FB Twitter

The Cow Byre

The Cow Byre

4.5
out of 5
Ratings from 33 reviews
94% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.2
Comfort
4.6
Condition
4.4
Location
4.8
Value
4.1
Customer
Service
4.6


Overall very nice place to stay.

Review submitted on Fri, 08 Nov 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very nice property and well equipped. Only drawback was that we had to have the heating on most of the time to keep the place warm. I don't think the heating was working that well when we were there end October - as the radiators did not seem to get that warm.
But this did not spoil a lovely week there although the owners may want to look at this.


Andrew from Great Hockham stayed at The Cow Byre for 7 nights in October 2019


Jasmin replied 110 days ago
Thank you for your review of The Cow Byre we are glad that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you also for your comments regarding the heating which we are looking in to. We do hope you stay with us again.

Autumn Break

Review submitted on Sun, 06 Oct 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is a lovely cottage in a peaceful location, ideal for our Autumn break - and the weather was lovely, although time in the cottage on a wet day would not have been a problem!

Peter from Burnt Fen stayed at The Cow Byre for 5 nights in September 2019


Jasmin replied 142 days ago
Thank you very much for your review of The Cow Byre. We are so pleased that you had some lovely autumnal weather in which to enjoy Abbotsbury and we do hope that you will return to Wears Farm.

Super Cottage, very well equipped in great location

Review submitted on Fri, 20 Sep 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Cow Byre is a spacious and well equipped cottage. The furnishings are of high standard and everything was in excellent condition. The kitchen has everything needed for most cooking needs. The location is amazing - with access to a walk across the ridge opposite the property. This walk leads to amazing views of Chesil Beach through to Weymouth and beyond.
There is plenty of parking space.


Peter from Tring stayed at The Cow Byre for 7 nights in September 2019


Jasmin replied 159 days ago
Thank you very much for your review of The Cow Byre! We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and got to enjoy Dorset's beautiful views! We do hope that you will return to Abbotsbury again.

The cow byre

Review submitted on Fri, 06 Sep 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Sitting in seclusion in spectacular Dorset countryside, this cottage was spa cious ,well equipped and comfortable. Care has been taken to provide amenities for those of us who are less able. Except there is no walk in shower! Please ,please provide a walk in shower on the ground floor then the cottage will be perfect. However this has not put us off booking the cow byre again. We will look forward to sitting in the sizable lawned area, gazing at that lovely view.

Gwynyfa from Abergavenny stayed at The Cow Byre for 7 nights in August 2019


Jasmin replied 173 days ago
Thank you for your kind review of The Cow Byre we are glad that you had a peaceful stay in Dorset and we do hope that you will stay with us again.

Lovely family break

Review submitted on Wed, 28 Aug 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We had a lovely relaxing break at the Cow Byre. Setting was idillic and the cottage was luxurious. Will definitely book again.


Yvonne from London stayed at The Cow Byre for 5 nights in August 2019


Jasmin replied 182 days ago
Thank you very much for your review, we very much look forward to welcoming you back.

A perfect location for a restful break

Review submitted on Sat, 10 Aug 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A beautiful barn conversion in a peaceful location with stunning views, and a very private garden. The kitchen is very well appointed and a lot of thought has been put into the furnishings. A great location for walking and very close to the beach. I have already recommended these properties to friends.

Jo from Wymeswold stayed at The Cow Byre for 7 nights in July 2019


Jasmin replied 198 days ago
Dear Jo, Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us a review. We are glad you had a restful break at The Cow Byre and we hope that you will stay with us again.

Ticked all the boxes

Review submitted on Fri, 31 May 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had our 90-year old mother with us, and our disabled daughter, so the ground floor bedrooms and bathroom, and easy access to the property, were ideal for us.
The peaceful surroundings were another bonus that completed our refreshing stay.



Valerie from stayed at The Cow Byre for 7 nights in May 2019


Jasmin replied 271 days ago
Thank you very much for your kind review. We are delighted to hear that the stay was enjoyed by all and we hope to welcome you back again.

Winter break

Review submitted on Fri, 01 Feb 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Another cosy and warm stay at Cow Byre. Always clean with nice little touches such as milk, wine and biscuits. Great location with walks from the door.

Deborah from Plymouth stayed at The Cow Byre for 4 nights in January 2019


Jasmin replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your kind review of The Cow Byre, we very much hope to welcome you again soon.

Winter Retreat

Review submitted on Thu, 03 Jan 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
3.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a lovely place to spend a well earned rest. The property was lovely and clean, very well equipped, plenty of everything. Excellent WiFi and tv. Nothing to complain about. A very nice touch was a hand written note upon our arrival wirh a welcoming bottle of bubbly!!

Philip from United Kingdom stayed at The Cow Byre for 21 nights in November 2018


Jasmin replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your kind review, we very much hope that you visit again soon.

Darkness and flies

Review submitted on Mon, 26 Nov 2018
3.2
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
2.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
2.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0

The conversion had been very well done, the beds were comfortable and the towels lovely and soft. The situation was wonderful.

However, we arrived in the dark and - as it happens - in very thick fog, and had a lot of trouble finding the track off the long stretch of main road - the sign needs to be much more obvious and eg if the instructions had said it came soon after the 4th lay-by, this would have helped. We eventually reached the complex of cottages and they were in complete darkness in spite of being equipped with many outside lights, all turned off and with only some central control which we had no access to. Luckily we had a torch. When we got into the cottage we had lights but no heating or hot water and the house was very cold.We had to ring for help and a very helpful young man from the estate came and sorted out these problems. However he switched the outside lights on then they remained on all night and all the next day, finally turning off as it got dark, leaving the cottages in darkness all evening - this continued to be so during every evening of our stay, so if we went out in the evening it was always pitch dark!

Our main problem was that the house was overrun with flies, dead, dying and alive.It was clear no-one had been in to check the place prior to our arrival and it must have been vacant for some while.- the upstairs bed under the Velux windows had 5 dead flies on the pillows and one downstairs pillow had another. Dying flies kept landing on us and altogether we killed around 30-40 in the 4 days we were there. The upstairs Velux windows were the source of the infestation, with fly eggs around the frames.

The cleaning of the place was generally poor, as witness the state of these windows, the coffee machine had been left unwashed and the contents had dried hard inside it, the Ventaxias for the 2 bathrooms were very dirty etc.The carpet in the sitting area was FILTHY!

It would have been helpful if the instructions for operating the TV had been more explicit - it took half an hour to work out how to get it working.

The downstairs twin room had absolutely no chair or stool for clothes when you undressed - we had to fetch one from the dining area.

We left an account of these experiences in the book left for the purpose and are a bit surprised not to have heard from the owners - perhaps they are used to such comments!


Liz from Romsey stayed at The Cow Byre for 4 nights in November 2018


Jasmin replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review and for your comments which i have passed to my manager for review. We have since had a technician out to repair the outdoor light timer and replace parts on the boiler, we are very sorry for the inconvenience this caused.

Amazing location and views

Review submitted on Thu, 01 Nov 2018
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Perfect for our half term break with 2 young children. The views from the Cow Byre were breathtaking. The house was well set out with good quality bed linen and towels.

Amy from Chiddingfold stayed at The Cow Byre for 3 nights in October 2018


Jasmin replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you very much for your kind review, we are very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at The Cow Byre

Lovely place to stay

Review submitted on Thu, 18 Oct 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Enjoyed using this along with the other properties on the site for a family get-together. Delightful place to stay

Guest from Cambridge stayed at The Cow Byre for 3 nights in October 2018


Jasmin replied more than 1 year ago
We are so happy to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay at Wears Farm, and we hope to welcome you all back again.

Beautiful cottage

Review submitted on Thu, 04 Oct 2018
3.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
2.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
A lovely, bright, comfortable and well-appointed cottage, perfect for accessing the Dorset Coastal path and Abbotsbury. Lovely layout and we had a fabulous week's stay.

The only criticisms were that it wasn't as clean on arrival as I would have expected (eg hairs in the bath, dirty cooker hob), has an AWFUL internet connection (less than 1mbps), and a few bits of basic equipment were missing (eg a cafetiere). The range cooker is also not level and properly fitted in its space (such that the adjoining cupboard door doesn't open properly). It was a surprise to find minor lapses such as these in an otherwise luxurious and beautiful cottage.


Clare from Chippenham stayed at The Cow Byre for 7 nights in September 2018


Jasmin replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us a review it is very much appreciated. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your week at The Cow Byre. I am very sorry to hear you have encountered issues with the cleaning and kitchen items and I have passed your comments to the manager. We hope that we can welcome you to one of our cottages again.

An enjoyable stay in a beautiful part of the country.

Review submitted on Mon, 10 Sep 2018
3.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
3.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
A beautiful location and very roomy accommodation with excellent bedrooms and a spacious kitchen. There could perhaps be a little more in the way of saucepans given that up to six people may have to be catered for, but in every other respect the equipment was adequate. All of the property was very clean and tidy when we arrived. Our only problem was the television set up, which does need simplifying so that channels can be found.

John from Malvern stayed at The Cow Byre for 3 nights in August 2018


Amanda replied more than 1 year ago
Many thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. We are glad you enjoyed the location and roomy accommodation. I have passed your comments regarding the kitchen and equipment and the television to the Manager to be reviewed.

Perfect location

Review submitted on Thu, 02 Aug 2018
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
This property is set in an idyllic location with an amazing view of Dorset from its back door - we had a lovely few days here and would recommend this cottage very highly. My family loved waking up to the sounds of the countryside and to see sheep rabbits and cows in the fields next to the property was great for us Londoners!!!

Jonathan from stayed at The Cow Byre for 6 nights in July 2018


Jasmin replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you very much for your kind review. We hope you can stay with us again soon.

Absolutely stunning setting but they forgot to clean.

Review submitted on Mon, 16 Jul 2018
3.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
1.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
The cow byre setting is absolutely stunning, with 180 views across unspoilt rolling countryside. And just above the famous Chesil beach!! Just amazing!! It was just a disappointment that we arrived to find our cottage had not been cleaned since the last occupants , they did offer us another cottage but we wanted to stay in this one because of the views. A little worn inside the property, for a "luxury" cottage but the building itself was beautiful.

Annie from Bury St Edmunds stayed at The Cow Byre for 7 nights in July 2018


Jasmin replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you very much for your review, please accept my apologies again for the trouble you encountered during your stay. We very much appreciate you taking the time to give us feedback and we hope to welcome you again.

Easter Break

Review submitted on Fri, 13 Apr 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A lovely break with Grandparents, husband and young daughter. Provided a good base to explore the area.

Stacey from Ross On Wye stayed at The Cow Byre for 7 nights in March 2018


Jasmin replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for your kind review, we really do appreciate it. So glad to hear that you got to explore the area and we hope to welcome you back again to continue your explorations.

Impromptu short break

Review submitted on Wed, 21 Feb 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A friend and i couldn't attend our friend's Mother's funeral, so decided to do a quick flit to Dorset (where she lives) to give her our support and celebrate her birthday (Valentines Day). Nikki could not have been more accommodating. She allowed us a 2 night break, when the minimum was 3 and gave us extra check in and out time. The bottle of Champers in the fridge was a lovely surprise! Lovely choc biscuits too!

Cow Byre is one of 3 Barn conversions in a landscaped courtyard set in beautiful undulating ancient grazing land. It is slightly off the beaten track, so no traffic, whch is great when you have dogs. The garden is enclosed by stock fencing with a rail on top, approx 4ft. My rather wayward Golden Retriever jumped straight over it to explore within seconds of arriving! There are amazing views of the sea and Chesil Beach from the top of the hill beside the barns. The beds were sumptuously comfortable and all rooms have gorgeous views.

Great walks straight from the doorstep, we had two sunny days even in mid Feb.
The Ilchester Arms in Abbotsbury does great food and is really dog friendly.

If I could suggest improvements, it would be to replace the windows as they were all extremely draughty and whistled better than Roger Whittaker. Also to put sound deadening insulation in the roof as it is really noisy in the bedrooms. Sounds like a Tarpaulin flapping on the roof all night, making sleep difficult. It poured down both nights and was very windy, but we had two whole sunny days!

A wood burner in the lounge would be nice too.


Wendy from Chatham stayed at The Cow Byre for 2 nights in February 2018


Jasmin replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us such an in depth review, we really do appreciate all feedback. I have passed your improvements over to my manager and hope that we can welcome you to one of our cottages again.

Short break cow byre cottage

Review submitted on Sat, 11 Nov 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A very peaceful and relaxing place to stay. An ideal location to explore West Dorset plus lovely walks straight from cottage.

Deborah from Plymouth stayed at The Cow Byre for 4 nights in October 2017


Jasmin replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you very much for leaving us such a kind review! We are so glad that you found the time to go exploring on the beautiful coastline and felt The Cow Byre a relaxing place to return to. We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Average cottage that struggles to live up to the luxury tag

Review submitted on Fri, 10 Nov 2017
2.7
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
2.0
Condition
3.0
Location
3.0
Value
2.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Just spent a week at the Cow Byre and have mixed feelings about the stay. It is at best an average cottage that struggles to live up to the luxurious tag that greets you throughout the many signs in the cottage boasting of luxury. It comes with a luxury price tag and as seasoned visitors to the Dorset area it does not match the standards we have enjoyed in previous cottages.

- directions supplied to the cottage are poorly laid out and difficult to follow - hence reliance on sat nav which takes you the wrong way along Ashley Chase. This road is blocked half way along so means a complicated detour to get back on track. Our waitrose order from the Dorchester store was delayed by two hours as the delivery driver faced the same problems as we did.

- bathrooms in the cottage are very dated - the shower over the bath in the main bathroom looks about 20 years old. The window in the bathroom was clear glass and overlooked the garden. No luxury there. Upstairs bathroom was so hot as to be unbearable at times.

- upstairs bedroom - no door so open staircase to remainder of cottage - bed about an inch off the floor

- sofas - both had dirty coverings and uncomfortable as must have been well used

- kitchen - for a three bedroom cottage there were four cereal bowls and very few glasses. Also why supply only 4 dishwasher tablets - we had to buy our own during the week.

- supplied WiFi was very very slow - you are looking at several minutes to load web pages - the browser frequently timed out. Tasks at home that take about 3-4 minutes took over an hour to complete. Relief to get back home to decent broadband speeds.

- parking - an issue all week as the two cottages adjoining this one had 8 cars between them so coming back on most nights after a day out it was difficult to park

- the cottage is part of a complex - this is not clear on the website and if we had known how close the other cottages were we would not have placed a booking. From some parts of the garden area you are looking directly into the adjoining accommodation

To sum up, an average cottage with a luxury price tag.


Ian from Portishead stayed at The Cow Byre for 7 nights in October 2017


Jasmin replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your comments, we appreciate your feedback and will be looking into the matters you have raised. We are very sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us.

Another great 2 weeks

Review submitted on Fri, 06 Oct 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely location, can just relax and chill after the hustle and bustle of Weymouth and the beach. The cleaning staff are always helpful if there is a query and the facility's are superd

Jon from Weymouth stayed at The Cow Byre for 14 nights in September 2017


Jasmin replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you very much for leaving us such a kind review! We are so glad that you found the time to go exploring on the beautiful coastline and felt The Cow Byre a relaxing place to return to. I will pass your kind words on to our cleaning staff. We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

review

Review submitted on Fri, 08 Sep 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very good property exactly as advertised and described. Excellent location for us with really good views and surrounding walks. Had a problem with the fridge which was resolved within hours by providing a replacement. Really good service.
It had top quality fittings and furnishings. To be really critical, it could have done with a few more glasses/cups and mugs to avoid frequently part loading the dishwasher
We appreciated all the little goodies left in the kitchen, coffee, tea etc.


Mike from Ryde stayed at The Cow Byre for 7 nights in August 2017


Kerry replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at The Cow Byre. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and thank you for your patience and understanding when the fridge broke down. I will pass your feedback to my Manager about the cups/glasses as I am sure that we could provide extras. We hope you return to Abbotsbury again. We are currently renovating out 6th barn which is on the other side of the village and will be open in Spring 2018. Merry Hill Barn will have an inverted layout with 3 ensuite bedrooms downstairs and an open plan kitchen, dining and living area upstairs to take advantage of the uninterrupted views.

A lovely cottage

Review submitted on Fri, 04 Aug 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A lovely clean and spacious cottage with enclosed outside space ideal for dog or small children. Pleasant and quiet location with lovely sea view walks nearby. Owners very helpful when we had a priblem getting the tv to work. Thank you.

Sally from Banstead stayed at The Cow Byre for 7 nights in July 2017


Kerry replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and the special location of Wears Farm in Abbotsbury. It is a very peaceful and picturesque place with easy access to the SWCP and Dorset Ridgeway. We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Lovely accommodation in a lovely location

Review submitted on Fri, 14 Jul 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a lovely stay in this perfectly located accommodation. The property had everything we needed and we had a great holiday. The general cleanliness was good but there were lots of cobwebs at ceiling level, behind the television etc. Overall - lovely accommodation in a stunning location with good local amenities.

Guest from stayed at The Cow Byre for 7 nights in June 2017


Ben replied more than 1 year ago
I am glad you had an enjoyable holiday. Thank you for your observations which we will give consideration to and balance these against the overall needs of our guests.

Peaceful, picturesque location

Review submitted on Fri, 07 Jul 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Cow Byre provided a lovely peaceful setting for our holiday. It was comfortable and well equipped and we enjoyed sitting on the patio area admiring the view from the garden. We were a party of three adults and enjoyed a hill walk from the property to ,Abbotsbury and for all other trips we needed to use the car. We felt we were in a good location to access Bridport, Lyme Regis, Weymouth and visited Swanage where we boarded a steam train to Wareham.

Linda from stayed at The Cow Byre for 7 nights in June 2017


Kerry replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your 5 star review. We are delighted that you all enjoyed your stay at The Cow Byre and it sounds like you made the most of your visit. Access to the SWCP and Jurassic coast is easy from all our properties in Abbotsbury and we are pleased that you found the location convenient for your adventures. Wears Farm is a lovely spot for watching the world go by and we hope to welcome your group back in the future. Our 6th barn conversion, Merryhill Barn on the far east of the village is welcoming guests from 06.04.18 and will be equally comfortable and well equipped but in an even more peaceful and picturesque location!

Cow Byre

Review submitted on Fri, 16 Jun 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Cow Byre holiday cottage is situated in a fantastic location for anyone wishing to explore the Jurassic coast line. From the rear of the cottage there are uninterrupted views of the beautiful Dorset countryside. The cottage is only a short walk from the South West Coastal Path.
The internal of the cottage was maintained to a high standard, with all the mod cons required. Externally the garden was dog and child friendly.
From a customer service viewpoint the service was excellent , from the booking of the cottage, and whilst there in the cottage. We experienced a problem with one of the appliances, One phone call later(Sunday), and the following day all was rectified.

We would certainly look to return, we have stayed in many cottages, all over the country, and I would say that as a whole package this one of the best.


Tim from Waterlooville stayed at The Cow Byre for 7 nights in June 2017


Kerry replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your five star review. We appreciate you taking the time to write such a detailed review which will help future guests paint a picture of the very special and unspoilt place that Abbotsbury is, in particular Wears Farm. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and the uninterrupted beautiful Dorset countryside views. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. We offer 3 and 4 night breaks out of season; the SWCP and South Dorset Ridgeway offer exhilarating walks and the barn conversions are very cosy in the winter.

A Lovely Cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 23 Jan 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We really enjoyed our stay at the Cow Byre, for one week in January 2017. The cottage is one of three around a courtyard. No-one was occupying the other two cottages at the time. The cottages are set in beautiful countryside, with far-reaching views, in a really quiet location. The South Dorset Ridgeway and the remains of Abbotsbury Castle, can be reached in an easy 15 minute walk, with far-reaching views along the coast, and the length of Chesil Beach. The cottage is beautiful, and well-equipped. It has very effective heating. The mezzanine bedroom is a lovely space, warm and snug. Our only complaint is that there is some sort of central heating or hot water motor in the cupboard which hums until midnight, but we got used to it. Apart from that, it is a perfect cottage, with everything you need for an enjoyable stay, including dishwasher with tablets supplied, a generous supply of Dorset tea, a bottle of wine on arrival, plenty of room, freesat TV, etc, etc. It is within easy reach of great walks such as Golden Cap and Colmers Hill. Abbotsbury is great - it has a good little deli/tea shop with pasties and filled rolls, and there is a lovely walk up to St Catherines Chapel, overlooking the village and the sea. We even went to the Kingston Russell Stone Circle, from where you can see the Cow Byre in the distance. We would come again!

Ian and Jackie from Sudbury stayed at The Cow Byre for 7 nights in January 2017


Kerry replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your 5 star review. We really appreciate you taking the time to write such a detailed and thoughtful account of your stay which will help new guests make their decision to stay in our cottages. We are delighted that you enjoyed your 1st stay and look forward to your return in the future, you certainly made full use of your time exploring the Jurassic coast and Dorset countryside. We have not had a report about the humming sound before but thank you for bringing it to our attention because the back up immersion heater is in the mezzanine eaves so we will investigate for the future comfort and enjoyment of others.

New Year Break

Review submitted on Mon, 09 Jan 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed at The Cow Byre for three nights with family over New Year. We loved it! It was spotless on arrival and had everything we needed. Plenty of room, really comfy beds and always lots of hot water. The views were stunning. We would highly recommend this cottage and would definitely stay again!

Gillian from Warrington stayed at The Cow Byre for 3 nights in December 2016


Kerry replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your 5 star review. We are so pleased that you and your family enjoyed your stay at The Cow Byre over New Year celebrations and even more delighted that you still had plenty of room when your party size grew! We look forward to your return to Dorset for more Jurassic fantastic fun filled weekends. The neighbouring properties at Wears Farm are bigger if you need even more space next time!

excellent location comfortable and clean

Review submitted on Sun, 27 Nov 2016
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
good location very comfortable and clean cottage good walks straight from cottage. Outside lights not working.

Deborah from Plymouth stayed at The Cow Byre for 4 nights in November 2016


Kerry replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay at The Cow Byre and the location of Wears Farm in Abbotsbury, which is very popular for those walking the South Dorset Ridgeway and South West Coast Path. We are sorry to hear that the outside lights were not working during your stay, they are motion activated so we will have the sensors/system checked and thank you for bringing the fault to our attention. We hope to welcome you back to the Jurassic coast again in the future...3 and 4 night short breaks are always available outside of school holidays times and we have 5 cottages for you to try!

60th Birthday Celebration Cow Byre

Review submitted on Sat, 05 Nov 2016
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Wonderful location, very well equipped, excellent customer service from booking team. Highly recommended.

Ruby from Staines Upon Thames stayed at The Cow Byre for 7 nights in October 2016


Kerry replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for writing us a review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your 60th Birthday celebrations at The Cow Byre and hope that you will return to Abbotsbury's Jurassic fantastic coast again in the future.

Excellent location

Review submitted on Wed, 07 Sep 2016
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
In a beautiful position surrounded by open countryside but only minutes away from the nearest village.
The open plan living area was ideal, there was everything you could need for a comfortable stay. It was however a shame that there were cobwebs hanging from most of the light fittings. The upstairs bedroom would really benefit from some wardrobe space, as it was we ended up sharing the space in the bedrooms downstairs.


Jane from Pontefract stayed at The Cow Byre for 7 nights in June 2016


Kerry replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. We are delighted that you enjoyed the beautiful location of Wears Farm and open plan layout of The Cow Byre. We apologise that you found so many cobwebs and will be taking this up with our cleaning contractors. We note your comments about limited hanging space in the mezzanine bedroom but unfortunately the eaves restrict us from having a wardrobe so we only have the chest of drawers and hanging pegs. We hope that you will return to one of our five barn conversions in the future.

Countryside heaven

Review submitted on Thu, 25 Aug 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
High standard accommodation, ideally isolated in a calm countryside environment with loads to do within 1/2 hrs.
Comfortable and well stocked rental with views for miles and perfect for walking on the hills or down to the coast.


David from Northampton stayed at The Cow Byre for 4 nights in May 2016


Kerry replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review of your stay at The Cow Byre. We are delighted you enjoyed your trip to Abbotsbury and the beauty of the surrounding Dorset countryside. We hope to welcome you back for more South West Coast Path and Dorset Ridgeway walking in the future. We offer 3 night breaks out of season, perfect for exhilarating winter beach walks and cosy cottage weekends.

Fantastic holiday!

Review submitted on Wed, 17 Aug 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a super week away, fantastic holiday. The location made us really feel away from it all. Loved the fabulous walks from the door step with great views and the cows visiting daily were a real hit with the kids. Thank you, we will definitely consider coming back.

Sam from Ely stayed at The Cow Byre for 7 nights in August 2016


Kerry replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you very much for your review, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at our luxury Dorset cottage in Abbotsbury-by-the-Sea and your walks on the South Dorset Ridgeway and SWCP. Thank you for taking the time to write such a helpful review of The Cow Byre. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon...the cows will still be here waiting for you and if you come in the Spring, it'll be the lambs entertaining the children!