FB Twitter

THE BIRDS NEST

THE BIRDS NEST

4.6
out of 5
Ratings from 7 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.4
Condition
4.9
Location
4.6
Value
4.3
Customer
Service
4.7


The Bird’s Nest offers Suite-type accommodation to sleep 2, with the addition of several extra amenities which will all add to providing a relaxing and memorable stay.
In addition to a multi-fuel wood burning fire, a full bathroom, goose down duvets and sumptuous linens, there are 2 Televisions with freeview , and lastly … the four velux windows situated above the bed (with remote opening and closing) offer beautiful night views of Galloway’s famous Dark Skies – for those lucky enough to enjoy clear skies. Ample parking, and of course just moments from the wonderful beach at Carrick.

Great wee find

Review submitted on Tue, 03 Nov 2020
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
3.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Everything was perfect except for the weather - very luxurious little Bothy ideally situated right next to Owl Cote For extra family members. Will definitely be back.



Donald replied 115 days ago
HI Diane, thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay with us at Birds Nest and we are pleased you had a positive experience. Hopefully we can welcome you back again soon and the weather improves for your next visit.

Very good but some limitations

Review submitted on Sun, 27 Sep 2020
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely relaxed stay, well prepared accommodation, excellent standard of the fittings available and good info regarding directions. This is very good as an annex to Owlcote, but is more limited as a stand alone cottage. The area is ideal as a get away from it all. Would recommend as an addition to the large cottage, but with caution as a stand alone as limited options if you want to ‘self cater’.



Donald replied 150 days ago
Hi Lynda, thank you for taking the time to review your stay at The Bird's Nest. All of the amenities are as advertised but we really appreciate your comments. Hopefully we can welcome you back in the future.

Beautiful piece of paradise

Review submitted on Sat, 19 Sep 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our 4th stay to BN/Owlcote and it didn’t disappoint! Huge comfortable bed and linens of an excellent quality. Very clean and tidy. We’ve not stayed for longer than 4 nights before and our only constructive criticism is the lack of storage. It would be lovely to have better drawers at the side of the bed. It’s extremely cosy and perfect for a romantic getaway. Be prepared for the absence of a cooker but we managed with the two ring stove and microwave. We usually eat out more but didn’t this time due to Covid. The owner and manager lovely to deal with and it’s reassuring to know that it is a managed property should you have any issues. I do think it’s become more expensive but it has a lot to offer. The beautiful bay only a minute walk away. Gorgeous sunsets on the elevated decking was a beautiful way to end the day!



Donald replied 157 days ago
Hi Sarah, many thanks for taking the time to leave us a review, we really appreciate your feedback. We are pleased you had great experience and hopefully we can welcome you back again soon.

Birds Nest

Review submitted on Sat, 29 Aug 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Our second stay in birds nest and just as lovely as always.
It has everything you need in a compact cosy well thought out space.
Good to book owl cote too for bigger parties and share the cooking
Hopefully back next year




Donald replied 174 days ago
Hi Patsy, it was lovely that we could welcome you back to Birds Nest and it is great we have Owl Cote to offer for those who require more space depending on the number of guests. We look forward to seeing you soon.

Perfect costal retreat in great location

Review submitted on Sat, 25 Jul 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Wow what a pleasant surprise this little gem was. Carrick shore and bay is a fantastic costal retreat, ideal for sea activities, costal walks and well located for exploring Dumfries & Galloway tourist route. Loved it and did not want to fly the nest.



Donald replied 217 days ago
Hello Gary, thank you very much for your lovely review. Your feedback is much appreciated. Our area offers so much for our visitors and it is great that we have so many local attractions and activities. We are delighted you had a great stay with us and hopefully we can welcome you back in the near future.

Fabulous location in a warm cosy cottage

Review submitted on Sun, 15 Sep 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fabulous location, warm and airy - quite bijou but with everything you need. A very short walk to the beach



Nice small cottage beautiful location.

Review submitted on Thu, 29 Aug 2019
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Very good small accomodation, clean good parking but terrible rough track to get to the houses, beware if you have a low suspension car. Beautiful bay beach virtually on the doorstep.
Fairly long drive to any shops if you are used to urban life.
Nice romantic place for a couple.