FB Twitter

Tranquil Waters Lodge

Tranquil Waters Lodge

4.1
out of 5
Ratings from 19 reviews
74% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
3.9
Comfort
3.9
Condition
3.8
Location
4.5
Value
3.7
Customer
Service
4.5


Tranquil Waters is located on White Cross Bay at Lakeside 16. This is a modern 3 bedroom self-catering lodge (sleeping 5) with outside hot tub. Enjoys a lake view. Sorry dogs not accepted.

A tranquil stay

Review submitted on Wed, 09 Jan 2019
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Tranquil waters is set in an idyllic location with amazing views. The hot tub was huge & a great asset to the lodge. The lodge could do with updating & there was a strong damp smell which appeared to be coming from the main bathroom. This did not however affect our stay.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Views & hot tub

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Brockholes



Christine from Chorley stayed at Tranquil Waters Lodge for 5 nights in December 2018


Fiona - Lake District Lodge Holidays replied 2 days ago
Thank you for the review, Christine and it is pleasing to hear you enjoyed your stay although we apologise for the issue experienced. Please be assured this will be checked. We will also pass on your comments and suggestions to the lodge owners, thank you for these. Tranquil Waters is a comfortable three-bedroom holiday lodge with hot tub and lake views. We are delighted you enjoyed the location and the hot tub. Tranquil Waters is a great place to stay and we look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Amazing view

Review submitted on Tue, 27 Nov 2018
4.0
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The location of this lodge is fantastic with lovely views of the lake. The lodge itself was just ok. The lounge and kitchen areas were very spacious and tidy but the bedrooms were very crammed. The main problem being that there was no dressing table or anywhere to sit to get ready, plus all the mirror on the walls were so high, you couldn't see yourself at all. I had to sit on a bed in the twin room to dry hair etc, there was a mirror on the wardrobe door but you couldn't sit in front of it as it was too close to the bed and the wardrobe door would not open as too close to the bed, so it was just very inconvenient. The main issue was that there was only a shower in the ensuite and no shower in the bathroom, so if there was 5 people staying here, everyone would have to traipse through the main bedroom to use the shower! Furthermore the whole shower area needed replacing. The grout around the tiles was very marked and so looked dirty and the shower base was all marked and moved when you stood on it and had separated from the tiles so if this isn't replaced soon, it will cause structural damage. Furthermore, the shower head was really tiny so it wasn't a great shower experience! The decor in the lodge is ok but it defininately needs a lick of paint in some areas where walls have been marked. Also, although the lodge was clean to a point, there were a few areas that had not been wiped over and the glass on the patio doors looked like a child had been wiping their hands all over them. Not sure if we would stay here again as there are a lot nicer lodges! It was the view and the hot tub that made it!

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
View and hot tub

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Restaurants in Bowness

Bev from Warrington stayed at Tranquil Waters Lodge for 4 nights in November 2018


Great for a family weekend break!

Review submitted on Tue, 13 Nov 2018
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Booked this lodge fairly last minute to have a family break. There were 4 adults and 1 child. The location of this lodge is lovely views of the lake plus a stream running right outside. Nice little extra that on arrival they provide tea towels, dishcloth, and a couple of dishwasher tablets which came in handy! The kitchen was very well equipped! The open living/ dining/ kitchen area is great. Only downside was the bedrooms are rather small. The one with 2 twin beds felt very crammed in & couldn’t really open the wardrobe but this was not a huge issue to us. Hot tub was great clean and up to temperature for our arrival so we could get straight in that night. Only complaint we had with the hot tub was the cover did not seem to fit properly so after a weekend of heavy rain the water was running off the tree into the hot tub making the water go a funny green colour!! Overall a lovely lodge in a great location which we got for a reasonable price. Would look at booking again if we got a good deal!

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
The location of the lodge overlooking the lake with the sound of the stream running!

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Hare and hounds pub Bowland Bridge...lovely food and amazing desserts!!

Emma from Scarborough stayed at Tranquil Waters Lodge for 3 nights in November 2018


October Break

Review submitted on Fri, 26 Oct 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A thoroughly enjoyable break at a location which lives up to it’s name..Tranquil Waters. Lovely wee lodge with home comforts and the added gem of a hot tub which was bliss. The only thing that let it down was the oven which hadn’t been cleaned for a while and set off the smoke alarm every time it was turned on. This was fed back at the time though and would not put us off coming back.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
The hot tub

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Brockhole tree top nets -such good fun!



Samantha from Dunbar stayed at Tranquil Waters Lodge for 4 nights in October 2018


Tranquil waters

Review submitted on Tue, 14 Aug 2018
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A lovely, comfortable lodge, although overhanging trees meant very little sunlight. Customer service from LDLH was excellent for making repairs & keeping up to date with their progress. Decking very slippery!

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Watersports

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Brockhole



Guest from Sunderland stayed at Tranquil Waters Lodge for 10 nights in July 2018


Mark - Lake District Lodge Holidays replied 142 days ago
Thanks for your review. We were pleased to assist when you experienced a couple of maintenance issues and apologise for any inconvenience caused. The lodge enjoys a shady location close to the lake and offers good value, comfortable accommodation complete with a private use hot tub.

50/100

Review submitted on Fri, 06 Jul 2018
3.5
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
2.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We could not sit outside because very shaded from 2 trees and midges and flies.Lodge needs a bit upgrading.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
We actually had a good holiday, and we enjoyed going down to lake to sit at Whitecross Bay.

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
All of Windermere is lovely no matter what you do.



Wilma from Aberdeen stayed at Tranquil Waters Lodge for 7 nights in June 2018


Great little Family weekend away! Children age 1,6 & 8.

Review submitted on Sun, 10 Jun 2018
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Great little cabin! And location superb! Hot tub was a little gem! Great weekend away and loved it! Will be back! Thanks

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Location

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Hot tub



Kathryn from Seamer stayed at Tranquil Waters Lodge for 2 nights in June 2018


Fiona - Lake District Lodge Holidays replied 218 days ago
Thank you for the excellent review, Kathryn. We are so pleased to hear you had an enjoyable weekend with all the family. Indeed, a great lodge and a superb location - complete with hot tub, what more can be said? We look forward to welcoming you again in the very near future.

The #1 place to stay in the Lake District

Review submitted on Sun, 20 May 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Wonderful lodge and excellent location! I would highly recommend it and will definitely be coming back again. Thanks x

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Hot tub and view of the lake

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Kayaking on the lake from the YHA in Ambleside



Tamar from Telford stayed at Tranquil Waters Lodge for 2 nights in May 2018


Good location on a very congested site.

Review submitted on Mon, 05 Mar 2018
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Good quality well located cabin close to lakeside - warm and well furnished.
Brockhole estate and Cragwood Country House Hotel within easy walking distance - on busy A591.
walks from chalet on opposite side of the rd.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Comfortable accommodation with pleasant walks nearby and excellent food at the nearby Cragwood Country House Hotel.

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Walk up bridleway past Middlerigg tarn to TownEnd and Troutbeck.



Peter from Bilsborrow stayed at Tranquil Waters Lodge for 3 nights in February 2018


My stay at Tranquill waters

Review submitted on Fri, 23 Feb 2018
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Such an amazing time away, very nice and relaxing with a great view. A really nice get away! Staff were all friendly and pleasant and the lodge was beautiful.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Hot tub

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Safari



Guest from Gateshead stayed at Tranquil Waters Lodge for 4 nights in February 2018


Fiona - Lake District Lodge Holidays replied 320 days ago
Thank you for your kind comments and letting us know you had an amazing time. Tranquil Waters is a wonderful location for a relaxing break in the Lakes. The views are amazing and the lodge is comfortable, spacious and well equipped for guests to simply unwind and enjoy their stay. Perhaps we shall welcome you again in the near future?

Father's 60th Birthday

Review submitted on Fri, 19 Jan 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Tranquil waters was beautiful lodge. It had all the creature comforts of home with the added bonus of a relaxing hot tub. The location of the lodge was ideal alongside a river that run into Lake Windermere. Views were fantastic. Couldn't have wished for anything more.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
The Location was exceptional. Windermere has a lot to offer tourists.

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Beatrix Potter World



Vivien from Redcar stayed at Tranquil Waters Lodge for 3 nights in January 2018


Tranquil waters

Review submitted on Mon, 18 Dec 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
3.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This beautiful lodge is in an absolutely stunning location, slightly wooded and looking out onto Lake Windermere. The lodge itself is immaculate and has everything you could need for a comfortable stay and the hot tub with outer decking just makes it even better. I’d highly recommend this site to anyone, the staff are extremely helpful, friendly and accommodating. Such a gorgeous little place for a short stay or a fortnight holiday.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
The setting/location

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Just walking round the site is like being in Austria



Andrew from Larkhall stayed at Tranquil Waters Lodge for 3 nights in December 2017


Poor lodge in good location

Review submitted on Tue, 14 Nov 2017
1.7
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
1.0
Comfort
1.0
Condition
1.0
Location
4.0
Value
1.0
Customer
Service
2.0
Dirty old and musty ruined our short break. The lodge was run down and needed a deep clean all through the furniture was tired and carpets curtains and cushions smelt . Rails hanging off the walls rusty en-suite shower dirty grout . The oven was thick in grease as a result filled the lodge with smoke and set smoke alarm off. Dirty beds and bedding . A never ending list of faults

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
walking

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
boat trips



Guest from Stoke On Trent stayed at Tranquil Waters Lodge for 4 nights in October 2017


Fiona - Lake District Lodge Holidays replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for the review. We are fully aware of the issues you encountered after you kindly brought them to our attention near to the end of your stay. We can only apologise further for the disappointment you experienced whilst staying at this lodge. We do advise that guests contact us at the beginning of a stay so we are able to rectify the problem to your satisfaction and without causing too much impact on the whole stay. Your main concern was cleanliness and we accept it should have been to the high standard that you are entitled to expect from one of our lodges. It appears on this occasion a few things were overlooked. We can confirm that these matters have been dealt with and fully rectified - and as a direct result of your experience the lodge will be closely monitored in future and we are reviewing our procedures. We are confident that this was a one off although should you wish to discuss further the circumstances relating to your stay we will be happy to hear from you.

Great location, lodge a little tired

Review submitted on Mon, 13 Nov 2017
3.5
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
2.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This lodge is in a great location with Lake views and has a large hot tub. Unfortunately, having stayed in a newer lodge for the previous six nights, this lodge is a little dated. There was everything you could need for a short stay but the ensuite desperately needs updating together with the mattresses in the twin bedroom.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Overlooking the Lake from the hot-tub

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Our children (aged 9 & 10) really enjoyed Go Ape at Grizdale



Victoria from Swanland stayed at Tranquil Waters Lodge for 3 nights in November 2017


Fiona - Lake District Lodge Holidays replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for you review, Victoria. We note your comments and we can only apologise that there were a few things not quite to your satisfaction. We will check the mattresses for any sign of damage and pass on your further comments to the owners of Tranquil Waters for their reference, although we note and are pleased that you enjoyed the location of the lodge and hot tub. We assume that you had an enjoyable stay as Tranquil Waters is in a prime location and fully equipped to comfortably accommodate up to 5 guests - we were delighted to hear your children had fun at Grizedale Forest, Go Ape is so much fun, although a little hairy at times.

Tranquil Waters

Review submitted on Fri, 10 Nov 2017
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
very pleasant, quiet, and just what is needed for a short respite. The hot tub is relaxing but ideally should be more sheltered from autumnal leaves. A simple pop up gazebo would be good enough as the parasol was not big enough and was broken.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
privacy

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
lakes and boats



Paul from Manchester stayed at Tranquil Waters Lodge for 4 nights in October 2017


Weekend stay at tranquil waters

Review submitted on Wed, 01 Nov 2017
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Stayed at this lodge with my family and friends to celebrate my birthday. Booking the lodge was easy and the staff were extremely responsive and answered all of my questions quickly. The lodge was everything that was described. Great overall location, fantastic on-site facilities. The lodge it's self was of a high standard and the hot tub was an added bonus. The only improvements I would suggest is that the hot tub had a fixed shelter of some sorts as the rain spoilt our use of the hot tub and better outdoor lighting for the evenings. The reception staff at white cross bay could also look at ways to improve the signage and directions around the park as when we arrived we struggled to find the location. Would definitely return using this company. Thanks for a great weekend, we'll be back!

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
Hot tub and quality of lodge.

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
We treated ourselves to a spa day at the Burnside hotel in Windermere which was literally 8 mins away in the car. Would definitely recommend a visit here. We also had a private booth in the fizzy tart cocktail bar which is another must!

Olivia from Nr Wigan stayed at Tranquil Waters Lodge for 3 nights in October 2017


beautiful

Review submitted on Fri, 13 Oct 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I have stayed in white cross bay previously but i must say this has been the best lodge! right next to the lake so amazing views and good for walks. lovely lodge swell

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
the property

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
na



Zahra from Manchester stayed at Tranquil Waters Lodge for 4 nights in September 2017


Family holiday

Review submitted on Fri, 29 Sep 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We loved it and the lodge was in excellent position. Only problem was an over sensitive smoke alarm but we would certainly come back to Tranquil Waters and highly recommend it.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
It was in a good area for us.

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Grasmere



Rachel from Bath stayed at Tranquil Waters Lodge for 4 nights in September 2017


Fiona - Lake District Lodge Holidays replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for the great comments, Rachel and rating your stay so highly. We are delighted to hear you had an enjoyable family holiday at Tranquil Waters, in fact loved it. As it can accommodate up to five people it is a super option for families, and add in the lake views and hot tub for a very relaxing stay. We appreciate you letting us know about the smoke alarm and we will check this, although it is pleasing to know it is super effective! Very kind of you to recommend Tranquil Waters to others, thank you. We look forward to welcoming you again for another family holiday (complete with your loyalty discount!).

Tranquil Waters

Review submitted on Wed, 27 Sep 2017
3.8
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Overall we enjoyed our stay at tranquil Waters, there were a few problems with the lodge, couldn't open the draws in the single room,couldn't get into the wardrobe in the twin room, broken dining room chair leg, lights outside not working, no light on the electric fire patio was dirty curtain falling down plughole bathroom dirty and a broken spatular in the kitchen. On the plus side the lodges location was excellent and we enjoyed the hot tub.

What did you enjoy most about your stay?
The lake district.

What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests?
Bowness cruise trips.



James from Bristol stayed at Tranquil Waters Lodge for 7 nights in September 2017


Fiona - Lake District Lodge Holidays replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking time to review your stay, James. Your comments are very important to us and although we were pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay we apologise there were a few things not quite right for you. Occasionally we aren't aware of the odd maintenance issue that arises and as Tranquil Waters has only recently become available as a holiday lodge, yourselves being the second guests to stay, it was not something we expected to hear. We apologise for any inconvenience caused and can confirm that these minor niggles have been addressed. We would have gladly resolved these sooner had you let us know at the time, and with little impact on your stay. Tranquil Waters is a very welcoming lodge and in a beautiful location looking out towards the lake, complete with a hot tub for a relaxing holiday in the Lakes.