get out and about and to visit so many places.

We particularly loved Loch Trool and had a great walk around there. Beautiful colours and a great leg stretch.

We also visited the RSPB Wood of Cree - fabulous woodland walk with amazing waterfalls - alas no otters at the Otter Pool. But another visitor had seen Willow Tits.

The Mull of Galloway was a bit of a distance away, but well worth the journey - the most southern tip of Scotland with lighthouse. Portpatrick was a good place to visit for lunch, a good picturesque fishing port, with lots of pubs and restaurants. And then we had a good walk at Castle Kennedy round Black Loch.

And Ninian's Cave and Chapel, and the Isle of Whithorn, and the interesting town of Wigtown, the bookshop capital of Scotland - who knew?

And I had a hilarious game of golf at Gatehouse with my son. Hilarious on my part, because I hadn’t picked up my clubs for 2 years. Glorious views and a nice friendly course.

Don’t miss Kirkcudbright- an enchanting town. Great butchers - don’t go without sampling the steak, bacon and sausages. Great fishmongers - we had sea bass, salmon and oysters (and Owl Cote is complete with oyster shucker - how many holiday cottages have those?!). Several bakers and small independent friendly shops. We loved the ceramic pottery shop. And could have spent a fortune at the art gallery, The Whitehouse Gallery.

And after all that activity it was fabulous to go home to Owl Cote. Amazingly knitted out - everything is there that you could want. Warm, luxurious, very comfortable beds, beautifully decorated, standards way higher than the average holiday rental. It is, after all, a family home too. Everything has been thought out so well.

And then you come to the sunsets and the location of the cottage. The cottage has been designed with the sitting room and adjoining balcony overlooking the sea facing west. The sunsets were staggering. And we loved our sunset walks on the beach, again accompanied by the sunsets and also by the calls of the curlews and wading birds. My son even swam - not for long - but in October?!

I would love to visit again. It was the most lovely respite from the madness and upset that 2020 has brought us!




Donald replied 129 days ago
Hi Sally, thank you so much for leaving such a detailed review of what our region has to offer. It really does make our job much more worthwhile when our guests have such a positive experience. We hope we can welcome you back soon.

Another great stay at Owlcote

Review submitted on Tue, 06 Oct 2020
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our second stay at Owlcote and we had a wonderful time again, helped by some really good weather for September. It's a great property that has everything you could wish for, including Premier League football if that's your thing. Suffice to say that we are looking to return again in 2021.



Donald replied 143 days ago
Hi Chris, thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay at Owl Cote. It is lovely to hear you enjoyed your stay and we would love to welcome you back in the future.

The Perfect Escape

Review submitted on Sat, 26 Sep 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our second visit to Owl Cote and once again it did not disappoint. Great location , beautiful accommodation. We had fantastic weather for walking and exploring and out favourite pastime, sitting on the balcony taking in the wonderful views especially the sunsets. We will definitely return.



Donald replied 150 days ago
Hi Peter, we really appreciate you taking the time to leave us your feedback. It makes our job so much more worthwhile when our guests have a good experience. We look forward to welcoming you back.

A secret gem!0

Review submitted on Mon, 14 Sep 2020
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Owl Cote is a fantastic holiday home with every convenience. All fixtures & fittings are of good quality. The beautiful surrounding gardens offer a varied selection of seating areas. The beach is a 2 minute flat walk away & day trips to the surrounding area offered a variety of options. Definitely recommended.



Donald replied 163 days ago
Hi Christine, we really appreciate you taking the time to review your stay with us. We work hard to produce that home from home feeling. There is so much to see and do in the area we hope we can welcome you back soon.

When Galloway was like the Mediterranean

Review submitted on Tue, 25 Aug 2020
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We enjoyed our stay in Owl Cote very much, from seeing the owl on the first evening to walking to Knockbrex or the beach, swimming and kayaking most days in warm sunshine, and were sorry to leave. A very special place.



Donald replied 183 days ago
Hi Liz, many thanks for leaving us a lovely review. The weather was great during your stay and we are pleased you were able to make the best of it. Hopefully we can welcome you back soon.

Lovely relaxing place to stay

Review submitted on Sun, 26 Jul 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our second trip to Owlcote. It is a lovely home on a very special location, right on Carrick shore. There is lots to do in the surrounding area, or you can spend your time going for long walks along the beach and swimming in the sea.



Donald replied 212 days ago
Hello Clare, we are really grateful for you taking the time to review your stay with us at Owl Cote. We feel very lucky to be closely located to so many local attractions and activities. Our area offers so much for our visitors.

Superb accommodation

Review submitted on Mon, 17 Feb 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Owlcote has everything for a family looking for a relaxing break. It is comfortable, clean, tastefully decorated with all the modern appliances you would hope for. The introduction of wifi is much appreciated. if you like what this gorgeous part of Scotland has to offer, Owlcote is the place to go, no doubt about it.



Donald replied 217 days ago
Hello John, many thanks for your lovely review. We are really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us at Owl Cote. We feel very lucky that our area has so much to offer our visitors and hopefully you can return sometime soon.

Lovely property in a stunning location

Review submitted on Tue, 04 Feb 2020
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Owl Cote is a lovely cottage in a stunning location. We had a wonderful stay and found it most comfortable. We would definitely consider returning in the future



Donald replied 217 days ago
Hello Kenny, thank you very much for your review. We really appreciate your feedback. We try very hard to make our guests experience home from home and we are glad you found the cottage comfortable. Hopefully we can welcome you back sometime soon.

Beautiful Christmas in Owl Cote :)))

Review submitted on Wed, 08 Jan 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We are definitely returning to this beautiful house in the most delightful, calming, location!
Was a much needed relaxation...
Lovely, warm welcome to a beautifully decorated Christmas tree & decor including a huge tray of Christmas delights plus our Christmas food was pre-arranged making life so much easier for us all.
Christmas morning we had the pleasure of deer roaming near the house
Wood burning fire was a dream, the house is beautifully decorated, providing us all with enough personal space to relax & rejuvenate.
Our evening walks looking at the amazing night sky were simply stunning....the peace & tranquility was much needed.
We wish we'd stayed longer....so sad returning home :(
Ourselves & our pooch, Connie, loved the area, especially our evening walks on the beach, along the coast looking at the stunning night sky.
Connie (and us humans) also enjoyed being sat in the delightful garden smelling the wildlife & watching the great outdoors in such a safe, isolated area.
Highly recommended xxxxx
The gardens are charming and secluded. The garden and outdoor seating areas are all picturesque , calm and relaxing.




Donald replied 217 days ago
Hello Victoria, thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Owl Cote. We are so pleased you had a wonderful time. Owl Cote is ideal for that tranquil getaway and we are glad you had a good experience. Hopefully we can welcome you back soon.

Short Break

Review submitted on Sat, 16 Nov 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Booked last minute for a break, the owner was very welcoming and nothing was any trouble. The cottage is furnished lovely and it had everything you needed. Very cosy and comfortable even on a rainy day, would definitely recommend it.



October break.

Review submitted on Sun, 20 Oct 2019
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We enjoyed a peaceful break at Owl Cote. Seaside walks and visiting favourite places. The Station House Cookery School cafe serve pizza on a Sunday evening with byo wine. Well worth a visit if you like pizza. Very reasonably priced, tasty pizza and friendly staff.



A perfect break

Review submitted on Thu, 25 Jul 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Looking for a new location for our annual family trip to Galloway, (the owners of the Moorland Farm we used can no longer have us) we found Owl Cote when walking at Carrick Shore. It looked perfect, it is.

Clean comfortable well appointed accommodation by our favourite beach and a wonderful view, a perfect place to relax