FB Twitter

Morton Boyd House

Morton Boyd House

4.3
out of 5
Ratings from 24 reviews
92% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.2
Comfort
4.1
Condition
3.8
Location
4.9
Value
4.4
Customer
Service
4.5


Part of the Category A listed lighthouse establishment built for the construction and servicing of Skerryvore lighthouse, Morton Boyd House is a stone built ground floor property enjoying a wonderful, peaceful location close to the small beach at Hynish. Comfortably furnished throughout with a large sitting/dining room featuring the original smithy fireplace. Well behaved dogs welcome.

.

Review submitted on Tue, 11 Jun 2019
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
.................................................................................................................



Highly recommend!

Review submitted on Tue, 23 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a fantastic few days in Tiree staying at Morton Boyd House. The accommodation was bigger than we expected and had everything we needed for a comfortable and enjoyable stay. A very enjoyable stay all round!!



Review of Morton Boyd House

Review submitted on Tue, 30 Oct 2018
3.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
2.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
All in all everything was fine, but the showers and bathrooms really need to be renovated. A dishwasher would be a great investment too.



Fantastic place to stay

Review submitted on Tue, 18 Sep 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Wonderful stay at Morton Boyd House. Perfect for a group of 8. Kitchen had everything we could need for cooking. Lovely, cosy place to stay.



Island hideaway

Review submitted on Mon, 03 Sep 2018
3.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Excellent location, clean, comfortable holiday cottage. It is a place to escape to to watch all the wildlife.



Amazing situation

Review submitted on Mon, 20 Aug 2018
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Our second visit here - the location is amazing and the house suits our group of 8 - though the kids are getting large for the bunk rooms now (kids are pushing 6’ now!) we’ve booked to return next year



Lovely location

Review submitted on Sat, 07 Jul 2018
3.3
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We stayed for 5 nights at Morton Boyd house. The situation is good in terms of the nearby small beach, sun rises and a small cafe nearby, but the other half of the house contains an exhibition of the Skerryvore lighthouse which is open 24/7 & draws visitors all over the island to it. Morton Boyd has a small car park for this exhibition directly in front of the house, so viitors are arriving from 9am to 5pm every day. So saying only around 2 - 5 visitors were there at any one time whilst we were there in the 3rd week of June. Still it can be off putting when eating breakfast.

As we had 2 dogs, we wanted an enclosed garden as per the blurb. There is a stone walled garden but the fact that the garden is at the rear of the house with no exit from the house is not mentioned. There is no back door. Thus, a dog owner needs to be dressed when staying here before marching the dog(s) around the house in the early morning to do its/(their) duty! There is also a gigantic rock (part of the island) in the garden, leaving a small useable part, but there is a very good washing line.

The property is fairly well equipped with a newish washer (used) and a dryer (did not use).

As we walked into the property we were initially disappointed with the situation of the kitchen between the hallway and the living room in a small corridor. The living room is a good size as is the dining room table. I note the house is used for small school groups which is evident from the sofas and the table. The faux leather sofas were really comfortable. When we arrived, the contact had left her phone number saying if we had any problems, to phone her, but how? There was no wi-fi code sent to us 2 days before our stay as in the blurb. There are no mobile signals anywhere on the island. We could not find a WiFi signal in the house, but on closer examination we found a box under the TV containing an unused router. We managed to set it up and with the wi--fi code on the base, we were fine. The only disdvantage was that we couldn't leave the router plugged in as the only socket it reached was the TV socket so we had a choice of TV or router! Easily sorted though had we taken a double adaptor or an extension lead with us which sadly we had failed to pack. Please pack!

The TV did work & the picture was just as good as home (Manchester). In fact the island of Tiree seems to have got its telecommunications sorted very well for use inside the houses. Just no mobile signal on the island on the outside.

I think the photos of the inside of the house had been taken some time ago as the property looked in need of some money spending on it and some TLC. Why did we come to this conclusion? The side lights in the bedroom had all seen better days. They no longer matched and were somewhat battered. The faded patterned bedding, towels & bleached damaged bathmats looked like they were from the 1980s, but were clean. The bedrooms were functional and the beds were ok comfort wise. The kitchen looked spruce in the photos but very tired in reality, however, it did have almost everything we needed, apart from cleaning materials such as surface cleaner, toilet & floor cleaner (which were provided on request) and new wash up sponges (an equally old used one was given to us on request). Maybe there is a shortage of new wash-up sponges on the island? Please bring your own if you don't like used ones.

The kitchen had a tiny lift up work area with the microwave on it, leaving little room for preparation. The fridge works well and the chest freezer, after a good hunt around, was located in the original entrance hall (blocking the emergency exit) in front of the original front door. The 2 bunk bedrooms were functional, but no space for clothes.The double twin room at the front of the house is light and roomy enough. The other double twin room is dark & dingy. There is a separate toilet that is fine as well as the shower room with toilet & shower cubicle. The disabled bathroom had a clean bath & toilet, a tiny sink and the floor didn't drain after a shower due to its lack of a slope and took all day to dry even in hot weather. The consequence of going backwards & forwards to use the toilet, meant that the floor easily became dirty and there was nothing with which to clean it (brush nor disinfectant).

Whilst at the house we discovered that the house, the holiday home next to it & a small 2 storey block of flats for community use had all won a Heritage award in 1991. Sadly they all look like they have not had much money spent on them since. Morton Boyd house has been maintained and cleaned quite well on a regular basis, but it is evident that there has not been the money to renew items like bedding and lights.

We met 2 very nice ladies who were responsible for keeping the house clean & happily provided us with a few cleaning items.

I think this dated property could be sorted out easily with new bedding, towels, reading lights and some cosmetic improvements and of course, some very much needed TLC.

So was it worth the money? Granted it was in a good location and the house did have all we needed and was clean & functional. I think if there are 3 families sharing, it might be better value, but for a couple, it is a bit expensive. We would go back to Tiree again, but propably wouldn't stop here again ........ unless of course we couldn't find anywhere else to take our 2 dogs!






The Hebrideann Trust replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the trouble to give such detailed feedback. We will be reviewing all the points you have raised and taking action where possible - as you probably already know, we are limited to what we can do with listed properties, so fundamental changes to the layout are sadly not possible. A couple of points - we have never said that Morton Boyd House offers an enclosed garden - maybe you are confusing it with The Cottage? I have contacted Trip Advisor to inform them of their mistake with the welcome pack. Morton Boyd House should not have be advertised as having WiFi at the time (but thank you for setting it up!)

Morton boyd

Review submitted on Thu, 05 Jul 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Hebridean trust site says no dogs. Though dogs are allowed as per dog friendly sites. Great location for watersports. Chrystel was very helpful as asst manageress



The Hebridean Trust replied more than 1 year ago
Thanks for your review, and we're glad you had a good holiday. Can you point me to where our website says no dogs? We always say well behaved dogs are welcome, so I need to change it. Thanks.

6th year and we'll hopefully be back again

Review submitted on Wed, 16 May 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is the 6th year we have run a school trip to Tiree staying in the cottage and as always it was excellent. The Morton Boyd house is great and the large living room is excellent for getting everyone together in the evenings. Everyone had an amazing time and we are hoping to be back again next year.



Mindfulness on Tiree

Review submitted on Wed, 21 Mar 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I spent 3 nights at Hynish and was running a two day Mindfulness Training Course while there. Morton Boyd House was ideal for running the course, and met our rquirements perfectly. Thanks again to the Hebridean Trust for their help and generosity. Such a beautiful place.



What an amazing location...

Review submitted on Fri, 04 Aug 2017
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
... we loved it and had the best adventures. Perfect spot with a good mix of rustic charm and 'escape from it all' simplicity.



A very eccentric house

Review submitted on Mon, 12 Jun 2017
3.7
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The kitchen in the only corridor to the lounge/dining room is useless. Lack of fridge space. Lack of worktop space. Open grazing at the front means constant sheep and cow dung clearing to avoid walking it inside. The open fire is smoky. Bunk rooms cramped. Wet room floor uneven resulting in ponding. House needs a complete internal re-design.



The Hebridean Trust replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry your holiday didn't meet your expectations, but unfortunately there's very little we can do about the basic structure of our historic buildings, or the crofting land that we are situated within. Having reviewed our listing I believe that we do not provide a misleading impression of the house.

Yet another fantastic school trip

Review submitted on Mon, 29 May 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is our 4th time to Tiree with a school trip, and as always the kids and staff had an amazing time. The changes to the house (new TV, new mattresses, and new sofas) are fantastic.
We'll hopefully be back again next year.




ACFA review

Review submitted on Fri, 05 May 2017
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Cottage and staff support great. Main problem is bunk beds which are not great for anyone over 20? which we certainly are.
Twin bedrooms are fine.
Thanks
ACFA




Martin Boyd House

Review submitted on Mon, 10 Apr 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely to stay at Martin Boyd House again. It is situated in a beautiful location and provides a lovely place to stay for holidays over in Tiree.



Perfectly suited our needs. Fantastic location.

Review submitted on Mon, 07 Nov 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage was in the most beautiful setting with a fantastic little beach and local area to explore.
Perfect for kids, families and dogs.
The flexibility of the cottage was perfect for our family group.
The living room was clean, comfortable and big.
The bedrooms were clean, beds were very comfy and linen of a high quality.
Bathrooms were clean and fully functional.
Great walks from the cottage suitable for young and old (You must got to Happy Valley!)

Fiona was very helpful and even got some kitchen items we requested before arrival (slow cooker and cafetiere!)




Morton Boyd House

Review submitted on Mon, 24 Oct 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We loved staying at Morton Boyd House! It provided spacious and very comfortable accommodation for 8 of us staying and the location next to the beach and harbour at Hynish was amazing.



2 night stay in Morton Boyd House

Review submitted on Wed, 21 Sep 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fantastic location right on the beach. House was big enough as there was only 2 of us. Great place for dogs, mine thought they were in paradise with the beach.



Time out on Tiree

Review submitted on Mon, 19 Sep 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The perfect retreat on a beautiful island. So many lovely places to visit. Great accommodation. Wonderful staff who served us brilliant food.Thanks to all. We'll be back soon.



Family Holiday

Review submitted on Tue, 23 Aug 2016
3.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Morton Boyd House is in a lovely remote location on the South East corner of Tiree. The beach wasn't ideal for swimming but handy for kayaking and exploring the rocky peninsula.
The house itself is very old and the decor in need of an update. It felt quite damp and needed the electric heaters on most of the time. However after a few days it began to feel drier, and despite the above, for what we paid in August, value for money was reasonable.
You need to accept that people visiting the Skerryvore Lighthouse Musem next door will wander passed your bedroom window but they are relatively few in number. The museum is fascinating and well worth a visit.
I would recommend the property on the understanding of not to expect much in the way of creature comforts, but as an inexpensive way of staying on a beautiful island.




July 2016 - Morton Boyd House.

Review submitted on Wed, 03 Aug 2016
3.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Had a great holiday. Property in need of a bit of updating , and couch in particular could do with replacing. Was definitely cleaner than previous visit. Would be nice if there was a small welcome pack, ie tea bags, coffee , sugar , milk. It would cost very little to provide and as the shop is at the other end of the island it would be very helpful and a nice touch. A note of when bins are emptied etc would also be handy and possibly a second bin for recyclables

Location is second to none and we have already booked for next year.

Fiona was very helpful and informative.





Martin Boyd House - Tiree

Review submitted on Sun, 03 Apr 2016
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Hynish is a great part of the island and Martin Boyd House is an historically interesting property. We had a really enjoyable stay (all seven of us) and hope to come back in the future. The property was warm, comfortable and spacious with plenty of hot water, which is so important when you've been surfing and cycling in March. Most importantly the beds were very comfortable too. Our only small complaint is that we could have done with some large casseroles and serving dishes, more wooden spoons, chopping boards and protective mats for the dining tables. ......we like to cook!

Tiree is altogether a wonderful island and a great place to explore on foot and by bike and with such great accommodation we had a lovely holiday, thank you.




The Hebridean Trust replied more than 1 year ago
So glad you had a good time. Thank you for the valuable feedback on the kitchen equipment - we're on the case!

Ideal getaway location in comfy house

Review submitted on Fri, 16 Oct 2015
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great location on Tiree by the turquoise sea, golden sandy beaches and away from it all. The two exhibitions on site were fantastic. Kitchen quite small if eight people were staying. Be prepared with food etc as no shop nearby. Thank you Fiona and the Hebridean Trust for providing the facilities.



Basic but wonderful

Review submitted on Thu, 01 Oct 2015
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
It was the best holiday we have ever had. The cottage really is by the sea with a beautiful little sandy beach. The staff were incredibly warm and friendly. Cottage is basic but just right if you have lively children and a dog. Top bunks were a bit scary as they didn't anything much to stop someone tumbling out and the doors had powerful door closers which catch the unwary and a young child would struggle with them. The island is breathtakingly beautiful. And you can learn to wind-surf on a very safe loch too.