FB Twitter

The Salt Pot

The Salt Pot

4.3
out of 5
Ratings from 13 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.2
Comfort
4.3
Condition
4.2
Location
4.4
Value
4.2
Customer
Service
4.4


Sleeps 6 + 2 in 3 bedrooms

This lovely three bedroom cottage is in a quiet location and enjoys sea views from the lounge, front bedroom & balcony. It is a two minute walk down steps to the sea wall at Wheelers Bay. A decked roof terrace provides superb views across Wheelers Bay and over the Downs behind Ventnor, and is an ideal place to relax.

Lovely!

Review submitted on Mon, 19 Aug 2019
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
A lovely, spacious and comfortable place to stay, boasting excellent views of the sea. Great for a big group or family.



Good base to explore the Isle of Wight

Review submitted on Tue, 16 Jul 2019
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The house was clean and comfortable, well equipped except there were no toilet rolls! Not really a problem, we popped to Tesco express and bought some, but we have never stayed anywhere that didn’t at least have half a roll to start with! Fab view from the roof terrace. It would be a good idea to explain the rules of the 24 hour car park, in the manual as there is no detail on the signs in the car park itself. Also the wheelie bins were full and we missed the collection day because we didn’t notice the details on the wall by the front door until it was too late. We read the manual from cover to cover and there was no mention of the bins in there, which is where I would normally expect to find it. None of this spoiled our stay, and I would definitely stay there again.



Ideal location, trouble-free accommodation

Review submitted on Mon, 24 Jun 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Salt Pot is convenient for both town and esplanade. I have stayed in Ventnor previously at both a hotel and cottage accommodation and prefer The Salt Pot. It particularly suited us as we needed three bedrooms and two bathrooms and this is often a difficult combination to accommodate. The booking process was simple and instructions clear. Would happily use again.



Fantastic family holiday in a perfect location

Review submitted on Mon, 29 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The house was fantastic to stay in for 2 adults and 2 children. We had plenty of space, the kitchen was well equipped, the bedrooms were a decent size and the shower in the downstairs shower room is fantastic. There is a few parking spaces in front of the property but 1 of them is a.disabled space and the others are used by the other occupiers. However the car park is only a minutes walk from the house down the hill. We all loved our time over the week in the house. We would happily come back and would recommend for any families or couples wanting to stop in a beautiful location on the Isle of Wight.



Autumn Stay

Review submitted on Mon, 05 Nov 2018
3.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Had a short stay at the Salt Pot. Initially a little disappointed at the bedroom configuration , the pictures on the web suggest there are two double beds then a room with singles and a bunk. There is only one double bed. The balconies are reached either by a steep external staircase, or through a bedroom, so not easily accessible. There is only a small front garden, not secure, so for those with children or dogs not ideal. The fire you are obviously not encouraged to use (no wood provided, and grate filled with a candle). This sounds all negative and our stay certainly wasn’t .The house was lovely and warm, the facilities good, and the local pub the Volunteer a gem ( no children under 14). The location fantastic , walking distance to shops in Ventnor and to beaches. So as long as you are aware of the points above the Salt Pot is an ideal house to stay in to explore the island.



Agent on behalf of the owner replied 319 days ago
Thank you for your feedback. The property configuration is as advertised showing double bedroom, twin bedroom and the bunk bedroom. We also note on our description that the balcony is accessible through the bunk bedroom and that due to steps the roof terrace, may be unsuitable for people with limited mobility. The log fire can be used but the landlord does not supply the logs, the candle had just not been removed from the summer when the fire is not in use. We are pleased that you had a lovely stay and you felt that the house was lovely and warm with good facilities. We would like to thank you once again for your feedback and look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Week with the family.

Review submitted on Mon, 30 Jul 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
6 adults and a baby. Second time if visiting. Very well equipped and comfortable. Within walking distance of shops including cashpoint, take aways and Tesco Express. 10 minutes walk to beach but this is down a steep hill. Ideally located for the sand and shingle beach. Lovely kitchen and very nice small roof top terrace with fabulous views.



A lovely choice for a seaside holiday

Review submitted on Sat, 14 Jul 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful week at The Saltpot. The cottage is very clean and well-equipped and had everything we needed for our stay. The location is excellent being within walking distance of shops, restaurants and the Esplanade and we spent quite a lot of time just pottering around the shops and walking to the pub. We also enjoyed the terrace and balcony with their wonderful sea views as we were lucky enough to have amazing weather.
The house is on a very quiet street and, although you can't usually park outside, we parked at the free carpark a few steps away and, even on a sunny weekend, we always found a space.
We will definitely be back and I highly recommend The Saltpot.




Nice stay

Review submitted on Fri, 29 Sep 2017
3.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
2.0
It was a nice stay und with sunny weather, we had quiet and chilly holidays.
The deck at the roof had a spectacular view with comfortable chairs, but we didn´t find the deckchairs.
Bus station, restaurants and supermarkets are nearby and the local bus net provides accessibility to all main spots .
The coastal path provided spectacular views during our hiking trips
Please inform the guests from other other than the UK, that a special charger for the electrical devices is needed. A tutorial for the key access would have been appreciated.




Good location, spacious cottage

Review submitted on Thu, 07 Sep 2017
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very pleased with the location, close to restaurants, shops and lovely walks. Spacious- it easily accommodated 7 of us. Lovely on the roof terrace!



Comfortable home from home

Review submitted on Mon, 17 Jul 2017
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Spent a lovely week at The Salt Pot with my mother and sister. There was plenty of space and we found the house very comfortable and well equipped. The roof terrace had amazing views to the sea and was perfect for breakfast/a glass of wine in the afternoon or evening. The property is well located although the walk into Ventnor is quite steep and may be unsuitable for some. The on street parking is very limited but there is a public carpark a 2 minute walk away and there were always spaces available although parking charges apply.



Ideal location

Review submitted on Mon, 19 Jun 2017
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Lovely house in good location, very quiet area. The terrace has excellent sea views, good outdoor furniture and great for afternoon tea! We had superb weather, so were there every day. Only complaint, could do with a couple of medium sized saucepans, otherwise, very well equipped.



Salt pot

Review submitted on Mon, 05 Jun 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very nice house and location. Had a very nice holiday. Thank you. Nice views. Would recommend sandown shanklin ryde the needles. Sandown zoo.



Review submitted on Tue, 18 Apr 2017
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
3.0
Location
3.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our family holiday at Salt Pot was one of our best holidays. It's located in very quite area . Local people are so friendly.