FB Twitter

Merry Hill Barn

Merry Hill Barn

4.7
out of 5
Ratings from 26 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.6
Comfort
4.7
Condition
4.9
Location
4.8
Value
4.5
Customer
Service
4.9


October Break at Merry Hill Barn

Review submitted on Tue, 16 Nov 2021
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Absolutely beautiful barn conversion in a very rural setting but not far from Weymouth and Abbotsbury. The property is to a very high standard and and has a fantastic open layout with views though the large windows of the surrounding countryside. We loved the amount of space there was for all of us though the bunk bed bedroom was a little cramped for two teenagers and doesn't have a window. We would definitely return for another stay.
Would recommend other visitors to try the Elm Tree pub in Langton Herring and the farm shop in Portesham


Duncan from Wakefield stayed at Merry Hill Barn for 7 nights in October 2021


Excellent

Review submitted on Fri, 15 Oct 2021
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A very comfortable cottage and well equipped to a very high standard. Fantastic location. Looking forward to a return visit.

Michael from Stourbridge stayed at Merry Hill Barn for 14 nights in September 2021


Excellent

Review submitted on Fri, 20 Aug 2021
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great location nicely converted barn to high standard great walks on the doorstep. The dog really enjoyed it.

Guest from Lostwithiel stayed at Merry Hill Barn for 7 nights in August 2021


Perfect holiday accommodation in a stunning location.

Review submitted on Wed, 04 Aug 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Merry Hill Barn. The accommodation is beautiful and the location stunning. We had particularly good weather during our week which helped. We appreciated the tranquility and privacy of the house whilst also being just a short drive away from super shops and restaurants and of course so close to the beauty of Chesil Beach and the picturesque local surroundings. We would love to return.

Fiona from Midlothian stayed at Merry Hill Barn for 7 nights in July 2021


Charles - West London

Review submitted on Fri, 30 Jul 2021
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We really enjoyed our stay.

This is the second time we have stayed with LDC's.

We have always been impressed with the locations, the quality of accommodation, as well as the furnishings. All too often holiday cottages can disappoint with the comfort factor. LDC does not.

We shall be back.


Charles from Richmond stayed at Merry Hill Barn for 7 nights in July 2021


Superb

Review submitted on Fri, 02 Jul 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Merry Hill Barn is extremely well-equipped with top quality appliances, great bathrooms and a wonderful living room. On top of that, it is in an idyllic setting where you can really get away from it all. We really loved our week there and will hope to revisit very soon.

Guest from South Harting stayed at Merry Hill Barn for 7 nights in June 2021


Lovely cottage

Review submitted on Fri, 21 May 2021
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is a lovely cottage in the middle of nowhere yet only a few miles from everywhere! Comfortable accommodation, good quality bed linen and towels, very well equipped kitchen with funky concealed oven splashback and fan.
Would not recommend for small children given the upside down layout, stairs and mezzanine effect, however a great space for older families, groups of friends or just a couple having a romantic weekend with lots of space.


Melanie from Stamford stayed at Merry Hill Barn for 7 nights in May 2021


Wonderful holiday

Review submitted on Tue, 26 Jan 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Another wonderful stay at the idyllic Merry Hill barn.

We can't speak highly enough of the warmth from the management team and the comfort and facilities at the barn.

Looking forward to our next visit!


Guest from Richmond stayed at Merry Hill Barn for 15 nights in December 2020


The barn was spotlessly clean and very comfortable

Review submitted on Tue, 06 Oct 2020
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Wonderful remote location in a beautiful barn.Loads of space inside and out and safe for kids and dogs.

Good size rooms and very spacious living area. Enjoyed our 4 day stay in glorious early autumn weather.


Sally from Harrogate stayed at Merry Hill Barn for 4 nights in September 2020


Lucey holiday cottage on Jurassic Coast, Dorset

Review submitted on Fri, 21 Aug 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We highly recommend Merry Hill Barn and the team at Luxury Dorset Cottages, particularly Jasmin. They were very efficient and pleasant to deal with. The cottage is a converted barn, really tastefully done. Everything is high spec, en suite bathrooms for each room, immediate hot water, beautiful windows and light, huge garden. Great location with village shops and attractions down the road, lots of beaches and local walking trails direct from the property and some good hills for kite flying. We enjoyed it so much we’ve already booked to go again.

Katharine from London stayed at Merry Hill Barn for 7 nights in August 2020


Warm haven from the wind and rain

Review submitted on Mon, 09 Mar 2020
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Barn was well appointed and tastefully decorated. There were some minor issues with cleanliness and TV reception but overall we loved the barn and would stay again. Unfortunately we stayed during a particularly wet week thanks to Storm Dennis but managed to see a lot of the area without getting too wet and it was always nice to come back to a cosy Barn.

Guest from Kidderminster stayed at Merry Hill Barn for 7 nights in February 2020


Beautifully renovated cottage

Review submitted on Fri, 13 Dec 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We took a midweek break here on a whim with a view to long walks with our dog. The cottage is spectacular and two of our three long walks were from the front door. The weather was kind to us but Dorset in December is pretty muddy so having an outside hose made cleaning up a lot easier.
I arranged a grocery delivery (not always possible in Dorset) so food was dead easy. The kitchen is very well equipped. I would also recommend the Anchor Inn in Burton Bradstock for an evening meal.
Finding the cottage for the first time in the dark could prove a challenge as postcode satnav lead us to a sheep field. But for us it was still (just) daylight and there were at least 3 signposts to Merry Hill Barn.
I can thoroughly recommend Merry Hill Barn and I’m sure we will return there.


Julie from Horsmonden stayed at Merry Hill Barn for 4 nights in December 2019


Jasmin replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us a review for Merry Hill Barn. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay despite the December weather and muddy fields. We very much look forward to welcoming you back in the future, please do look at our other properties in the area which all have stunning walks straight from the door.

Wonderful short break

Review submitted on Tue, 19 Nov 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My friends and I were delighted with the comfort and amazing views from the barn. We had four glorious days at the barn and loved every moment.

Louise from Tiverton stayed at Merry Hill Barn for 3 nights in November 2019


Jasmin replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for your 5 star review of Merry Hill Barn, we are so pleased that you and your friends loved the barn as much as we do! We do hope that you will come and stay again, if you wanted to bring a few more friends along we also have Furlongs in Abbotsbury which is another stunning conversion sleeping 10 guests with views of St Catherine’s Chapel.

Amazing place

Review submitted on Fri, 27 Sep 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Merry Hill Barn is a stunning cottage in a fantastic location.
It is very well equipped spacious and with all mod cons.
Would highly recommend and we will be back


Debbie from West Witton stayed at Merry Hill Barn for 14 nights in September 2019


Jasmin replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review Debbie, We are delighted that you enjoyed Merry Hill Barn and the beautiful surroundings. We very much look forward to welcoming you back to Merry Hill Barn or another of our lovely cottages.

A restful break with incredible countryside and a view of the stars you won’t forget

Review submitted on Fri, 13 Sep 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Barn is lovely, beautiful ad clean and relaxing. The views were beautiful. There’s a good size garden and lots of walks nearby. This part of the world is magic, I think.

Rachel from Portsmouth stayed at Merry Hill Barn for 7 nights in August 2019


Jasmin replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your review Rachel, We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed Merry Hill Barn we too think its a very special place to unwind and we do hope that you will return.

Tolles Haus in Traumlage

Review submitted on Fri, 26 Jul 2019
3.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
2.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Für ein Haus in dieser Preisklasse muss ich leider sagen, hätte ich etwas mehr Sauberkeit bezüglich der kleinen Haustiere, wie Spinnen (massenhaft), erwartet. Nach unserer Ankunft habe ich dann einmal eine Grundreinigung bezüglich Spinnweben entfernen durchgeführt. Leider hat das nicht wirklich geholfen, da die Tiere einfach zu verbreitet waren. Haben schon öfter in ähnlichen umgebauten Scheunen gewohnt aber so etwas gab's noch nie.
Ansonsten ein sehr schönes Haus mit vielem Komfort..


Gertraud from Traisen stayed at Merry Hill Barn for 14 nights in July 2019


Fantastic find

Review submitted on Tue, 16 Jul 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
From arriving at merry hill until we left rather reluctantly 1 week later we had a fab time , the barn is emaculate with everything you can think of to make your stay easy , the location is so peaceful and surrounding villages are so cute .
Property could benefit from a bbq but really that's all I could suggest it's missing , will defo be returning


Shelly from mannamead stayed at Merry Hill Barn for 7 nights in June 2019


Jasmin replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you very much for your 5 star review! we are so glad that you enjoyed your stay. We do have BBQ's at some of our properties but not at Merry Hill Barn or East View Barn due to the thatch. We very much hope to welcome you back again.

A beautiful barn in splendid isolation

Review submitted on Mon, 24 Jun 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We booked the barn so that we could meet friends who live in Dorset and it was a good location as well as isolated - which we really like for our holiday cottages. We loved the film available on the website showing the location.

Well equipped, clean and comfortable. We would definitely stay here again and also will consider any of your other properties.

If I could change one thing - an inventory of equipment would be good - I didn't seem to be able to find one on the website.

All in all a fab stay in a lovely place; thank you



Gael from Buntingford stayed at Merry Hill Barn for 3 nights in June 2019


Jasmin replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us a review. We are so glad that you enjoyed Merry Hill Barn and we hope to welcome you back again.

Stunning property in beautiful location

Review submitted on Fri, 26 Apr 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were truly wowed by the barn and its location. The barn is refurbished to a very high spec. The only problems for us was the comfort of the mattresses, which were on the hard side, and the TV / internet / phone reception. Otherwise we loved it.

Guest from St. Albans stayed at Merry Hill Barn for 7 nights in April 2019


Jasmin replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us a review we are glad that your enjoyed your stay in Dorset.

Never Disappointed

Review submitted on Fri, 12 Apr 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is the fourth Ilchester Estates property we have stayed in and the quality, location and comfort provided in each has been excellent. It is not easy to find holiday rentals of this standard which are dog friendly. As all properties sleep at least six we pay a premium as there are just two of us and a dog, but we stay out of high season to minimise this and have so far been lucky with the weather. Perhaps a "bijou" barn to sleep just two could be found to renovate somewhere on the estate please?

Diane from Plaistow stayed at Merry Hill Barn for 7 nights in March 2019


Jasmin replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you very much for your review, we are very glad that you have enjoyed our properties. I will be sure to put forward your idea for a barn for two!

Beautiful relaxing location and property

Review submitted on Sat, 16 Mar 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
From arriving and driving up the drive you knew this place had quality written all over it and we were not disappointed both internally or externally.
The outside grounds were well maintained and excellent for our two small dogs.

The internal was amazing all open plan and spotless throughout minimal within but quality.

Overall an excellent relaxing stay not disturbed by anyone and ideal position to travel to various locations in Dorset we will highly recommend this to anyone who wants a relaxing break and especially dog lovers.


Darren from Lapworth stayed at Merry Hill Barn for 8 nights in March 2019


Jasmin replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you very much for your 5 star review! We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Merry Hill Barn and we hope to welcome you back.

Easy to book and good feedback from our colleagues

Review submitted on Fri, 22 Feb 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The customer service team are very helpful and cant do enough to help and answered my many questions.
My colleagues stayed at Merry Hill Barn and their words were 'this place is insane, you need to book us here again!' They also told me it was comfortable and really nicely decorated.


Sophie from Midsomer Norton stayed at Merry Hill Barn for 4 nights in February 2019


Jasmin replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you very much Sophie, I hope that your colleagues enjoy their up and coming stay at The Grain Store too.

Fantastic barn in peaceful rural location

Review submitted on Mon, 21 Jan 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The barn is a stunning hideaway and very well equipped with all mod-cons (underfloor-heating, flat-screen TV, soundbar, American fridge-freezer, Tassimo, electric fireplace, WiFi etc.) and an ideal base for exploring the area.
Merry Hill Barn is immaculate, very tastefully decorated and in a lovely location.
The totally renovated barn retains its charm and character while being very up-to-date. There is a lovely garden, the beds are very comfortable, the bathrooms are amazing and the kitchen is really well equipped.
Thank you for a fantastic holiday - would happily return in the future;-)


Gunter from 44623 Herne stayed at Merry Hill Barn for 9 nights in December 2018


Jasmin replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you very much for your kind review, we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and Merry Hill Barn and we very much hope to welcome you back in the future.

A Heavenly Retreat

Review submitted on Thu, 06 Dec 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We couldn't have asked for a more perfect place to stay in the beautiful Dorset countryside. Merry Hill Barn is now a beautiful house with large, spacious, light-filled rooms filled with comfortable, modern furnishings. Yet it still retains some of the features of a barn, including stone walls, wood beams and a thatched roof. We loved that we had total privacy with no houses within sight, but we were still near charming Abbotsbury, the sea and many other amazing places. We would definitely stay there again and have recommended Merry Hill Barn to all our friends!

Ruth from Leighton Buzzard stayed at Merry Hill Barn for 3 nights in November 2018


Jasmin replied more than 1 year ago
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Merry Hill Barn and we hope you welcome you and your friends to Merry Hill Barn again

Merry Hill Barn a wonderful holiday venue.

Review submitted on Fri, 02 Nov 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Merry Hill Barn is a recently converted barn located in beautiful unspoilt countryside. The views and the quiet location create a relaxing get away from it all holiday.
The barn has been beautifully converted with a great open plan first floor kitchen/ diner and living area and well furnished bedrooms at ground level each with en-suite facilities.
The furnishings have been carefully selected to create a relaxing high quality environment.
All our party ( 4 adults and 2 boys 13 and 10) enjoyed our stay and want to go again sometime.
Our only disappointment was the garden. Although it is fully enclosed it is not dog proof as our dog soon found!
The garden has a East side gate and a five bar gate that our dog had no trouble going under at will. Our dog kept close to home but if you have a wanderer watch out!
Other than this small matter we could not fault this beautiful holiday destination.


David from Storrington stayed at Merry Hill Barn for 7 nights in October 2018


Jasmin replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you very much for your 5 star review! we very much appreciate it. I have passed your comments regarding your dog over to my manager and we will hope to be able to rectify this issue.

Fabulous stay

Review submitted on Mon, 08 Oct 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had the most fabulous weekend stay at Merry Hill Barn. Could not fault a thing. We enjoyed it so much that we have booked one of their larger barns for a family get together next year !

Carole from Eastleigh stayed at Merry Hill Barn for 3 nights in September 2018


Jasmin replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for your 5 star review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming again.