FB Twitter

Ashford Mill

Ashford Mill

5.0
out of 5
Ratings from 6 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0


A beautifully restored historic watermill dating from before 1086

Winner, Best Conservation project
in the Peak Park 2018

Gold Award, Derbyshire & Peak Park Tourism,
best self-catering accommodation 2020

Ashford Mill

Review submitted on Tue, 27 Jul 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A unique, beautifully presented mill house where the owners have built around the mechanics of the mill. A very special property showcasing all original features of this stunning old building, where the owners have been extremely thoughtful to preserve and protect the mill in its original form. A lovely couple who are clearly proud of what they’ve achieved and rightly so. It was comfortable and comforting staying in this mill house where one can immerse in the history of this place. V and D Haines

Victoria from Fleet stayed at Ashford Mill for 7 nights in July 2021


Amazing restored mill, in a great location

Review submitted on Sun, 25 Jul 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful, unique home set within easy walking distance of Ashford in the Water where there is a pub and village shop. A large, comfortable property with lots of space to relax. Close to Chatsworth House, Bakewell and many other local attractions. Extremely knowledgable and helpful hosts. A wonderful week in the countryside!

Richard from Newcastle Upon Tyne stayed at Ashford Mill for 7 nights in July 2021


Incredible!

Review submitted on Sun, 13 Jun 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
There are no faults for this accommodation. Incredible value for money to stay in such a thoughtfully renovated property. We are in admiration of what Hilary and Robert have achieved and would recommend a stay here without a doubt and we will definitely be back!

Bethany from Bury St Edmunds stayed at Ashford Mill for 4 nights in June 2021


Location to die for!!

Review submitted on Fri, 04 Jun 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful property and location to die for. Robert and Hilary were so helpful and hospitable. The pics on the website don't do it justice. It's stunning inside and out. Can't recommend it highly enough!!

Jacky from Newmarket stayed at Ashford Mill for 3 nights in May 2021


An amazing and unique house

Review submitted on Wed, 02 Jun 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is the best holiday home that we have stayed in by far.

Hilary & Robert are a lovely and welcoming couple, on arrival gave us a brief history on the renovation of the Mill House.
The house is like a home from home, there is not one thing that I can think of that we needed that wasn't there.

The location is fantastic, just a short drive to many local attractions such as the caves, Chatsworth House, Buxton and Bakewell.

The Bulls Head is a great pub to walk to, the food was awesome and again very welcoming.

We had an amazing long weekend being tourists but also totally enjoyed just chilling at the house on the extremely comfy sofas.

We will definitely be back.


Natalie from Colchester stayed at Ashford Mill for 3 nights in May 2021


Fantastic stay!

Review submitted on Mon, 31 May 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed as a family for 4 nights in May (7 of us including an infant & dog)
The property is plenty big enough to not get under each other’s feet and definitely lives up to the expectations from the photos!
Hilary & Robert are fantastic, a really lovely chatty couple who offer an interesting tour when you arrive to explain history/amenities.
Master bedroom is SUPER comfy with a lovely clean en suite.
Double bedroom is again comfy and really quirky with original parts of the mill still in there - the only downside to this room is it’s a little loud with the water running right outside but this could also be relaxing to some.
Third bedroom is plenty big enough to sleep 4 with bunk beds & finally the main bathroom is beautiful with led lighting to help you relax.
Robert & Hilary have spared no expense when kitting out the mill, with state of the art LED lighting throughout which can be controlled on several little panels, underfloor heating, fully equipped kitchen with EVERYTHING you need including cutlery/crockery/board games & cleaning supplies.
The location is great - we had planned what we were doing beforehand and it’s within 30 minutes drive of everywhere.
Bakewell is within walking distance and definitely worth a visit.
Some great little local pubs too.
The mill is absolutely fantastic & great value for money, we can’t wait to be back!


Guest from Barton Upon Humber stayed at Ashford Mill for 4 nights in May 2021