FB Twitter

Avalon

Avalon

4.2
out of 5
Ratings from 14 reviews
79% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.1
Comfort
4.2
Condition
3.7
Location
4.7
Value
3.9
Customer
Service
4.5


Sleeps 5 + 1 in 3 bedrooms
Avalon is an attractive chalet bungalow ideally situated a short stroll from the beach with The Heights Leisure Centre also a short walk away. Sandown train station is close by enabling you to leave your car behind and travel by train to the Island’s other seaside resorts, or for those looking to holiday without a car, a train to Portsmouth Harbour and a 20 minute crossing to Ryde Pier Head allows to take the Island Line train to Sandown railway station.

A great home and perfect location

Review submitted on Sun, 11 Aug 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Loved our stay at the Avalon. Situatiated 10mins from beach, 5mins from train station and few minutes from most bus stops to other parts of the Island.
The Avalon was well equipped with everything we could want or need for a beach holiday. Loved the well equipped kitchen with dishwasher and washing machine. It really felt like a home away from home, with all the attention to detail that is needed in a family home.
The 3 bedroom could easily sleep 8, with all the extra mattress and linen.
If we ever return there island, would definitely love to stay at the Avalon again.




Sandown break

Review submitted on Sun, 04 Aug 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A lovely place to stay, slept very well even though close to a busy road you could not hear hardly any traffic. Close to the beach & only 50 metres from a shop which sells most things. Handy to have a bedroom downstairs next to bathroom although room does need a small wardrobe we felt
Overall nothing to complain about
A nice touch to have bread milk & butter on arrival too
Many thanks again




Ideal Base for Exploring the Island.

Review submitted on Mon, 24 Sep 2018
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Lovely house in ideal location, an area we know well. Dissapointed that when we arrived at the alloted time of occupation, the property had not been cleaned at all, Bed linen with hair on them in all the beds and dirty towels on the floor of the shower. After a phone call to the holiday operators, the cleaners arrived 45 mins later.
Apart from the issue of the cleaning, we had a wonderful week.




Family holiday by the sea. Great location!

Review submitted on Wed, 19 Sep 2018
3.8
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a fabulous weekend staying on the Isle of Wight, close to family in Sandown. The location was perfect and we had some lovely walks to the beach and along the coast. We were able to walk to the local town centre for supplies and a short drive to the local supermarkets. The cottage was just perfect for our stay. The facilities were excellent and it had a lovely, warm, cosy feel about it with plenty of room. The only major problem was the shower and bathroom. Only one toilet which is not ideal, however, the major problem was the shower. It is so poor its hardly operational which is not ideal. It desperately needs changing and the bathroom needs updating and completely redecorating. This was extremely disappointing and put a real negative on our stay. When you have no facility to shower at all, that's not acceptable. My elderly mother was extremely upset by it as were we all.

This holiday cottage is a perfect venue for us to stay as its just around the corner from family. We would love to return here on a regular basis, but not until the bathroom is updated.

Thank you for the supplies of bread, milk and butter which was helpful.




Our stay at Avalon, Sandown.

Review submitted on Wed, 05 Sep 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We had a fantastic stay at "Avalon" in Sandown. We absolutely loved this very cleverly designed accommodation, it was very clean and comfortable and had everything we needed for our stay. We also loved the conservatory and garden. We would love to stay again as it's location is perfect to get anywhere on the island. We highly recommend it to any family.



Perfect location

Review submitted on Mon, 20 Aug 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Perfect location, very comfortable and lots of space. We had a brilliant holiday here and would definitely recommend. There is a few things that would make it perfect: a double or king size bed in the main bedroom. A clothes rail in the downstairs bedroom and a clothes horse.



Good location nice house

Review submitted on Sun, 12 Aug 2018
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
All good,no complaints ".......".............................................................................................................................................................



Nice place

Review submitted on Wed, 25 Jul 2018
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Avalon is lovely place to stay but needs some vital help in areas. The wifi is not great if you have more that 3 devices at once connected. The window latches are very hard to manoeuvre and the shower head is questionable as not much water comes out of it, making showering a very a difficult job. The bedrooms are lovely but HOT HOT HOT!! , as soon as you get to the 3rd stair from the top the heat hits you, the house has 1 stand up fan which makes it difficult to share. My family and I loved our Isle of Wight stay and felt that if these things were addressed within the accommodation our stay would have been an EXCELLENT one. My advice, if you can bring a fan with you for your stay.



Our stay at Avalon.

Review submitted on Sat, 21 Jul 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent the property fitted our needs perfectly the added bonus of course was the stair lift for our disabled great granddaughter.
It was fully equipped for all our needs and importantly is was spotlessly clean
Avalon was ideally situated in Sandown you could easily walk to the beach .
Thankyou Island Holiday Homes for providing a most enjoyable stay.




A lovely homely place to stay

Review submitted on Sun, 13 Aug 2017
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
A charming property with everything thoughtfully provided. Very convenient for lots getting to lots of the island's attractions.



Very good.

Review submitted on Thu, 10 Aug 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Comfortable and clean. Only slight gripe is water pressure to low to run shower properly. Overall, very good value for money. Would recommend.




Nice house needs improvements

Review submitted on Mon, 22 Aug 2016
3.2
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
2.0
Condition
2.0
Location
5.0
Value
2.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The location of the house is excellent with only a 10 minute walk to the beach. The off road parking is hard to negotiate for large cars eg MPVs. After staying there a number of times we feel the house is now very much in need of a good overhaul. The dining room needs new a new set of chairs as the current ones are sagging on the seat so you can feel the wooden frame of the chair making them very uncomfortable. The conservatory is in desperate need of re decorating to get rid of the mould growing up the wall near the plug sockets and the blinds need cleaning/replacing. The damp musty smell in the property has tried to be masked using several plug in air fresheners which were too overpowering and had to be turned off. The DOUBLE bed is not a full size but a 3/4 bed and could do with a larger bed which there is ample room to accommodate. There are drawer handles which have been missing for a number of years and not replaced. The carpet in the twin bedroom is well worn. The kitchen although it has been decluttered since our first visit there are still too many things unneeded in the cupboards. The kitchen floor near the sink is also dropping and needs seeing to as does the peeling paintwork on the ceiling above near the cooker. Even though the property has a stair lift we do not feel it needs one as there is a bathroom and bedroom downstairs and you need to climb up two steps to get to it but the lift makes going up and down the steep steps a bit hazardous, especially for children who need to use the bathroom through the night. It is a shame the house has not been kept up with or improved over the last few years as it has so much to offer in a fantastic location.



Nice cottage needs improvements.

Review submitted on Sun, 07 Aug 2016
3.2
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
2.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
2.0
Location
5.0
Value
2.0
Customer
Service
5.0
After looking forward to another great holiday on the Isle of Wight we were slightly disappointed with this property. The location was perfect for exploring the island. However, there were several things that need addressing with this property and it generally felt like it was getting ready for an overhaul. The agent and owner were very apologetic and did remedy some issues immediately and our stay was still comfortable. The cleaning was not up to the standard we expected, especially under the beds and in the conservatory where there were balls of dust and hair under the beds and dead flies littering the windowsills. A real shame as the actual property has so much to offer and is in a great location.



Cosy and Comfortable

Review submitted on Mon, 30 May 2016
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Perfect holiday cottage with lovely cottage garden. Convenient shop a minutes walk away and short walk to sea front. Very comfortable beds and sofas and the cottage felt warm and welcoming. Busy main road needs care reversing out.