FB Twitter

The Old Barn

The Old Barn

4.7
out of 5
Ratings from 9 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.6
Comfort
4.8
Condition
4.9
Location
4.9
Value
4.3
Customer
Service
4.7


Sleeps 8 in 4 bedrooms
The Old Barn is the largest of four beautifully restored barn conversions located within Moor Farm, set in idyllic countryside only half a mile away from the village of Godshill arguably one of the most picturesque villages on the Island.

LOW OCCUPANCY RATES APPLY OUT OF SEASON

last minute short break

Review submitted on Sun, 05 Aug 2018
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
A good base for a multi-generational break - central location enabled visits to different parts of the island and on site segway and archery proved a great hit.



Wonderful property !!

Review submitted on Sun, 07 Jan 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Old Barn is a wonderful property especially for a larger group . We stayed here for Christmas and to arrive to a wonderful lit fire and some welcoming goodies was a lovely touch . The Barn is very clean and well maintained with modern bathrooms and towels provided . There is a stable shop next door in case you needed anything . Logs were provided . We had the use of a Christmas tree which saved a panic to rush and find one . The area was great as a local pub was within walking distance as were many walks . We ate at the Taverners which was good . We didn't really have time to explore too far as we were there at Christmas however nearby are plenty of attractions . We should have booked the steam railway as it was a special santa addition but unfortunately fully booked . We would definitely recommend this property and wonderful find !!



Great stay

Review submitted on Mon, 27 Nov 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed at The Old Barn for almost 3 months, it was perfect for our extended stay - great walks right from the back door, close to Godshill village but also far enough away from the tourist scene! The Old Barn was warm, and had everything needed to self cater. A perfect stay!



Family of 6, 1 week in August

Review submitted on Tue, 05 Sep 2017
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Pros:
Great location (Beautiful walks/Scenery)
Spacious
Character
Utilities (everything you need for families)

Cons:
Damp & mould found in one corner of bedroom (made this room unusable, thankfully did not affect our sleeping arrangements)

BBQ dirty from previous visitors (grill had old cheese on it and full of ashes, plus little to non BBQ utensils.

Back garden is small but manageable, even for our 3 little ones, it was all they needed as the rest of the surrounding area is open and beautiful.

View from back is slightly disappointing. Other cheaper barns all having BBQs with countryside views whilst we were left overlooking a disused farm shelter (obviously not shown in photos).

Lastly, we were slightly concerned about the public road running past the right hand side of the Barn. On a few occasions there were farmers driving a bit too fast down it. Our children are small so we are always with them but I would have worried about older children roaming around. Also it's quite a busy cyclist/running track, I enjoy both activities but when on holiday with your family and trying to enjoy an evening outside and a group of joggers/cyclists come flying past , it slightly takes you out of the holiday vibe and the accommodation feels less secluded than advertised.

We were lucky to have fantastic weather on our stay and we really did enjoy using the Old Barn as a base for exploring the island. We would love to stay again and hope that this feed back gives the owners a chance to improve. A lot of the cons were minor in the grand scheme of things, this is a lovely property and we have taken with us many happy memories.




A wonderful week spent in a lovely house in a super location

Review submitted on Mon, 28 Aug 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The old barn was a really lovely place to spend a week with our family. The milk in the fridge was great on arrival for that first cuppa. Everything we needed was in the house and it was such a super location to explore the island from. The kids loved the ducks and chickens roaming around too. Would definitely recommend.



Family holiday at The Old Barn

Review submitted on Mon, 07 Aug 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Old Barn is in a beautiful setting and just a few minutes from Godshill village by car or a short walk across the fields. It's a great location for exploring the island. The owners were very helpful and responded quickly when needed. The Barn was perfect for a family of 6 ranging from 10 to 85! Plenty of space and very homely. The children were pleased to find a few games to play too. This is an ideal holiday home for families and we would recommend a stay to other families. Just be prepared to be woken by the cockerel!



The Old Barn

Review submitted on Wed, 19 Apr 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Loved this barn, plenty of room for the eight of us who stayed. Right on the off road cycle track so we hired bikes and cycled from the door without having to go near a road, ideal for the younger ones. Always stacks to do on the Island and we could not fault either the property owners or Island Holidays, both of whom were exceptionally helpful.



Brilliant

Review submitted on Sun, 31 Jul 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The 'Old Barn' is set in a peaceful, beautiful location & is ideal for families or for those who are not so sprightly. The location is perfect so you feel that you are the only people there, but the location is only a stones throw from the rest of the island.
The Ducks & Chickens were lovely to wake up to each morning & even recognised our car by the end of the week. Seven of us (all over 16) were in the old barn & there was plenty of space & we weren't falling over each other. My Mum has mobility issues & I'm pleased to say that she didn't have any problems here.
If I'm being really picky then the only things I would change would be the toaster to a four sliced one & an additional frying pan, but that's being picky though.
Everything is top quality & we would highly recommend 'The Old Barn' to everyone.




A welcoming and relaxing place to stay for our holiday.

Review submitted on Sun, 05 Jun 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We cannot recommend The Old Barn enough! Our party was made up of 2 families, and there was plenty of room and comfort for all. It is extremely well equipped, with welcome little touches like board games and books. The children loved the freedom of the farm too and thought the ducks wandering around were hilarious! Many thanks to the owners for making us feel so welcome also.

The location is superb also, with easy access by car to all of the island, and within walking distance to the village itself which is an absolute gem. We will definitely be booking again!