FB Twitter

Kestrel Retreat

Kestrel Retreat

5.0
out of 5
Ratings from 80 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.9
Customer
Service
5.0


Kestrel Retreat is our Scandivian-style property.

A Blissful Retreat

Review submitted on Mon, 11 Mar 2024
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Visited for a weekend away with my husband and it was incredible. Cleanliness is hugely important to me, and the place was absolutely immaculate. Everything had been thought of and we couldn’t have asked for more. We had intended to go out for dinner one evening, but loved the place (and the hot tub) so much we decided just to stay in and enjoy the views. Highly recommended.



Sarah replied 32 days ago
Cleanliness is extremely important to us and we ensure there is no stone left unturned on each clean so the property is immaculate for our guests arrival - I am delighted you noticed and agree. I am also thrilled that you enjoyed the lodge so much that you did not want to leave! Thank you. All the best.

Sensational!

Review submitted on Thu, 07 Mar 2024
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had an amazing time staying at kestrel retreat. It was spotless, had everything you needed, and was so welcoming! We were fortunate enough to have some beautiful weather, so could really appreciate the views from the retreat, I cannot put into words how stunning they were. The outside spa bath is so easy to use and a great way to unwind and relax. Furthermore, the owners were quick with communication and made everything very clear prior to arrival. We would 100% return and would recommend anyone to stay!



Sarah replied 32 days ago
I am pleased you enjoyed all the facilities at the lodge and there was everything you needed for an amazing break! Thank you. Best Wishes.

10/10

Review submitted on Wed, 06 Mar 2024
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Kestrel lodge was a perfect get away and provided all the trimmings. We got caught in the middle of a snow storm which made the stunning views even more spectacular made to feel we was in a luxury lodge in the middle of Switzerland.
Comfort
Luxury
Facilities
Cleanliness all exceptional would definitely recommend




Sarah replied 37 days ago
The snow was certainly a surprise during your stay - it made the whole place a beautiful winter wonderland! Great to hear you enjoyed your break and it felt like a luxury lodge in the middle of Switzerland! Thank you. All the best.

Absolutely Stunning!

Review submitted on Sat, 02 Mar 2024
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This retreat is breathtakingly beautiful!
Kestrel cabin was immaculate, fully equipped with everything you could possibly need and so cosy and comfortable. Lovely touch with the little welcome basket too
The views are spectacular and you are provided with some binoculars to take it all in. The spa bath was so easy to use and was the icing on the cake for me!
Hereford city centre is only a 15-20 minute drive away and has some lovely shops and restaurants but if you didn’t want to take the car anywhere, Sarah has provided a pack with lots of different walks you can take which are local to the cabin.
We will definitely be returning to the Bettws Court Retreats and highly recommend to anyone looking for that luxury break away.




Sarah replied 39 days ago
We are very lucky with the location - stunning views, peaceful but also lots of things to do nearby (from towns to pubs and restaurants as well as a wealth of activities and tourist attractions). We look forward to welcoming you back! Best Wishes.

Stunning location& the facilities within the lodge were perfect

Review submitted on Tue, 20 Feb 2024
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Would recommend to family & friends. Lovely location, the amenities within the property were perfect. A lovely break away. Loads of country pubs nearby too.



Sarah replied 52 days ago
Thank you for the recommendation. All the best.

Idyllic short break

Review submitted on Mon, 01 Jan 2024
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
On arrival, the lodge was cosy and clean. Fantastic views across the valley.
Went for the recommended circular walk, having a half way lunch at The Kilpeck Inn - very good lunch and beer!
Hot tub was great and was easy to set up. At night, you can sky watch surrounded by bubbles

Sarah was very responsive to any questions, and correspondence was always personal.

All in all, a great place to go for relaxing break. We will look at returning!




Sarah replied 100 days ago
Great to hear you did one of our recommended walks from the "walks folder" and enjoyed your lunch at The Kilpeck Inn. Thank you. Best Wishes.

Such a lovely weekend away!

Review submitted on Mon, 11 Dec 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed Friday - Sunday but wished we stayed for longer! The lodge was so tidy and cosy, everything worked perfectly, couldn’t have faulted anything! Would 100% recommend to anyone looking for a getaway. The view was amazing in the morning and hot tub was perfect for the night time. 5 stars!



Sarah replied 122 days ago
"Couldn't have faulted anything! Would 100% recommend" - thank you! All the best.

Highly recommend a stay here!

Review submitted on Fri, 08 Dec 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely long weekend staying at the Kestrel Retreat. The property is cozy, warm (especially with the cold weather faced at the weekend) and fantastic place to relax and unwind.

We felt like we had everything that we needed during our stay, as the property is so well equipped with utensils, toiletries, towels etc - it’s like a home from home. Speakers in each room is a really nice touch, and to see key tv apps loaded and pre-logged into the smart tv, was a happy surprise. The welcome hamper was such a nice little touch too!

The view from the living room and decking is amazing and so is the bath spa. Throughly enjoyed our stay and hope to visit again in the future - thank you!




Sarah replied 122 days ago
Glad to hear you were warm, cosy, and comfortable on what was a very cold winter's weekend, and enjoyed all the facilities and extra special touches throughout. Thank you. Best Wishes.

Relax with stunning views in a luxury property

Review submitted on Tue, 28 Nov 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Wow. What a place. Peaceful, relaxing, modern and the views are stunning. We had the best time here.



Sarah replied 136 days ago
Delighted to hear you had the best time - thank you. All the best.

Kestrel Retreat, A little piece of heaven

Review submitted on Thu, 23 Nov 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A beautiful place, in a beautiful location and quiet. Home comforts a plenty. Return booked already!



Sarah replied 137 days ago
"A little piece of heaven" - we agree. Thank you and we are looking forward to welcoming you back next year. Best Wishes.

We had a fantastic stay, and would look go back

Review submitted on Thu, 23 Nov 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a fantastic stay, and would look go back. The location is very impressive, with local town only 15/20 mins away.



Sarah replied 142 days ago
We are very lucky with the location - stunning views and peaceful yet accessible to shops and pubs (within 5 minutes) as well as many larger towns (within 15/20 minutes). Glad you enjoyed your stay. Thank you. All the best.

Perfect Stay

Review submitted on Wed, 08 Nov 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Arriving at the property we instantly were wowed by the stunning views. The lodge itself was perfect in every way . Our two night stay was amazing. It was luxurious and cosy and everything was just sublime.




Sarah replied 152 days ago
"Everything was just sublime" - that is our aim! Thank you. Best Wishes.

Beautiful mini-moon

Review submitted on Sat, 21 Oct 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We are so happy we booked Kestrel Retreat for our mini-moon. The location is beautiful, with picturesque views and the lodge itself was spotless with lovely attention to detail on the decor. We couldn't have asked for a more relaxing three nights, which was exactly what we wanted and needed.
We would love to return to visit in summer.




Sarah replied 171 days ago
Thrilled to hear you enjoyed your mini-moon at Kestrel Retreat. Thank you. All the best.

Wow what a beautiful place!

Review submitted on Mon, 16 Oct 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had the most incredible relaxing weekend in a beautiful setting. The lodge was amazing as it catered for everything. Sarah has decorated it fabulously and was a wonderful host. Definitely recommend a visit.



Sarah replied 178 days ago
Thank you for the recommendation. Pleased to hear you had the most incredible relaxing weekend. Thank you. Best Wishes.

Stunning

Review submitted on Mon, 02 Oct 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A unique place to stay.

The view is absolutely stunning.

Everything you could need has been supplied in the lodge. The comfort and cleanliness is to a very high standard.

We hope to return.




Sarah replied 193 days ago
Comfort and cleanliness at a high standard is our aim. Thank you. All the best.

What a wonderful place

Review submitted on Sat, 16 Sep 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed in Kestrel for five nights and had the best time. The lodge is fabulous and has everything you need for a luxurious stay. The views are incredible.
It's a great location for many walks and hikes. We covered Symonds Yat, Offa's Dyke Path at the top of Hatterall Ridge in the Black Mountains, the Tintern Abbey loop, and Sugarloaf Hill. Muscles were eased in the spa bath overlooking the views at the end of each day. A fabulous place to stay.




Sarah replied 209 days ago
The wide array of walks nearby are suitable for any fitness level and it certainly sounds like you covered some really fantastic hikes. Delighted you enjoyed your stay. Thank you. Best Wishes.

Bliss - Amazing views, amazing lodge

Review submitted on Sat, 16 Sep 2023
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a wonderful stay at Kestrel lodge for our anniversary - the first thing that hits you when you arrive is the amazing views over the fields though the picture windows, perfect for sunsets and stargazing.

The lodge itself is lovely, everything feels high quality and all the small touches have been thought about. Loved the Sonos system for music, and spa bath was great!

Perfect placement for exploring nearby Hereford, and surrounding towns and countryside, loads to do and see.

Cannot recommend highly enough - we will be back in the future!




Sarah replied 210 days ago
We are so lucky with the amazing sunrises, sunsets, and stunning stars that can be seen from the lodges. Thank you for the high recommendation. All the best.

Breathtaking views and beautiful interior!

Review submitted on Tue, 22 Aug 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed three nights in the Kestrel retreat and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The views are amazing and the property is perfectly secluded for a romantic and peaceful stay.

The property is well kitted & organised, and full of helpful information on use of appliances, things to do in the local area, walking routes, and other general information. All of this information was also stored within the tablet provided, which was a big help - we also enjoyed using it for playing music on the speaker system!

The view could also be enjoyed from the outdoor bath/ hot tub which was quick to fill up and easy to use.

We are keen to return and try out one of the other two properties as we both agreed that this has been one of our favourite getaway destinations!




Sarah replied 234 days ago
"One of our favourite getaway destinations" - thrilled to hear and we are looking forward to welcoming you back! So pleased all the information in the lodge was helpful (appliance instructions, things to do, walking routes etc). Thank you. Best Wishes.

Perfect

Review submitted on Sun, 20 Aug 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our stay at Bettws Court Retreats was amazing & we’re looking forward to going back again soon. The view from the lodge is incredible & the spa bath was so relaxing. Everything about the lodge was perfect, the surrounding area is beautiful & Sarah the host was extremely helpful. 10/10.



Sarah replied 236 days ago
"Everything about the lodge was perfect" - great to hear. We are looking forward to welcoming you back. Thank you. All the best.

The perfect place for a relaxing getaway

Review submitted on Wed, 16 Aug 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had the most amazing week at Kestrel Retreat. The accommodation was very clean and had everything we needed for a relaxing week away.
The views are breathing. The perfect place to just relax and switch off from everything.





Sarah replied 236 days ago
Fantastic to hear you enjoyed your week's break at Kestrel Retreat. Thank you. Best Wishes.

Breathtaking

Review submitted on Sat, 12 Aug 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The best place we have stayed in the UK, the views are absolutely breathtaking and the lodge itself is luxurious, spotlessly clean and has everything you need for an amazing stay.



Sarah replied 241 days ago
"The best place we have stayed in the UK" - wow, thank you! All the best.

Wow....what a stunning place

Review submitted on Wed, 02 Aug 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A fabulous service from Sarah and the team from the moment I booked. Our 2 night stay was everything and more that I had hoped for especially as it was a surprise trip for my husbands 40th.
The views were amazing and the outside hot tub was certainly the icing on the cake! The husband was also a major fan of the Sonos speakers throughout the accommodation.
The walking information pack also helped us find a great walk around Goodrich Castle that was located only 20mins away from the retreat in which we thoroughly enjoyed and certainly got our step count up (over 19,000 steps).
Thank you so much Sarah and the team and we would both highly recommend your retreats!




Sarah replied 253 days ago
Thank you for the high recommendation. I am so thrilled you both enjoyed your stay so much and made such great memories. Best Wishes.

Ideal for a quiet break away from it all

Review submitted on Thu, 27 Jul 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
As you walk in the first thing that strikes you are the views through the huge picture windows. It is so easy to just lose hours looking out of them at the ever changing surroundings.
The property itself has been finished to a very high standard and the owners do seem to have thought of everything.
The area is quiet and you are spoilt for choice if you want a nice walk. There is also no shortage of good places to go out and eat. The information folder provided gives lots of suggestions of how to fill your time.
We will definitely be back again as it is the perfect place to go and switch off from everything else.




Sarah replied 260 days ago
There certainly is no shortage of good places to go out and eat nearby - all styles of food are accommodated! Delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay and the high standard of the lodge. We look forward to welcoming you back. Thank you. All the best.

Great stay

Review submitted on Tue, 25 Jul 2023
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A lovely secluded stay perfect if you need some peace and quiet with loads of outdoor activities near by.



Sarah replied 262 days ago
Pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and took advantage of the range of outdoor activities nearby. Thank you. Best Wishes.

Excellent retreat with amazing views

Review submitted on Mon, 17 Jul 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a great time at bettws retreat. The views over the hills were amazing and we enjoyed many lovely local walks. The property was of a very high standard, very well equipped and we had great service from booking through to check out. We would definitely recommend and would love to come back.



Sarah replied 270 days ago
We are very lucky with the wealth of nearby footpaths and are pleased to provide guests with a walking folder detailing them all - it is great to hear you took advantage of them. Thank you. All the best.

Rest, Relax and Regroup

Review submitted on Sat, 15 Jul 2023
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had such a brilliant stay in the Kestral Retreat, it was a perfect place to rest and relax. The views are stunning and the lodge itself had everything we needed for such an enjoyable stay. The lodge has amazing high end features such as Sonos speakers in every room, spa bath, bbq…the list goes on and on. The owners have really thought of everything down to the smallest of the details. The welcome hamper was a lovely thought and gratefully received. We would not hesitate to stay here again in the future.



Sarah replied 271 days ago
We really have tried to think of everything down to the smallest of details and I am delighted you agree - it is great to hear you had such a relaxing and comfortable break. Thank you. Best Wishes.

Stunning views

Review submitted on Thu, 13 Jul 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our short stay at Kestrel retreat was pure bliss. The accommodation is excellent with every attention to detail for a comfortable stay. Superbly and tastefully decorated with everything you need for a comfortable stay. I would highly recommend this accommodation. The views are spectacular.



Sarah replied 275 days ago
"Pure bliss" - thank you. So pleased you had such an excellent break and liked the internal finish. Thank you for the high recommendation. All the best.

Just perfect

Review submitted on Mon, 03 Jul 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Everything about our stay was wonderful. We were looking for peace, beautiful countryside and relaxation. And we found it! Although there are three lodges in this setting they are so cleverly planned and designed that you are not overlooked and feel completely private and like the only people lucky enough to be enjoying the unique setting with its wonderful panoramic view. Everything in the retreat is of very high quality and there was not a thing we needed that hadn’t already been though of and provided.. Truly a luxury retreat.



Sarah replied 284 days ago
"Truly a luxury retreat" - thank you! I am so pleased you enjoyed the tranquility and panoramic views. Thank you. Best Wishes.

Family gathering

Review submitted on Mon, 26 Jun 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Amazing cabins. Very clean. Everything needed had already been thought of and provided. Would recommend and stay again.



Sarah replied 291 days ago
I am pleased you had everything you needed for an enjoyable stay. Thank you. All the best.

A place of utter peace and great beauty

Review submitted on Sat, 17 Jun 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What an absolute pleasure and privilege it was to stay at Bettws Court Retreats. The view is spectacular with the countryside laid out like a carpet stretching away to the hills and distant views of Hereford. The utter peace of the place was what we enjoyed the most however; nothing but the sound of birdsong and the noises of the farm animals which are not intrusive in any way. If you are a nature lover like me, then you will enjoy the constantly changing landscape of farm animals and birds, including red kites hunting in the fields in front of the retreat. We also had a terrific thunderstorm one evening and Kestrel Retreat was a great vantage point from which to see the storm tracking across the countryside below. The retreats are relatively new and Kestrel was well appointed, very comfortable and absolutely spotless with a powerful walk-in shower, lovely Noble Isle toiletries, a smart TV, decent Wi-Fi, a washer-drier and a small but well equipped kitchen. There is also a jacuzzi on the outside decking, but we didn’t use it. Communication from the property manager Sarah was great, with courtesy emails in advance about anything that might impact us, such as the National Grid needing to switch the power off for ten minutes on one day to undertake some maintenance, or the field in front of us needing to be mowed. Nothing was too much trouble. There is plenty to see and do in the area, but we hired a couple of e-bikes and spent our days meandering through the beautiful country lanes. We left with real regret yesterday and Bristol Airport felt like hell on earth compared to the peace of Kestrel Retreat. If you want to be far from the madding crowd for a few days, with spectacular views thrown in that you can enjoy in comfort, then this is the place for you. We’ll definitely be back!



Sarah replied 295 days ago
The constantly changing landscape is truly mesmerising and I can imagine the storm was spectacular to watch! I am so pleased you enjoyed your week's break with us and we look forward to welcoming you back. Thank you. Best Wishes.

Commemorative trip

Review submitted on Tue, 30 May 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My sister and I stayed for 3 nights over bank holiday weekend following the passing of our mum, needing a break away from it all. We couldn't have wished for a more tranquil, perfect setting. The retreat was exactly what we needed. Instructions for appliances easy to follow although I couldn't work out how to connect my own Spotify account to the Sonnos! Everything was in perfect order.
The welcome hamper was a lovely touch.
We took a walk to The Black Swan on bank holiday Monday which is pretty challenging both there and back due to the gradient of the hills!
Would love to return with my husband.




Sarah replied 313 days ago
I am delighted to hear Kestrel Retreat provided everything you needed for your commemorative trip. We are happy to provide a tablet for the Sonos Speakers, Spotify account, and full instructions for ease of use. We look forward to welcoming you back with your husband. Thank you. All the best.

Great holiday

Review submitted on Mon, 29 May 2023
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very comfortable and well equipped with fantastic views. Lots of useful information about local places of interest, places to eat and walks on the website. We enjoyed a lovely holiday, thank you!



Sarah replied 319 days ago
Pleased to hear you took good advantage of our "Walking Folder" in each lodge with a wide selection of walks, both from the lodge and within a short drive. Glad you had a lovely holiday. Thank you. Best Wishes.

Exceptional

Review submitted on Fri, 26 May 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Felt brand new, really well designed and thought out. So many extra touches made our stay totally relaxing and enjoyable. Great area for walks, ruined castles and pubs…just so hard to tear ourselves away from the comfort of our lodge and the stunning view.



Sarah replied 319 days ago
We are very lucky with the location and the wide array of things to do in the area - if you can tear yourselves away from the lodge! Thrilled you enjoyed your stay. Thank you. All the best.

Lovely luxury escape with stunning views

Review submitted on Tue, 16 May 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We came for an escape to from the city and it couldn’t have been better. The lodge was of the highest quality and the views and location were amazing. We would come back in a heartbeat. Thank you!



Sarah replied 332 days ago
Delighted you enjoyed your escape from the city with us. Thank you. Best Wishes.

The most perfect getaway

Review submitted on Mon, 08 May 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Everything was perfect. We felt like the only two people in the world which was the intention. The Kestrel was so well thought out, the kitchen living space was stunning and made a perfect space to watch the sunset when we arrived. The attention to detail was fantastic, nothing was forgotten. Sonos speakers in every room so you could play music playing throughout. The spa bath was fantastic, the bbq and pizza oven made for a lovely dinner after a long walk on the sunny day. The views are what makes this place so special, it was the most beautiful retreat. Would 100% recommend to anyone wanting to spend some time to relax and unwind!



Sarah replied 339 days ago
"We felt like the only two people in the world" - exactly how we want our guests to feel whilst staying with us! Thank you for the high recommendation. All the best.

Perfect countryside break

Review submitted on Sat, 06 May 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Wow! What a beautiful lodge and stunning location. The cleanliness of the property was flawless, with everything you could think of to make the stay comfortable. The attention to detail from sonos in each room, underfloor heating in the bathroom and the little touches such as the welcome pack and washing machine/dishwasher tablets provided.
The bed was a dream! So comfortable! The location was excellent. We took advantage of the Oldfield Forge experience day and an afternoon quad biking through the countryside with Monnow Events, both of which were no more than 15 minute drive.
We look forward to coming back again and spending longer enjoying this hidden gem.




Sarah replied 339 days ago
We invest heavily in the beds to ensure our guest comfort and I am so pleased you felt it was the dream! We look forward to welcoming you back for a longer stay! Best Wishes.

A touch of heaven

Review submitted on Wed, 03 May 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We recently stayed at the Kestrel retreat, the accommodation was excellent, it had everything you could want from a washer dryer, dishwasher coffee machine, a welcome hamper, hot tub bbq. We felt like we were in heaven the peace and tranquility was amazing, Hot tub was superb. Our whole experience was amazing and will be returning again, this accommodation is a 5 star. The owners left contact details incase of any questions. We would highly recommend any one to visit.



Sarah replied 344 days ago
A piece of heaven is what we aspire to offer our guests and I am thrilled you agree. Thank you for the high recommendation. All the best.

Lovely break

Review submitted on Sun, 30 Apr 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Well appointed cottage, fantastic views .... best to bring your binoculars even though they supply a free pair.
Lots to see and do nearby. Some decent restaurants too.




Sarah replied 348 days ago
We are very lucky with the location - both in terms of the spectacular views and the array of local attractions, activities, and restaurants. So pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay. Thank you. Best Wishes.

An absolutely fantastic stay!

Review submitted on Tue, 11 Apr 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Upon arrival I was amazed with the lodge. Its location was amazing if you’re looking for a peaceful getaway. Every necessity and more was provided for your stay. It was a home away from home. We will definitely be back!



Sarah replied more than 1 year ago
Delighted to hear you were amazed by the lodge and enjoyed your Easter weekend break with us. We look forward to welcoming you back. Thank you. All the best.

Excellent relaxing break

Review submitted on Mon, 10 Apr 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Really fabulous location, the lodge is really modern and tidy. Would highly recommend a stay if you are looking for a relaxing break.



Sarah replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for the high recommendation. Best Wishes.

It’s all about the view!

Review submitted on Tue, 28 Mar 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful 3 night stay in Kestrel lodge. The big wow factor is the view! Whichever way you look out of the lodge, you see the most incredible view. Even when the clouds were rolling in, it looked amazing. On our last night we got a wonderful sunset and the next morning there was an even more spectacular sunrise.

The lodges really are “in the middle of nowhere” but that is the beauty of them. The location is very peaceful and although there are 2 other lodges right beside each other, they are positioned to give complete privacy. We didn’t hear anyone else the whole time we were there.

The lodge itself has been very well thought out, is very comfortable and is equipped with everything that you need. A little welcome hamper has some lovely treats in it and there is ample tea and coffee provided. We found it spotlessly clean too. The only minor thing I would say needs improving, is the lighting inside the lodge but that is personal preference. The ceiling lights in both the living room and bedroom as well as the wall lights in the bedroom were very dim.

Thank you Sarah for a wonderful stay and we hope to return one day.




Sarah replied more than 1 year ago
I could not agree more: it really is all about the view, it is just mesmerising watching the weather unfold across the multiple counties in front of you! Glad to hear you enjoyed the lodges and privacy. All the best.

kestrel lodge

Review submitted on Mon, 27 Mar 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
a Great stay in a wonderful lodge with a stunning view across the countryside towards Hereford. The accomadation was cleaned to a very high standard it had everything that we needed to make our stay very comfortable. Ideally situated to visit Ledbury, Hereford, Ross on Wye, Monmouth and the beautiful Symonds Yat all within a Half hour drive. Would highly recommend this lodge. it will provide you with Peace calm and tranquility.
Thanks Sarah. A complete chill out break.




Sarah replied more than 1 year ago
We really are lucky with the location with so many activities and places to explore nearby. I am so pleased you enjoyed the lodge and the surrounding area. Thank you. Best Wishes.

Birthday Weekend

Review submitted on Mon, 27 Mar 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I booked the Kestrel lodge for myself and the girlfriend for a birthday weekend getaway. The lodge was very clean and cosy which was exactly what i booked it for. The surrounding area was stunning so peaceful. First time to Herefordshire which did not disappoint and would certainly recommend the Bettws Court Retreats!



Sarah replied more than 1 year ago
Pleased to hear that both Herefordshire and Kestrel Retreat did not disappoint! Thank you. All the best.

Excellent stay

Review submitted on Sun, 19 Mar 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful accommodation is a gorgeous setting. The lodge was so clean and well equipped and the view was stunning.



Sarah replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you. Delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay. Best Wishes.

Very relaxing

Review submitted on Sat, 18 Mar 2023
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
From amazing views to quiet surroundings this little gem of a location is a truly a relaxing experience. Comfy furniture and bed helps the whole experience well worth while. Very clean and spacious with everything needed at hand. Spa bath to relax and wind down for the evening.
“ if you feel sad to leave a place, then it truly was a wonderful stay.”




Sarah replied more than 1 year ago
We couldn't agree more: "if you feel sad to leave a place, then it truly was a wonderful stay”. Thank you. All the best.

Best place ever

Review submitted on Thu, 16 Mar 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I really enjoyed my stay in bettws retreat and I consider the place one of the best places I have ever visited and stayed in. A 100% recommendation to couples and families to enjoy and relax with the most beautiful view of the United Kingdom lands and farms. Will be back 100%.



Sarah replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for the high recommendation, so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay so much! Thank you. Best Wishes.

The perfect stay

Review submitted on Tue, 14 Mar 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I booked Kestrel retreat to celebrate my partner’s 30th birthday and the accommodation absolutely blew us away. The views when you walk through the door - spectacular! The place was spotless, the bed and pillows very comfortable and amenities, including the outdoor hot tub, were all brilliant. On one day we followed one of the walking routes from the lodge that they provided which was stunning. Would definitely recommend a stay at Bettws Court Retreats!



Sarah replied more than 1 year ago
Great to hear you were absolutely blown away by Kestrel Retreat and enjoyed all the facilities and comforts. Thank you for your recommendation. All the best.

Window with a view

Review submitted on Sat, 25 Feb 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Relaxing venue with fantastic views .................................................................



Sarah replied more than 1 year ago
We agree the view really is something special that no photograph can capture! Delighted you enjoyed your stay. Best Wishes.

Unforgettable

Review submitted on Tue, 14 Feb 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Kestrel Retreat was even better in person, we couldn’t ever quite get over the views and loved every second of our stay. It’s clear every detail has been carefully thought out, from the lovely welcome hamper to Netflix and the Sonos speakers with Spotify was an added bonus!
The views from the bath spa were breathtaking, we don’t often return to places we’ve visited but we’ll definitely be making this a yearly trip and I’ve recommended it to everyone I’ve spoken to!




Sarah replied more than 1 year ago
Fantastic to hear Kestrel Retreat exceeded your expectations and that you are keen to make an annual trip to our lodges! We look forward to welcoming you back. All the best.

Great weekend away, would definitely recommend!

Review submitted on Mon, 13 Feb 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A modern and clean lodge with all the necessary amenities for a lovely weekend break. Outdoor spa was brilliant and enjoyed a long circular walk to a local pub which we enjoyed.



Sarah replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you. Thrilled to hear you enjoyed your weekend at Kestrel Retreat. Best Wishes.

Beautiful stay

Review submitted on Wed, 08 Feb 2023
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Came to the Kestrel Retreat for my partners birthday. It was AMAZING! The cabin it's self was gorgeous, everything you could need and more - welcome hamper with local produce, coffee pods, smart TV with various accounts to use, speakers linked to Spotify, toiletries. The spa bath out side was brilliant, easy to use, and the bath salts provided made it even better! Lots of things to do in the local areas, we explored a few castles and popped into Hereford.
We will definitely be coming again.




Sarah replied more than 1 year ago
I am glad you enjoyed your stay at Kestrel Retreat, both making use of the facilities and also exploring the local area. We are very lucky with the wealth of attractions and activities nearby. Thank you. All the best.

Amazing!

Review submitted on Tue, 07 Feb 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Kestrel retreat was perfect and we would highly recommend . The property was immaculate and had everything we needed - we stayed in to cook dinner one night and the kitchen literally had everything. There were instructions available for all the appliances etc. The welcome hamper with suggested walking routes was a great touch. Thank you so much!



Sarah replied more than 1 year ago
Pleased to hear the kitchen had everything needed to cook during your stay and all the instructions allowed for ease of use. Thank you. Best Wishes.

Absolutely breathtaking

Review submitted on Mon, 30 Jan 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Can’t describe in words how beautiful our stay was at the Kestrel Retreat. Everything was breathtaking from the views to the decor of the lodge and every little detail had been carefully thought about to make the stay special. Already looking to return again soon.



Sarah replied more than 1 year ago
Delighted you enjoyed your stay so much that you "can't describe in words how beautiful your stay was at Kestrel Retreat". We look forward to welcoming you back. Thank you. All the best.

Amazing Stay

Review submitted on Mon, 30 Jan 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed in Kestrel Lodge for 4 nights and we can’t express enough how much we enjoyed our stay. Sarah has clearly put a lot of time and consideration into every detail of the lodges and I cannot fault it in any way. Sarah also provided a lot of information in the lodge on how to use everything and also on the local area. We thoroughly enjoyed using the outdoor spa bath and found the welcome hamper a really lovely touch. We came here to celebrate our anniversary and we also got engaged whilst at the lodge. I cannot think of anywhere better for the occasion.



Sarah replied more than 1 year ago
Congratulations on your engagement - I am thrilled to hear that you cannot think of anywhere better for the occasion! So pleased you enjoyed everything about the lodge. Best Wishes.

Absolutely Amazing

Review submitted on Wed, 18 Jan 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What an amazing place to stay... a stunning location, with an incredible view. The Kestrel Retreat had so many nice little touches that added to the experience, making our stay as easy as and very very comfortable.

I guess the invitation to make comment in the Suggestion Book on how to improve, said it all.... it was 'empty'!....

We will be back.... thank you




Sarah replied more than 1 year ago
Delighted you enjoyed your stay and were very comfortable - that is one of the most important things! We look forward to welcoming you back. All the best.

Lovely Winter Retreat

Review submitted on Wed, 28 Dec 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We did a pre-Christmas stay for my partner’s birthday and it was absolutely divine- really cosy and romantic, the perfect home away from home. Close proximity to amazing restaurants such as Under The Nut Tree, and easy into Hereford for some bar hopping and lots of cocktails! Sarah is absolutely brilliant and went out of her way to accommodate us. We had the most brilliant time and would highly recommend to all.



Sarah replied more than 1 year ago
I am thrilled you enjoyed your stay at Kestrel Retreat. We are very lucky with the wealth of local pubs and restaurants - including Under The Nut Tree, it is such a great concept and delicious food! Thank you. Best Wishes.

Romantic

Review submitted on Thu, 22 Dec 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Highly recommend! We stayed for a couple of nights for my fiancés birthday and it was the most beautiful thing and the views were to die for!




Sarah replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you. The view really is something spectacular and no photograph does it justice! All the best.

Beautiful stay

Review submitted on Wed, 14 Dec 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Such a beautiful place and the view was absolutely breathtaking. The spa bath was truly a treat. Will definitely be returning!!!!!!!



Sarah replied more than 1 year ago
We agree the private spa bath is a real treat! We look forward to welcoming you back. Best Wishes.

Lovey cosy cabin in beautiful countryside

Review submitted on Sat, 10 Dec 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely stay here. The cabin is super cosy with the electric fire and sofas, and the rooms have everything you need. The sweeping views across the hills are incredibly relaxing and you feel like you’re completely cut off from the rest of the world. Everything was really well thought through with great attention to detail. Highly recommend!



Sarah replied more than 1 year ago
I am delighted you enjoyed your stay at Kestrel Retreat and agree everything felt super cosy during this cold weather. Thank you. All the best.

MUST STAY !

Review submitted on Thu, 01 Dec 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Absolutely 10 Star Rating !
What a beautiful place inside and out.
Every last thing was thought of to make the stay smooth and enjoyable.
Directions around the property for everything so you could understand the gadgets and how to use everything.
Me and my partner loved this relaxing stay and wouldnt have changed a thing other than wishing we we stayed longer !
Thankyou ❤️




Sarah replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your high recommendation. It is fantastic you enjoyed the lodge so much. We hope to welcome you back! Best Wishes.

Great view of countryside

Review submitted on Wed, 23 Nov 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The windows that make up one side of the retreat offer a great view of Herefordshire. The place itself was very comfortable, clean, and modern. (We're not bothered with a hot tub so Value for Money is 4/5). A great place from which to walk or else admire the the view. The Kilpeck Inn is recommended.



Sarah replied more than 1 year ago
We are very lucky with the wealth of public footpaths around the lodges and I am pleased you took advantage of some of them during your stay. The Kilpeck Inn does serve delicious seasonal food. Great that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you. All the best.

Fantastic place to stay!

Review submitted on Wed, 23 Nov 2022
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was a great place to stay, the location was a fantastic location on top of a hill with a beautiful view of fields and towns in the background. The cabin itself was spacious yet still warm and giving cosy vibes, with sonos speakers in all rooms it was great to play some music and have it follow you around the cabin. Although there are 3 cabins within close proximity to each other you honestly didn’t think anyone else was there as they were situated in a way where it felt like it was only your cabin around. A few points for very minor improvements are; include some more outside lightening, there is a few lights out there that are very pretty but when trying to barbecue couldn’t really see the food without a torch, even some fairy lights on the black cladding would be great to increase the light levels outside at night. The mattress on the bed is okay, but only okay, it would be a lot nicer if it was a little bit more softer and increase the luxury feeling of the stay. Finally the table between the sofas (which looks like a clothes peg which is cool) is unfortunately not flat at the top. This meant when trying to play board games in front of the TV it was an uneven surface and things would keep falling off. The points of improvement above are very very small issues with what was a fantastic stay and would still give this 10/10.



Sarah replied more than 1 year ago
I am pleased to hear you enjoyed the Sonos speakers in each room and agree the lodge is spacious yet cosy. The properties have been designed with privacy in mind and I am glad you felt like you were the only lodge around! Thank you for your feedback, I am really surprised about the mattress - we are very proud of our premium British-made Harrison Spinks mattresses which many people ask about to purchase for their own homes after staying in our lodges. Thank you for the 10/10, it is great you enjoyed your stay. Best Wishes.

Relaxing and beautiful retreat!

Review submitted on Wed, 09 Nov 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We loved our stay. Everything was so clean, and we couldn't find a single fault, everything had been thought of and more. The views were breathtaking to take In from the jacuzzi! The products such as hand-wash and Bath salts all were so lovely to use during the stay.



Sarah replied more than 1 year ago
Thrilled to hear you "could not find a single fault". It is fantastic you enjoyed your break so much. Thank you for your kind words. All the best.

Romantic escape

Review submitted on Sun, 30 Oct 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We booked Kestrel lodge for a short romantic mini break and it didn’t disappoint. The lodge was immaculately clean and super comfortable. The highlights for us were the stunning view and spa bath. We enjoyed star gazing each evening.

A fantastic get away from it all break, we will return.




Sarah replied more than 1 year ago
We work very hard to ensure the lodges are immaculately clean and extremely comfortable for our guests so I am thrilled you agree. Thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back. Best Wishes.

really impressive

Review submitted on Thu, 20 Oct 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our weekend in Kestrel retreat was great from start to finish. Such beautiful views outside and such attention to detail on the inside, it was everything we needed.



Sarah replied more than 1 year ago
I am delighted to hear how much you enjoyed Kestrel Retreat and all our extra special touches to ensure guest comfort. Thank you. All the best.

Relaxing break

Review submitted on Fri, 14 Oct 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Perfect upon perfect. Clean, super modern and luxury. There has been a lot of thought put into these lodges and it shows throughout. If you want a relaxing and private few nights away, I’d recommend this place 100%.



Sarah replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your excellent review and kind words - delighted to hear "Perfect upon perfect". Best Wishes.

Beautiful retreat in a beautiful setting! Highly recommend!

Review submitted on Tue, 11 Oct 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Booked this as a surprise for my partner to celebrate a special occasion and it exceeded our expectations! Very clean and well equipped and we were greeted by a welcome basket of local produce which was a lovely touch.

The accommodation is only exceeded by the views from the living room which are to die for. Spent our evenings watching the stars from the outside bath spa.

Couldn’t recommend more highly!




Sarah replied more than 1 year ago
I am so pleased that Kestrel Retreat exceeded your expectations, thank you so much for the fantastic review and very high recommendation. All the best.

Fantastic Short Break with amazing views. Will definitely be going back.

Review submitted on Mon, 10 Oct 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Kestrel Retreat did not disappoint. Personal welcome basket, breath taking views. Very clean with all you need. Highly recommend



Sarah replied more than 1 year ago
I am thrilled, thank you so much. We look forward to welcoming you back! Best Wishes.

A hidden gem!

Review submitted on Sat, 01 Oct 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Just Wow! We feel so lucky to have stayed at Kestrel Retreat last week. It was a much needed break from the city and Bettws Court is probably the most perfect place to relax, unwind and re-energise!

Sarah was so helpful from the get go, she was happy to provide us with walk suggestions and was also kind enough to reserve our dates while we sorted out transport. We travelled by train and taxi which was super easy for us, so if you’re without wheels, you will not miss out on this gem!

Upon arriving, you can really see how much effort and hard work has gone into Bettws Court, it’s truly amazing to see! Each hut has a view to die for across the fields and hills of Herefordshire. We particularly enjoyed watching the cows from the kitchen! The terrace is the perfect place to watch the sunset and sunrise (as someone who enjoys a lie in, I 100% recommend getting up early to watch the sunrise!) and also to relax after a busy day of walking; the outdoor bath is amazing!

The whole place was immaculate and we really liked that a lot of toiletries were included, it saved us the hassle of packing everything! Although the shops are far ( especially for us without cars ), we really did not miss anything. Kestrel Retreat was equipped with everything you could think of in all areas ( kitchen, bedroom and bathroom; the only thing we prepared to bring with us were specific ingredients for our food.

A few recommendations to future guests:

- If you plan to walk the Kilpeck loop, plan in advance! The team have already put a lot of thought into the instructions and map marking, however we got so busy stopping and enjoying every bit of the walk that we missed the opening times for the pub we were supposed to stop for lunch at! Still, we have no regrets as we fortunately packed a lot of snacks and enjoyed them by the castle instead!

- Tilly’s Farm Shop has the best bacon! We ordered some meat from here due to our stay having an unexpected bank holiday, but Tilly was happy to provide us with some goods and the bacon was definitely the highlight.


If you’re thinking of booking with Bettws Court Retreats, I would 100% recommend for you to do so! We have no regrets from our booking and staying and we are so grateful for Sarah’s ideas. It was due to this that we have left Bettws Court with our hearts full and a re-ignited love for nature.




Sarah replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for the high recommendation. Great to hear you enjoyed one of the walks from Kestrel Retreat, we are so spoilt with the surrounding countryside! It was a pleasure to help you plan your stay and it is fantastic to hear how much you enjoyed it. All the best.

Perfect

Review submitted on Sat, 01 Oct 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The lodge exceeded our expectations and was just perfect. Every little detail thought off to make your stay relaxing and stress free. The views were utterly breathtaking and we got lost in them for hours and hours. Cannot wait to go back



Sarah replied more than 1 year ago
I am delighted to hear Kestrel Retreat exceeded your expectations! We look forward to welcoming you back. Best Wishes.

Fabulous Place!

Review submitted on Tue, 20 Sep 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Absolutely faultless place to stay, the views are wonderful (I even made use of the binoculars!) and the cabin itself is so comfortable with everything you could possibly need. Spent the days exploring and the evenings relaxing in the spa bath and cooked for ourselves. There was nothing that we wanted that wasn't already provided and there has been no expense spared with all the fixtures, fittings and decor. Great attention to detail with welcome hamper, maps and guest book, would highly recommend a stay here and we would love to come back in the future. Thank you so much x



Sarah replied more than 1 year ago
Indeed no expense has been spared on fixtures, fittings and decor to ensure our guests have the most comfortable stay, as well as ensuring we provide lots of extra special touches. Thank you for the high recommendation. We look forward to welcoming you back! All the best.

Relaxing break

Review submitted on Fri, 02 Sep 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
An amazing place! The lodge is brilliant and the Sarah has thought of everything you could need! The location is so picturesque and peaceful and it is a wonderful place to relax and do nothing!



Sarah replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you. I am thrilled you enjoyed your break at Kestrel Retreat. Best Wishes

Kestrel Retreat

Review submitted on Thu, 25 Aug 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Such a relaxing get away at Kestrel Retreat. The stay has everything you need and could think of to feel looked after. My sister and I cooked at home as all equipment was provided and enjoyed using the spa bath under the stars.
The place was very clean, tidy and welcoming. Even a basket of locally sourced goodies was found on our arrival.




Sarah replied more than 1 year ago
Delighted to hear you agree that the kitchen is well equipped and you were able to cook in the lodge with ease. Thank you for the wonderful review. All the best.

An excellent get away!

Review submitted on Thu, 11 Aug 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We absolute loved our stay at the kestrel retreat, the view is breath taking the pictures don't even do it just justice. Very well presented from the interior design and the garden deck area. Originally I wasn’t sure how private it would feel from looking at the pictures but you don’t even notice the other Guest being there.

Hot tub and the bbq/smoker are also a really nice touch also everything you need is supplied, plus a really nice hamper of stuff when you arrive. I would recommend this to anyone looking to get away. The surrounding area is beautiful and there’s is plenty to do if you want to go out for the day.

Would definitely Visit again





Sarah replied more than 1 year ago
Great to hear you loved your stay at Kestrel Retreat. We have ensured each property is very private so you cannot notice other guests being there - I am thrilled you agree. We are very lucky with the wealth of activities in the surrounding area and it's brilliant you had time to explore. Thank you. Best Wishes.

Luxurious Countryside Retreat!

Review submitted on Thu, 11 Aug 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed here for 2 nights for our second wedding anniversary and it was absolute bliss. Yes the photos are beautiful online but they do no justice when you are there and see it for yourself. The views and surroundings are absolutely incredible.

Firstly when we arrived, there was a basket of freebies waiting for us which was a lovely touch. We also pre-ordered from Tilly's Farm Shop and the hamper was in the lodge ready for our arrival!.

The lodge itself was beautiful, spacious with high ceilings and fully equipped. Absolutely love the decor throughout. The kitchen had all the cutlery you need, chopping board, oven trays, pots and pans, plates, wine/champagne glasses and cooking utensils. The living room had a smart TV and was really cosy in the evening. The bedroom looks quite small in the photos but that was surprisingly spacious too. The bathroom was nice and clean and that shower, I am going to miss!!

The decking area with the BBQ and spa bath were an awesome addition! We used the spa bath at night in the quiet outdoors, the town lights shining in the far distance and the sky lit above us full of stars - it was really romatic.

Sarah has done a fantastic job with this lodge, you guys should be really proud of pulling together a luxury countryside retreat!

I'd recommend looking at all of the things included so that you don't need to overpack during your stay as we were provided with everything we needed.

Communication with the host was great too should you have any questions during your stay.

For summer periods, I would definitely bring a fan with you as you can imagine it gets quite hot in the lodge and given you're in the countryside, there's a lot of flies /bugs but thankfully there was bug spray provided at the lodge. These are two things I would definitely recommend bringing with you.

All in all, waking up to that sunrise and seeing the sunset, hearing the cows, the sheep and looking at that fantastic view of the countryside was an amazing experience.




Sarah replied more than 1 year ago
I agree that photographs cannot do the property justice - it has to be seen for yourself! I am overjoyed to hear what a fantastic time you had and how much you enjoyed the facilities and surroundings as well as how well-equipped the property is. The rainfall shower is very powerful, I can imagine you will miss it!! Thank you. All the best.

Fantastic accommodation.

Review submitted on Wed, 10 Aug 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Best accommodation. The cabins are superbly clean and well thought out. Everything you need for a relaxing and restful trip with the most stunning views.
Can't wait to book again.




Sarah replied more than 1 year ago
A high standard of cleanliness is very important to us and I am so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us so much. We look forward to welcoming you back! Best Wishes.

Peaceful quirky breakaway

Review submitted on Sat, 02 Jul 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Awesome two nights stay away. So nice to be surrounded by countryside. Loved the outside space too. Perfect for destressing and doing nothing. Each cabin is private and special. Thank you



Sarah replied more than 1 year ago
I am thrilled you enjoyed a peaceful break at Kestrel Retreat and returned refreshed. Thank you. All the best.

A luxury cottage in a beautiful setting

Review submitted on Sat, 25 Jun 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
As someone who does not use a Satnav it would have been very helpful to have some directions to the property. We did manage to get vey lost and had to ask the way from local people on three occasions The cottage was provided with every possible amenity and a great deal of thought had gone into giving maximum comfort. We would certainly recommend it to friends wanting a quiet few days in a beautiful setting.



Sarah replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your high recommendation. With regard to directions - with the payment confirmation email we send detailed directions which also includes an annotated map with directions to the lodges. I am sorry that it seems you did not receive this email sent prior to your arrival. We would also have been happy to help you over the phone, however, I am pleased the locals helped you. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay, we aim to provide maximum comfort and all amenities required and I am glad you agree. Many thanks. Best wishes.

Gorgeous place with stunning views, everything high standard

Review submitted on Tue, 14 Jun 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a gorgeous long weekend in Kestrel Lodge, which is finished to such a high standard and has so many little touches of luxury and comfort. The wide-ranging views are just incredible, and the location is peaceful and private. The icing on the cake is the gorgeous spa bath on the deck, perfect for relaxing in whilst sunbathing or stargazing! The owner Sarah is a dream to deal with, and speedily responsive. Will definitely be back.



Sarah replied more than 1 year ago
I am delighted you had such a fantastic long weekend and enjoyed all the facilities in Kestrel Retreat. The views really are incredible. We look forward to welcoming you back another time! Best Wishes.

What long weekends and staycations are made for

Review submitted on Mon, 06 Jun 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
An absolutely amazing stay, personal touches were second to none and allowed for an amazingly restful break.

My only recommendations would a fan, dimmer lighting and preorder locally sourced. That takes absolutely nothing away from such an amazing property and stay.

Thank you! I’ve returned to the big smoke a very happy, relaxed, recharged…….and a lifetime fan.




Sarah replied more than 1 year ago
I am thrilled you had such a peaceful and relaxing break and enjoyed all the personal touches. It is great to hear you are now a lifetime fan. In terms of your recommendations - a fan is absolutely no problem (we are not used to such warm weather in the UK!). Secondly, we are pleased to offer different levels of lighting throughout the lodge, with separate lights and lamps to provide a range of ambience. We are also delighted to be working with Tillys Farm Shop who can deliver a range of hampers to the lodge ready for guest arrival. Many thanks and we look forward to welcoming you back.