FB Twitter

Seagulls

Seagulls

4.5
out of 5
Ratings from 21 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.5
Comfort
4.5
Condition
4.5
Location
4.9
Value
4.1
Customer
Service
4.5


Sleeps 8 in 4 bedrooms + Sofa Bed
This beautiful family seaside villa has been tastefully decorated throughout and benefits from off road parking and lovely outside seating/eating areas. Located right on Sandown seafront, overlooking the bay, it features uninterrupted beach & sea views from the master bedroom.

Great location, lovely house, just 1 negative

Review submitted on Sun, 02 Jun 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Seagulls is in an excellent location.
Not sure in the high season what effect the hotel behind would have noise wise, nor the new build of apartments/rooms out the back of seagulls.
The latter did not bother us work was from 08,30 so not too early, and also not that loud.
We managed to get 3 hatchback cars parked in the property. Golf and 2 x fiestas.
And access wise we had a key for each of 3 doors, so shared them 1 per couple.
The bedrooms were great, but my negative comes here, the mattresses have to be old, the springs were noisy and the bed is way too soft. Appreciate it's my opinion. But have read this on another review. For the rental prices, surely they can be replaced.
Having 2 bathrooms and a toilet was good. Noting the upstairs shower was hard to control heat wise, pretty hot.
Plenty of room downstairs, and the snug was great for some to hook up their playstation they took to play at night.
Kitchen was great, good size dining table, and the sofas for watching TV occasionally.
My comments that can be construed as negative, should not put people off booking.
We really hope to go back and stay at Seagulls one day.





We have been to Seagulls on four occassions now and we still love the place.

Review submitted on Wed, 15 May 2019
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Seagulls is a lovely location but there are one or two things that need attention. The interior is fine although a few coat hooks on the back of doors, especially in the small bedroom that has only a chest of drawers in it, would not go amiss. The exterior is looking a bit tired, weeds between the patio slabs and plant pots with dead plants in look bad and the patio furniture needs a sprucing up. Glad the security box for the key has been relocated.
Still get issues with things on arrival, no-one had attended the place between booking out on the 6th and returning with new guests later that day. Beds unchanged and no clean towels, despite making it very clear that although the two bookings were in my name and they ran concurrently, it was for two different sets of visitors.
I must confess that after 4 visits and three occasions experiencing problems, I shall think hard before returning next year.




Island Holiday Homes replied 40 days ago
Thank you very much for your feedback, this is appreciated to help us improve the service we provide. We will review the information and send recommendations to the owner. We appreciate your repeat business greatly and we do recognise some of the issues you have encountered over the years of visiting and have always taken on board these and made adjustments where necessary. We sincerely apologise for the housekeeping issue you encountered this year but in our defense we did notify the owners housekeeper by email to both separate bookings and left it in their hands to set up the changeover accordingly. Unfortunately the owners housekeeper failed to recognise this and made an incorrect assumption that it was merely and extension to the original booking, without checking with us. They will not make this mistake again! Many thanks island Holiday Homes

Paradise family holiday

Review submitted on Sun, 26 Aug 2018
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is our 2nd time at seagulls and this time we stayed for 3 weeks. We were not let down as usual. The location is excellant, with beautiful sandy beaches just across the road, food and drinks in the hut next door and extreamly friendly hotel bar behind. Sandown town with food stores and many resturants just a five minute walk there is no need for a car although the driveway can fit 3 cars and a jetski easily. 8 of us easily fit with 2 joining us in the sofa bed room for a weekend. Although this is a very small sofa bed so either 2 small children or 1 adult. 3 large bedrooms and 1 good sized bedroom, 1 of which has the most amazing veiw of the sea. Large dinning table for us all to sit round. The living area is quite small and I think the tv needs to be put on the wall so everyone can sit comfortably. 2 big bathrooms with a great walk in shower downstairs. Although the door knobs and mattresses need replacing, we will definatly be returning for the next 2 year's as we love this house. The agents are so friendly and if there is a problem it's generally fixed within 24 hours. Highly recommend.



A week at Seagulls.

Review submitted on Sun, 26 Aug 2018
3.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
2.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
A lovely property right on the seafront and central to Sandown attractions. The accommodation layout is ideal for a large family.There were a few niggles on arrival but the agents at Island Holiday Homes were very helpful and we had a great holiday there. It is easy to get around the Island by car and visit the many attractions on offer. We would certainly consider staying at Seagulls again on a subsequent visit.



Fantastic holiday

Review submitted on Mon, 30 Jul 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our stay at Seagulls was superb from start to finish.
Excellent location, very helpful staff in the office.
The only mark down on comfort would be the quality of the mattresses.
All the family enjoyed themselves, it was fantastic to have the ocean send me to sleep nightly.




Superb stay in Sandown

Review submitted on Sun, 29 Jul 2018
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Had a great time in Seagulls. Perfect location.
Nice clean property.Amazing views.
Everything we needed was there.
Would definitely stay again.




The seagulls

Review submitted on Sun, 01 Jul 2018
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Ok apart from rubbish bin was full on arrival ,kettel leaked and remote for TV was faulty good apart from that



Fantastic house

Review submitted on Mon, 25 Jun 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Seagulls is an ideal house for a large family group and was spotlessly clean. It is really well equipped and presented ( though a stair gate would have been helpful, and an outside rotary drier useful) and furnishings are good quality. It is literally across the road from the beach which was great - but at night there was quite a lot of noise from the hotel at the back of the property, which we didn't know was there when we booked.



We have been to Seagulls on three occassions now and we love the place.

Review submitted on Wed, 16 May 2018
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were very disappointed again this year that, for the second time, there was no credit on the gas card, so we were without hot water and heat and then had to chase the housekeeper over the weekend to get things sorted. Not ideal when you are only there for a long weekend. There were no tea towels, again for the third time running, no dish clothes or washing up liquid, and what toilet rolls were left were hardly sustainable for eight people for even just the first night. When you don't get into the property until 4pm you are then very limited for time to go and get these supplies as you sort yourself out on arrival. By comparison to Sea Dreams in Ventnor, where everything is to hand from the minute you arrive, it is lacking. If Island Holidays let these places they should all be to the same standard. It is a great shame that these small faults just take the edge of your stay.



Perfect family holiday home

Review submitted on Fri, 25 Aug 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Wow what a perfect home for a perfect family holiday. My husband and I stayed here for 2 weeks with our 4 children and my parents. There was more than enough room for us all with the 2 bathrooms and 3 toilets and very large kitchen. My 2 sisters came to stay for the weekend and used the sofa bed. It was very snug but we knew this before we arrived and was ok for a few nights. This is a perfect location with everything on your doorstep. No need to go anywhere. Family run hotel next door who were very welcoming and we had lots of fun there. Ice cream, slushies and food in the hut next door and one of the best beaches on the island just across the road. The agent was on call if any problems and corrected immediately. The only thing that we were a little disappointed with was the super large bbq in the shed was gas and the gas bottle was empty. We called the agent to find out who replaces the gas, us or the owner and they never got back to us so bought disposables for 2 weeks.
But that was a very small price to pay for such a fabulous family holiday.
Thank you we will defiantly be returning next year.




What a fabulous holiday!

Review submitted on Sun, 23 Jul 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
What a fabulous location, directly opposite a beautiful clean beach. The house itself is in very good condition. All of the beds are comfortable and bedrooms have plenty of storage. There was plenty of equipment and seating for our party of 5 adults, 1 child and 1 infant.
The only negative comment was the lack of a stair gate. You would think if they provide a travel cot and high chair they would also provide a stair gate. No problem this year as the infant only cruising around the furniture so able to block off the stairs with the dining chairs, but this wouldn't work with a slightly older toddler.
Although Sandown does look a little run down at the moment, there are obviously plans to regenerate some of the closed up sea front buildings.
We would love to return within the next couple of years and wouldn't hesitate to stay at Seagulls again.




A pleasant stay

Review submitted on Mon, 10 Jul 2017
3.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
The house is just across the road from the lovely sandy beach and is ideal for children. Unfortunately Sandown itself is rather run down.



Great location

Review submitted on Sun, 04 Jun 2017
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Although the interior of the property was clean and very comfortable and location excellent, the exterior courtyard and seating area was shabby and dirty with weeds pushing up through drive etc. Piles of garden rubbish left lying about, furniture dirty and unusable which was a shame as we had excellent weather most of the week. Having said that we had a fantastic week at Seagulls with our grandchildren not wanting to leave. A suggestion would be the provision of a tumble dryer as the property is in a perfect position for the beach, it must be uneconomical to rely on radiators through the summer months to dry clothes, towels etc.



Lovely location, Ideal for the grandchildren, nice for the beach and walking.

Review submitted on Mon, 08 May 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I think its time a new chopping board was put into Seagulls, some extra blankets for the beds would be nice, the heating was not working properly when we arrived and although it was sorted out promptly, when the grand kids went to bed they could have done with some extra covers. We also use the bed settee in the lower tv room but have never found any linen to go on this.



Perfect beachside base for IOW holiday

Review submitted on Sun, 16 Apr 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The location of this house couldn't be better. Just across the road from the beach with the most amazing views out over the sea. It is also only a short walk from shops/bars/restaurants etc. We found we used the beach more because we could just pop over for an hour or so whenever we liked without needing to get in the car and try to find a parking place. This was especially good for our youngest child who one of us could just bring home when she'd had enough.
The house is lovely and clean and very well kept. The lovely big dining table is perfect for the size of the house.
The only downsides is the lack of child safe adaptors for the blind cords. Made me quite nervous as they are very dangerous for small children. Also there is no hairdryer which we hadn't realised before we left so had to buy one. Other than that a perfect base for exploring the IOW.




Everything about this property amazed us.

Review submitted on Sun, 04 Sep 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
All of us who stayed in this property (ranging ages 3-60) had a brilliant holiday,
There was plenty of space for all of us, our requirements are 4+ bedrooms, a comfy lounge and a dining table big enough, Seagulls was more than enough.
A great holiday is the whole package, This is it.




Seaguls in Sandown

Review submitted on Thu, 25 Aug 2016
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Seagulls, is a very well presented house with all you need for a comfortable stay. It is well decorated, and nicely furnished throughout. The house is in a good location opposite a great sandy beach, and is just a very short walk to the high street, restaurants and bars, the pier and amusements. In the other direction is a local playing park, and a 10 min walk is Dinosaur Isle and Sandown Zoo. The back bedrooms do get a little bit of noise from the next door hotel's evening entertainment, but nothing too bad. The road the house is situated on is reasonably busy during the day but quietens down in the evening. All in all its a great place to stay, and we would not hesitate to book again.



Stunning views across from the beach enjoying a family holiday

Review submitted on Sun, 21 Aug 2016
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent location with ample space to relax and enjoy the Isle of Wight. Easily fitted on 2 cars on the drive. You would easily have parked 3 cars if average size. Sundown rather run down but easy access to supermarkets for supplies. The house and location as a bolt hole from which to explore the island excellent. Would certainly book the Seagulls again in future.




good holiday

Review submitted on Sun, 31 Jul 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
we had an excellent stay at seagulls location was spot as as my wife had a broken leg so ideal for the beach the house is in excellent decorative order the whole family enjoyed there stay.



Great for the family

Review submitted on Sun, 19 Jun 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Segulls is located in a fantastic location for the grandchildren with a sandy beach literally just across the road, with parking for 2 cars (which otherwise you would need to pay during the day), and only a few minutes from the local shops in the high street, which has almost everything you would need, including cafes, good pubs, and late night small supermarkets with cash machines. This end of terrace house has been beautififully rehabbed and extended, with the front upstairs double bedroom having great views over the beach. However, the only issue we had was that there is a hotel with swimming pool located only a few feet directly behind the back of the house. We had no problems during the day, (& the manager is a nice guy) BUT when we stayed we had a couple of nights where either the entertainment from the hotel disturbed our youngest grandchild sleeping in the downstairs back "snug", or there were people sitting and talking just the other side of the wall late at night which again woke her. On balance this is a really nice property, but loses a "star" for the unwanted late night disturbance.



Island Holiday Homes replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to review Seagulls and sorry to hear that you were disturbed during your stay. Thankfully this has not been an issue for previous guests but we do appreciate the feedback. Pleased you enjoyed the beachfront location with parking included.

Great modern house well located for the beach

Review submitted on Fri, 17 Jun 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A well equipped seemingly recently redecorated in a modern style house. Well equipped with wifi, dishwasher, washing machine and microwave.

2 doubles upstairs with views out to the sea and a twin all well proportioned, there's also a pullout sofa bed in the TV room downstairs but be warned its not very big or comfortable so for little people or short stays only I would suggest.

The house is located just the other side of the road to the beach with a beach bar opposite which does food.

The location town itself is a little tired but a couple of minutes walk also bus-stop, local shop all within the same kind of distance