FB Twitter

West Cottage

West Cottage

4.8
out of 5
Ratings from 4 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.8
Comfort
4.5
Condition
4.8
Location
5.0
Value
4.8
Customer
Service
5.0


Wonderful, spacious, quirky cottage in pretty village of Thornton Rust between Hawes and Aysgarth in Wensleydale. Two sitting rooms and a dining room, with cosy fire places and wood stove. Secluded garden and garth with lovely views. A very special cottage, truly loved by the property owner and a really great place for spending a holiday. Footpaths seem to crisscross Wensleydale for miles and whilst you’re here attempt the heights of Addlebrough for breath taking views. Travel to Skipton, Leyburn, Settle, pass the Ribblehead Viaduct, Sedburgh or just enjoy Wensleydale in all its glory.

Excellent base for exploring this part of the Dales

Review submitted on Tue, 18 Oct 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very nice cottage to stay in - some quirky furnishings and very well equipped. Really nice having two sitting rooms - one in the front which was very spacious and had a nice coal fire for the daytime and a separate one at the back with a log burner and great views over the garden and dales for the evenings (we were there in October but the house was very cosy and we only used the open fires a few times but it was great to have them.

Plenty of walks to do from the door and also plenty of great places within a short drive too and being off the main road through Wensleydale it was quiet and away from it all too.




Nadine at Country Hideaways replied 100 days ago
What a lovely review, thank you so much for taking the time to write about West Cottage in Thornton Rust. Sounds like you made full use of the house which it would love. We'll very much look forward to welcoming you again when you're ready to return. Nadine

Relaxing stay

Review submitted on Thu, 21 Oct 2021
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very comfortable cottage - no surprises, all as described on the website. The kitchen is small if 2 people are sharing cooking, but so well appointed with good quality pans, dishes & crockery, that self catering was so easy. Plenty of space for the 3 of us, & beds very comfy. The terrace at the end of the garden is a lovely place to sit & enjoy the views & sheep grazing. Central heating was lovely & warm and plenty of hot water for a long soak after a tiring days walk. We appreciated the range of maps & books,
We did find several 'walks from the door' but it would have helped to have some information of these available. The owners had included some maps of circular walks, but all required a drive there & we prefer to not drive when on holiday.
Overall a lovely place to stay.




Nadine at Country Hideaways. replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for leaving your really helpful review about West Cottage in Thornton Rust, very much appreciated. Great to know you felt it was a lovely, comfortable place to stay. We'll look forward to welcoming you again when you're ready to return. Nadine

Lovely Home

Review submitted on Sat, 11 Sep 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have stayed previously in this very comfortable, quirky and artistic cottage and look forward to visiting again very soon. Lovey area for walking and plenty of opportunities for sightseeing.



Nadine at Country Hideaways. replied more than 1 year ago
So pleased to hear you enjoyed your return stay at West Cottage and thank you for leaving such a positive review. We'll very much look forward to hearing from you again when you're ready to return!

An Authentic Well Placed Holiday Cottage

Review submitted on Sat, 04 Sep 2021
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A holiday cottage with many original features which provides a truly authentic holiday experience. A lot bigger than we were expecting and stunning views from the garden. A really nice place to stay and get away from it all with everything you need to self cater. We really appreciated the well stocked kitchen and different areas to unwind and relax. Overall, I would recommend for anyone especially those bringing along a pet.



Nadine at Country Hideaways. replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for leaving your positive and constructive review, very much appreciated. Good to hear you had a super time and loved the cottage and we'll very much look forward to welcoming you again when you're ready to return! Nadine