FB Twitter

Hedgehunter

Hedgehunter

4.9
out of 5
Ratings from 22 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.9
Condition
5.0
Location
4.9
Value
4.8
Customer
Service
4.8


Our 4 bedroom cottage, with a spacious interior providing good access, with excellent views down the Meon Valley from 2 bedrooms.

Wonderful weekend

Review submitted on Sun, 17 Mar 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Clean, spacious, beautiful location. We loved staying at Wallops Wood and are planning the next trip so we can come back. There were 7 of us. So much room, so clean, swimming pool was very clean, beautiful location and so nice to arrive and have milk, bread, cake (and more) provided. Definitely worth a trip.



Long weekend at Wallops Wood

Review submitted on Sat, 02 Mar 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great location and accommodation. Can get noisy if other residents use hot tubs at night after 10 .30 as outside bedrooms.
Everything you need for a stay.
Very well thought out and dog kit provision excellent.
Thanks we have booked our 4 this visit




Super long weekend break

Review submitted on Sat, 16 Feb 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Met up with friends and our young families. Facilities were great and the hot tub was enjoyed by the adults with an amazing view over the valley. The lodge was very well equipped and spacious and the welcome pack with fresh bread and cake was much appreciated. Staff were friendly and communication for booking was fantastic. We would definitely recommend to all our friends and family and look forward to staying again.



Best cottage we have stayed in!

Review submitted on Sat, 24 Nov 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stay in various lodges/cottages over the year for family get togethers but this cottage has been the best by far. The cottage was very spacious and clean, the location and views were beautiful. The swimming pool was great. What really made this place stand out was the small touches, on arrival there was a welcome hamper including bread, butter, homemade cake, wine etc. We were travelling with babies and they had left everything we needed, from travel cot to baby walker to box of toys and lots more. The cottage is so well equipped you really don’t need to bring much at all, they really have thought of everything. I can’t recommned this place enough, we will definitely be returning.



Emma replied 150 days ago
Hi Lauren, thank you so much for such a glowing review- we like to make sure that every single guest is catered for, including the very youngest! Please do come back and see us again- our returning guests are entitled to a 5% discount.

Very specific requirement for some potiential tricky customers

Review submitted on Tue, 16 Oct 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were a large group (20+adults & 12kids & 3dogs) staying for a long weekend in October. We had done a lot of searching a year in advance to find the perfect spot before we settled on Wallops Wood.
We weren’t disappointed.
The cottages were set up exactly as we had specified for dogs/children etc but the addition of doggie welcome baskets and little gifts for the children in their cots was an extra special touch that everyone really appreciated. They had also given us extra table space for our group meals.
The cottages were fantastically well provisioned with plenty of dishwasher tabs, washing up liquid etc and treats such as Nesprrsso capsules and home made cake. All the necessary kitchen utensils and pans were clean and there was never a moment when we wanted for a piece of equipment and found it to be missing.
The pool was a wonderful addition to our stay and on a very wet afternoon was a great way to help the kids let off steam.
Fanstastic cottages, beautiful spot, excellent customer service. 5* all round from a group of well travelled (and sometimes quite picky) gang of friends.




Perfect place for a family holiday

Review submitted on Sat, 01 Sep 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Wow! Our family had a wonderful time at Wallops Wood. The basket of games for the children and kitchen essentials made for a lovely greeting. The attention to detail in the kitchen meant that we were easily able to cook a roast dinner for the whole family on a rainy day and also a pie with blackberries picked from bushes nearby! The pool was luxurious, as was the hot tub. Everything from the linen to the bbq was of a very high quality and we will definitely be back!



A great weekend break.

Review submitted on Mon, 18 Dec 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We stayed at the cottages to have a completely chilled weekend as a big group. We were looking for somewhere to enjoy walks with our dogs and local days out during the day. In the evening we were looking for somewhere that was suitable to host all of us together for dinner and drinks, (there was about 21 of us in total). The cottages were perfect this; brilliantly laid out and we had a big table that could seat everyone put into the largest of the cottages. Everyone enjoyed the weekend and we would recommend the accommodation to others.



Holiday at Wallop Woods August 2017

Review submitted on Wed, 30 Aug 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The accommodation was as advertised. Very clean and today upon arrival and we were greeted with a lovely welcome pack for the family and even the dog.

Lots of space outside for us to play football, cricket and enjoy ,long summer walks. The hot tub on the patio was also a welcome treat for us in the evenings.

All of the home comforts were provided too!

A thoroughly enjoyable stay and would definitely come back again in the future - lots to do in the area and we only scratched the surface.

Thanks again to all at Wallop Woods.





Holiday with friends

Review submitted on Wed, 28 Jun 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Excellent holiday accommodation with great thought in supplying everything needed. Welcome package of food and drink really good, especially as our foo d delivery never found us.
Would love to return at a future date.




Birthday weekend

Review submitted on Wed, 03 May 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Communication excellent following and very informative leading up to the stay. A friendly welcome on arrival and directions provided were first class. Welcome pack provided essentials on arrival and the accommodation was very comfortable with excellent en suite facilities in each room. Well equipped kitchen providing all facilities for a longer vacation and each cottage although terraced provide a suitable level of privacy. Although not dog owners Wallop Wood is certainly a dog friendly holiday location.
The hot tub was very well maintained and proved to be a popular with all. Future development work will only improve what is already excellent. We will certainly be back again.




Wow - an amazing cottage and everything thought of to make it easy for those with reduced mobility

Review submitted on Tue, 04 Apr 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is our 4th visit with frineds and we never cease to be amazed by the cottage, its facilities and the tranquility of the surrounding countryside. The hot tub is the icing on the cake together with the friendlimess and helpfulness of all the staff. Little touches like the home made cake and goodies on arrival and the Mother's Day box of chocoloates mean so much. Try the lasagna it is to die for and the salad is fantastic too!! We have already our next 2 visits!!



Great break

Review submitted on Sat, 04 Feb 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely stay, warm welcome and excellent facilities.
The hot tub was the highlight of our stay. The cottage was very spacious and comfortable.




A celebration in a lovely location

Review submitted on Sat, 10 Dec 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our recent birthday celebration girly weekend at HedgeHunter was an amazing experience. They'd thought of everything we could possibly need to make our stay an enjoyable experience. The location is beautiful - the sunset is amazing - the bedrooms and bathrooms are all lovely - the kitchen well equipped - the hot-tub was used every day and we didn't want for anything during our stay. There are DVDs and games on hand if the weather is bad. Wickham village is only 10 minutes away. It may seem more expensive than some other "cottages/lodges" but the attention to detail, cleanliness and quality of the accommodation is evident.
The only suggestion I have is for better parking as on the gravel area, it was difficult not to block others in.




Fabulous stay for wedding weekend

Review submitted on Sat, 15 Oct 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a brilliant weekend at wallops wood cottages. They served as our wedding accommodation for close family and bridal party and couldn't have been more perfect! Stunning views, well equipped cottages and great hot tubs!! Would definitely recommend!

Liz who dealt with our booking was always very quick to reply and incredibly helpful.

Thank you so much!! :)




Peaceful and well-equipped

Review submitted on Wed, 07 Sep 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage was in pristine condition and very well equipped for guests with mobility issues. Additional equipment was readily available and all the admin ran smoothly. The location was peaceful and the view was beautifully rural. The atmosphere of the cottage was serene and the rooms felt spacious. Wheelchair access in and around the property was excellent. It was a good base for exploring the Hampshire countryside and coast.



Wallops Wood Cottages.

Review submitted on Wed, 22 Jun 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I was with a party of 14 occupying 4 of Wallops Wood`s properties. We all really enjoyed our stay. The accommodation was well presented and clean, everything was provided for our needs. On the last night we had a meal provided by their own caterers, which was excellent.



Hedgehunter

Review submitted on Wed, 08 Jun 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is a wonderfully equipped, comfortable cottage with everything you need to hand. My disabled father had no problems with our stay there at all. The wet room was huge so he was able to shower without difficulty. The garden and bbq plus the hot tub were lovely to have and added an extre something to out evenings. We will definitely go back as the location was an ideal base for visiting some really lovely locations.



Weekend with friends at Hedgehunter

Review submitted on Sun, 27 Mar 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The accommodation was perfect for us. Although we hadn't asked for additional disabled equipment, the owner came along to make sure we were okay on our first evening, and when we spoke to him to say that it would be beneficial to have some equipment for the shower he was able to find what we needed and deliver them to the cottage. Excellent customer service.

We used the hot tub which was also a nice addition. We will recommend the cottages to our family and friends. Thank you

The only comment to make is I ordered the Sainsburys on line shop using the new post code, and we also put the new post code into our own car Sat Nav but neither our sat nav or the Sainsburys driver was able to locate the property with the new post code. Whereas the old post code worked!! Hope this is helpful feedback. The Sainsburys driver found us by using the road name without any problem.




Wedding party

Review submitted on Sat, 20 Feb 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We found Hedgehunter after being let down elsewhere. Paula and Liz were extremely helpful and made arrangements for 8 of us to stay in Hedgehunter then move to Sundew for 4 of us for the rest of the week. The bedrooms were very spacious with ensuites to all 4. The facilities were excellent and the welcome pack was indeed welcome. The views to the rear were outstanding.
Overall extremely comfortable.




A fun, family weekend

Review submitted on Sun, 07 Feb 2016
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
On arrival we immediately felt warm, welcome and comfortable. The hot tub was fun, the view delightful and we enjoyed a relaxed family weekend which we would love to repeat in the future.



Just what we needed.

Review submitted on Wed, 16 Dec 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Staff could not have been more helpful. A super team who pulled out all the stops to make my life easier!



LADIES CHRISTMAS WEEKEND

Review submitted on Mon, 14 Dec 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
THIS WAS OUR THIRD STAY AT THE COTTAGES AND WE HAVE NEVER BEEN DISAPPOINTED. PUBS ARE WITHIN WALKING DISTANCE (IF YOU ENJOY WALKING THROUGH THE COUNTRYSIDE). JANE AUSTEN'S HOUSE IS HALF AN HOUR UP THE ROAD. HOT TUBS ARE WONDERFUL (BUT COULD DO WITH A ROOF TO KEEP THE RAIN OFF). ALL IN ALL A VERY LOVELY PLACE FOR AWAY TIME WITH FRIEND OR FAMILY.