FB Twitter

East View Barn

East View Barn

4.7
out of 5
Ratings from 40 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.7
Comfort
4.8
Condition
4.8
Location
4.6
Value
4.6
Customer
Service
4.8


Review of East View Barn, Melbury Osmond

Review submitted on Fri, 29 Nov 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This property has been on our radar for a short break for some time. Having previously stayed in a family group at two of the other barn conversions offered by Ilchester Estates our expectations of East View Barn were very high: we were not disappointed.

In my opinion, East View Barn - though some way from the coast compared with the Abbotsbury properties that we have stayed in previously - is vey much the perfect Dorset rental. Quite simply it “feels right” on all levels. On this occasion there were just the two of us plus our golden retriever dog, but the property would comfortably accommodate four/five adults or an adults and children family group across the three bedrooms.

It is a spacious, well-proportioned and extremely well appointed property, We stayed in mid-November and the under floor heating made for cozy evenings. We would certainly stay here again whatever the time of year.


George from Swindon stayed at East View Barn for 4 nights in November 2019


Jasmin replied 86 days ago
Thank you very much for your 5 star review of East View Barn we are delighted that you have enjoyed your return visit to one of our properties. Please do come and stay with us again.

Relaxing time at East View Barn

Review submitted on Tue, 01 Oct 2019
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Lovely property in a very peaceful location. Narrow road with several blind bends to be driven each time you drive in and out of the village. Very spacious master bedroom, only downside however was the very soft mattress.

Nice to be able to find footpaths from the village so you can head out walking straight from the cottage.


Karen from London stayed at East View Barn for 7 nights in September 2019


Jasmin replied 148 days ago
Thank you for taking the time to review East View Barn. We are glad that you enjoyed Melbury Osmond and the local footpaths by the cottage. Thank you for your comment regarding the mattress which I have passed to the manager for review.

Excellent stay

Review submitted on Mon, 23 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely weekend away at East View Barn. Very peaceful location, beautiful secure garden for our dog who settled very well. Would highly recommend staying here.

Rachael from Oxfordshire stayed at East View Barn for 3 nights in September 2019


Jasmin replied 156 days ago
Thank you so much for your 5 star review! we are delighted that you enjoyed your time at East View Barn and do hope that you will return.

Rural idyll

Review submitted on Fri, 20 Sep 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very well appointed accommodation in a beautiful peaceful location in good reach of both Dorset and Somerset attractions

Guest from Huddersfield stayed at East View Barn for 7 nights in September 2019


Jasmin replied 159 days ago
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review for East View Barn in peaceful Melbury Osmond. We do hope that you got to explore the best of both Dorset and Somerset and that you will return to East View Barn in the future

Lovely Cottage in Historical Village

Review submitted on Fri, 23 Aug 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Loved our stay at East View Barn in Melbury Osmond. The cottage was in a lovely, peaceful location off the A37, so easy to find. The cottage is a blend of old and new and well constructed with underfloor heating and heated towel rails, if needed. We liked the simplicity of the design with the plain but really tasteful décor - very much to our taste!! Lots of natural light at this property and the patio gets lots of sun through most of the day and is a great place to enjoy a drink or a read. Kitchen is well stocked and the American style fridge/freezer was a big bonus for self catering. There is a great circular hike through the Ilchester Estate - about 4.3 miles with great vistas with the equally nice village of Evershot on the other side - great old-style bakery in this village if you like good bread!!. Location is a great for visiting the south coast including super restaurants and pubs. Can recommend the Hive Beach Café near Bridport, Brassica in Beaminster and Little Barwick House in Barwick.

Dominic from Faringdon stayed at East View Barn for 4 nights in August 2019


Jasmin replied 183 days ago
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and the area and got to enjoy some of Dorset's best restaurants. We very much hope to welcome you back to one of our properties again.

Another lovely stay with Luxury Dorset Cottages at East View Barn, would highly recommend

Review submitted on Fri, 26 Jul 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have used Luxury Dorset Cottages several times and both properties have been very great to stay at.
This was our second time at East View Barn and our first stay in summer. This meant we could enjoy sitting outside which was a real pleasure as it is such a peaceful and quiet location.
There were five of us staying this time and there was still plenty of room with three bedrooms and comfy beds. Family bathroom and en suite. Lovely open plan living/ dining/ kitchen area. Reasonably well equipped for self catering and appreciated the welcome pack of milk, wine, biscuits. Online shop from the supermarket a good idea.
Melbury Osmond is a quiet village (no shops/ pubs) in rural Dorset, It is a good location for visiting the Dorset Coast, we particularly like Abbotsbury, West Bay and Durdle Door/ Lulworth Cove. There is also a nice walk through the estate to Evershot and a meal at the Acorn Inn is a must (plus pop into the bakery if it's open).
We will definitely be returning to this beautiful part of the country. Thank you.


Jenny from Arundel stayed at East View Barn for 4 nights in July 2019


Jasmin replied 215 days ago
Thank you very much for your review of East View Barn, we are glad to hear that you were able to visit some of Dorset's beautiful beaches. We hope to welcome you back to our properties again.

Peaceful countryside

Review submitted on Mon, 17 Jun 2019
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
East View Barn is a lovely thatched cottage deep in the countryside. Very comfortable and with everything you would need
for a restful break.


Guest from Sunbury on Thames stayed at East View Barn for 4 nights in June 2019


Jasmin replied 254 days ago
Thank you very much for your review, we are glad that you had a restful stay at East View Barn.

Excellent 100

Review submitted on Mon, 29 Apr 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful cottage in a lovely location the kitchen was well equipped and the garden was great for the kids would highly recommend this property to everyone.

Paul from Alton stayed at East View Barn for 3 nights in April 2019


Jasmin replied 303 days ago
Thank you very much for your lovely review of East View Barn. We do hope to welcome you again.

Fantastic weekend in our favourite holiday cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 01 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our second stay in East View Barn. The house is perfect - really comfortable and has everything you need. Melbury Osmond is a gorgeous village, with lots of good walks from the house. Looking forward to our next stay in May!

Rachel from Gava stayed at East View Barn for 3 nights in March 2019


Jasmin replied 331 days ago
Thank you very much for your lovely review, we very much look forward to welcoming you back again in May.

Excellent

Review submitted on Fri, 08 Feb 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
All i can say about this cottage is that it was very good even though we were there on buisness not pleasure, much nicer than a small cramped hotel room.

Keith Wright


Keith from Leeds stayed at East View Barn for 3 nights in January 2019


Jasmin replied 356 days ago
Thank you very much for your review. We hope to welcome you back again for either business or pleasure.

Excellent

Review submitted on Mon, 10 Dec 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great place, nice and modern , great parking , kitchen had everything
WiFi could be better if reaching all over the house


Santiago from Leicester stayed at East View Barn for 3 nights in November 2018


Jasmin replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you very much for your kind review, we are glad to hear that you enjoyed East View Barn and we hope to welcome you back again soon.

Out of the way but ideally situated.

Review submitted on Sun, 04 Nov 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our second visit to EVB and we enjoyed it even more than the first. It did help that the weather was beautiful and this time we had the use of the garden furniture but that doesn't detract from the fact that it is a great cottage in an ideal location. We love that the location of the cottage is very private, in a small village yet only 5 mins drive to the main A road that takes you one way to Yeovil and the other to Dorchester. The main bedroom is lovely and spacious with an en-suite, all bedding is great quality which purveys a feeling of a good standard of cleanliness. The cottage has all the amenities you need, our dog is welcome there and so we couldn't recommend it enough!

Laine from St Peter Port stayed at East View Barn for 7 nights in October 2018


Jasmin replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us such a detailed review, we really appreciate it and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Ideal base for exploring, lovely cottage; very private and peaceful

Review submitted on Sun, 22 Apr 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely week at East View; great, well laid out accommodation with all amenities to make a very comfortable stay. The booking process was easy and the staff delightful to deal with. The Barn was well furnished and equipped and, in a great location not far from a main road that would take you to Dorchester and Yeovil but also, tucked in a small village that offered peace and seclusion. The fact that such good accommodation accepts pets is a bonus and the garden is totally secured for dogs which is a great comfort. The main bedroom (with en suite) is such a good size that it did make us question why there wasn't a bigger bed as the room could take it and then would have taken the property to 100% perfect in our opinion!!

That said, we are considering re-booking!


Guest from St Peter Port stayed at East View Barn for 7 nights in March 2018


Jasmin replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your review, I am so glad that you enjoyed everything that East View Barn has to offer. I believe that my manager is going to be reviewing the bed size for the master bedroom in the future. I hope to be able to welcome you to one of our cottages again soon.

Excellent holiday cottage

Review submitted on Wed, 21 Mar 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is our second visit, everything was as we remembered. Very comfortable and clean throughout. Some lovely walks from the doorstep. The children ended splashing about in the ford in the village. Am sure we will be back again. Thank you.

Amanda from Badminton stayed at East View Barn for 3 nights in March 2018


Jasmin replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for your kind review. We look forward to welcoming you back to any of our cottages.

East View Barn - February 2018

Review submitted on Fri, 23 Feb 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very well equipped and comfortable property. The perfect place to relax and recharge the batteries. Great location for exploring Dorset.





Jenny from Arundel stayed at East View Barn for 7 nights in February 2018


Jasmin replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your 5 star review. We are very glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay in Dorset and we hope that you can return again soon.

Simply the Best

Review submitted on Tue, 16 Jan 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This property is quite simply the best and best value for money holiday let we have ever stayed in and we have stayed in a few.
Well thought out accommodation, luxuriously appointed, apart from the weather couldn't have asked for much more.
The village and location is delightful, and if this property came up for sale, I would be making an offer right now.
Cannot praise the property or the team too highly.
We will be back!


Michael from Chelmsford stayed at East View Barn for 3 nights in December 2017


Jasmin replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you very much for your kind comments Mr Veasey. We hope to welcome you back to a cottage again and all the team wish you the best for finding a property

A delightful cottage

Review submitted on Fri, 05 Jan 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Comfortable, spacious, warm and welcoming. Wonderful walking on the doorstep. And a Christmas tree!

Julie from Horsmonden stayed at East View Barn for 7 nights in December 2017


Jasmin replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for your 5 star review. We are very glad you enjoyed the Christmas tree and your time in East View Barn and we hope to welcome you back again in 2018.

Long weekend

Review submitted on Mon, 30 Oct 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very pleasant few days with the kids at East Barn. Cosy house with lovely big kitchen/sitting room with underfloor heating. Perfect to come back to after blustery days on the Dorset Coast

Dan from stayed at East View Barn for 3 nights in October 2017


Jasmin replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and very grateful that you took the time to review East View Barn. It is a quintessentially English country cottage and we are pleased you enjoyed the conveniences of a modern barn conversion within a traditional village setting. We hope to welcome you again.

Fun few days in Dorset

Review submitted on Fri, 13 Oct 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a lovely property and county . A sunny few days to explore this lovely area coast and countryside our dog had a ball . We all had only positive thoughts on our break and will return .

Nola from Northampton stayed at East View Barn for 4 nights in October 2017


Jasmin replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review. We are so glad the sun shined for you and hope you and your dog can return again soon to experience more that Dorset has to offer.

Another lovely stay

Review submitted on Fri, 22 Sep 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our second visit and again East View Barn did not disappoint. Relaxed comfortable week and great walks from the door.

Carol from West Malling stayed at East View Barn for 7 nights in September 2017


Jasmin replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your second visit to East View Barn, and we hope to welcome you for your third visit soon.

Quality and good looks

Review submitted on Fri, 25 Aug 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Nice location. Very quiet. Comfortable clean and well appointed. A few minor snags which will be easily sorted I'm sure.

Michael from Liverpool stayed at East View Barn for 7 nights in August 2017


Kerry replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate your patience and understanding whilst the TV, WiFi and dishwasher were fixed. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay despite the hiccups and hope you will return in the future. Winter gatherings are cosy too and the barn has underfloor heating throughout. Also, we are currently renovating a 6th barn which was used in the 2015 movie Far From the Madding Crowd. It is a charming thatched barn built in 1798 located on the east side of Abbotsbury that will have 3 ensuite bedrooms and an inverted layout to take advantage of the glorious surrounding countryside.

Relaxing Break

Review submitted on Tue, 15 Aug 2017
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
East View Barn is located in a beautiful and very quiet village.
The cottage is comfortable and cosy where you can relax and recharge the batteries. If you wish to explore the area then the village of Evershot is on the doorstep where you can enjoy a lovely meal accompanied by your four-legged friend - following a walk through the Ilchester Estate.
The area has some beautiful viallages, such as Sherbourne and Abbotsbury. Further afield the coast is amazing with beautiful beaches and scenery - West Bay, Old Harry Rocks, Lulworth Cove, Durdle Door, Corfe Castle.
We have had a relaxing and enjoyable holiday.


Joseph from Rhosllannerchrugog stayed at East View Barn for 7 nights in July 2017


Kerry replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at East View Barn and it certainly sounds like you made the most of your time exploring some of Dorset's best places. Melbury Osmond is well located for easy access to the countryside and coast and we hope you will return in the future. We are currently renovating a 6th barn which was used in the 2015 movie Far From the Madding Crowd. It is a charming thatched barn located between to the east of Abbotsbury that will have 3 ensuite bedrooms and an inverted layout to take advantage of the glorious surrounding countryside.

Excellent place and location to stay. Highly recommended.

Review submitted on Sat, 08 Jul 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Third visit and lovely as ever. Love the area. Garden great for dogs. Well equipped and everything you need for a great holiday or short break. Plenty of parking too. Will come again!

Guest from Derby stayed at East View Barn for 5 nights in June 2017


Kerry replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your 5 star review! We are delighted that you enjoyed your most recent visit that squeezed in perfectly with all of us! East View Barn does benefit form a particularly nice plot with a generous private garden and parking. We hope that you will one day call Dorset your only home but in the meantime, we look forward to your 'home away from home' visits. Merryhill Barn is coming along nicely (re-pointing works have begun) and has been added to the website this week! Bookings are open from 06.04.18. We look forward to your return and thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at East View Barn.

East View Barn

Review submitted on Tue, 04 Jul 2017
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
East View Barn is a comfortable holiday cottage with an excellent dog friendly garden - lovely to stay somewhere stylish and roomy with good garden space.

Ruth from York stayed at East View Barn for 5 nights in June 2017


Kerry replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of East View Barn. We are pleased that you were comfortable and enjoyed the stylish interior and generous private garden. East View Barn is very popular with dog owners because of the fenced in garden and bridleway at the end of the lane. We hope you return to one of our 6 luxury Dorset cottages in the future.

Comfortable stay in a great location

Review submitted on Fri, 23 Jun 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We found the property exactly as described- both inside and outside. All of the facilities were excellent. Melbury Osmond is also an ideal location, a quiet village but very close to the A37 with easy links to many of Dorset's attractions.
We enjoyed a very relaxing break and undoubtedly East View Barn was the main reason for this.
Recommended!


Norman from Washington stayed at East View Barn for 7 nights in June 2017


Kerry replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your five star review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and very grateful that you took the time to review East View Barn. It is a quintessentially English country cottage and we are pleased you enjoyed the conveniences of a modern barn conversion within a traditional village setting close to good road networks. We are currently 10 weeks in to our latest barn conversion which is a charming thatched barn in a secluded spot on the edge of Abbotsbury. We hope to welcome guests to Merryhill Barn in 2018 and look forward to welcoming you back in the future. We also offer 3 and 4 night stays outside of school holidays.

Easter family break

Review submitted on Sat, 29 Apr 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
5 adults who loved this barn conversion. It was extremly well equipped and spacious. We always look for something special/unusual and East View did not disappoint It was in a rural location with lovely walks that the dog and humans loved. Secure garden for our four legged friend! Tennis courts were a great bonus. Only thing missing was a bbq which i presume may be missing due to the thatched roof. We would return and would also use luxury cottages Dorset to book another cottage. Quote from daughter and son 'best family holiday since Florida!'

Patricia from Kent stayed at East View Barn for 7 nights in April 2017


Kerry replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your lovely review, we are delighted that you all enjoyed your stay at East View Barn. It was our 1st barn conversion and is a quintessentially English country cottage with the benefits of under floor heating and 5 star gold luxury! You are quite right about the barbeque, we are not permitted under the terms of our insurance policy to use them at East View Barn and I am sure the same applies to the neighbouring thatched properties. The roofing material is also the reason we have a gas fire and not a wood burner. We are pleased that your family had such a wonderful time and plan to return in the future, our 4 other barn conversions are not thatched (and we do provide barbeques in all of them) so you might like to try Clayhanger Lodge, The Grain Store, The Cow Byre (all sleep 6) or The Stables (sleeps 8) next time. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back in the future.

East View Barn, Melbury Osmond

Review submitted on Mon, 17 Apr 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent accommodation and location, our second visit, an ideal place to relax. We shall certainly return.

Linda from Hastings stayed at East View Barn for 11 nights in March 2017


Kerry replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your five star review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your 2nd trip to East View Barn and look forward to welcoming you back again. It was our 1st barn conversion and remains a firm favourite with lots of our guests. It is a charming chocolate box thatched cottage in the beautiful Dorset countryside and the underfloor heating makes it super cosy. We just started another thatched barn conversion (in Abbotsbury) last week so perhaps when it's ready to welcome guests, you might like to try that one too!

East View Barn stay

Review submitted on Tue, 28 Feb 2017
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
A very pleasant stay in a well equipped place. Suitable for young and old alike. Close to lots of nice places especially the coast. the underfloor heating is very nice especially on a cold winter's day. would recommend this place to anyone

Mary from Hailsham stayed at East View Barn for 3 nights in February 2017


Kerry replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your cosy long weekend at East View Barn and managed to explore the Jurassic coast during your visit. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. The 20% seasonal discount offer runs until 31.03.17.

NYE stay

Review submitted on Mon, 09 Jan 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a wonderful family weekend away over new year in east view barn. A beautiful property in a lovely location.

Selina from Chelmsford stayed at East View Barn for 3 nights in December 2016


Kerry replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your 5 star review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your New Year celebrations in our cosy country cottage. The under floor heating is perfect for winter breaks and we hope that you will return in the future. East View Barn is the perfect thatched cottage hideaway for relaxing retreats and an ideal base for exploring south Somerset & west Dorset with easy access to both countryside and coastline.

Great Stay at East View Barn

Review submitted on Mon, 24 Oct 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Returning for the 3rd time to Luxury Dorset Cottage, having previously stayed at Clayhanger Barn, our trip to East View Barn was to the standard I expected - extremely clean, well equipped, beautiful cottage nestled in a village a half hour drive from the coast. There was ample parking and a bridlepath for walks from the front pathway. We visited the Jurassic coast, had a lovely meal at Riverside in West Bay. We will be returning again as we love Dorset. Kerry and the team are great - so helpful and friendly. Booking is a pleasure. Thanks again for a great stay :)

Fleur from Bristol stayed at East View Barn for 3 nights in October 2016


Kerry replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your five star review. We appreciate you taking the time to write such a detailed review which helps guests who have never been to our cottages or to Dorset. We are delighted that you enjoyed our smallest and cosiest cottage in the country as much as our biggest and most spacious barn by the sea. They are both very special in their own individual ways. We look forward to hearing from you again in the future and will let you know when our next barn conversion is complete!

Beautiful cottage.

Review submitted on Fri, 21 Oct 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
If you want to see the real Dorset then East View Barn is the place to do it. It is in a very quite village where the only sounds you will hear are the birds and the horses trotting through the village.
The cottage is warm, cosy and a perfect retreat away from the pressures of life where you can relax and recharge the batteries. There are some fantastic walks straight from the garden gate thoroughly enjoyed by my husband and our dog Sam.If you wish to explore the area then the village of Evershott is on the doorstep where you can enjoy an amazing meal in a fantastic pub or buy fresh bread from the local baker.
Dorchester is beautiful as is Sherbourne where we spent a lovely day shopping. Further afield the coast is amazing with beautiful beaches and restaurants.
We have had a fantastic holiday here and plan to come back again soon. This cottage definitely deserves its 5 star rating.


Julia from Droitwich Spa stayed at East View Barn for 7 nights in October 2016


Kerry replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your 5 star review. We really appreciate you taking the time to write such a helpful and detailed review for us. It paints such an accurate picture of the property and location which will help people who've never been understand the rural tranquillity of Melbury Osmond and the country cottage comforts of East View Barn. We are thrilled that your stay was everything you hoped for and look forward to welcoming you back for more Dorset perfection in the future.

Luxury and comfort but needs some attention

Review submitted on Sat, 15 Oct 2016
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We enjoyed our stay at East Barn cottage. (Why is it called that - the views are to the west!). It was a comfortable and well equipped property and good value for money.

There were however a number of minor niggles with the state of the property:
The door to washer/drier did not close.  I could see that the machine had been replaced but does not fit!
Dishwasher door needs attention – it has pulled away from its fitting on one side
The fridge freezer display does not work – so it is not possible to set the desired temperature
In the en suite bedroom the toilet seat has one of the four support pads missing and the towel rail needs bleeding – it only gets hot halfway up

Further suggestions to improve the property are:
The large window in the living room really does need curtains/blinds as in the early evening the setting sun shines on the TV, making watching very difficult
Provide a phone for emergency and incoming calls
Provide drawer storage in twin bedroom
Provide bedside table and lamp in the single bedroom
Parking is generous but not very close to the cottage and carrying all of the luggage was difficult for us (we are both in our mid-70’s).  My wife suggests a plastic wheelbarrow, which could be stored in the shed, for luggage transport from parking area to the cottage
Both showers need a shelf for shampoo and shower gel bottles


Brian from Farnham stayed at East View Barn for 7 nights in September 2016


Ben replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your review and I have noted all your comments. The washer/dryer has now been re-aligned as has the dishwasher. The towel rails have been bled and I can confirm that the fridge/freezer display is working (but has a child lock safety feature in operation). I thank you for taking the time to bring these matters to our attention and am pleased that despite everything you both enjoyed your stay in Melbury Osmond.

Relaxed, comfortable week

Review submitted on Fri, 07 Oct 2016
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Lovely bungalow in a quiet location, ideal for a 'get away from it all' holiday. Would definitely like to return to East View Barn in the future.

Guest from West Malling stayed at East View Barn for 7 nights in September 2016


Kerry replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay at East View Barn, which is very popular because of its minimal steps/virtually ground floor layout and its secluded, peaceful and rural location in the village where Thomas Hardy's mother lived as child. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Fantastic week in East View Barn

Review submitted on Fri, 02 Sep 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What an amazing cottage!! We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in East View Barn. Tranquil setting...perfect for realaxing break. Would definitely visit again. Highly recommended

Guest from Bedworth stayed at East View Barn for 7 nights in August 2016


Kerry replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you very much for your lovely review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at our cosy, thatched barn conversion and the peaceful, tranquil surroundings of Melbury Osmond. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future...we have 4 more barn conversions in Abbotsbury on the Jurassic coast for you to try!

Dorset Barn

Review submitted on Thu, 25 Aug 2016
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
This property is in a beautiful location. This barn is decorated and kept to a high standard and much thought has been taken to provide all the gadgets and essentials that we use at home. Charming, cosy and comfortable, would highly recommend.

Jane from London stayed at East View Barn for 7 nights in May 2016


Kerry replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for writing a review of our cosy country barn conversion. We are delighted that you enjoyed our chocolate box thatch cottage and its surroundings in the village where Thomas Hardy's mother lived as a child. We hope to welcome you back to your Dorset 'home away from home' in the future. We offer 3 night weekends out of season and East View Barn has underfloor heating which is very cosy in the Winter.

East View Barn stay August 2016

Review submitted on Mon, 22 Aug 2016
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Hi

Generally we had a superb time in your property.

A few things to advise on that will hopefully
benefit future customers:

Just prior to the holiday I had to enquire on the supply of towels/laundry etc. We received an email response but then the following day received a standard email with this info. As a suggestion, this sort of email should come out earlier than a few days before you leave for the property.
The drain to the shower in the en-suite bedroom/bathroom was partly blocked.
The place was largely clean but when you looked under the sofas there were clumps of hair balls.
There were only a few forks
The frying pans aren't very non stick - so the eggs of a morning kept breaking and we had to buy a new frying pan.
The outside door to the kitchen has a very temperamental lock and we often spent some time trying to open it.
The extract in the en-suite bathroom has quite a long delay, so that at night it kept rattling on if activated. This from experience, can be reduced time wise.
The tennis court code in the handover guide was out of date and the Chairlady of the tennis club was going to contact the estate as she said it implied the annual membership hadn't been paid.

These will hopefully be taken as constructive points as we generally had a very enjoyable week in lovely part of the country. Many thanks.


Piers from Southsea stayed at East View Barn for 7 nights in August 2016


Kerry replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed and helpful review. We are sorry that you had a few faults to report. We would have remedied them immediately if we had known during your stay but I can confirm hat we have now unblocked the drain, replaced the frying pans, vacuumed under the sofas and updated the tennis court information (we had renewed our membership for guest use but were awaiting the new online booking information). We are working on the temperamental door lock which unfortunately refused to misbehave when the carpenter attended! Unfortunately, we are unable to reduce the ensuite extractor fan timer which is longer than the family bathroom because the ensuite does not benefit from a window for fresh air ventilation. Lastly, the reminder e-mail is normally scheduled for 7 days before the commencement of your holiday so I apologise that yours was delayed. We are pleased that despite the hiccups you were still able to enjoy your time at East View Barn exploring Dorset and hope that you will return again in the future.

A memorable stay

Review submitted on Thu, 18 Aug 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is the perfect cottage for a weekend getaway, spotlessly clean and luxurious, and situated in an idyllic Dorset village. My teeange niece was thrilled to walk through a field of sheep and baby lambs on the way to the pub, which is 500 years old but done to a very high standard. We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves without getting into a car, highly recommeded! The booking process was very easy, and we received very thoughtful advice and service before our arrival, which all helped to make a delightful weekend.

Connie from Epping stayed at East View Barn for 3 nights in June 2016


Kerry replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely and descriptive review for our chocolate box thatched cottage. We are delighted that you and your niece enjoyed the peaceful surroundings of East View Barn. The pub is known as The Sow and Acorn in Tess of the D'Ubervilles and the area was a film set recently for the 2015 movie Far From The Madding Crowd. We hope you return again soon...the under floor heating is lovely for cosy long winter weekend breaks!

Family of 5 break in Dorset.

Review submitted on Thu, 18 Aug 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Gorgeous cottage fully equipt with everything you need to make it feel like home. Would recommend to others if looking for accommodation in that area. We felt torn about having days away as we wanted to spend all our time in the cottage.

Debbie from Hexham stayed at East View Barn for 7 nights in June 2016


Kerry replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for submitting a lovely review. We are delighted that you and your family loved our cosy country cottage and we look forward to welcoming you back to stay again in your Dorset 'home away from home'. Long weekends in the autumn/winter are lovely too for cosying up indoors with the underfloor heating!

Secluded and peaceful

Review submitted on Thu, 18 Aug 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very comfortable, well equipped and clean cottage. Felt miles from anywhere but was just minutes from the main road into
Yeovil. Loved eating in the garden, walking over the gentle hills as well as visiting historic towns and houses. Perfect location. Have stayed at another property owned by the same family and it's just as wonderful. Revisiting there in a couple of months.


Jane from Southsea stayed at East View Barn for 7 nights in July 2016


Kerry replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to write such a helpful review of the cottage and area. We are delighted that you enjoyed our chocolate box cottage as well as the serenity and tranquillity of the location. You've tried 2 out of our 5 barn conversions and we have just secured planning for a 6th so we hope to keep welcoming you back for even more Dorset adventures!

Fantastic family holiday cottage

Review submitted on Thu, 18 Aug 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
From the minute we booked to after we left, customer service was fantastic. The cottage was perfect for our needs (family with a dog) and in a great rural location but within an hour to some fantastic day trips

Benjamin and Debbie from stayed at East View Barn for 7 nights in July 2016


Kerry replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your lovely review. We are grateful for you taking the time to write it for us and delighted that East View Barn was everything you hoped for in a family holiday cottage. It was our 1st conversion in 2008 and holds a very special place in a lot of guest's hearts, some of which have been coming every year since we opened! It is the most cosy and charming chocolate box cottage we have and we are really pleased that it worked so perfectly for your and your family. Located on the Somerset/Dorset border with easy access to the A37, it really does make Jurassic fantastic exploring in Hardy's Wessex easy. We hope and you and your family return for more Dorset adventures in the future. We have four more cottages in Abbotsbury if you are tempted!