FB Twitter

CALLTAINN (Pucks Glen Lodges)

CALLTAINN (Pucks Glen Lodges)

4.7
out of 5
Ratings from 30 reviews
97% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.8
Comfort
4.7
Condition
4.7
Location
4.8
Value
4.7
Customer
Service
4.8


CALLTAINN Lodge (sleeps 2 - 4)

Calltainn is a recently refurbished, fully double glazed luxury log cabin located on a lovely site of 18 lodges in the Argyll Forest Park. It's a magical place, with both Pucks Glen and the Botanical Gardens accessible from the doorstep. Coastal town of Dunoon 10 mins. It is especially suitable for couples, or with children from 5 years.

Great Stay

Review submitted on Sat, 22 Jun 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My partner and I stayed in Calltainn for two nights in June 2019. The lodge was beautiful and perfectly situated for peace and quiet, right beside the nature trail in Pucks Glen. We will definitely be back.

Carrie from Beith stayed at CALLTAINN (Pucks Glen Lodges) for 2 nights in June 2019


Comfy warm and clean

Review submitted on Thu, 13 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cabin was beautiful and very well presented. It was clean and warm.
It was on a fantastic location and it was peaceful.


Sue from Hinckley stayed at CALLTAINN (Pucks Glen Lodges) for 7 nights in June 2019


Five star!

Review submitted on Fri, 07 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had an excellent stay in the Calltain lodge for three nights. It’s was lovely, cosy and very clean. The location is stunning and we enjoys lots of walks through the Glen. The owners were contactable by txt which was great because we are clumsy and ended up dropping one of the keys through the decking! They came out straight away to help.

Will definitely be back!


Veronica Bennett from Port Glasgow stayed at CALLTAINN (Pucks Glen Lodges) for 3 nights in June 2019


Stephen & Liz replied 12 days ago
We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and all the lovely walks. Helping you retrieve the key was no trouble at all. We hope you will return soon :)

Ideal Location

Review submitted on Sun, 26 May 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Pucks Glen Lodges were ideally situated for a break away in Argyll and Bute to be able to visit the area. If you didn't want to have to selfcater Shiela's Cafe was the ideal place to eat. Also the local shop and garage were ideal for buying food and petrol.

Janet from Peterhead stayed at CALLTAINN (Pucks Glen Lodges) for 7 nights in May 2019


Stephen & Liz replied 12 days ago
Thank you for your review and excellent rating. We are very lucky to have Shielas Diner and Cot House Services so handy. Hope to see you again soon. :)

Short Break

Review submitted on Mon, 20 May 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A lovely cabin in beautiful surroundings,perfect for unwinding. A visit to Puck’s Glen is recommended.

Nancy from Edinburgh stayed at CALLTAINN (Pucks Glen Lodges) for 3 nights in May 2019


Stephen & Liz replied 12 days ago
Many thanks for your kind comments..! All the best :)

Our stay at Calltainn, Pucks Glen Lodge

Review submitted on Sun, 21 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Where do I start? Purchased as a gift for my partner. A wonderful 5 days we had. Lodge clean, cosy, comfortable. Location iddlic, peaceful and scenery amazing. Ideal for walking or cycling, or just relaxing. Everything was perfect.

Elaine from Redditch stayed at CALLTAINN (Pucks Glen Lodges) for 5 nights in April 2019


Stephen & Liz replied 12 days ago
We really appreciate your lovely comments and 5 star rating. We love the location too... Hope to see you again soon. :)

Return visitor

Review submitted on Mon, 11 Feb 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was my 3rd time staying at the Pucks Glenn lodges and once again I was not disappointed. Even the internet was an improvement over last time as was the fire, testament to taking feedback onboard from their customers.
I will be returning next year!


Richard from Birmingham stayed at CALLTAINN (Pucks Glen Lodges) for 5 nights in February 2019


Stephen & Liz replied 12 days ago
We are really pleased to see you return to stay. BT sadly had let us down in the past and wi-fi has not been great, but this has been considerably improved and we are now able to offer fast-speed wi-fi and Netflix streaming... :)

A great holiday and a great location.

Review submitted on Fri, 28 Dec 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The lodge is in a great location. It was easy to find from the great instructions we were provided with before our arrival. We even received a text to say the lodge was ready early and we were free to move in any time. We were delighted with the lodge. Everything was neat and tidy and it had everything we needed. It even has a dishwasher. And there were no hidden extras for things like hot water or electricity. There’s lovely walks, lovely waterfalls and the Botanic Gardens are a short walk away. The gardens have a lovely little cafe and serve lovely food and drinks etc. There’s shops and pubs not too far away and the scenery is beautiful. We were there over Christmas and it was a perfect way to relax. It made our Christmas extra special. We both recommend staying at Pucks Glen. We will definitely be back as we would like to see it in the spring, the summer and the autumn. Thank you.

Suzanne from North Shields stayed at CALLTAINN (Pucks Glen Lodges) for 7 nights in December 2018


Stephen & Liz replied 12 days ago
Thank you for your excellent rating and lovely, helpful comments. Hope to see you again soon. :)

Fabulous weekend break

Review submitted on Wed, 21 Nov 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We loved our stay at the Puck’s Glen lodge. It was warm, cosy and clean on arrival and Stephen and Liz provided excellent communication prior to arriving as well as a very useful and informative information pack in the lodge! The directions for the cooker etc were clear with visual directions for accessing the emergency key etc.
The lodge is 2 bedrooms with a shared bathroom and we found everything we needed and such a lovely touch to have a welcome basket with crisps, snacks and local soap/honey! We had starter coffee etc and biscuits and all cooking utensils you would need.
The area is quiet and peaceful and a car is needed if you wish to go further afield. Lovely walks right beside the lodges towards the Benmore botanic gardens.
All in all, we loved our stay and Stephen and Liz even helped post back items my mum had left in the wardrobe! Very kind and they deserve 5 stars for their lodge!


Jane from Glasgow stayed at CALLTAINN (Pucks Glen Lodges) for 2 nights in November 2018


Stephen & Liz replied 12 days ago
We're delighted you enjoyed your stay, and all the little extras. Thank you...! :)

Lovely lodge in a beautiful area

Review submitted on Fri, 26 Oct 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very comfortable lodge with all the facilities one could ask for. Very comfortable bed as well. The area is beautiful if you like hiking! Especially pucks glenn (which is directly behind the lodges) is a breathtaking walking experience. The botanic garden is in walking distance as welll. A car is recommended though. A bus station (/diner/little shop/petrol station) is about 20 minutes by foot through.

Rebecca from Bad Bentheim stayed at CALLTAINN (Pucks Glen Lodges) for 5 nights in October 2018


Stephen & Liz replied 12 days ago
Thank you..! :)

Weekend in Calltainn Lodge.

Review submitted on Wed, 26 Sep 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Set near the top of the Holy Loch and with great walks and plenty of facilities nearby. I would recommend this lodge.

James from Ayr stayed at CALLTAINN (Pucks Glen Lodges) for 3 nights in September 2018


Stephen & Liz replied 12 days ago
Thank you for rating us 5 Stars...! :)

A wet week in Pucks Glen

Review submitted on Sat, 22 Sep 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Regardless of the weather , we had a great time.
One of the reasons for being there was to relax and forget about daily life , Pucks Glen is perfect for that.
Weather , not a lot we could do about that , it wasn't that bad really , I've been in a cyclone in Fiji , now that's rain!!
Great places to visit and really looked after me , my mobility isn't as good as it once was so that's important to us. Great places to eat out or the facilities in the chalet are excellent if you fancy a quiet night.....really good facilities too.


Michael from Runcorn stayed at CALLTAINN (Pucks Glen Lodges) for 4 nights in September 2018


Stephen & Liz replied 12 days ago
Thank you for awarding us a 5 Star rating. Hope you make it back again, and we shall try to arrange better weather :)

A lovely vacation

Review submitted on Wed, 05 Sep 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely vacation at the lodge. It was a good location for what we wanted: walking and site seeing. We very lucky and had the weather with us. The lodge was super. It has all to make a great stay. We felt at home, and were sorry to go home again.
Thank you for making it a great stay

Kirsten


Kirsten from Holbæk stayed at CALLTAINN (Pucks Glen Lodges) for 6 nights in August 2018


Stephen & Liz replied 12 days ago
We are really pleased you enjoyed your stay, and hope you will return soon :)

Cailtainn lodge

Review submitted on Thu, 30 Aug 2018
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We really enjoyed the nice cozy lodge, it was in a beautiful setting! One feature that would really help would be to have a washing machine, and a few more kitchen basics like cooking oil, salt and pepper etc. Otherwsie, we liked it and will return again!

Guest from Burlington stayed at CALLTAINN (Pucks Glen Lodges) for 5 nights in August 2018


Stephen & Liz replied 12 days ago
Many thanks for your helpful comments. We decided our guests would prefer to have a dishwasher on holiday, but we shall consider replacing with washing machine in future. We prefer not to provide foodstuffs such as salt, cooking oil, etc as these can become contaminated, we think. Hope to see you again. :)

Best resort ever stayed

Review submitted on Sat, 25 Aug 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is one of the best resort we ever stayed. Brilliant location, felt like a real home stay. We would recommend and will visit again..

Guest from Southall stayed at CALLTAINN (Pucks Glen Lodges) for 2 nights in August 2018


Stephen & Liz replied 12 days ago
Thank you for giving us a 5 Star rating :)

all was in good condition.

Review submitted on Sat, 18 Aug 2018
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
All was in good condition.
The kitchen was not well equipped with cooking pots and pan.
Quite place.


Bohnert from Achern stayed at CALLTAINN (Pucks Glen Lodges) for 4 nights in August 2018


Stephen & Liz replied 12 days ago
We appreciate your review, but we do provide a good compliment of quality pans etc. Did you somehow miss them?

Peaceful holiday

Review submitted on Sat, 04 Aug 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a nice relaxing stay here, the area was quiet and peaceful and lodge clean, cosy and comfortable

Gillian from Turriff stayed at CALLTAINN (Pucks Glen Lodges) for 4 nights in July 2018


Stephen & Liz replied 12 days ago
Thank you for giving us a 5 Star rating :)

Lovely place

Review submitted on Fri, 13 Jul 2018
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Beautiful lodge perfect for a quite few days away will definitely be back weather was a bonus as we got to see some beautiful scenery in the area :)

Yvonne from Muirhead stayed at CALLTAINN (Pucks Glen Lodges) for 4 nights in July 2018


Stephen & Liz replied 328 days ago
We are really pleased you enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you again. All the best. Stephen & Liz :)

A lovely place to rest and enjoy the woods.

Review submitted on Sat, 26 May 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Hello,
We have just returned from our 5 nights in the lodge and found it to be a wonderful place to stay. Here you can relax in the comfortable lodge, and also explore the beautiful nearby Pucks Glen and woods in the area. We did not need to use our car to enjoy this region of Scotland, much is on your doorstep.
We felt at home as soon as we arrived and this helped make our 4 days feel longer here.
Thank you, we are already thinking how good it will be here in the Autumn!


Steven from Nairn stayed at CALLTAINN (Pucks Glen Lodges) for 5 nights in May 2018


Stephen & Liz replied 328 days ago
We are truly blessed to live and work in this beautiful part of Scotland and it's a delight to hear when our visitors enjoy their stay. Thank you. Hope to see you again. Stephen & Liz :)

great accommodation

Review submitted on Wed, 02 May 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
if you are looking for a get away from it all with superb accommodation, look no further than Chase the Wild Goose

Anne from Bishopton stayed at CALLTAINN (Pucks Glen Lodges) for 2 nights in April 2018


Stephen & Liz replied 328 days ago
Thank you for awarding us top marks. We hope to see you again soon. Stephen & Liz :)

Cossy stay

Review submitted on Fri, 06 Apr 2018
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
It was A cossy stay, Nice kitchen (oven, diswacher,...) iT was clean. It forvilled oure expectations. 1 remark, the heating in the room was not enough entill we had find the extra heater in the clouset.

Joachim from stayed at CALLTAINN (Pucks Glen Lodges) for 3 nights in April 2018


Stephen & Liz replied 328 days ago
Many thanks for reviewing your stay. We are happy you had a good time. Stephen & Liz

Excellent 10/10

Review submitted on Thu, 08 Mar 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A fantastic place to stay. As soon as you walk in, it feels homely. Nothing seems too much trouble for the owners. Always willing to help.
Excellently situated for walks and relaxation.


Stephen from Langport stayed at CALLTAINN (Pucks Glen Lodges) for 3 nights in March 2018


Stephen & Liz replied more than 1 year ago
It was really nice having you to stay, and thank you for looking after the lodge so well. Hope to see you again soon. Stephen & Liz

A wonderful stay in a quiet lodge

Review submitted on Wed, 14 Feb 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We really enjoyed our stay in the lodge, I forgot how beautiful the area was. The staff were helpful but not obtrusive, checking we'd arrived safely and everything was to our liking.
We had an issue with the electric fire in the living room cutting out after a couple of minutes due to overheating. We were warm enough without it though, and I emailed them about this as we left and they are replacing it for the next guests. We were certainly cosy there! All amenities are provided, from bedding to cutlery and crockery, even a small selection of local produce was provided.
There's a fair bit to do in the area, with walks, lochs and if you up for it, Quad Biking, Clay Pigeon Shooting and Archery a few miles away.
I will certainly be returning next year


Richard from Birmingham stayed at CALLTAINN (Pucks Glen Lodges) for 4 nights in February 2018


Stephen replied more than 1 year ago
We are delighted you enjoyed your stay in our lodge and your return to the area. The weather had turned cold so it’s good to know the cabin stayed warm and cosy, but we shall certainly be repairing or replacing the fire at first opportunity. It’s designed to cut out on overheating, however not after only a few minutes... We look forward to seeing you again soon. All the best. Stephen & Liz

Excellent location. Tired lodge

Review submitted on Sat, 20 Sep 2014
4.0
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
On 1st impressions the lodge was nice then the smell kicked in. I can only describe it as a urine like smell, maybe from the carpets!? The windows....were wet on the inside every morning. The lodge is advertised as dog friendly. Our dog couldn't walk on the decked area to get in as the spaces were too big. We had to take the car mats from the car onto the deck. The bath moved when you stood in it for a trickle, sorry I meant shower!!
If this was my business and didn't want to spend a fortune on it, I would buy a good upholstery steamer. I would replace all windows and doors. I would then replace the decking and repair the step into the lodge. After all 1st impressions are what count!


Susan from Airdrie stayed at CALLTAINN (Pucks Glen Lodges) for 4 nights in September 2014


Stephen replied more than 1 year ago
Whilst dis-agreeing with much of what was said here (please look at reviews left by other guests), nevertheless following the significant economic downturn of 2008 (to 2014 and counting...) we have recently heavily invested and refurbished our lodge to a high standard, with new double glazing throughout, new bathroom with electric shower, new kitchen with induction hob and oven, fantastic new carpets, luxury beds and bedding. However, we regret we no longer accept pets (due to some very uncaring and dis-respectful dog-owners in the past leaving their pets unattended in the lodge, causing distress to the animals and damage to the furniture and furnishings). Come along and enjoy our lovely lodge and amazing surroundings... (Stephen & Liz, 2018)

Great getaway lodge

Review submitted on Tue, 16 Sep 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Really enjoyed our stay at the Summer Lodge. Clean and had everything you could need. The beds were of 5 star standard - so comfy and the sheets were of very high quality, getting up was a real struggle! Brilliant location, would definitely return and was excellent value.

Guest from Edinburgh stayed at CALLTAINN (Pucks Glen Lodges) for 2 nights in September 2014


Awesome!!!

Review submitted on Sun, 20 Jul 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
our stay was awesome & we didn't want to leave when our holiday there was over we loved the walk routes & much to see & even our dog Mollie loved it!!

Guest from stayed at CALLTAINN (Pucks Glen Lodges) for 7 nights in July 2014


Holiday

Review submitted on Sun, 06 Jul 2014
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely location, comfortable accomodation, great service. Unfortunately our stay was cut short due to family bereavment, but will definitely return in future.

Guest from Berwick Upon Tweed stayed at CALLTAINN (Pucks Glen Lodges) for 2 nights in June 2014


Great short break

Review submitted on Sat, 05 Jul 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Cannot fault the accommodation. It was fully equipped with everything you need. Very comfortable and clean. Great for a relaxing break. Great walks nearby!

Guest from New Alyth stayed at CALLTAINN (Pucks Glen Lodges) for 3 nights in June 2014


we loved it

Review submitted on Wed, 11 Jun 2014
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Everything went well. Great location, maybe adverts for the accommodation should explain that electricity is an add on cost, otherwise, we felt it was good value for money.

Guest from stayed at CALLTAINN (Pucks Glen Lodges) for 3 nights in June 2014


Birthday Treat

Review submitted on Sun, 08 Jun 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is the second time we've stayed at Pucks Glen lodges and loved it both times. Lovely, comfortable homely lodges with excellent walks all close by. First time there was six of us and this time three for my sons birthday. We ate at Loch Fyne Oyster bar which was about 30mins drive. We frequent the Whistlefield Inn and it's our best local ever.

Guest from Livingston stayed at CALLTAINN (Pucks Glen Lodges) for 4 nights in June 2014