FB Twitter

Ballyconneely 189 Blackbird Cottage

Ballyconneely 189 Blackbird Cottage

4.2
out of 5
Ratings from 13 reviews
92% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.5
Comfort
3.8
Condition
4.2
Location
4.7
Value
4.1
Customer
Service
4.2


If you’ve ever dreamed of a holiday in a traditional Irish stone cottage, playing a round of Golf on the top-class Links Course overlooking the Atlantic, strolling along deserted beaches on summer days, ending the day in a lively Connemara Pub, or simply relaxing in front of your own open fire, this could well be the place for you.

staycation

Review submitted on Mon, 07 Sep 2020
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
fab place, old fashion cottage.
open fire, some fuel would be nice
bins were confusing, we took our waste with us




A cottage with personality!

Review submitted on Tue, 03 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
For sure this is one of the most beautiful cottages in the area - one with its own 'personality' (thanks to some dedicated owners) and with its own history! If you are looking for something that feels typical for rural Connemara, you are in the right place. The cottage is comparatively small (good for a family of 3 or 4 for a comfortable stay), but it is furnished and equipped with great care and, above all, with great taste and love for Connemara: There was really nothing we didn't find in this place (maps/ utensils etc.) except maybe for more firewood ;-) (As it was pretty chilly out, we used great amounts of peat and wood to enjoy the wonderful atmosphere in front of an open fire at night.) The cottage is kept in its original style as best as possible while at the same time providing the comforts of a modern-day holiday home (modern stove and washing machine/ electric furnace in case it gets too cold in autumn or spring,...). The house is surrounded by a secluded garden with a small hut for storage. While feeling "cut off" from the rest of the world (and also from the tourism in Connemara), this place is actually only a five-minutes drive from the next pub - or a 15-minutes walk to the next beach. We enjoyed a wonderful two weeks here in August, cooked a lot of recipes from the Irish recipe books we found in the kitchen, and will certainly return in the near future!



unforgetable days in Connemara

Review submitted on Sun, 11 Aug 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had wonderful days in this nice cottage.
we loved Connemara with its landscape, beaches, nice people.....




Family long weekend

Review submitted on Wed, 17 Jul 2019
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We an amazing time at the blackbird cottage. Very well equipped and comfortable cottage. The setting was idyllic and the local beaches were beautiful. Very much recommended for a break away from the city.



A great Place to Get Away

Review submitted on Tue, 16 Oct 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We loved the location and the quietness of the Cottage. Comfortable, clean and quaint. I understand that Blackbird Cottage is over 200 years old, yet it is modern and comfortable. The furnishings were perfect. We greatly enjoyed our stay, we wish we could have stayed longer.





A Nice place "off the grid" in Connemara

Review submitted on Sun, 02 Sep 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We had a nice time in the "Black Bird" cottage, a real Connemara style cottage. Adapted slightly with modern comfort.
The only draw-back was the total absence of Wi-Fi, which could of course be a choice but our sons did not really appreciate, nor did we..




Traditional Country cottage in a wonderful location.

Review submitted on Mon, 20 Aug 2018
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I stayed for a week with my wife. We had overcast but warm weather. For softy cyclists it was lovely to bike to Keogh's or to Bunowen for a swim. Very well equipped traditional cottage, but no central heating, so you keep the fire going, which I enjoyed.



lovely cottage with private garden

Review submitted on Sun, 24 Jun 2018
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Unique, authentic cottage. Privately situated. Nicely furnished and clean. The kitchen was very well equipped.



If your looking for "the real, quaint Ireland" this is pure magic

Review submitted on Wed, 30 Aug 2017
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Been here twice and we'll come back again. Clean, reasonably well equipped, tucked away in paradise!



A delightful cottage needing some improvements!

Review submitted on Sat, 26 Aug 2017
3.3
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
2.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
2.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A delightfully located, well equipped cottage - especially kitchen (though for this rental price a dishwasher miught be included!).

Let down mainly by : 1) UNCOMFORTABLE bed in master double bedroom, 2) venetian blinds needing replacement in both bedrooms - impossible to stop the bright moom-light coming in during the night 3) Toilet seat which needs replacing - if the Swiss owners think it is part of the cottage heritage, they are mistaken it is a common 70's/ 80's pine wood issue - not only are the bolts rusting away but the pads are worn or missing. Additionally it is disappointing to arrive to a property (which though decorated well internally) has 2 cracked (single-glazed) windows (each bedroom) and where all the external timber paintwork needs attention - though clearly new external windows & doors would enhance the capital value of the property (and not put off potential lettings).
We had to use the electric supplementary heating during our stay - a wood burning stove and a supply of logs provided would be a reasonable enhancement given the rental cost. Open fire with us purchasing fuel from the local shop seems a little mean!




Satisfied but overpriced for facilities

Review submitted on Tue, 23 Aug 2016
3.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
2.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Lovely cute house in a gorgeous location. When I clarified if there was a tv I was informed that "people who rent this property are outdoors people". We are very much outdoors people but have 2 children & are quite experienced in Connemara weather so we're covering ourselves for all eventualities. Being classed as an outdoors house we were very surprised at the lack of a dryer. With no radiators or natural drying in such an old house a dryer is very important for beach towels as we would swim at least twice a day. The fact that the little house/storage shed had electricity would make it very easy to install one. Our other problem was the shower. Noons informed us that we needed to have the immersion on to heat water for the electric shower ! And even when we worked this out it would only work for a small period and then the water would be scalding hot, so hot it was a danger to the children& then we would have to try & use the other 'shower'. Again very strange shower set up for an outdoors house. We contacted the caretaker & someone came to look at it which we were hanging around for & it was no different.
We could live with it but just very highly priced house for putting up with it. Beds extremely hard too.
On the positive side, the kitchen was well stocked.
When I say I would recommend it, that would mean not as it stands but with the simple addition of a dryer & a new shower. The house is trying to sell itself too much on being a traditional Irish cottage ..




Excellent little house, comfortable, well stocked.

Review submitted on Mon, 20 Jun 2016
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Delightful little house which has been tastefully restored to retain the atmosphere of the original West of Ireland cabin. Set down in ,presumably the original ground. The trees provide great shelter I would say in windy Connemara conditions. We were extremely luck to have been there in a particularly fine week with warm sunshine and very little wind. This house is very well stocked by thoughtful owners; I hope they will be able to retain the cooker (!) and not be beguiled by a newer model with that awful in- oven grill.
We had a bit of trouble finding the place the day we arrived. Due to the stone with 'Dunloughan' on it being poorly visible and reference to the Golf Club in the directions was confusing. 'The cross- roads at Blakes Castle' would have been more helpful. Also the presence of a 'derelict' house.




Real Irish atmosphere and very private; still near to everything.

Review submitted on Mon, 12 Oct 2015
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
3.0
We had the most brilliant weather, but we think the house can be very cold and damp this time of the year. The fireplace should be lowered it's more or less cosmetic as it is now. But we will be back.