FB Twitter

Enfield House Knowstone

Enfield House Knowstone

4.9
out of 5
Ratings from 26 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.9
Value
4.8
Customer
Service
5.0


This newly renovated luxury holiday cottage is set in an amazing location with views over rolling hills and Exmoor. The renowned Mason Arms Michelin starred Pub & Restaurant is just 5 doors down. Explore Exmoor or visit the stunning North Devon beaches such as Saunton Sands and Woolacombe.

Stunning original thatched cottage

Review submitted on Sun, 10 Oct 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Enfield house was a beautiful restored thatched cottage, both inside and outside.
The large log burning fireplace made the evening very cosy, whilst the furniture was comfortable and stylish.
The kitchen / dining room was fabulous and the small garden behind had stunning views for miles…
The bedrooms where perfectly made up ready for use.
The bathroom was the centrepiece of the house with the stunning stand alone large bath.
We had a very peaceful week here, literally ‘checked in and dropped out’
If you’re looking for peace and quiet in a beautiful quintessential English village - Enfield house is the place for you.




Happy stay

Review submitted on Thu, 07 Oct 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful house, but a light above the shaving/ make up mirror would be helpful.
Beautiful house, but a light above the shaving/ make up mirror would be helpful
Lovely church service on Sunday. Mike was the vicar.




Endfield house staycation

Review submitted on Sun, 26 Sep 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful thatched cottage in a stunning area. Really enjoyed our stay. The cottage had everything you could want and was very clean.



A week in N Devon

Review submitted on Wed, 22 Sep 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have visited North Devon before but this was the first break of any sort, apart from family, since the autumn of 2019. The cottage is ideally placed, part of a small but attractive village, and within reach (say an hour) of many interesting locations, e.g., Porlock, Woolacomb, Killerton, Bude, Dulverton, Bampton. We had a busy week. We also enjoyed the hospitality of the excellent Masons Arms in the village.

The cottage served us well in terms of comfort and facility and has been thoughtfully furnished. It is a very good place to relax after a day out visiting.




Well equipped stylish character cottage, with stunning bathroom

Review submitted on Thu, 16 Sep 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Picturesque peaceful location in a well presented thatched cottage. Perfect location to explore Exmoor



Stunning cottage

Review submitted on Wed, 11 Aug 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Enfield house is an absolutely beautiful cottage and would highly recommend staying here and will definitely be returning. It was homely and well Equipped with lots of lovely little touches that made us as a family of four with our dog feel welcomed. We took up the recommendations of things to do in the local area and places to eat and enjoyed every part of our stay. Hosts where very attentive making sure our stay was everything we needed. 10/10 on every level!



Beautiful sunsets from a wonderful place

Review submitted on Thu, 05 Aug 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Enfield house is a gem of a property, we really loved our stay and felt very at home and welcomed. The views from the garden of the fields are stunning and we watched a few gorgeous sunsets.

The village is very quiet and we had a peaceful stay, just the sound of sheep and horses going out for a morning ride and passing our windows.

We loved how the cottage had been lovingly restored and enjoyed the comfy beds, sofas and very well equipped kitchen. A perfect place to stay and explore North Devon, we would love to come back again.




The perfect cottage

Review submitted on Sun, 01 Aug 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had the most wonderful stay at Enfield House. The cottage is just perfect!
The neighbours are really friendly and the cottage is very comfortable. Enfield House is immaculately styled and highly luxurious with fabulous views over the surrounding countryside.
We thoroughly recommend this cottage!




Who needs to get on a plane?

Review submitted on Sun, 25 Jul 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A superb week in this beautiful cottage with every amenity you could possibly need.
From the fluffy duvets and comfortable beds to the enormous tub my children loved to ‘swim’ in every evening after days at the beach, everything was just perfect.
We were lucky to have an entire week of sunshine with days spent exploring the stunning Devon coast and countryside.
The Masons Arms just a short wander along the road was exquisite and there are plenty of other lovely places to eat at nearby, the information book provided is spot on.
Our dog loved the treats and felt instantly at home.
Thank you David and Sarah for making a much needed holiday for a rather frazzled GP and family so wonderful.




A beautiful retreat off the beaten track in Devon

Review submitted on Mon, 19 Jul 2021
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Difficult to find anything wrong with Enfield House, the cottage is finished to a very high standard with everything you could want for a luxury stay away from it all. Lovely kitchen and dining area, comfortable lounge, very cosy bedrooms, and the bathroom is a work of art. Although we chose the week when the weather turned it was still pleasant to sit in the garden watching the sheep wander over the rolling hills. Parking can be an issue - we found the best option was the space outside the Masons Arms, the lane is so narrow that anywhere else will find someone in neighboring properties to obstruct, they're all friendly people though. Nice to have the sheep squeezing past the front door at 7am too! My only niggle, and this may not bother others, is that there could be a light above the sinks. The only light comes from behind which made shaving difficult - but that's a minor thing. Would recommend Enfield Ho which is easily reached via the A361 off the M5 and is centrally located for access to north and south Devon coasts.



Devon Holiday

Review submitted on Sun, 11 Jul 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We loved the idyllic rural setting of Enfield with views of rolling hills and farmlands. The cottage itself was the perfect retreat, ideal for rest and relaxation with the lovely log fire and luxury showpiece bathroom. We also liked that the house retains many period features as well as all modern amenities such as Smart TV, coffee maker etc.



Family break

Review submitted on Sun, 04 Jul 2021
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Generally excellent
Loved the cake on arrival
Clearly excellent hosts
Generally condition of property is good but windows/casings need attention and outdoor furniture could be updated at this price point.
Beware Very low ceilings in places due to nature of property
Roughly 45 mins to an hour from coast.
Excellent local walks available too
Local shops not too far away




Home from home

Review submitted on Sun, 13 Jun 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Quality accommodation in every way with excellent attention to detail. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would highly recommend to couples, families with or without a dog



Fantastic cottage in a beautiful location

Review submitted on Sun, 16 May 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Such a wonderful comfortable, well equipped and homely cottage and so tastefully decorated for such a great stay.
The location was fantastic for exploring the stunning countryside and beaches.
So peaceful and quiet, perfect for unwinding.
Sadly the weather was not great on our stay, lots of rain but to have the cozy cottage to go back to at the end of the day made it all worth it. Will definitely go back.




Countryside Recharge

Review submitted on Sat, 08 May 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
From the moment we walked in the door we were able to relax; the cottage is homely and comfy and equiped with everything you might need and we felt at home.
The bed in the master bedroom was extermely comfortable and we had plenty of space. The shower in the very luxurious bathroom was very powerful and great after a day's walking. It was lovely to have breakfast and sundowners in the garden where the views were limitless, we really felt as though we had escaped our working lives.
The location was quiet and peaceful yet provided excellent access to the beautiful North Devon beaches and was conveniently placed between Exmoor and Dartmoor and there is speedy access from the M5.




A perfect cottage in a beautiful location.

Review submitted on Sun, 25 Apr 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Like so many people this was our first break since 2019. We'd had to postpone our previous booking, due to lockdown, but this was worth the wait.
Enfield House had everything we needed and more. It's been beautifully renovated and tastefully furnished with a mix of antique and modern. The location is fairly remote which is great for a relaxed, quiet getaway. Unfortunately the Masons Arms was still closed at the time of our visit, as were any other local pubs, but the kitchen had everything we needed to cater well for ourselves.
The honesty bar is a lovely touch but not knowing it was there meant we bought our own drinks anyway.
Cozy fires, a beautiful setting and stunning views over open countryside, we're booking a 2nd stay later this year.
Thank you David and Sarah for everything.




Wonderful Cottage

Review submitted on Sun, 18 Apr 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We loved the cottage, beautiful views and the owners couldn’t do enough to ensure we had everything we needed.



Perfect getaway

Review submitted on Wed, 23 Dec 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
High standards all round. Perfect country getaway. Highly recommend. Pub next door well worth visiting but book in advance. Cannot fault this accommodation!!



A gorgeous cottage in idyllic location

Review submitted on Sun, 11 Oct 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage has everything you need for a great holiday. Someone has a good sense of interior design . The furnishing, pictures and ornaments are amazing. It poured with rain most of the time we were there but lovely to come back to the cottage after long and wet dog walks. We spent a few afternoons on Saunton beach. Great place for humans and dogs to enjoy (and it wasn't raining there!) We had a superb meal at the Masons Arms - highly recommended.



Lovely autumn break in North Devon

Review submitted on Sun, 27 Sep 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Enfield House is a beautifully appointed cottage in a lovely peaceful village setting with fabulous views of the surrounding countryside. Everything you could wish for is provided. The hosts, Sarah and Dave have created a stunning and very comfortable, cosy environment with many lovely touches that make all the difference! The welcome hamper of local goodies, well stocked honesty bar, logs ready chopped for the wood burner and fluffy bathrobes to name but a few, make a stay at Enfield special.
The hosts were easily contactable for any advice during our stay and their knowledge of the local area was invaluable.
Enfield House is a gem in a great location surrounded by beautiful scenery, with interesting places to visit and excellent dining pubs and restaurants within easy reach.





The cottage is an absolute gem. So much character but very modern with a wonderful log burner.

Review submitted on Sun, 13 Sep 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Stunning cottage. Nice welcoming touch also provided with scones, jam & cream as well as the essential items which was appreciated.
So much character with a great log burner & everything inside was given great thought which made it very homely. Fantastic bathroom with a lovely big soaking bath.
Just remember to duck your heads as the doors are low !
Beautiful views from the garden too !




A lovely home away from home

Review submitted on Sat, 29 Aug 2020
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed at Enfield House during a wet week during the summer of lockdown. The cottage was very comfortably sized for 4 people with a big kitchen/dining area which we loved hanging out in. The kitchen was well equipped (we cooked several times), as was the house itself. The living area was a cosy retreat from the rain outside and we made good use of the fire. The bathroom was fabulous - whilst it is just one bathroom for four, it is large and well designed and felt luxurious (strong, hot shower and big tub for soaking). What we really enjoyed was how unique and tasteful the decoration of the cottage is - not cookie cutter in the slightest, it felt like the decor was chosen in a very thoughtful way and we enjoyed the humorous touches that were dotted around.

Importantly, the house felt clean with plenty of cleaning products around for those wanting to do extra Covid cleaning after being out and about. David was a great host - prompt and helpful responses.

Location wise, Knowstone is a tiny village with a special secret power - a Michelin starred pub a few houses down. Our greatest regret was not booking a table there as the food looks locally sourced and excellent. We will save that for next time. As we had a teenager with us, we went out and about a bit more - we ended up choosing to do a bit of driving to get out to the coast, Exmoor and Dartmoor. All quite relaxing driving and our preferred choice as it was peak summer so we didn't want to stay with the crowds on the coast. I'd probably quite like to go back and stay more locally next time and do some of the walks on the local moors. Definitely a keeper!




Amazing stay

Review submitted on Fri, 21 Aug 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed at Enfield for a long weekend and couldn’t recommend it enough. The cottage is immaculate and in such a beautiful location. Very peaceful with great views. We have already spoke about coming back for longer next time and absolutely loved our stay. Every detail in the cottage has been thoroughly thought out and the owners are very accommodating to dogs as well which was a bonus. David was very helpful with recommendations especially to the Mason Arms which was also great to visit. We will definitely be coming back to visit Enfield house!



A little piece of heaven

Review submitted on Sun, 09 Aug 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Outstanding on all fronts, a little bit of luxurious comfort in the quite picturesque village of Knowstone



Perfect location from which to explore Exmoor and enjoy Michelin Star cuisine at the Masons Arms

Review submitted on Sun, 15 Mar 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Enfield House was booked at short notice after a long planned break in Rome was cancelled. Looking at the Masons Arms website, having decided after many years of wanting to eat there to take the opportunity to have a mid week break in the area, we saw the link to the Enfield House website. The newly refurbished thatched cottage with all mod cons and views over the open meadow past grazing sheep to the Exmoor hills is a haven of tranquillity. Comprehensively equipped and comfortable. Hard to believe it's just a couple of miles from the main A361, a perfect base from which to tour North Devon and Exmoor and no more than a hundred yards from the front door of a real country inn serving dishes that wouldn't be out of place in the best restaurants in the world. The atmosphere is relaxed and friendly, the food sublime. Enfield House and the Masons Arms compliment each other perfectly and we look forward to returning to Knowstone soon.



A get away for two.

Review submitted on Thu, 27 Feb 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The village of Knowstone is quiet and quaint, with beautiful thatched cottages and many routes for out-door exploring, exactly what we wanted for our long weekend away. Enfield house was spotless, the heating was already on and we had a lovely box of chocolates waiting for us on arrival. Shortly after we arrived we went for a walk over Exmoor (and got completely drenched!) but with the amazing bath and log burner that didn't really matter. Everything about the cottage was beautifully presented and it made the whole weekend feel very special.

On Saturday evening we went for a meal at the Mason Arms which was in the recommendation book at Enfield house and only 5 doors down! The staff were amazing, really attentive and the food was the best that we had had in ages. All the locals in there made us feel very welcome which was lovely.

I cannot recommend this cottage enough, we went as a two but I would love to book again and take friends!