FB Twitter

Stoney Creek Cottage

Stoney Creek Cottage

4.2
out of 5
Ratings from 13 reviews
92% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.4
Comfort
4.2
Condition
4.2
Location
4.3
Value
4.1
Customer
Service
4.3


**Under New Ownership - 2019** This cosy cottage is located in the heart of the popular and picturesque conservation village of Crail in the East Neuk of Fife. It is within walking distance of the beach and one of the best preserved and most photographed stone harbours; as well as the oldest classic links golf course in Fife, local shops, galleries, cafes, bank and a pottery shop.

Stoney Creek also has WiFi which is suitable for WhatsApp, Emails and Social Media. It is not suitable for streaming videos, TV or playing online games.

Sleeps 2 - 4

A short stay in Crail

Review submitted on Wed, 25 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We got a stay at the cottage as a Golden Wedding gift from from our family. The cottage was lovely. It was well equipped and very comfortable. It's in an excellent position for transport and local amenities. We would definitely return. A wonderful gift.

Guest from Edinburgh stayed at Stoney Creek Cottage for 3 nights in September 2019


ClickBookStay Team replied 9 days ago
Thank you for your lovely review of Stoney Creek Cottage. What a wonderful gift from your family to celebrate your Golden Wedding Anniversary - congratulations. We are of course delighted to hear that you found the cottage comfortable and well equipped. We hope to welcome you back.

4 Nights in Crail

Review submitted on Sat, 14 Sep 2019
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Very well fitted out and comfortable cottage - bedroom upstairs very nice indeed. Downstairs a bit small given it has two couches, table and chairs and a well kitted out kitchen. Lots of bedding, towels etc. Only slight issue is many of the lightbulbs were not working, and the front door is very difficult to open and close - could be an issue if there was an emergency.
Crail is a delightful town as are most of the towns in the East Neuk. Eating out in Crail however is a bit limited if you don't want to drive elsewhere.


Grahame from Edinburgh stayed at Stoney Creek Cottage for 4 nights in September 2019


ClickBookStay Team replied 19 days ago
Thank you for your feedback with regard to your stay at Stoney Creek in Crail. We are pleased to hear that you liked the cottage and found that it had everything you needed. With regard to the light bulbs, these are checked but unfortunately cannot predict when they will need replaced. The door can be a little difficult to open as advised by the owner. We have since updated our guest information on how to open the door and the owner has taken on board the comments regarding ensuring that there are working light bulbs in the property.

Beatyfull Holidays

Review submitted on Sun, 07 Jul 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were very satisfied. Value for Money was perfect. A cute little house with all you Need.
The surroundings are beautiful to relax in and a supermarket is around the corner. You can eat and drink tasty food in the hotel opposite and a fish and chips shop is also around the corner. A butcher's shop and also a bakery as well as several small shops for strolling round the offer. We were there with our two little children and it was great. We like to come back again.


Nancy from Dortmund stayed at Stoney Creek Cottage for 9 nights in June 2019


Chill time in crail

Review submitted on Fri, 21 Sep 2018
3.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
3.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
We enjoyed our stay at Stoney Creek cottage. It's a pity it's up for sale, as we noticed the for sale sign on the pathway.
It's a pity there is a very poor WiFi sign, but I'm told by the locals this is a general problem.
The locals are very friendly and helpful.
The cottage is a great base for exploring, as it's a 10minute drive to St Andrews and very central for Anstruther etc.
While we stayed there we had Amazon trying to deliver a parcel. The next day someone came to the door looking for it. I have to say we never experienced this on our last stay.
The cottage itself is ok.
The mattress could be renewed on the bed as it's sagging in the middle.
I liked having a washer/dryer in the cottage. We had no dirty washing to do at home, which was fantastic. The cooking facilities were fine.
It's was nice having the option of some books to read and games to try.
Crail has a lovely chippy, check it opening hours as it was closed for a few days at the beginning of the week.


Sharon from Barrhead stayed at Stoney Creek Cottage for 7 nights in September 2018


En plein centre très près du port

Review submitted on Tue, 21 Aug 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Excellent équipement dans la cuisine
Chambre très agréable claire et confortable.
Le village est joli et le port très charmant sur la partie de la côte la plus intéressante.


Nicolas from Obernai stayed at Stoney Creek Cottage for 5 nights in August 2018


Stoney Creek Cottage Review

Review submitted on Sun, 15 Dec 2013
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great location in a lovely village. A home from home on a work trip. The lack of an internet connection was easily remedied by going to the Golf Hotel's lovely little bar across the road every night and using their free access - but I did have to pay for the drink, unfortunately! Tara could not have been more helpful.

Guest from Dunbar stayed at Stoney Creek Cottage for 5 nights in December 2013


Excellent location

Review submitted on Tue, 19 Nov 2013
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Nice little cottage right in the heart of Crail. Excellent location
Problems with heating but that was being addressed
The addition of a chest of drawers & a mirror in the bedroom would be useful. It would also be good to replace the shower curtail with a shower screen


Guest from Kirriemuir stayed at Stoney Creek Cottage for 3 nights in November 2013


A lovely "STONEY CREEK" break in November.

Review submitted on Sun, 10 Nov 2013
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
As someone who loves walking and cycling, Stoney Creek Cottage was superbly placed in the centre of Crail and perfect for the East Neuk Cycling routes and walking the coastlines between Leven and St Andrews.
The cottage has a compact lounge and kitchen area with everyrthing that you need as well as a down stairs toilet.
Upstairs bedroom was a great size sleeping 3 comfortably and having the ensuite made such a positive differance.
The heating sytem was excellent and all in all I had a great stay and would certainly use this lovely cottage in the future.

The Golf Links pub accross the road served great food and the bar staff were excellent and the local chippy also served a superb breaded fish suppoer.

I just love Crail and the east coast.

John O


Guest from Hamilton stayed at Stoney Creek Cottage for 7 nights in November 2013


Compact comfortable cottage in centre of Crail

Review submitted on Wed, 30 Oct 2013
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Stoney Creek is a compact cosy and comfortable cottage in a convenient location in the centre of Crail, with a very helpful and responsive agent. It is tastefully decorated. There are many good reasons for staying but it lacks some features that we have found in similarly priced cottages such as WiFi and a fireplace/log burner.

Guest from Axbridge stayed at Stoney Creek Cottage for 3 nights in October 2013


very enjoyable stay

Review submitted on Mon, 21 Oct 2013
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Had a lovely stay in stoney creek cottage great location in the picturesque village of crail close to all amenities shops cafes hotel and walking distance to harbour and beach. Cottage cosy feels like home from home bed very comfortable will book this cottage again.

Guest from Hawick stayed at Stoney Creek Cottage for 4 nights in October 2013


A Happy Weekend

Review submitted on Tue, 15 Oct 2013
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The cottage was actually bigger than anticipated from the photos on the web site and was very well equipped. Although you don't have a sea view it is a very short walk to the harbour and the Fife Coastal Path. The upside of the location is that you are right beside the shops and the Golf Hotel is across the road. Crail is a beautiful place and I would happily recommend both the village and the cottage to anyone wishing a holiday in the East Neuk.

Guest from Strathaven stayed at Stoney Creek Cottage for 3 nights in October 2013


STONEY CREEK COTTAGE

Review submitted on Sat, 05 Oct 2013
3.3
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
There was a strong smell of dampness in certain areas of the cottage and the towels smelled strongly of dampness. I tried to wash them but I couldn't get the washing machine to work so I ended up having to buy some towels. I would have taken towels with me but towels were provided in rental, so I didn't bother to take any.

Guest from Prestonpans stayed at Stoney Creek Cottage for 5 nights in September 2013


Excellent

Review submitted on Mon, 16 Sep 2013
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The cottage was great, very clean and comfortable. The only problem was getting in as it was dark when we arrived, and there is no light - natural or lamp, so couldn't read the numerals on the key safe. Otherwise, fantastic thanks.

Andy Fowler


Guest from Crook stayed at Stoney Creek Cottage for 3 nights in September 2013