FB Twitter

Enfield House Knowstone

Enfield House Knowstone

4.9
out of 5
Ratings from 8 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.8
Value
4.8
Customer
Service
5.0


This newly renovated luxury holiday cottage is set in an amazing location with views over rolling hills and Exmoor. The renowned Mason Arms Michelin starred Pub & Restaurant is just 5 doors down. Explore Exmoor or visit the stunning North Devon beaches such as Saunton Sands and Woolacombe.

A gorgeous cottage in idyllic location

Review submitted on Sun, 11 Oct 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage has everything you need for a great holiday. Someone has a good sense of interior design . The furnishing, pictures and ornaments are amazing. It poured with rain most of the time we were there but lovely to come back to the cottage after long and wet dog walks. We spent a few afternoons on Saunton beach. Great place for humans and dogs to enjoy (and it wasn't raining there!) We had a superb meal at the Masons Arms - highly recommended.



Lovely autumn break in North Devon

Review submitted on Sun, 27 Sep 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Enfield House is a beautifully appointed cottage in a lovely peaceful village setting with fabulous views of the surrounding countryside. Everything you could wish for is provided. The hosts, Sarah and Dave have created a stunning and very comfortable, cosy environment with many lovely touches that make all the difference! The welcome hamper of local goodies, well stocked honesty bar, logs ready chopped for the wood burner and fluffy bathrobes to name but a few, make a stay at Enfield special.
The hosts were easily contactable for any advice during our stay and their knowledge of the local area was invaluable.
Enfield House is a gem in a great location surrounded by beautiful scenery, with interesting places to visit and excellent dining pubs and restaurants within easy reach.





The cottage is an absolute gem. So much character but very modern with a wonderful log burner.

Review submitted on Sun, 13 Sep 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Stunning cottage. Nice welcoming touch also provided with scones, jam & cream as well as the essential items which was appreciated.
So much character with a great log burner & everything inside was given great thought which made it very homely. Fantastic bathroom with a lovely big soaking bath.
Just remember to duck your heads as the doors are low !
Beautiful views from the garden too !




A lovely home away from home

Review submitted on Sat, 29 Aug 2020
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed at Enfield House during a wet week during the summer of lockdown. The cottage was very comfortably sized for 4 people with a big kitchen/dining area which we loved hanging out in. The kitchen was well equipped (we cooked several times), as was the house itself. The living area was a cosy retreat from the rain outside and we made good use of the fire. The bathroom was fabulous - whilst it is just one bathroom for four, it is large and well designed and felt luxurious (strong, hot shower and big tub for soaking). What we really enjoyed was how unique and tasteful the decoration of the cottage is - not cookie cutter in the slightest, it felt like the decor was chosen in a very thoughtful way and we enjoyed the humorous touches that were dotted around.

Importantly, the house felt clean with plenty of cleaning products around for those wanting to do extra Covid cleaning after being out and about. David was a great host - prompt and helpful responses.

Location wise, Knowstone is a tiny village with a special secret power - a Michelin starred pub a few houses down. Our greatest regret was not booking a table there as the food looks locally sourced and excellent. We will save that for next time. As we had a teenager with us, we went out and about a bit more - we ended up choosing to do a bit of driving to get out to the coast, Exmoor and Dartmoor. All quite relaxing driving and our preferred choice as it was peak summer so we didn't want to stay with the crowds on the coast. I'd probably quite like to go back and stay more locally next time and do some of the walks on the local moors. Definitely a keeper!




Amazing stay

Review submitted on Fri, 21 Aug 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed at Enfield for a long weekend and couldn’t recommend it enough. The cottage is immaculate and in such a beautiful location. Very peaceful with great views. We have already spoke about coming back for longer next time and absolutely loved our stay. Every detail in the cottage has been thoroughly thought out and the owners are very accommodating to dogs as well which was a bonus. David was very helpful with recommendations especially to the Mason Arms which was also great to visit. We will definitely be coming back to visit Enfield house!



A little piece of heaven

Review submitted on Sun, 09 Aug 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Outstanding on all fronts, a little bit of luxurious comfort in the quite picturesque village of Knowstone



Perfect location from which to explore Exmoor and enjoy Michelin Star cuisine at the Masons Arms

Review submitted on Sun, 15 Mar 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Enfield House was booked at short notice after a long planned break in Rome was cancelled. Looking at the Masons Arms website, having decided after many years of wanting to eat there to take the opportunity to have a mid week break in the area, we saw the link to the Enfield House website. The newly refurbished thatched cottage with all mod cons and views over the open meadow past grazing sheep to the Exmoor hills is a haven of tranquillity. Comprehensively equipped and comfortable. Hard to believe it's just a couple of miles from the main A361, a perfect base from which to tour North Devon and Exmoor and no more than a hundred yards from the front door of a real country inn serving dishes that wouldn't be out of place in the best restaurants in the world. The atmosphere is relaxed and friendly, the food sublime. Enfield House and the Masons Arms compliment each other perfectly and we look forward to returning to Knowstone soon.



A get away for two.

Review submitted on Thu, 27 Feb 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The village of Knowstone is quiet and quaint, with beautiful thatched cottages and many routes for out-door exploring, exactly what we wanted for our long weekend away. Enfield house was spotless, the heating was already on and we had a lovely box of chocolates waiting for us on arrival. Shortly after we arrived we went for a walk over Exmoor (and got completely drenched!) but with the amazing bath and log burner that didn't really matter. Everything about the cottage was beautifully presented and it made the whole weekend feel very special.

On Saturday evening we went for a meal at the Mason Arms which was in the recommendation book at Enfield house and only 5 doors down! The staff were amazing, really attentive and the food was the best that we had had in ages. All the locals in there made us feel very welcome which was lovely.

I cannot recommend this cottage enough, we went as a two but I would love to book again and take friends!