FB Twitter

Weardale Retreat

Weardale Retreat

4.9
out of 5
Ratings from 11 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.9
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.9
Location
4.9
Value
4.7
Customer
Service
5.0


Weardale Retreat is set in a secluded location on a working Hill Farm enjoying views of rolling countryside. The hut has a fixed double bed, compact kitchen, en-suite shower and a wood burner for cosy nights in. Outside enjoy a drink and a BBQ on the patio or relax in your wood-fired hot tub.

Perfect

Review submitted on Sat, 14 Aug 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed recently for a 2 night stay and loved it. Already planning our next stay. Perfect little getaway to just relax.
The hot tub was a lovely relaxing experience once we got the hang of not making it too hot. Lovely touch with the gowns and slippers.
Loved hearing the animals and the cows saying hello at the gate.
Perfect and safe for our dog in the garden.
The only thing was the typical British weather made BBQing difficult, maybe having a back up in the hut such as a electric pan or something would be an idea but otherwise perfect.
Thank you for a lovely stay, hope to see you soon




Recommended

Review submitted on Fri, 16 Jul 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Surrounded by beautiful countryside views and the sounds of animals relaxing and at leisure and that was just me and my mum!!
Cannot fault anything about the Shepherds Hut - every little details was covered from dishes, pooh bags and a bag of dog treats for the dog to the wonderful welcome pack
Clean, tidy, compact without being squashed - it was a wonderful weekend in a quiet setting which was central for visiting many of the sights of Durham and surrounding counties.
Would highly recommend and will stay in the future
It is a little walk through a couple of small fields to get the Hut but a trolley for bags etc. is provided.




Great stay

Review submitted on Fri, 09 Jul 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
If you want to be left alone surrounded by amazing views this is the place to be. The owners were very attentive. The hut was well equipped with everything you need supplied. Amazing stay didn’t want to leave the hot tub is great, nice patio area with a fire pit and BBQ supplied.



Quirky little hut, in the North Pennines

Review submitted on Wed, 30 Jun 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Wonderful little hidden gem. Located in a beautifully quiet area, but not too far away that you're not close to a shop if needs be. We went for a midweek break to celebrate the better half's birthday, and managed to get an evening with the hot tub and BBQ, but unfortunately, due to rain (always happens on her birthday) we couldn't use the services any further. Thankfully we had a bottle of champagne and some crisp sandwiches and some amazing views to enjoy.

On to the actual property. It's q quirky little hut, that despite being 6'4 I was able to stand up fine, my feet did dangle off the bed, but this is a standard for me. The shower was a bit cramped, but worked absolutely fine. Coffee machine there, with Nespresso pods, which where greatly appreciated as we are both serious coffee drinkers. Only downside, was the flies, Now don't get me wrong, it's on a working farm, so that's understandable, but if a net curtain was installed on the double door, this might alleviate this issue.

The Hot Tub was lovely, even with a wood burner, which did take a bit of time to heat up the water, about hour and a half - 2 hours, give or take. There are no jets, but it is still relaxing with a few glasses of wine and the Sun setting. Being honest, we had a bit of rain, but that was never going to stop us.

Would definitely visit again, and may opt for going out for dinner in some of the beautiful restaurants




2 night stay

Review submitted on Mon, 14 Jun 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A lovely location with great views across the valley (we were very lucky and had great weather). The owner met us as we arrived and was very attentive throughout. The afternoon tea was substantial and the food all home made. The cabin itself was very clean and comfortable, and the hot tub great. Only issue was we didn't have any hot water for our stay due to a fault. This didn't really bother us as the hot tub at least allowed us to get wet and clean :) After we had left we were offered a free nights stay or compensation. We did not ask for this and the offer was very welcome and sincere. All in all a lovely 2 night stay in a location I would highly recommend.



Stay at weardale shepherds hut

Review submitted on Tue, 08 Jun 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely stay at the shepherds hut all mod cons we loved the hot tub and the beautiful views it was very private. Carol and her husband were very helpful.



Tranquil and relaxing

Review submitted on Mon, 31 May 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A relaxing retreat, great location and experience in the shepherds hut. Weardale is a hidden gem as well.



A weekend away

Review submitted on Sat, 29 May 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
While it was always going to be rather tight, the Shepherd's Hut is very well designed making really good use of the limited space.
We were amazed how much we enjoyed the hot tub as we didn't think it would be our thing, but once we got the water hot enough, (completely fill the burner with logs right from the beginning), then it was great fun with a lovely view of the rolling hills. The BBQ was easy to operate, (you need better BBQ tongs though :-)
Carol couldn't have been more helpful. Some lovely walks too.




Great little short stay.

Review submitted on Tue, 18 May 2021
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely couple of nights away. Apart from a hob or oven there was absolutely everything there you would need. However, there was an outside BBQ which was great!! The hot tub took a very long time to get hot but I think that was our fault not really knowing what to do with a log burning hot tub LOL. The bed was very comfortable and the shower better than my own at home!! The dressing gowns and slippers was a nice little touch. They were huge but kept us warm whilst working the fire pit. Was great to hear all the farm animals but got a little tedious when they got real close to the retreat and were just too loud when trying to relax, also the dog barked at everything!! Haha. Would definitely recommend it, depending on what you're after, it could be perfect



Lovely rural retreat

Review submitted on Tue, 27 Apr 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Although the shepherds hut is small, it was well designed and suitable for a couple. The views and location were what sold it to us, and it was better in person than we could have imagined. Nearby facilities not too far away and plenty to see. The hot tub was bigger in person than I initially thought and once up to temperature, stayed nice and warm. The small touches provided by the owners also made a lovely warm welcome for us. We will be returning in the future for sure.



Cosy little get away

Review submitted on Mon, 19 Apr 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The weardale retreat was exactly the cosy get away I needed. The hut has amazing views of the dale and the patio was a lovely sun trap, sheltered from the wind making it feel warm much of the day. Can't wait to come back again!