FB Twitter

The Cottage

The Cottage

4.2
out of 5
Ratings from 29 reviews
86% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.1
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.8
Location
4.7
Value
4.2
Customer
Service
4.3


This lovely 3 bedroom, stone cottage is in a peaceful setting close to the small beach at Hynish. Comfortably furnished throughout with sitting room featuring a solid fuel stove and enjoying sea views. Well behaved dogs welcome. A sofabed that sleeps two may be used for a weekly supplement of £50.

A great island base

Review submitted on Tue, 27 Aug 2019
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The Cottage was a great base for our holiday. We appreciated having plenty to do on the doorstep with our kids really enjoying playing in and around the harbour.

We enjoyed walks along the coast and opportunities to spot seals and an otter. The walk to the Farmhouse Cafe in Balemartine was a good one.

The cottage was comfy with the only real drawback not having a dishwasher. The wi-fi was good!




Hynish, Tiree

Review submitted on Mon, 10 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Warm and cosy cottage, super location, safe area for dogs. Everything necessary for a comfortable holiday. Only thing missing was a bench and table for use outside when the weather was good.



Needs a bit more T L C.

Review submitted on Mon, 27 May 2019
2.8
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
2.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
2.0
We were slightly disappointed in how basic the cottage was, which might be okay for large parties of young people but not for more senior couples. Bed linen provided but beds not made up. Bath towels provided but we would have appreciated some hand towels and a bath mat as well. The woodburning stove was unuseable because the flue pipe had a hole thro it !.



The Hebridean Trust replied 271 days ago
We’re sorry you didn’t feel the Cottage suited your needs. Our staff will make sure to point out the hand towels and bath mat to our guests in future. Thank you for bringing the stove issue to our attention – this is a new problem which we will get fixed as soon as possible.

Simple + Comfortable Place in AMAZING Location

Review submitted on Wed, 24 Apr 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage was clean and perfectly kitted out for a peaceful break away from it all. It's pretty basic inside but has everything you need. The beds were comfortable, good kitchen with coffee machine, and the wood burning stove was great (although note you need to bring your own wood). The location is amazing - 20 seconds from the beach with hardly another person around us. The perfect place if you want to chill out with no distractions.



All essential needs met

Review submitted on Sat, 13 Oct 2018
3.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
The Cottage is in A Lovely location on the Isle of Tiree. The manager was friendly and helpful and the cottage was comfortable and warm, once we had made up our beds and warmed the cottage - it has lovely thick walls that really held the heat.

The kitchen was reasonably well equipped - it had a washer dryer, microwave, toaster etc., but only 3 cereal bowls for 4 people. The TV reception was poor, but the WiFi was ok.




Lovely stay

Review submitted on Mon, 01 Oct 2018
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely stay - otter and seals sighted several times in our evening walk along the shore from cottage



Fab place!!

Review submitted on Sun, 16 Sep 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Was perfect for us. Came for ultra marathon. Stayed 6 night. Did not want to leave!!!!!!. Quiert, look out of the window we could see seals in the bay and cow's looking through our window. Cottage was perfect for us and our dog.
Will be back to Tyree and will stay there again. It's the most beautiful island and come home with the best memories. Which a holiday is all about
Many thanks for our stay.
All the best Dan and Claire X




Old lag and family at The Cottage.

Review submitted on Fri, 07 Sep 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I have stayed at the Hynish Centre on 4+ occasions now, but never at The Cottage.
It is a fine place for a family and we had the usual warm welcome form Fiona and Krystal - it is such a cosy place in wind and wet and a sheltered spot in wind and sun.
It was well equipped for our group of three adults and we had four memorable days.
There are only minor things which I am sure the team is well aware of and are probably on the things to do list - and some also apply to the other Centre units:
Radiators are needing replaced in all units as they've had a good life and are a bit rusty, the shower in the Cottage is fine but needs spruced up in the Alan Morton House, the Cottage porch door is currently locked (Fiona is trying to get a locksmith for a new key, which means you are using the kitchen door to come in with wet and mud etc.) and we needed some spare bulbs
Otherwise it is fine for the outdoor people who come to Hynish.
But we'll definitely be back - the team and their support are welcoming and helpful as always - and do a great evening meal service if on the menu.

Of course it would be great to see the Barracks refurbished and occupied again but I imagine that's a big dream project.




Fantastic cottage

Review submitted on Tue, 17 Jul 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The cottage was wonderful. Although the location is quite far away from scarnish we loved having the little beach practically to ourselves.
The enclosed garden is brilliant especially with a puppy. The latch was broken, but it was easy to use a stone to hold it closed.
The cottage was well equipped and the addition of WiFi was great. Will be back again.




Great location; property ready for an update

Review submitted on Thu, 28 Jun 2018
3.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
2.0
Condition
2.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
The work the trust have done to bring the Hynish site back and in use is impressive. We really enjoyed the location - ready access to the beach and the local area is brilliant. The cottage was clean and tidy on arrival and the staff made us feel very welcome. However, it's showing it's age and is ready for an update; good as basic accommodation, but not much more.

Kitchen was equipped ok, but feeding more than 6 would have been difficult, and seating more than 4 at the table not easy. Living room was nice and spacious and good for the kids to have their own room; the dog appreciated the walled in garden.

Best wishes to the work the community trust are planning for Hynish - we hope their plans get approved and funded.




Family break

Review submitted on Fri, 15 Jun 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely cottage, beaches nearby for sundowners!
Cottage well equipped, peaceful location,
Special thanks to Fiona for all her help when our previously arranged house rental fell through two weeks before our holiday.




6th year - we'll be back again

Review submitted on Wed, 16 May 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is the 6th year we have run a school trip to Tiree staying in the cottage and as always it was excellent. The cottage has been done up over the last year or two, and although it has always been great it looks refreshed. Everyone had an amazing time and we are hoping to be back again next year.



A week's surf holiday on Tiree

Review submitted on Mon, 16 Oct 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A very comfortable stay in a beautiful and quiet part of the island. It was lovely to be staying in the historic harbour area which is great for kids and our dog! The cottage was very cosy with a walled garden for our dog to run around in. Christel was very attentive to any queries we had. No problems with the cottage so will definitely consider rebooking.



Needs some TLC

Review submitted on Mon, 02 Oct 2017
3.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The property is in an awesome location. It could do with some TLC, radiators, decor, new double bed, matching cutlery.



A pleasant cottage in a perfect location

Review submitted on Mon, 25 Sep 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Cottage at Hynish is surely one of the most perfectly situated self-catering places in the world. Looking out over the bay, seals peering back at you with a pleasant cafe close by on the glorious south-western tip of Tiree - it was like heaven.

The cottage has 2 bunk rooms and a double room. Whilst the double room isn't huge it does have a large wardrobe so you can get all your stuff out the way. There is a bathroom with walk-in shower & toilet and a separate toilet [which we only found the night before we were leaving!]. The kitchen is excellent. A really good hob, sufficient and good quality pans to easily produce good food, sharp knives and even a pealer. There is a dining table with four chairs and a really good fridge. We were a bit non-plussed by the absence of ice-box in the fridge. How can you have bourbon without the rocks? On the last evening we found the chest freezer in the utility room and it all made sense.

The living room has a wood-burning stove which makes the place amazingly warm [too warm for me] very quickly. We eneded up having the windows open to get the heating balance right.

The cafe, a leisurely 50 metre walk, opens 12-4 providing wholesome food and access to wi-fi.

A couple of minor things that could easily be rectified and would make the place even better

1. The cottage needs a selection of books in the inglenook cupboard in the living room so that people who read all the ones they brought have titles to keep them going.

2. It would be good to have an outside light as, in the pitch dark of the Tireean night, it was difficult to find the keyhole

3. It would be good to have some coat-hooks by the door to hang damp coats

4. When the weather isn't so good, as well as making up the beds, it would be great if a fire was laid in the stove.

What of Tiree? Beautiful, wild and windswept. Great if you are into birding and natural history, not great if you are into sea-fishing. Several very pleasant cafes for lunch but we only found one decent place to eat in the evening - An Ceabhar - but you really do need to book as it gets full easily. Also, with the exception on An Ceabhar, food service is finished by 8pm everywhere




Good value three night stay for six folk in September

Review submitted on Sun, 24 Sep 2017
3.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We arrived just after 3 pm. The cottage felt a bit chilly so we checked for heating as one of our party was feeling unwell. The electric heaters seemed to be on automatic timing but after some experimentation we were able to switch on some wall heaters and the bathroom towel rail and the cottage warmed up nicely. The lounge had big sofas, a TV. and a log burning stove.
The shower room was modern, well lit with a large heated towel rail and a really large shower cubicle with excellent shower head and door fitting. Ideal for a party enjoying outdoor activities. Just one recommendation, two hooks on the back of the shower room door would be wonderful.
Bedrooms were a little on the small side but fine for a short stay. The couple in the double bed room recommended a new mattress. The other four guests were in bunk beds in quite small rooms which would benefit from hooks on the doors to hang jackets.
The cottage is self catering and well equipped. For the coming season it would be helpful to have lids for the two pyrex casserole dishes (food should be covered in the microwave) and new oven gloves as one of our party almost burnt her hand. The cottage is advertised for six guests but only had four dining chairs in the kitchen. We ate an evening meal in two sittings. Two extra chairs, perhaps folding, or perhaps two stools might allow four to sit for a shared meal.
Cleaning products- were available however one of our party had what seemed to be an allergic reaction when he used the hoover and we wondered if this might have been a reaction to some odour-eating type product.
All in all the cottage was excellent value for money in a wonderful location close to a cafe and exhibition centre.




Highly recommended!

Review submitted on Wed, 13 Sep 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Recently stayed at Hynish cottage with a group of friends as we were taking part in Tiree Ultra marathon. So glad that we chose to stay here. Great location, all staff and other guests very friendly and welcoming, the cottage was lovely and food delicious. Can't fault it. Hope to be back sometime. Thank you!



The Cottage, Hynish

Review submitted on Mon, 28 Aug 2017
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The cottage was just what we needed for our stay in Tiree. It provides good basic accommodation and is located right at the end of the island in Hynish. It has its own beach and dry dock which were great for our children because they had the freedom to go and play when they wanted but it is a drive to get to the main surfing beaches or the co-op. The cottage had everything we needed including a washer dryer and a TV with a DVD player for watching films on rainy evenings. We were sad to leave and will definitely return although we were glad to get back to our own comfy beds.



Amazing location

Review submitted on Tue, 25 Jul 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage is located in a beautiful secluded spot at the southern end of Tiree. There is a great little beach which is nice and sheltered. The accommodation was perfect for our needs and would love to stay there again on future visits to the island.
Highly recommend.




Nice location and Cottage, spoiled by messy garden and other niggles inside cottage.

Review submitted on Mon, 26 Jun 2017
3.3
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Clean Cottage, linen&towels.
Very hot water, no blind in velux window, porch door does not open etc.




The Hebridean Trust replied more than 1 year ago
Thanks for your constructive feedback. Repairing and maintaining our historic buildings is a full time and costly task, but you'll be pleased to hear that many of your points have already been addressed. We hope next time you visit us you'll feel free to speak to our warden about any issues - she's there to make your stay as enjoyable as possible!

Yet another Fantastic School trip.

Review submitted on Mon, 29 May 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is our 4th time to Tiree with a school trip, and as always the kids and staff had an amazing time. The changes to the cottage (new TV, new mattresses, new shower and sofas) are fantastic.
Hope fully be back again next year.




Excellent and very comfortable stay

Review submitted on Wed, 29 Mar 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent value for money and very friendly service. Cottage had everything we needed and very homely with beautiful views.



Unique Holiday Experience

Review submitted on Mon, 31 Oct 2016
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The cottage was in a beautiful location and it was very comfortable with everything you could possibly need provided.
The only downside was that we were led to believe that there would be Broadband and there wasn't any and reception was very poor making communication with the rest of the world (and even on the island) virtually impossible.




The Hebridean Trust replied more than 1 year ago
We're glad you enjoyed staying with us. Thank you for your valuable feedback about the broadband. The cottages.com webpage doesn't mention its availability, so we're not sure how you got that impression, but we will let them know.

Satisfied

Review submitted on Wed, 22 Jun 2016
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We found the little Cottage comfortable and enjoyed the great sea air near the beaches. We loved the Bird and Fauna Heritage information centre. Found it easy to drive to other places of interest.



Beautiful week in Tiree

Review submitted on Mon, 13 Jun 2016
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We had an amazing week in Tiree, partly due to the wall to wall sunshine but also due to the lovely cottage with such a great location. We could play in the garden and the beach, jump off the harbour wall and cycle everywhere.

We cycled to a different beach each day on quiet roads so it all felt very healthy and great fun for the kids.

No wifi or mobile signal and a long way to the nearest shop so you have to be prepared to be switched off from it all but we thought that was great. Our best decision was to take a bread-maker and expresso maker so we had fresh bread & coffee every morning without needing to go to the shop.

It it was a rainy week you'd struggle for things to do but worth taking a chance on. One of the best week's family holiday we've ever had in the UK.




Hyinish Cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 30 May 2016
2.5
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
2.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
2.0
Location
3.0
Value
2.0
Customer
Service
3.0
The cottage was looking rather tired. Could have done with a lick of paint here and there.
The back and front grasses needed cut.
The cottage was reasonably well equipped.




2nd-9th May 2016

Review submitted on Thu, 26 May 2016
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed at the cottage at the beginning of May. It held our family of five comfortably and stretched to accommodate 3 extra people as well for a couple of nights. It was clean and comfortable and the staff were incredibly helpful and friendly. The bathroom had just been converted to a shower only however they bought a baby bath to put into the cottage for our stay which we appreciated. A cot and highchair were also supplied. The kitchen was modern, clean and fully equipped including a washing machine and freezer.
The location is fantastic, very close to the beach and we had highland cows outside our front door most days which the children loved.




3 Night Stay - Complete Let Down - In dire need of refurbishment and deep clean!!

Review submitted on Mon, 05 Oct 2015
2.3
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
1.0
Comfort
1.0
Condition
1.0
Location
5.0
Value
2.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The Cottage looks lovely from the outside and the location is amazing. However, The Cottage needs serious attention. It is not fit for anyone to stay with the condition as it is. We booked to stay for 3 nights with an 8 week old baby and ended up sleeping on the sofas in the living room. This was due to the smell of damp in the main room which was overpowering and not fit for adults or young baby. We did not put our clothes in the drawers as the units were so smelly.

There was also pink adhesive tape holding electric wires in the hallway. Not sure why but potentially a health and safety risk. The state of the fixtures and fittings were awful and worst of all the kitchen was quite unclean. The cutlery was dirty and the plastic tray in the drawer used to hold these items was filled with brown flecks of something. The floor also needed a good mop and certainly had not been cleaned between guests.

I understand this is an island where items are more difficult or expensive to get than on the mainland. However, cleanliness is not hard to get right. In addition, I feel that electric bills being charged on top of the regular rate is wrong. £17 for heating and lighting in what was essentially one room for 3 days made this £77 per night. We were aware that this would be an additional cost but given the state of the cottage, this added insult to injury.

This place has great potential and looks excellent from outside. It would be nice for this review to be listened to and the inside renovated to be safe, clean and comfortable enough for families to stay.




Perfect peace

Review submitted on Thu, 01 Oct 2015
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Although our arrival was not anticipated, despite booking 4 weeks in advance, the cottage was quickly made available for us. Lovely location with beach just yards from the door. Enjoyed our week very much.