FB Twitter

FRAOCHAN (by Pucks Glen)

FRAOCHAN (by Pucks Glen)

4.8
out of 5
Ratings from 27 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.9
Comfort
4.8
Condition
4.8
Location
4.7
Value
4.7
Customer
Service
4.8


FRAOCHAN (sleeps 2 - 4)

Fraochan Lodge is a recently refurbished, fully double glazed, luxury log cabin located on a site of 18 lodges, beside Pucks Glen in the Argyll Forest Park. It's a lovely, cosy yet spacious, magical place, with forest walks and Botanical Gardens accessible from the doorstep. FREE Wi-Fi. Coastal town of Dunoon 10 mins. It’s warm and comfortable with heating & electricity included.

Stunning Location

Review submitted on Sun, 13 Oct 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We’ve stayed at these lodges 4 times now and have never been disappointed. The lodge is warm cosy spotlessly clean and has everything you could need. The location in the middle of the forest is stunning. There are plenty of lovely walks right on your door step. The communication with Stephen and Liz was great from start to finish. Thank you Yvonne and Archie

Yvonne M from Renfrew stayed at FRAOCHAN (by Pucks Glen) for 7 nights in October 2019


Tolle Ferienwohnung!

Review submitted on Sun, 29 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Sehr schönes Holzhaus in einer wunderschönen Umgebung.
Sehr gut ausgestattet.
Ein Mietwagen ist allerdings Pflicht, man sollte auch den Linksverkehr gewöhnt sein. Die Straßen in der Umgebung sind für deutsche Verhältnisse ziemlich schmal.


Armin from Mörfelden-walldorf stayed at FRAOCHAN (by Pucks Glen) for 5 nights in September 2019


Pucks Glen Lodges

Review submitted on Tue, 27 Aug 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent, scenic location, plenty of things to do locally with pubs, diners, shops, local attractions within short driving distance.
The lodge itself is comfortable, easy to find, and with plenty of extras (dishwasher, Wi-Fi, TV, DVD, etc.).
My only issue was that the shower was a quite weak.
Definitely recommend.


Stephen from Fishburn stayed at FRAOCHAN (by Pucks Glen) for 3 nights in August 2019


Stephen & Liz replied 36 days ago
Thank you for your kind words and useful information. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. We always believed comments on our shower water pressure was just due to guests from the city expecting 'rainwater' or high pressure showers like the ones they have at home, but we have discovered the water pressure to the cabin had been reduced. Thank you for alerting us to this and helping us to 'think again'. It's the little things that matter... :)

Quality accommodation

Review submitted on Tue, 23 Jul 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Quality products, neat , tidy and professional service. All questions answered promptly. Great setting, lovely walks and green, green lush surroundings

Gareth from Cardiff stayed at FRAOCHAN (by Pucks Glen) for 2 nights in July 2019


Stephen & Liz replied 36 days ago
Many thanks for reviewing your stay. We are glad, and hope to see you again soon. :)

Another great wee break

Review submitted on Tue, 18 Jun 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Again we had a great wee break away with Chase The Wild Goose Holiday rentals at Pucks Glen . The cabin was just like a wee cosy wee place to enjoy the peace and quiet. Great views and beautiful surroundings. We have been here a few times now and always enjoyed our time there. The cabin FRAOCHAN, this was our first stay in this one. Everything was perfect except 2 lights cut off in the kitchen and no bulb in the hall while we were there. I am looking forward to going back again, ( soon I hope ) Thanks also to the owners who kept in touch with check in. (thanks Stephen & Liz ).

All I can say now is..... see you again soon Pucks Glen


Maureen from Erskine stayed at FRAOCHAN (by Pucks Glen) for 3 nights in June 2019


Stephen & Liz replied 124 days ago
Many thanks for your excellent rating and helpful comments. We are really pleased you enjoyed your stay. We hold up our hands - light bulbs often do ‘pop’ and it’s not always easy to source the LED ones locally at short notice, but we really should have replaced the missing one..! Looking forward to your return visit. All the best. Stephen & Liz

The cosiest lodge

Review submitted on Mon, 20 May 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Couldn’t have asked for a better stay! This cosy lodge has everything you could want, surrounded by the most beautiful scenery. We loved every minute! Would definitely return.

Muireann from Galway stayed at FRAOCHAN (by Pucks Glen) for 3 nights in May 2019


Stephen & Liz replied 129 days ago
Thank you for giving us a 5 Star rating :)

Family wedding visit

Review submitted on Tue, 16 Apr 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Some family members stayed here for our wedding. Overall it was very nice and the location is excellent. The site is very clean and quiet and there is no need to drive to go on some great walks. The cabin is lovely to be in and is well decorated. The heating in the lounge could be improved and some light bulbs were missing. Apart from that, highly recommended.

Ishmael from Hope stayed at FRAOCHAN (by Pucks Glen) for 4 nights in April 2019


Stephen & Liz replied 129 days ago
We appreciate your comments and advices. Since your stay we have repaired the faulty heater and replaced the dud light bulb..! (we are grateful you mentioned the heater - it had somewhat lost efficiency. Hope you will return soon. :)

Weekend Easter break

Review submitted on Tue, 16 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Myself and my two children stayed for two nights. Log cabin was first class. Everything was in tip top condition and nicely decorated. Lovely retreat in lovely location. Close to great walks and trails. Stephen and Liz very helpful. Would highly recommend.

Anne from Gourock stayed at FRAOCHAN (by Pucks Glen) for 2 nights in April 2019


Stephen & Liz replied 129 days ago
Thank you for giving us a 5 Star rating. We are glad you enjoyed your break. All the best. :)

LOVELY LODGE

Review submitted on Thu, 07 Mar 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely property, excellent customer care showing flexibility as we had to change our travel plans at short notice. Helpful on arrival and whenever needed .Incredible value for money . Would recommend to everyone.

John from Gateshead stayed at FRAOCHAN (by Pucks Glen) for 4 nights in March 2019


Lovely wee retreat

Review submitted on Wed, 20 Feb 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Stayed here for two nights with my girlfriend to escape and was such a lovely quiet retreat. The cabin itself had so much character and was very comfortable to stay in. Very clean and everything I expected and more, would definitely return back as the area is very nice and fell in love with the cabin and surrounding scenery. Hosts were excellent and willing to help.

James from Broxburn stayed at FRAOCHAN (by Pucks Glen) for 2 nights in February 2019


Stephen & Liz replied 129 days ago
Thank you for giving us a 5 Star rating. Hope to see you again :)

Highly recommended

Review submitted on Fri, 04 Jan 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have stayed in many self-contained accommodations and rate this as among the best. The location is excellent, right next to a beautiful walk through woodland and along a gorge and in winter the cabin is cosy and homely. The decor is stylish and in keeping with the cabin, it is spotlessly clean and the owners provide their own kind personal touches. We stayed here for the second time on our recent visit and due to a booking error almost didn’t make it but the owners pulled out all the stops to make it happen. We love this cabin and will definitely be back.

Lorraine from stayed at FRAOCHAN (by Pucks Glen) for 3 nights in December 2018


Stephen & Liz replied 129 days ago
Thank you for giving us a 5 Star rating. We are so pleased you made it..! All the best for 2019..! :)

Heaven

Review submitted on Tue, 06 Nov 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A fantastic location to relax an unwind. I cant express how enchanted i was with the pucks glen. The lodge provided everything needed for a comfortable cosy stay. Ten out of ten cant wait to go back, so much more to explore

Wendy from stayed at FRAOCHAN (by Pucks Glen) for 3 nights in November 2018


Stephen & Liz replied 348 days ago
It was lovely to meet you and we are delighted your enjoyed your stay at Fraochan Lodge. Pucks Glen is indeed a beautiful, enchanting place. We hope very much to see you again soon.

Fraochan Lodge

Review submitted on Thu, 18 Oct 2018
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Once we actually found the lodge, we kept looking for a site called Puck's Glen, and it is in fact part of Lament Lodges, we were delighted with the accommodation. The lodge is in fact only about 10-15 minutes from Dunoon.
The lodge was lit up on our arrival and was warm and welcoming. We thought it looked lovely. The beds were comfortable and all the appliances worked. Some nice touches with a little welcome pack.
Thanks
Anne Chalmers


Anne from Glasgow stayed at FRAOCHAN (by Pucks Glen) for 2 nights in October 2018


Stephen & Liz replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your feedback and kind comments. We call ourselves Pucks Glen Lodges (our business name) to distinguish ourselves from the other privately-owned Lodges on the Lamont Lodges site, each of which offers different facilities, quality and comfort levels of quality to our own. For the benefit of future visitors, we do send directions to our guests, and we reside locally so we can provide timely assistance when it’s required. We are nonetheless delighted you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again. All the best. Stephen & Liz

Perfect lodge in a wonderful location

Review submitted on Sat, 01 Sep 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
On entering the lodge the comments were 'This is awesome' and it lived up to first impressions for the 5 days we stayed. The lodge has a very cosy feel about it and has good views to the front and side and backs on to the forest so perfectly positioned.
The wallks through Pucks Glen were beautiful and could be made strenuous or not and a 20 minute walk from the lodge along the forest track takes you straight to the Botanical gardens where we spent a full 7 hours as there was plenty to see and and lots of tracks to walk.
We hired kayaks on Loch Eck just a 5 minute drive away, they were £15 for 4 hours so very reasonably priced.
All in all we wouldn't hesitate to recommend the lodge and the location especially if you want a quiet location with plenty of walking from your doorstep.


Dawn from Barrow In Furness stayed at FRAOCHAN (by Pucks Glen) for 4 nights in August 2018


Stephen & Liz replied 348 days ago
Many thanks for awarding us 5 stars. Our future guests will surely find all your feedback is helpful. We hope to see you again. All the best :)

Just perfect for us.

Review submitted on Thu, 23 Aug 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Wunderschön! Etwas einsam gelegen Blockhütte mit sehr gemütlicher Einrichtung. Zum Wandern und Erholen ideal, direkt am wunderschönen Pucks Glen gelegen. Dieses kleine Seitental muss man unbedingt bewandern (ca. 1h-Tour). Gute Basis für Ausflüge ins Loch Lomond Gebiet.

Nach Dunoon zum Einkaufen ca. 15 Minuten mit dem Auto.

Sehr netter Kontakt!


Finkenbeiner from Sasbach stayed at FRAOCHAN (by Pucks Glen) for 3 nights in August 2018


Stephen & Liz replied 129 days ago
Thank you for giving us a 5 Star rating :)

Loved our stay

Review submitted on Mon, 23 Jul 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
3.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We absolutely loved our stay at the fraochan lodge. We’re looking for a quite place with enough space, a holiday feeling, and that is what we got. It looked exactly like the pictures.


Lisa from stayed at FRAOCHAN (by Pucks Glen) for 6 nights in July 2018


Stephen & Liz replied more than 1 year ago
Really happy you enjoyed your stay in our lodge. Hope to see you again. Stephen & Liz :)

Beautiful cabin in a glorious setting

Review submitted on Thu, 19 Jul 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Absolutely loved our stay here. The cabin had everything we could possibly need in a home-from-home. The place was immaculate and I cannot fault anything. Kitchen was well equipped with everything necessary. The site itself was very quiet and it was great to walk outside and take a stroll into the woods. Would certainly recommend the cabin and the hosts had thought of everything. 5 stars from us all (even out teenage son who was happy with the smart tv, Netflix etc.

Alison from Carrickfergus stayed at FRAOCHAN (by Pucks Glen) for 3 nights in July 2018


Stephen & Liz replied more than 1 year ago
A heart-warming review. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you soon. All the best. Stephen & Liz :)

One of the best

Review submitted on Sun, 17 Jun 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We've been self-catering for almost thirty years now and Fraochan Lodge is one of the top three dwellings we have stopped in.

Graham from Northwich stayed at FRAOCHAN (by Pucks Glen) for 4 nights in June 2018


Stephen & Liz replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your lovely comments, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay. This means a lot to us. Stephen & Liz :)

Relaxing 2 day break

Review submitted on Tue, 12 Jun 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Stunning lodge with just about everything you would need away from home ...beautiful bedding the bed was very comfy ...high standard of cleanliness within lodge ...decor lovely . Nice walks ...plenty of wildlife to see ...stunning views ...the site itself its very quiet and peaceful .

Susan from Falkirk stayed at FRAOCHAN (by Pucks Glen) for 2 nights in June 2018


Stephen & Liz replied more than 1 year ago
We are delighted to receive your review and very happy you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again :)

A beautiful location in Argyll

Review submitted on Sun, 29 Apr 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Pucks Glen Lodge was a beautifully clean and well appointed place to stay with all that is needed for a comfortable stay away from home. The bed was extremely comfortable and the lodge was a lovely relaxing place to stay. Although it's very near the road, we were not disturbed by noise and it felt like it was far into the countryside with lovely views up into the woods behind the lodge. The proximity to Pucks Glen amazing waterfall walk, the Benmore Botanic Gardens with its lovely red squirrel hide was a real plus, particularly when combined with the lodge's proximity to Dunoon with all its facilities. We loved our stay.

Sheila from Port Seton stayed at FRAOCHAN (by Pucks Glen) for 2 nights in April 2018


Stephen & Liz replied more than 1 year ago
We’re really pleased you enjoyed staying at Fraochan Lodge. We really appreciate receiving a 5-star rating and we loved to read your comments. We hope to see you again :)

Lovely break

Review submitted on Mon, 16 Apr 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely comfortable lodge in a quiet place with beautiful scenery. This is our second visit to this lodge and throughly enjoyed it. Would definitely recommend this place and will probably return myself in the future.


Louise from York stayed at FRAOCHAN (by Pucks Glen) for 4 nights in April 2018


Stephen & Liz replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your review. You are most welcome and we hope you shall come again to stay. Stephen & Liz :)

relaxing and blissful quiet

Review submitted on Sun, 19 Oct 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Everything from start to finish was excellent and the area lovely and quiet we will deffo be returning and our dog also loved it cheers Stephen and li keep up the good work see ya again soon billy and arlene and madon

William from Erskine stayed at FRAOCHAN (by Pucks Glen) for 4 nights in October 2014


Wonderful area

Review submitted on Fri, 26 Sep 2014
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
So peaceful with wonderful pucks glen on your doorstep a great place for walking the dogs. It was truly magical on a night being able to see the stars

Guest from Wakefield stayed at FRAOCHAN (by Pucks Glen) for 3 nights in September 2014


A true getaway

Review submitted on Sun, 21 Sep 2014
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We couldn't have been happier, from the facilities in the cabin, to it's location and the amazing peace and real "pitch black" evenings. Very homely and definitely recommend it if you want away from everything

Vikky from stayed at FRAOCHAN (by Pucks Glen) for 4 nights in September 2014


tonys lodge , dunoon

Review submitted on Fri, 05 Sep 2014
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
the lodge was spotlessly clean, beautiful surroundings, you can walk litterally for miles. you will need transport as dunoon is about 5 miles away. in the lodge itself everything you would need is there, but the wi-fi is woeful.

Guest from Durham stayed at FRAOCHAN (by Pucks Glen) for 3 nights in August 2014


amzing, cosy, quiet, relaxing, pet friendly

Review submitted on Thu, 10 Jul 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The lodge was more than what we expected it was like home from home all appliances where there only downfall is no washing machine but wasn't be all and end all. Location is fab quiet relaxing but also adventure isn't far away lovely woodland walks at your front door. Also pets welcome my pooch had a ball.

Guest from stayed at FRAOCHAN (by Pucks Glen) for 3 nights in June 2014


Stephen replied more than 1 year ago
It was a delight having you to stay. Thank you for your kind review. We have now added lovely Egyptian Cotton bedding in the double bedroom for an added touch of luxury. Hope to see you again.