FB Twitter

Rokeby Cottage

Rokeby Cottage

4.8
out of 5
Ratings from 56 reviews
98% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.8
Comfort
4.8
Condition
4.8
Location
4.9
Value
4.8
Customer
Service
4.8


Rokeby Cottage is a cosy 2 bedroom (sleeps 3) self-catering traditional farm worker's cottage.

It is located on Jaggers lane a short stroll from the centre of Hathersage village in the Derbyshire Peak District.

It has been fully renovated and is now beautifully appointed with a modern kitchen and bathroom, full gas fired central heating, WiFi internet, TV with Freeview together with DVD player and CD player. It also has a washing machine and tumble drier in a small out-house.

The patio to the rear has beautiful South-West facing views towards Castleton and Mam Tor.

There is off-road parking at the front for a small car or parking adjacent to the cottage for something larger.

Comfortable cottage in a fantastic location

Review submitted on Tue, 09 Jul 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Rokeby Cottage was beautifully clean with good facilities. You do need to watch your head as the doorways are low, and the stairs are steep, but neither was a problem to us. The kitchen was well equipped and the wi-fi worked very well. The outside area had lovely views of the hills. The television was not good as the picture and sound kept breaking up, but that didn't bother us - we were too busy walking in this wonderful part of the country or trying out the local hostelries. The cottage is in an ideal location for exploring the beautiful Peak District.

Sue from stayed at Rokeby Cottage for 9 nights in June 2019


90/100

Review submitted on Sun, 07 Jul 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Property in good position parking place a little difficult but could park ok on the road.
Lovely views and pleasant patio to sit out for meals


Barbara from stayed at Rokeby Cottage for 5 nights in June 2019


Cosy cottage

Review submitted on Fri, 02 Nov 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Rokeby Cottage was very comfortable and in a great location. With walks from the door as well as great places to eat in Hathersage (within walking distance). The cottage was extremely well equipped and warm - a Godsend considering the early snow on the first morning there. We hope to return again and can definitely recommend it.

Jenny from Colchester stayed at Rokeby Cottage for 3 nights in October 2018


Lovely stay

Review submitted on Mon, 08 Oct 2018
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
We stayed at Rokeby Cottage on recommendation of friends and we were not disappointed! A lovely little cottage with a lovely outlook at the back, well fitted kitchen and lounge, comfortable bed and roomy bedroom. Perfect for getting out for walks with the dog.

John from Ross-on-wye stayed at Rokeby Cottage for 7 nights in September 2018


Heatwave in Hathersage!

Review submitted on Mon, 09 Jul 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a perfect stay! Beautiful cottage with everything you could need! Taller people, note there are a few low door ways!
It is so close to all that Hathersage has to offer- I went to the lido! The church to see new swallows nesting in in the eves. Enjoyed tea and cake in the church grounds. Heatwave and watching England football team win in the local pub! Will definitely return! What a fantastic stay! Sarah


Sarah from Avalon Beach stayed at Rokeby Cottage for 14 nights in June 2018


Perfect little getaway

Review submitted on Fri, 15 Jun 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Rokeby Cottage is small but tastefully decorated and has everything you need for a stay. Views from the back (Kitchen and back bedroom) are stunning with rolling hills and sheep. The back garden / yard is small but adequate but there are plenty of walks around the area, including Stanage Edge which is literally minutes away by car. Communication with the owner was efficient and straightforward, as was information providing more details. The bathroom is small but airy and the shower is really powerful which was great after a long hike. I would definitely stay again and would recommend without hesitation.

Guest from Chesterfield stayed at Rokeby Cottage for 4 nights in June 2018


Lovely cottage that has it all

Review submitted on Mon, 04 Jun 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Stylish, tastefully decorated cottage with all comforts and everything I could have needed. Great location. Hope to be back.

Sue from stayed at Rokeby Cottage for 7 nights in May 2018


Wonderful place to stay

Review submitted on Tue, 22 May 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely little house, and brilliant location for walking. You need to remember to duck to avoid hitting your head on the door frames, and stairs are very steep. If you can manage these aspects its a very comfortable and uncluttered cottage. This was the second time we stayed, and we'll come again. Brilliant holiday.

Liz from Brighton stayed at Rokeby Cottage for 7 nights in May 2018


Nice Little Cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 09 Apr 2018
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Good Location, easy to find, instructions on how to use everything. Clean and tidy, good shower, comfortable bed.
Everything you require in the kitchen. Small back garden but nice view, very pleased, recommend for a short break, very good.


David from Leicester stayed at Rokeby Cottage for 4 nights in March 2018


Wonderful stay in Hathersage

Review submitted on Mon, 13 Nov 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a fantastic week at Rokeby Cottage- the cottage was very attractive, warm, had everything we needed there and more, was a short walk from the centre of Hathersage and had stunning views from the garden, the colours of the trees were amazing. Even though we were there in November we managed to spend a bit of time in the back garden, having cups of tea and enjoying the view. We went on lovely walks from the cottage and enjoyed lunch and breakfast in the deli in Hathersage. It's an easy drive to Sheffield where we visited friends. We definitely hope to return!

Julie from Carmarthen stayed at Rokeby Cottage for 7 nights in November 2017


Short stay

Review submitted on Thu, 02 Nov 2017
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The property is well appointed, warm and comfortable. Contact with owners on email was very straightforward as was check in.

Guest from stayed at Rokeby Cottage for 3 nights in October 2017


Fabulous week at Rokeby Cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 23 Oct 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Rokeby Cottage is a gorgeous place to stay. The cottage was very comfortable, spotlessly clean and equipped with everything we needed, including a wide selection of books for rainy days. It’s very close to the village centre so convenient for the shops and cafes etc. We would definitely stay here again.

Ralph from Wigan stayed at Rokeby Cottage for 7 nights in October 2017


Rokeby Cottage

Review submitted on Tue, 17 Oct 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is a delightful cottage in Hathersage in the Peak District and an ideal base from which to explore the area. It's perfect for 2-3 people, attractively decorated and well equipped. The off road parking space is tiny so only suitable for people with small cars. There are local walks direct from the cottage, and areas like Stanage Edge and Mam Tor are only a short drive away. The small town has good basic food stores and all you could possibly want in the way of outdoor equipment - no less than three such stores. We'd definitely recommend it.

Angela from stayed at Rokeby Cottage for 7 nights in October 2017


Lovely cottage, great walking countryside

Review submitted on Mon, 02 Oct 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fabulous walking country, straight from the cottage door. We chose it as Hathersage has a train station, a bus service, and shops to buy food to cook (albeit a little limited). The butchers has a good range of cheeses.

Rokeby Cottage is lovely, on a quiet back rd close to the village centre. It has amazing views from the Kitchen window and patio, and a comfortable kitchen, double bed and bedroom. The bathroom and living room are also very comfortable, there's even good light to read by in the living room (a rare thing in my experience). Beware the low door frames though, even I hit my head a few times and I'm only 5ft 4inch! The cottage feels spacious, it hasn't been over-filled with furniture. Re Kitchen equipment, we could have done with some sort of coffee making stuff (a cafetierre or coffee jug, filter and papers) and a small bowl to mix French dressing in, otherwise good cooking equipment.

You feel like you are staying in Huw's home, rather than an anonymous holiday let, surrounding by evidence of his interest in cycling, and his personal reviews and info about the area, and local pubs.

Thank you, we'll be back if you'll have us.


Liz from stayed at Rokeby Cottage for 7 nights in September 2017


Short summer break

Review submitted on Mon, 21 Aug 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a fantastic stay at the cottage. One of the highlights was the Aquafun at the swimming pool on Monday at 4 pm!! Thought would just be a few floats in water - but no - a huge bouncy castle type thing which the kids have to stay on whilst a lifeguard is making it slippery and then make it to far side and down slide into water to do it all again!! Also enjoyed pool games in little John pub on some wet and windy evenings!! Locals helped to teach my 2 boys (think they were afraid kids were about to wreck table!!) cottage is delightful, very well equipped and in a great location. Will definitely return!!!

Julie from stayed at Rokeby Cottage for 7 nights in August 2017


Lovely cosy cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 10 Jul 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This cottage was perfect for our Derbyshire stay. Cosy, clean, home from home with a lovely view from the garden and only a few minutes walk into Hathersage. Very comfortable bed, just watch the low ceilings! Would definitely recommend and would definitely stay again.

Zoe from Macclesfield stayed at Rokeby Cottage for 7 nights in June 2017


A Wonderful Holiday

Review submitted on Mon, 29 May 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Rokeby Cottage was a delightful place to stay and we hope to spend another week there in the future. The stairs to the bedroom might be slightly problematic for someone who needs a handrail but we absolutely loved the place.

Elaine from Scarborough stayed at Rokeby Cottage for 7 nights in May 2017


Peace and quiet, away from a busy world

Review submitted on Mon, 15 May 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I spend a lot of time flying, driving and sitting in meetings. So it is nice when I can stay somewhere which I reach by train, and can virtually go "off-grid" for a wee or so. This is life at Rokeby Cottage, where the chatter of the garden birds is as close as I come to social networks, and I can indulge in a much simpler lifestyle.

Guest from Sheffield stayed at Rokeby Cottage for 14 nights in April 2017


Business and Pleasure

Review submitted on Mon, 03 Apr 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I stayed at Rokeby Cottage because I had to be in Sheffield on business for a couple of weeks. As I had flown into Manchester Airport, I decided not to hire a car, but to arrive by train, and to use a train to commute between Hathersage and Sheffield.

That worked out very well, and I was able to do my work, and enjoy leisure in one of the more beautiful parts of the United Kingdom.

I will be staying again this year.


Accounts from Sheffield stayed at Rokeby Cottage for 21 nights in February 2017


Beautiful cosy home in the Peak District

Review submitted on Fri, 30 Dec 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed at Rokeby Cottage in December and enjoyed day after day of beautiful clear weather and sunny days. The cottage is lovely and in the perfect location for everything we needed in Hathersage. It is a great place to anyone.

Guest from Sheffield stayed at Rokeby Cottage for 10 nights in December 2016


We had a lovely stay in this cosy cottage

Review submitted on Sun, 11 Dec 2016
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely stay in Rokebycottage. Every day provided us a stunning walk, which we always ended in the Spar nearby for some daily shopping. The kitchen in the cottage was well equipped and had everything we needed to make a good meal. After dinner the livingroom gave us warmth and comfort to relax and finally the beds carried us gently through the (very silent) nights. We enjoyed every minute of this stay!

Ineke from Assen stayed at Rokeby Cottage for 7 nights in November 2016


A Welcome Break

Review submitted on Mon, 14 Nov 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I stayed at Rokeby Cottage when I was over from Australia, working in Sheffield.
It is a beautiful cottage in a great location, with lovely views over the hills.

It was really nice to return to the cottage each day after work, and to enjoy a quiet stay in something better than just a hotel room.


Accounts from Sheffield stayed at Rokeby Cottage for 8 nights in November 2016


A perfect, pet friendly cottage in the beautiful Peak District.

Review submitted on Fri, 23 Sep 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I liked Rokeby Cottage so much, I stayed an extra 4 days! It is perfectly located - a short walk from Hathersage, surrounded by various footpaths and walks, the road is quiet, the neighbours are friendly and there is a surprisingly lovely view from the kitchen and patio. The house is very clean and has everything you need. It´s a small house with low ceilings but that was perfect for just me and my dog. The shower curtain should be replaced by a shower screen and some may find the parking a bit awkward but these are small points. I hope to stay there again next summer. I had a wonderful holiday with my dog and a big part of that was staying in Rokeby Cottage.

Guest from Arta stayed at Rokeby Cottage for 4 nights in September 2016


The perfect place to stay to get away from it all.

Review submitted on Mon, 25 Jul 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
After having a wonderful holiday at Rokeby cottage last year,I booked again this year. The cottage is lovely,comfortable,clean and has everything you need for your stay.It has a lovely patio area which looks out onto the hills.The location is excellent,situated on a quiet little lane.The area is fantastic for walking or photography which I go for.There is a shop which sells all you could need a short walk away in the village.I would recommend to anybody wanting the perfect holiday in the Peak District.

Janine from Leicester stayed at Rokeby Cottage for 7 nights in July 2016


Rokeby Cottage

Review submitted on Tue, 05 Jul 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We enjoyed a really delightful stay in this very comfortable and well equipped cottage. It is well positioned with spectacular views over the valley, a five minute walk into Hathersage and footpaths from the door up to Stannage Edge.

Carole from stayed at Rokeby Cottage for 7 nights in June 2016


Lovely cottage, very well located

Review submitted on Mon, 09 May 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We enjoyed our week's stay in lovely Rokeby Cottage. Comfortable and clean near the centre of Hathersage. 15 minutes walk to the train station. Beautiful walks nearby, good pub, restaurants.

Henricus from stayed at Rokeby Cottage for 7 nights in April 2016


Satisfied customers.

Review submitted on Sat, 09 Apr 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We enjoyed a lovely stay at this cottage.Only 2 snags, found the hob and oven controls very fiddly,and the kitchen ceiling was very low for a 6'1''son who came for the weekend at the last minute.. Other than that it was a beautiful little cottage and we would certainly book it again.

The View from the kitchen and back bedroom were stunning, I can imagine in the summer or in good weather it would be lovely to sit outside on the patio.........


Jenny from stayed at Rokeby Cottage for 5 nights in April 2016


Beautiful views and cosy cottage with all the creature comforts

Review submitted on Tue, 16 Feb 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a two week stay at Rokeby Cottage as I was in Sheffield for work. I was staying with my son and he and I enjoyed several walks from the cottage out across the fields and down to the Plough Pub and up the hill to Stanage Edge.

There is a washing machine and tumble drier which is very handy, and there are also bird feeders and a bird table which bring lovely garden birds into the garden.

The ceilings are low and the stairs steep, so I wouldn't want to be too tall or be unsteady on my feet.


Dialogue from Sheffield stayed at Rokeby Cottage for 14 nights in January 2016


Fab Autumn Break

Review submitted on Wed, 28 Oct 2015
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A superb cottage for a couple/three people or two friends. Beautiful views and walks straight from the door. An extra tea towel and dishcloth would be helpful, otherwise highly recommended, which it already has.


Tracey from Oundle stayed at Rokeby Cottage for 4 nights in October 2015


Our stay at Rokeby Cottage

Review submitted on Tue, 29 Sep 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
a lovely character cottage with fantastic views from the kitchen and outside area. The stairs are steep so care has to be taken but was not a problem for us. Great walks right from the door and Hathersage is one of the best villages in the Peak District, with a heated outdoor swimming pool, bowling green and childrens park. we would love to return in the future.

Peter from Bournemouth stayed at Rokeby Cottage for 7 nights in September 2015


four days walking in the peaks

Review submitted on Sat, 19 Sep 2015
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
I would definitely recommend this cottage to others, it was well equipped and very clean.

The stairs are steep, and the doorways very low, but a quick learning curve after bashing head a couple of times!

Fantastic view from the kitchen. It was cosy and warm with a very good shower. You will be disappointed if you like to relax in a bath though as its VERY small.

The email we received with the information of how to find and access the property and also what was provided in the cottage etc was very helpful.

I can recommend the Scotsman pub where we has three very good and reasonably priced meals.


Guest from Peterborough stayed at Rokeby Cottage for 4 nights in September 2015


What a fabulous stay

Review submitted on Sun, 13 Sep 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage was fantastic... What a view!!!!! Walking distance into town was fantastic with wonderful coffee shops and the George was just stunning for dinner.
The cottage was clean, tidy and beautiful inside with everything you could need including towels and bedding.
The parking outside you can fit a small car on but there is on road parking for larger cars.
There are plenty of great walks from the cottage particular favourite was up stanage edge.
All in all a wonderful holiday and cottage, thank you!!!!


Louise from South Croydon stayed at Rokeby Cottage for 5 nights in August 2015


Beautiful modern cottage,fab location.

Review submitted on Wed, 19 Aug 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I had a fabulous few days staying at Rokeby Cottage.It was beautifully clean,modern and had everything i needed,internet connection being a priority.It was a fabulous central location for everywhere i needed to be being a keen photographer..It is in a nice quiet location but within a few minutes walk from the village center..The view from the patio garden is super too..I would recommend staying here to anyone,and i will surely be booking again.

Guest from Leicester stayed at Rokeby Cottage for 4 nights in July 2015


Lovely Cottage

Review submitted on Thu, 16 Jul 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great cottage in very convenient but relatively quiet location. The rooms are surprisingly spacious but some low ceilings which may affect people over 6 feet tall (didn't bother me)! The bed in the double room is so comfy I wanted to take it home! Everything you need is there including dishwasher and Wifi and a cute courtyard garden to admire the view from.

We had a lovely stay here and would definitely return.



Guest from stayed at Rokeby Cottage for 3 nights in July 2015


A1 cottage for comfort and equipment

Review submitted on Mon, 29 Jun 2015
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely all round,neat and tidy,well equipped,cosy and comfortable.Heating appreciated at certain times even thoiugh it was June!Very good location for visiting many other areas and sites, easy travel either by car or public transport.Hathersage itself is in easy walking distance and is served well by shops ,filling station,pubs/ restaurants ,etc.

Guest from stayed at Rokeby Cottage for 7 nights in June 2015


Home from home

Review submitted on Wed, 17 Jun 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We felt at home from the moment that we stepped into Rokeby Cottage. Being summer, most of our time was spent in the dining area or garden, enjoying the views over Offerton Moor, but the sitting room would have been cosy and comfortable on a dark evening. Everything we needed was provided and well presented in a cottage full of character.

Guest from Wellingborough stayed at Rokeby Cottage for 4 nights in June 2015


Lovely Cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 30 Mar 2015
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
3.0
A lovely cottage, small but perfectly formed. The quality of furnishings was excellent with everything you could need. A couple of tiny things, no curtains or blind at the patio doors, this meant that our dogs were disturbed every time the rear neighbour went to their garage, this could easily be done without obstructing the fabulous view. Also the blind in the main bedroom was broken meaning we had to roll it up and down manually which was fiddly and a pain and please paint the folding door to the stairs it looks cheap and spoils what is fabulous and tasteful decoration, Tiny picky points But we loved this cottage and would go again

Guest from Lowestoft stayed at Rokeby Cottage for 4 nights in March 2015


Winter holiday

Review submitted on Wed, 21 Jan 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely, well presented holiday cottage. Very well thought out, such as boot racks and coat hooks for winter conditions.
Everything you would need was supplied, only niggle, could do with a curtain in winter across the patio door for when " the north wind is a blowing". Bit draughty sat at the table, other than that, was lovely and cosy and toasty!


Guest from Rotorua stayed at Rokeby Cottage for 7 nights in January 2015


Comfortable

Review submitted on Mon, 27 Oct 2014
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A lovely stay in this cosy, comfortable, stylish cottage. Very peaceful and quiet with a great view of the hillside opposite. An ideal base for walking in the area.

Guest from Blisworth stayed at Rokeby Cottage for 7 nights in October 2014


Rokeby----- a gem. We loved it.

Review submitted on Sun, 26 Oct 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A beautifully renovated cottage, which retains its historic feel. Very well appointed kitchen, and bathroom. Situated close to Haversage, a lovely little village on the Manchester Sheffield rail. Adequate car parking , and an attractive outdoor patio. Steep stairs to main bedroom, but not a problem if taken slowly. Highly recommended.

Guest from Bendigo stayed at Rokeby Cottage for 9 nights in October 2014


An Excellent Holiday

Review submitted on Mon, 06 Oct 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A lovely, cosy cottage in a marvellous setting for walking. All mod cons, and superb views from the rear windows. Very handy for village shopping.

Guest from Rugby stayed at Rokeby Cottage for 7 nights in September 2014


Rokeby Cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 29 Sep 2014
4.5
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I would recommend Rokeby Cottage as being good value for money. However, one thing was not good. The living room in particular had a very strong and unpleasant smell of dogs when we first arrived and this only dissipated after we had left the windows open a lot for the first 3-4 days. Obviously the previous guests had a dog and did not leave the windows open very much!



Guest from Hove stayed at Rokeby Cottage for 7 nights in September 2014


August stay

Review submitted on Mon, 11 Aug 2014
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Another great stay at Rokeby cottage was good to go back. The cottage is in the perfect location with great views on a summers evening with a glass of wine!

Karl from Letchworth Garden City stayed at Rokeby Cottage for 7 nights in August 2014


Central Location

Review submitted on Wed, 04 Jun 2014
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My partner and I stayed at Rokeby Cottage in early May 2014 and were very pleased with the accommodation. Everything was at hand to make our stay very comfortable. The cottage is nicely furnished and we were delighted with the size of the main bedroom. The location of the cottage is great and we found it very easy to visit many of the tourist spots in the area. We definitely plan to book the cottage again. Its great for a getaway and the surrounding area is beautiful.

Guest from Beverley stayed at Rokeby Cottage for 7 nights in May 2014


Great place to stay in peaks

Review submitted on Mon, 10 Mar 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Second stay at this wonderful cottage! Had a fabulous week. Think will become annual event. Location is just right to visit popular peak places. Cottage cosy and everything you need close by. View from kitchen amazing. One of my favourite places to stay.

Sue from West Yorkshire stayed at Rokeby Cottage for 4 nights in March 2014


Excellent Cottage in a Lovely Location

Review submitted on Wed, 12 Feb 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Rokeby Cottage is beatifully positioned for a Hathersage cetnre and for thousands of lovely walks, drives or cycle rides.

The cottage itself is extremely well thought out and presented, and very well equipped too. We had a wonderful time and will definately return.


Guest from Cambridge stayed at Rokeby Cottage for 4 nights in January 2014


A perfect place for a winter retreat

Review submitted on Fri, 31 Jan 2014
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I was looking for a quiet space for some time out in January - a comfortable place to read and reflect and a good location for walking. Rokeby Cottage provided well for both. I recommend it and would happily return again.

Guest from Nottingham stayed at Rokeby Cottage for 5 nights in January 2014


Relaxing stay in cosy cottage

Review submitted on Sat, 04 Jan 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage offered a cosy home from home for our short break. Finished to a high standard and very well appointed with all necessary equipment and comprehensive and helpful information packs. The efficient hot water/ central heating system was much appreciated by us, coming from balmy Cornwall to the decidedly parky North. We will definitely use the cottage again.

Pamela from Bude stayed at Rokeby Cottage for 4 nights in December 2013


Christmas week break to be near children / grandchildren

Review submitted on Mon, 30 Dec 2013
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Delightful cottage, well & tastefully appointed. Well equipped kitchen. Amazing views and immediate access to great walks. Good heating a necessity high up in Peaks. Our 2 dogs very happy to be with us & not in kennels. Only a short walk to shops & pubs.
Hope to go again in the Summer. Many thanks.


Guest from Mitcheldean stayed at Rokeby Cottage for 7 nights in December 2013


Great cottage. Highly recommended.

Review submitted on Mon, 16 Dec 2013
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great location. Very quiet and within easy walking distance of the Peaks. The cottage is very comfortable and full of charm. Tall people beware, a couple of the doors are very low!!.

Guest from Tunbridge Wells stayed at Rokeby Cottage for 7 nights in December 2013


Lovely half term break

Review submitted on Mon, 04 Nov 2013
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We thoroughly enjoyed our week at Rokeby Cottage. The cottage has everything we needed and is well-equipped, comforable and tastefully decorated. We would have appreciated three bath towels, rather than only two, as there were three of us and a little more information on the surrounding area would make it even better.

We think it's great value for money and would love to return again next year.


Guest from Cambridge stayed at Rokeby Cottage for 7 nights in October 2013


Perfect retreat

Review submitted on Wed, 16 Oct 2013
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Rokeby Cottage provided the ideal location for a long weekend away. It is in a great location for walking, near the shop and pub, really well decorated, has a fabulous view and is very cosy. We will definitely go back.

Catherine from Brighton stayed at Rokeby Cottage for 4 nights in October 2013


Lovely Weekend in Rokesby Cottage

Review submitted on Thu, 26 Sep 2013
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I booked Rokesdy cottage for a last minute getaway and what a lovely time I had. The cottage was everything I could have asked for, full of period character yet tastefully modernised. The cottage is very clean, tastefully designed and has everything you could need to make your stay comfy and relaxing.

I was lucky enough to have beautiful weather during my stay so managed to take full advantage of the rear patio area, eating tea whilst watching the sunset, nice!!

Would recommend this cottage to anyone and as it is also dog friendly its perfect for me and plan to return several times during 2014


Guest from Nottingham stayed at Rokeby Cottage for 3 nights in September 2013


Lovely cottage and good location except for a couple of points

Review submitted on Fri, 13 Sep 2013
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Lovely cottage and good location except for a couple of points -

1. there was a constant buzzing in the single bedroom which meant that it was difficult to sleep. Eventually we resorted to switching off the electricity at the mains as this was the only way to silence it.
2. There was no jaycloth or similar in the kitchen and no scourer. This made it difficult to keep the kitchen surfaces clean and to wash up pans (which didn't fit in the dishwasher).

In response to your question below, yes I would recommend this cottage to others, but only if they planned not to use the second bedroom. The buzzing means it's really only a cottage for 2, I'm afraid.


Guest from stayed at Rokeby Cottage for 4 nights in September 2013


Fantastic cottage in the Peaks

Review submitted on Mon, 09 Sep 2013
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My family and I stayed in this wonderful cottage, with amazing views over the Hope Valley. I would recommend this place to anyone visiting the Peaks. The village has everything including a world famous Lido which is worth a visit.

Guest from Middleton stayed at Rokeby Cottage for 7 nights in August 2013


Perfect accommodation - we couldn't ask for more

Review submitted on Mon, 09 Sep 2013
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Cottage incredibly comfortable and well-equipped. Couldn't fault it. Plenty of room for the three of us (one a child). Some quite low ceilings, but once we got used to ducking through doorways it was fine. Also very well located in the village - close to footpaths to Stanage Edge, but also only 5 minutes from the High Street, bus stops and the railway station. We had a lovely week there and hope to stay there again one day.

Guest from Brighton stayed at Rokeby Cottage for 7 nights in August 2013