FB Twitter

Waters Edge 05, Amaranth Lodge (P)

Waters Edge 05, Amaranth Lodge (P)

4.5
out of 5
Ratings from 15 reviews
93% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.5
Comfort
4.7
Condition
4.5
Location
4.7
Value
4.1
Customer
Service
4.7


Sleeps 6
• Set within landscaped 28 acre lake
• Spacious open plan living/dining/kitchen area
• Large furnished sundeck overhanging the lake
• Hot Tub on deck overlooking lake
• 3 x en-suite bedrooms
• 3 x double beds
• Pets welcome (charges apply)
• BBQ
• Wi -Fi included
• Wide range of water sports/activities close by
• Excellent fishing available locally and on site
• £250 refundable security deposit is required​

A very enjoyable 3 night short break for the family ( 6 adults, 2 grandchildren ages 5 and 1)

Review submitted on Mon, 10 Jun 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We thought the accommodation was excellent, well furnished and equipped, clean and spacious. The location overlooking the lake is lovely and the Hot Tub was a bonus and well used!

The overall location of the site did mean we had to use the car to go anywhere as it was not that easy to walk anywhere with two small children including a buggy.




Excellent retreat

Review submitted on Sun, 02 Jun 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Booked this lovely lakeside home through Orion and I couldn't fault the service. The home was exactly as described and everything you needed was waiting for us. Loved lounging on our decking watching the wildlife pass by. Plenty of dining opportunities close by and lots of lovely Costwolds villages to explore.

Property was lovely and clean, though the windows and outside furniture did need brushing for cobwebs, to be expected in the country. Only thing I missed was some air con for the bedrooms and it would have been easier if the parking spaces were allocated to each Lodge. Hoping I can visit again, funds permitting.




New Year Break

Review submitted on Sun, 06 Jan 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed at Waters Edge over New Year with 2 other couples and our dog. We had the most amazing time!
As soon as we arrived we felt at home, the whole area is so relaxed and everything had been thought - the house (kitchen especially) was so well equipt and clean!
The bedrooms are all a great size with ensuites so makes your stay comfortable when travelling with friends. The hot tub is a great addition, it was very clean and we were please to see maintenance men twice in our 3 night stay to check the filters and water in the hot tub - we used the hot tub a lot!!
There are a few places within walking distance (Watersports, Devere Hotel, Restaurants) however because we were staying during off peak times the watersports, lakes, cafes and manmade beaches etc were all closed. We did manage to hire bikes locally which was great fun!
Overall such a lovely stay, couldnt recommend more!




1 Week in August

Review submitted on Sun, 10 Sep 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were very fortunate to get availability for the Daffodils in August as we had left it quite late to book a summer break. Although the brochure does the best it can in providing a visual representation of the building and immediate surroundings but it didn't compare to the reality of it all. My family were taken away by the everything the house and setting provided; the girls and Grandad spent hours fishing from the veranda and when we managed to drag ourselves away from the place there was loads to do in the surrounding area; which is either a short drive or walk away.

There were a couple of facilities issues during the week which were dealt with professionally and sympathetically and without delay which allows us to say that the customer service is top notch, from the management to the tradesmen.

We were fortunate to meet the new owners who have some great ideas to further develop this piece of paradise; which we would love to return to for further get-aways.




Wonderful stay at the Cotswold Lakes

Review submitted on Thu, 20 Jul 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Stayed the lodge for 6 nights. The lodge was very comfortable with all the required amenities. Being able to use the outdoor Jacuzzi was a bonus. Spent many of the evening relaxing on the balcony overlooking the lake and watch the birdlife. Truly wonderful stay. Will definitely come back again.



Mark Thomas replied more than 1 year ago
Thanks for your great review and glad you enjoyed the lodge and location. I will pass your comments onto the owner and hope to see you again soon.

Lovely house with everything you need (except fish)

Review submitted on Thu, 25 May 2017
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
3.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a great stay here, the house is beautiful and everything was a very high standard. The mattresses were extremely comfy! Kitchen is great and has everything you need. Location is also good as long as you have a car, Lidl short drive away, coarse fishing and fly fishing also pretty close. As we came here for a fishing trip, we were a little disappointed that the little lake the house is on was not stocked with fish which made our plan to fish from the terrace impossible. Other great fishing spots and cute country pubs nearby though. The hot tub was lovely also, even though we didnt use it as much as we thought we would (so I guess if you're not set on having a hot tub you could get a cheaper accommodation). Overall we had a great stay!



Mark Thomas replied more than 1 year ago
Thanks for taking the time to submit a review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and sorry you didn't have much luck on the fishing front; we perhaps should have made it clearer that the lake you were staying on, although its a mature lake and does have some course fish in it wasn't specifically stocked. If it was a specific fishing holiday you were after, we should have suggested Isis/Windrush Lakes or The Lower Mill Estate, although none of those properties have a hot tub. Thanks again for your review and we hope to see you again soon.

A very enjoyable stay

Review submitted on Fri, 10 Mar 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We all had a great time and the hot tub was a big hit. A lovely property with all the facilities we could wish for. We will book again in the future.



Mark Thomas replied more than 1 year ago
Thanks for your great review and glad you enjoyed your stay with us. I will have our heating engineer check the underfloor heating in the downstairs bedroom as it sounds like the thermostat is sticking. Thanks for taking the time to submit a review and hope to see you again soon.

recuperation

Review submitted on Tue, 22 Nov 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I was recently very ill and decided a break was needed. My sister and friend packed ourselves off to the cotswolds for a monday to friday break. It was wonderful. The cabin was so comfortable, the beds amazing, we all had an ensuite, each of which had its own personal touch. the open plan kitchen and living quarters were very stylish, with dishwasher, washing machine, infact, all home comforts including freeview tv and wifi. I could do as much or as little as I wanted to. The big bonus, was I was able to take my wonderful old brown lab, Charlie, with me and he loved the walks and the inland beach.

Loved it all, can't wait to return.




Mark Thomas replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for your lovely review; I'm really glad you enjoyed your recuperation break and that Charlie the Labrador enjoyed it too! I do hope you are continuing to recover well and look forward to seeing you again soon.

The Perfect Escape for Family and Friends

Review submitted on Fri, 11 Nov 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
It was escapism and indulgence at its best. A place to switch off with family and friends.

Superbly equipped with the exception of oven gloves!

Uninterrupted views and such close proximity to nature.

Choice of activities and pursuits. Perhaps think ahead.

Easy to locate and excellent access to road work links.

Cirecenster an interesting place to visit and shop!


So much more relaxing and therapeutic than navigating airports and flights for a weeks holiday.






Mark Thomas replied more than 1 year ago
Thanks for your excellent review and your comment regarding the merits of staying in the UK rather than traveling abroad for a holiday; this sums up perfectly what we are trying to promote! We provide an oven cloth rather than oven gloves, which has the same heat resistance qualities as oven gloves, however, unfortunately our guests quite often mistake them for tea towels as they look very similar.... We will look into how we can make this more obvious. Thanks again for taking the time to submit a review and we hope to see you again soon.

Stay at lodge

Review submitted on Fri, 11 Nov 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Relaxing place to unwind, awesome lodge with hot tub to die for excellent surroundings close to some nice towns



Mark Thomas replied more than 1 year ago
Thanks for your excellent review and really glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Good point regarding the canopy over the hot tub, I will look into this...... Hope to see you again soon.

Fantastic weekend stay

Review submitted on Mon, 11 Jul 2016
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Lodge lived up to it's photographs, very tastefully decorated with everything you need for a relaxing stay. Hot tub was a big hit with everyone. Very tranquil location. Would thoroughly recommend and would love to return.



Mark Thomas replied more than 1 year ago
Thanks for taking the time to submit a review; I'm really glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again soon.

Our stay at the Daffodils

Review submitted on Mon, 04 Jul 2016
3.0
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
2.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
2.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Lovely location, we had a good weeks stay at the lodge. Beautiful view to wake up to on a morning . Unfortunately even this early in the season, the lodge is very tired and a little shabby. Lots of cobwebs and some damage to cupboard doors etc. Nevertheless a good, peaceful location.



Mark Thomas replied more than 1 year ago
Thanks for your review and I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us but sorry the lodge didn't come up to your expectations. I have noted your comments and will address these with the owner.

A good holiday was had at the watermark

Review submitted on Fri, 24 Jun 2016
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay, one or two adjustments need attending to. Blackout blinds in the main bedroom is essential, the cooker hood is dangerously low in the kitchen, we kept bumping into it! The lodge is lovely but looking a little tired.



Mark Thomas replied more than 1 year ago
Thanks for taking the time to submit a review. I was glad you had a good time and that the lodge came up to your expectation. I have noted your comments about the blinds/cooker hood and will pass these onto the owner. Thanks again for the review.

Lovely accommodation, beautiful location!

Review submitted on Sun, 05 Jun 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A comfortable, clean, modern lake house with stunning views overlooking the lake. Very peaceful location; nothing to be heard but the sound of wildlife on the water. The accommodation has everything needed for a short break or long holiday, including a hot tub to relax in during the evenings! Would definitely recommend Water's Edge and will hopefully return one day.



Mark Thomas replied more than 1 year ago
Thanks for taking the time to submit a review and I'm really glad you enjoyed your stay. Sorry you had trouble with the stair gates; I will have a word with house keeping and see if we can address this. Regarding the fish.... This lake has never been specifically stocked with fish, however, being quite a mature lake, it does have some course fish in it... Some have reported catching the odd pike, however, if a specific fishing holiday is what you are after, i would suggest Isis/Windrush Lake next time as the isis lake is well stocked with Carp.

daffodils

Review submitted on Sun, 20 Jul 2014
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We stayed here for a weekend in July. The location is fab and the lodges are beautiful. It is an ideal place to go for a weekend Away. Some parts of the lodge are in need of a bit of TLC. Some cupboards were broken in the kitchen and the decking areas slightly worn. Overall though a very enjoyable stay.



Orion Holidays replied more than 1 year ago
We are really glad that you had a great weekend in The Daffodils and loved the location. Waters Edge is one of our most popular resorts and we're glad that you loved it too! Thank you for drawing our attention to these points. We constantly endeavour to improve the standard of our lodges and so will immediately pass this on to our housekeeping team. We look forward to seeing you again!