FB Twitter

The Grain Store

The Grain Store

4.7
out of 5
Ratings from 49 reviews
98% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.7
Comfort
4.7
Condition
4.7
Location
5.0
Value
4.4
Customer
Service
4.8


Week in The Grain Store

Review submitted on Tue, 11 Feb 2020
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We added an extra day to our week and loved the grain store. Sufficiently in the countryside but near enough to main roads for good connections. A lovely place to stay, very clean and comfortable. It had the Largest of the 3 gardens for our dog and there are plenty of walks nearby. Walk up the Hill to the ridge and the views are spectacular.
The large hamper was a lovely bonus.
I just wish it had that log burner to finish it off.
Can’t wait to come back again.


Valerie from Chessunt stayed at The Grain Store for 1 nights in February 2020


Jasmin replied 6 days ago
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review for The Grain Store we are so pleased to hear that you were able to enjoy some of the beautiful walks on the ridge and we do hope that you will stay at Wears Farm again or at one of our other properties in Abbotsbury.

Another exceptional visit

Review submitted on Tue, 24 Dec 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is always the first thing that goes in the diary each year.
It truly is a place where you can de-stress, unwind and relax.
We have visited now for several years and can thoroughly recommend so after reading this review my advice would be ... BOOK IT ! ... you’ll love it


Andrew from Southampton stayed at The Grain Store for 7 nights in December 2019


Jasmin replied 58 days ago
Thank you so much for your kind review of The Grain Store and we very much look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Lovely holiday in fabulous accommodation

Review submitted on Sat, 19 Oct 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
House was lovely very clean and spacious with all mod cons. We would recommend to anyone if they want a relaxing break in a stunning location.

Jo from Radcliffe on Trent stayed at The Grain Store for 7 nights in September 2019


Jasmin replied 128 days ago
Thank you very much for your review of The Grain Store. We do hope to welcome you back again.

A Fabulous Property

Review submitted on Tue, 01 Oct 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A wonderful property in a great location and enjoyed by all who stayed there. I would highly recommend.

Ian from Weymouth stayed at The Grain Store for 3 nights in September 2019


Jasmin replied 148 days ago
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us a review and we hope that your time in Abbotsbury and your wedding were all as magical as can be

Wonderful Location

Review submitted on Mon, 23 Sep 2019
3.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The location was excellent with walks from the property as described. Although I can appreciate when first inspected 5* were applicable, many of the furnishings are now well below the rating advertised. Sofas uncomfortable and shabby, bath chipped, covers on one of the twin beds had makeup on it and all the bed covers looked un ironed. Mattresses need some attention.

Despite the above we had an enjoyable stay.


Guest from Banbury stayed at The Grain Store for 7 nights in September 2019


Jasmin replied 155 days ago
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are glad that you had an enjoyable time in Dorset. Thank you also for your comments regarding the furnishings which I have passed to the manager for inspection.

Grain Store, Wears Farm, near Abbotsbury

Review submitted on Fri, 21 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Everything about the property was first rate and all 12 of us enjoyed the location and standard of accommodation..

Guest from Ferndown stayed at The Grain Store for 7 nights in June 2019


Jasmin replied 246 days ago
Thank you very much for your review, we are so glad that you all enjoyed your stay.

A lovely property in a great location

Review submitted on Fri, 31 May 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We have been to this house before and will probably go again sometime. Comfortable and quiet - and our dog enjoyed the garden and surrounding area!

Susan from Totnes stayed at The Grain Store for 7 nights in May 2019


Jasmin replied 271 days ago
We are pleased to hear that you and the dog enjoyed the stay. We do hope that you return to The Grain Store again.

A truly relaxing break!

Review submitted on Mon, 29 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed here for a week with our 2 young children (4&2) with the aim to relax in a quality house, clean, child friendly and accessible to villages/towns. Not only is this house based in an amazing location - looking into fields with sheep and newborn lambs, a village nearby, and lots of child friendly places to visit - but the luxury bathrooms and beds meant we could really relax in a very clean, fresh house. The wooden floors downstairs meant that it was easy to keep clean during our stay, even with two children and two dogs! The kitchen was supplied with some cleaning basics which was very helpful. I cannot rate it highly enough. We will definitely be back - maybe even with other family or friends in the adjacent barns!

Robin from Hook stayed at The Grain Store for 7 nights in April 2019


Jasmin replied 302 days ago
Thank you so much for your kind review, we are delighted that you enjoyed your time at The Grain Store and we very much hope that you will return to Wears Farm with your family and friends.

Grain Store

Review submitted on Mon, 08 Apr 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Once again a very comfortable stay in a very well appointed cottage. The peace and quiet was wonderful and the views remain amazing. We had a couple of issues with the property, central heating not working and door strip stopped the front door from closing, both were speedily dealt with and the staff who attended the property were very professional and sorted the problems very quickly.

Louise from Nottingham stayed at The Grain Store for 7 nights in March 2019


Jasmin replied 324 days ago
Thank you for your kind review, we are glad that you enjoyed your stay at The Grain Store and we very much hope to welcome you back.

Another lovely stay at The Grain Store

Review submitted on Fri, 11 Jan 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We very much enjoyed our time in The Grain Store over New Year. There are wonderful countryside views from every window and the accommodation is spacious with every comfort.
We particularly loved the Christmas Tree—such a thoughtful touch and very much appreciated.
Thanks to all at Luxury Dorset Cottages.


Lynda from Romsey stayed at The Grain Store for 7 nights in December 2018


Awesome!

Review submitted on Wed, 21 Nov 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
An amazing house in a stunning location. The barn is spacious, lovely comfy sofas, warm and bed was super comfortable. Powerful showers and really clean. We have already booked to go again. Could not ask for anything better! Home from home.

Guest from Esher stayed at The Grain Store for 3 nights in November 2018


Jasmin replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for your kind review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back next year.

Very comfortable accommodation

Review submitted on Thu, 18 Oct 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is a lovely cottage, particularly when used in conjunction with the other 2 properties for a big family group. Superb location

Guest from Cambridge stayed at The Grain Store for 3 nights in October 2018


Jasmin replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you again for your kind reviews of the properties. We hope to welcome you all back to one or more of our properties again.

Lovely barn close to the chessil beach

Review submitted on Sat, 13 Oct 2018
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Lovely barn in a great setting. Very comfortable inside. Two points I would make - the shower in the double bedroom is very small even if you are a petite person and a few more pieces of crockery would be very useful. Just enough cups, plates etc fr six people is too short. Apart from this a lovely place to stay and we will certainly return at some time.

Veronica from Henlow stayed at The Grain Store for 7 nights in September 2018


Jasmin replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you very much for your review, we are very glad to hear that you got to enjoy the beautiful setting of The Grain Store. Thank you for your comments which I have passed across to my manager. We hope to welcome you to Wears Farm again.

Wonderful family holiday

Review submitted on Fri, 14 Sep 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed in the Grain store for a week at the end of the summer holidays. It's a lovely large property with outstanding views of the surrounding farmland. We had lots of walks around the fields and up on to the ridge for stunning views.
The accommodation was very comfortable, lots of open space and uncluttered.
The bed in the double room proved for a very uncomfortable night sleep and the matress needs replacing but other then that the facilities were fantastic.
We will definitely be back again!


Jennifer from stayed at The Grain Store for 7 nights in August 2018


Amanda replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review for The Grain Store we are glad you enjoyed the views. We will look into the issue you have raised and will look forward to seeing you again.

Loved the setting!

Review submitted on Wed, 12 Sep 2018
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Thoroughly enjoyed our stay and totally fell in the love with the location. Beautiful barn conversion set in a perfectly tranquil place - we loved the short walk up the hill in front of The Grain Store to the coastal path & the glorious view along Chesil Beach to Portland - it was breathtaking. Both my little girls & my mother in law enjoyed all that the Grain Store had to offer. Would definitely consider coming back.


David from Tunbridge Wells stayed at The Grain Store for 7 nights in August 2018


Amanda replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review. We are glad that you and the family enjoyed the property and the location. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

One of our favourite cotages to stay in

Review submitted on Sat, 25 Aug 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Since we discovered this cottage a few years ago, we always enjoy coming back. Excellent. Thank you.

Guest from Beckenham stayed at The Grain Store for 14 nights in August 2018


Jasmin replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your 5 star review. We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

wonderful doggy walks

Review submitted on Fri, 20 Jul 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed in the grain store for one week in early July and having had a very busy year and recently retired the peace and quiet
and waking up to skylarks singing was wonderful. Our dog, Harry, loved all the walks off the lead through the fields and on the ridge. We will be back.


Christine from Ascot stayed at The Grain Store for 7 nights in July 2018


Suffering from a lack of investment

Review submitted on Mon, 16 Jul 2018
2.7
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
2.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
2.0
Location
4.0
Value
2.0
Customer
Service
3.0
We stayed in this property in 2015 and were very disappointed in the general condition of it when we went back this year. Not very clean, particularly the entrance and patio windows. Marks on the internal walls. Fluff on the bedroom carpet. Poor repairs on the lounge ceiling. There was a large screw on the patio that I stood on. There was old dog excrement on the lawn in several places - is this not checked? Threadbare quilt cover in master bedroom. The towels were coarse. The patio furniture was flimsy and uncomfortable. The property is in a great location but it needs some proper maintenance and upgrades. A few suggestions would be redecoration, new bed linen and towels, more luxurious garden furniture, perhaps some loungers to enjoy the sun (we had to lie on the lawn on a blanket and cushions), a bigger walk-in shower in the ensuite (I am 6' 4" and couldn't stand up in the existing one) and there is nowhere to put toiletries in the shower. There is evidence of penny-pinching which is at odds with the 'luxury' tag; no additional kitchen roll, toilet rolls, bin bags etc. We had to buy some, which didn't seem right after spending so much on renting the property. Our own home is cleaner and more comfortable and we certainly won't be going back or recommending the property unless it is improved.

Guest from Sheffield stayed at The Grain Store for 7 nights in June 2018


Jasmin replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your comments, we appreciate your feedback and will be looking into the matters you have raised.

Wonderful stay

Review submitted on Mon, 11 Jun 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had such a wonderful stay it was really the perfect start to our trip around the country. The cottage is really spacious and comfortable. It’s clean and well kept and has lovely original features. We were so impressed we are already thinking of going back.

Mr from Waltham Chase stayed at The Grain Store for 3 nights in June 2018


Jasmin replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us such a kind review. We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Another great visit and friends reunion

Review submitted on Fri, 04 May 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have been coming to Wears Farm for several years and it's never failed to please. As with many groups of friends we are spread across the country Lake District, Cheshire & East Sussex and so came together for the first time in three years to the Grain Store. The Grain Store is a great venue with its open plan living and terrific outside space, from working in the kitchen you can still put the world to rights even when people are at the dining table or on the couch. The outside offers open views across the valley towards Dorchester, the lounge window one can see Hardys monument in the distance and from the front door the Ridgeway. From the three well appointed bedrooms the views are just as pleasing, especially our choice of bedroom the one facing west with the large window and window seat. From this view point the Ridgeway, Hardys monument and views towards Dorchester can be gained, and on the sunny mornings it streams through the window into the bedroom.
Having mentioned the Ridgeway its on the doorstep and just a few minutes walk up one is greeted with to me, one of the best views in the world Abbotsbury, the Fleet, Chesil Beach and on to Portland in the distance. On many mornings we have taken a flask of coffe and sat here watching the world go by. Having done many of the walks locally we took our friends up onto Portland, left our cars near to Church Ope, then the bus to Weymouth bus station from here you can walk the old Portland railway back to Church Ope. There are more details online look for Julia Bradbury railway walk Weymouth to Portland, we all enjoyed it the bus ride , the walk and the views.
The Grain Store is well a ppointed in kitchen terms enabling one to easily cater for all, with a large dining table along with the teak garden furniture where you can breakfast taking in the views or during the day Take advantage of the supplied BBQ, bring your own charcoal.
Having said the kitchen is well appointed there are many opportunities to dine locally in Pucknowle, Portisham or West Bexington as well as further a field.
There is so much to do, too much to mention here and the week soon went but we all agreed we would be back.


Clive from Keswick stayed at The Grain Store for 7 nights in April 2018


Jasmin replied more than 1 year ago
I am so glad you all enjoyed your holiday. It was a pleasure to have you stay Clive and I look forward to speaking with you again soon.

Easter break

Review submitted on Fri, 20 Apr 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our fourth stay with Luxury Dorset Cottages. As usual, the accommodation was very clean. The location is excellent for exploring this area of Dorset. We did experience a problem with the cooker on our first evening but an engineer arrived within a couple of hours of raising the issue. I have scored the comfort as “OK” due to the issue with the water pressure which greatly affected the showers and the washing machine which needs upgrading. We had a lovely break and shallvbe visiting again.

Guest from Nottingham stayed at The Grain Store for 7 nights in March 2018


Jasmin replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, I am delighted that you enjoyed your break. I am very sorry that you encountered issues with the water pressure and can assure you i have brought this to the attention of my manager. I look forward to getting you all booked in for another break soon.

Lovely barn

Review submitted on Tue, 09 Jan 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had the most enjoyable stay at The Grain Store. It was spacious, beautifully situated with countryside views from all the windows and spotlessly clean. Everything was of the highest standard— kitchen, bedrooms, bathrooms all excellent.
The Christmas Tree was just fabulous and it was so nice to come back after a day out and put the lights on, making the atmosphere very festive and relaxing.
Customer service as ever was brilliant. Thank you to Jasmine, Nikki and the team at Dorset Luxury Cottages.
We will definitely return.


Lynda from Romsey stayed at The Grain Store for 4 nights in December 2017


Lovely place to stay

Review submitted on Wed, 27 Dec 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Not our first stay with Luxury Dorset Cottages so we knew the standard of accommodation would be high and we were not disappointed. A very comfortable, stylish and well equipped cottage in a great location. We look forward to visiting again.

Kelly from Corsham stayed at The Grain Store for 3 nights in December 2017


Jasmin replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us such a kind review. We look forward to welcoming you to one of our cottages again.

Wonderful house in beautiful location

Review submitted on Fri, 01 Dec 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We loved staying at The Grain Store (we hired the Cow Byre too for a family minibreak). The location is wonderful, a stone's throw from Abbotsbury with spectacular views. Good for the soul!
The main room is huge and comfortable so great for a large family get-together. The kitchen was well-equipped. My only recommendation would be to install a wood-burning stove which would improve the cosiness factor by tenfold!
The bedrooms are lovely, cosy and comfortable. Customer service was faultless, everyone we spoke to was super helpful, and they even let us stay a little longer while we were waiting for our car to be towed away, which was very kind!
We also really appreciated the warm welcome given to dogs. We will definitely be back!


Romilly from Old Windsor stayed at The Grain Store for 3 nights in November 2017


Jasmin replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to write us such a kind review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at The Grain Store (and The Cow Byre). Wears Farm is a very special location in Abbotsbury that we are pleased to hear you enjoyed . The Grain Store is particularly lovely in the summer and we hope to welcome you back then.

Absolutely Love These Dorset Cottages

Review submitted on Mon, 13 Nov 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I think this is about my 6th time I've stayed with Luxury Dorset Cottages having stayed at Clayhanger, Melbury Osmond and most recently at the Grain Store. The accommodation is always perfect - to an exceptionally high standard and the most convenient of locations for walking along the coast from Abbotsbury. The White Company linen is fab and the kitchen kitted out to a good level where we can all cook an evening meal. I would always recommend to anyone wanting to stay in the area.

Fleur from Bath stayed at The Grain Store for 3 nights in November 2017


Jasmin replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your 5 star review. We are delighted that you have returned to our cottages and are so pleased that you enjoyed your trip as much as last time and hope that you return to our magical part of Dorset in the future

An excellent barn conversion that I could live in all year round

Review submitted on Fri, 03 Nov 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
I visited the Grain Store with my daughter, son-in-law and two grandchildren aged 2 years and 11 weeks. There was plenty of room for us all, and my granddaughter loved the open space downstairs. It was cosy and warm, which is very useful for an October holiday. Every facility you could want was there. It was peaceful but well placed for walking and visiting places in Dorset. Abbotsbury is a lovely place to visit and has an abundance of tea shops. The Grain store is a short drive from many beaches, which my granddaughter loved, even in October. I would love to return in the summer, to make use of the garden and bbq, and visit the many places that we didn't have time to visit.

Guest from Thame stayed at The Grain Store for 7 nights in October 2017


Jasmin replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at The Grain Store. Wears Farm is a very special location in Abbotsbury within peaceful and unspoilt Dorset countryside We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the location and the surrounding scenery. The Grain Store is particularly lovely in the summer and we hope to welcome you back then.

Lovely setting

Review submitted on Fri, 03 Nov 2017
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
2.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This property is in a lovely setting with fantastic walks from the property. The open plan living area is great for young children with a great enclosed garden, safe for them and the dog.

Guest from Halesowen stayed at The Grain Store for 7 nights in October 2017


Jasmin replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, we greatly appreciate it. We are so glad that you got to go and explore what the lovely Abbotsbury has to offer. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Superb cottage in lovely location

Review submitted on Fri, 06 Oct 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Grain Store exceeded our expectations. Very well equipped and comfortable. Location is ideal for visiting all the attractions of the Jurassic Coast. Fully recommend this property and we look forward to a return visit. 5*****

Dallas from Towcester stayed at The Grain Store for 7 nights in September 2017


Jasmin replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us such a kind a review. We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay at The Grain Store and had everything that you needed. We look forward to welcoming you again to this or any of our other properties.

Beautiful cottage, great location

Review submitted on Sat, 30 Sep 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed at the cottage for one week in August 2017. It's in a great location, close to Abbotsbury, but tucked away on a farm, with views over green fields. It's very peaceful. The cottage itself is large, with an open-plan kitchen/dining/living area. The bedrooms are all of a good size and the beds are extremely comfortable. There is also a good-sized enclosed garden for the kids to run around in. It is very well-equipped and has much more of a modern feel than many cottages we have previously stayed in. We really enjoyed our stay and hope to return next year.

Guest from Richmond stayed at The Grain Store for 7 nights in August 2017


Jasmin replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, we greatly appreciate it. We are so glad that you had such a peaceful time but still got to go and explore what the lovely Abbotsbury has to offer. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Grain Store again soon.

A fabulous cottage in the most wonderful location!

Review submitted on Fri, 29 Sep 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful week at the Grain Store - the cottage is so well equipped with great attention to detail, everything you could possibly need for your holiday and very comfortably furnished. It's in an amazing location with easy walking access to the coastal path and all the wonderful views of Chesil Beach and beyond. The views from every angle of the cottage are really beautiful and it's so quiet and peaceful. We would really recommend the cottage for a great stay in Dorset and look forward to returning at some point in the future!

Gail from stayed at The Grain Store for 7 nights in September 2017


Jasmin replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your review, we appreciate you taking the time. We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed your week and had everything that you needed. We look forward to welcoming you to enjoy the Dorset coast line in the future.

Ideally situated

Review submitted on Mon, 25 Sep 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The accommodation was perfect for our two granddaughters to meet for the first time, as one lives in Sydney. All the rooms are spacious, well furnished and clean. If you are looking for remoteness within half a mile from the main road, this is the place. The views are stunning and a short climb to the top of the hill gives a perfect view along Chesil Beach to Weymouth.

Very well presented. Men should ensure that they shaver adaptor plug as there is no shaver point in the bathrooms.


Nicholas from Burgess Hill stayed at The Grain Store for 7 nights in September 2017


Jasmin replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for your 5 star review, we greatly appreciate you taking the time to leave a review. I am so glad you had the time to appreciate the tranquility and beautiful views the area has to offer. We hope to welcome you and both of your granddaughters to The Grain Store again soon.

The good far outweighs the disappointing.

Review submitted on Sat, 19 Aug 2017
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
The converted barns look stunning on arrival and on entering the Grain Store, we were all delighted with the spacious, light and homely interior. It was well equipped (all good quality essential kitchen bits and pieces, utility area full of everything you might need etc). The bedrooms were all beautifully made up and come the night time, we all slept well as it was pitch black (no street lights) and completely quiet (baa the sheep . . .pun intended!) The outside area was mostly enclosed flat lawn, and also a flagged area with solid wooden outdoor furniture and large barbecue. The surrounding fields were full of sheep in fields that meant you could walk from the door. The general area is coastal (just a short drive to beaches) with plenty of good places to eat and drives of between 10 and 60 minutes to get to all the nearby attractions and places to visit.

We were surprised to find a small white plastic kettle which didn't match the quality of anything else and the grill on the cooker was broken for the whole of the 2 weeks we were there. We also had a leak from the ceiling when showers were used and no hot water for a short period. We were disappointed that, we believe just once, a plumber entered the barn to fix these problems when we were out and with no previous agreement with us. We are still waiting to hear back from the owners regarding these points.

We would recommend the Grain store as a fantastic base from which to explore Dorset.




Carolyn from Huddersfield stayed at The Grain Store for 14 nights in July 2017


Kerry replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review of your long awaited stay at The Grain Store. I am so pleased that despite the various hiccups along the way you and your family enjoyed your stay in Abbotsbury. We really appreciate your patience and understanding with the cooker and shower repairs and I understand my Manager has written to you. Unfortunately, the grill door was broken on the 1st day of the school holidays and the replacement took 5 weeks to arrive but I can confirm that it was installed for the last week of the school holidays. We are very sorry for the inconvenience this caused but thank you for your understanding. The barns were converted in 2009 so things do inevitably break and we try to fix things ASAP. The shower was much quicker and we managed to re-decorate the ensuite during changeover. I hope you and your family choose to return to Abbotsbury in the future, we are currently renovating a 6th barn which was used in the 2015 movie Far From the Madding Crowd. It is a charming thatched barn built in 1798 located 1 mile east of Clayhanger Lodge that will have 3 ensuite bedrooms and an inverted layout to take advantage of the glorious surrounding countryside.

Return visit to the Grain Store

Review submitted on Fri, 18 Aug 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our second holiday at the Grain Store. It was just as wonderful as the first time. The location is absolutely beautiful and our little dog loves being able to go straight out the front door and into the fields. Our grandchildren, both boys, are so happy with the flat grassed garden as all they want to do is play football. The property is so family friendly with the complete open plan layout on the ground floor. We never want to go home!

Stephen from Westerham stayed at The Grain Store for 7 nights in August 2017


Kerry replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of your stay at The Grain Store. We are delighted that you and your family enjoyed this year's holiday as much as last year. We very much hope you return to your Dorset 'home away from home'. We are converting a 6th barn on the other side of the village (2.5 miles east of Abbotsbury Swannery). Merry Hill Barn will have an open plan kitchen/dining/living area like The Grain Store but it will have an inverted layout to take advantage of the uninterrupted countryside views. Downstairs will be 3 ensuite bedrooms and outside there is an even bigger garden for football!

Wonderful repeat stay

Review submitted on Mon, 24 Jul 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our family had stayed previously at The Stables. With additional children now "added" to the family, we chose to rent The Grain Store and The Cow Byre for this return visit. My part of the family were in The Grain Store and it is certainly my favourite of the three properties at Wears Farm. The downstairs living room design is spacious and makes great use of the available space for family dining. The bedrooms were all a very good size and, during the hot nights, we were able to get some airflow through the bedrooms. These cottages have been well maintained since we were there in 2014 (when they were very new) and it's a magical spot. It was a really memorable and enjoyable holiday for all.

Hannah from Saladaeng Soi 1 stayed at The Grain Store for 7 nights in July 2017


Kerry replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your 5 star review. We are delighted that your (now bigger) family returned to Wears Farm and enjoyed your stay. The Grain Store is especially lovely with those gorgeous picture windows and open plan layout downstairs that manages large groups with ease. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your trip as much as last time and hope that you return to our magical part of Dorset in the future...if the family keeps growing, you can always book The Stables too, Wears Farm can sleep 20 in total!

Recommended

Review submitted on Mon, 10 Jul 2017
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Wonderful stay, weather and accommodation. There was plenty of drawer and hanging space with a generous supply of hangers.
We would stay there again. We had a leak in the bathroom which was dealt with promptly.


Jennifer from Tunbridge Wells stayed at The Grain Store for 7 nights in June 2017


Kerry replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your review, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay at The Grain Store. We appreciate your cooperation and patience whilst we dealt with the bathroom leak. It is always unfortunate when something breaks down and we do not wish the interruption or inconvenience on our guests but inevitably these things do happen. We will always do out best to put things right as quickly as possible. We thank you for your assistance and hope that you will return to one of our 6 luxury Dorset cottages again in the future.

A lovely barn conversion

Review submitted on Fri, 07 Jul 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We thoroughly enjoyed our week at The Grain Store. It's a beautifully converted barn - and Abbotsbury is a lovely place to visit, with plenty to do.

The kids loved seeing sheep wander past at the end of the garden and the views from outside are incredible.


Martin from Cuckfield stayed at The Grain Store for 7 nights in June 2017


Kerry replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your review, we really appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. We are delighted that your family enjoyed the very special secret (to those who don't know!) location of the Grain Store at Wears Farm and Abbotsbury in general. We hope you will return to our Luxury Dorset Cottages and if you do, you may like to try Merryhill Barn which was used in the filming of the 2015 Far From the Madding Crowd movie.

So peaceful but a good central base for seeing Dorset

Review submitted on Thu, 08 Jun 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We loved the views from every window. After hectic days enjoying beautiful Dorset it was a joy to return to the comfort and calm of the Grain Store. High specification throughout.

Rosemarie from Oakham stayed at The Grain Store for 7 nights in May 2017


Kerry replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at The Grain Store. Wears Farm is a very special location in Abbotsbury within peaceful and unspoilt Dorset countryside yet within 1 mile of the B3157 providing easy access to the World Heritage UNESCO Jurassic coast. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the location and the surrounding scenery. The Grain Store does have particularly lovely picture windows and we hope to welcome you back in the future.

The lovely Grain Store.

Review submitted on Mon, 29 May 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
En suite shower cubicle rather too small for comfort, and bath slippery when using shower above. Otherwise, a lovely, spacious and good quality holiday ottage. c

Stephen from Lakenheath stayed at The Grain Store for 7 nights in May 2017


Kerry replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We are delighted that you returned to The Grain Store and are pleased to hear that your enjoyed your stay as much as in 2015. We note your comments about the ensuite shower cubicle but unfortunately, space does not allow for a bigger one and we do provide a bath mat for the family bathroom which we hope provided some assistance. We are currently 7 weeks into our newest barn conversion which will have 3 ensuite bedrooms so perhaps if you decide to return in 2019, you might like to try Merry Hill Barn on the other side of the village. It's a charming thatched barn in another idyllic setting that featured in Far From the Madding Crowd (2016). We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

A Magical Place in Dorset

Review submitted on Fri, 12 May 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
There are places you visit and there are places you stay and return also those places you don't want to leave.

The Grain Store at Wears Farm is the latter. Over a few years we have stayed with both family and friends and thoroughly enjoyed each stay. The properties are always well furnished and maintained and should there be any issue it is always dealt with promptly and efficiently. Prior to arrival you are always notified, helps to make sure you've planned your stay then on arrival an essentials welcome pack. The property is well fitted out both internally having all the facilities plush washing machine and dryer should the need arise. Outside the garden has team furniture and barbecue which is great on those late summer evenings, to eat, drink and watch the sheep and cows in the field and the various birds, buzzards etc.

Location, the words are hard to describe but in such a location the views from any window are always terrific. From the breakfast table you can look on direction down the valley and the other up on to the Ridgeway.

From the door there are several circular walks where the car is not required or catch the bus "The Jurassic Coaster" from the stop at the end of the lane. Locally there are a number of pubs and restaurant should you wish to eat out.

We will be back.



Clive from Keswick stayed at The Grain Store for 14 nights in April 2017


Kerry replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to write such a helpful, thoughtful and thorough review. It is so wonderful to hear you describe the property, location and surrounding area with the knowledge of a local! I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay again (must be 7 weeks now?) and that you plan to keep returning to your 'home away from home' in Dorset. You are always welcome, we thank you for being such a helpful guest when things breakdown (the cooker hood is now working!) and we look forward to hearing from you in the future.

Lovely short break

Review submitted on Fri, 31 Mar 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely 4 night break in March. Accommodation was excellent. Stunning views all around. Situated on the coast road so easy to get out and about. Lovely walk from the property into Abbotsbury.Bed was very comfortable, shower cubicle in ensuite was a little small so used the main bathroom. All in all a great find.

Christine from Kings Lynn stayed at The Grain Store for 4 nights in March 2017


Kerry replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at The Grain Store in Abbotsbury which is very well situated on the Jurassic coast and makes a perfect base for exploring the local area. Wears Farm is also perfect for walks straight out on the South Dorset Ridgeway and SWCP. We are pleased that you took advantage of an out of season short break at our luxury Dorset cottages and hope to welcome you back in the future.

Wonderful week-end

Review submitted on Mon, 27 Mar 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The barn was amazing, very clean , comfortable and with luxurious touches. A welcome pack was a lovely surprise and started us off nicely. We were a family of 6 adults , our 3 year old grand-daughter and small dog finally able to all meet up in one place. The barn was very spacious and we had plenty of room to relax in . We arrived in thick fog which meant the incredible views were hidden but were blessed with a sunny day on the next day. Hope to return again, maybe in the autumn, would highly recommend!

Christine from Steyning stayed at The Grain Store for 3 nights in March 2017


Kerry replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your five star review. We are delighted that you all enjoyed your stay in Abbotsbury and were wowed by the views in the morning. Wears Farm has a very special and almost secret location which is a delight for those who find it. We look forward to your return and are pleased that you have found somewhere so lovely for future family gatherings.

Excellent accommodation with everything you could need

Review submitted on Fri, 24 Mar 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Brilliant week at the Grain Store. The accommodation is excellent it's a very quiet location and off peak the price is excellent value. We will be back. It's great that we could take the dog too. Overall excellent.

Diane from South Brent stayed at The Grain Store for 7 nights in March 2017


Kerry replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your five star review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at The Grain Store. The seasonal discount is very good and at £60 per night/£10 pppn makes the perfect excuse for a winter break! We hope you will return again for more lovely walks on the South Dorset Ridgeway and South West Coast Path in Jurassic fantastic Abbotsbury.

The Great Christmas Break

Review submitted on Sun, 08 Jan 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The accommodation was excellent, we could not fault. Clean, modern and such a well equipped kitchen to handle the Christmas Day lunch. The location in the Dorset countryside was to die for. Such great views across the countryside from all windows. My Japanese partner and her kids travelled from Osaka, Japan and loved their first Christmas in England, made better by the accommodation already made up with a decorated real Christmas tree and other festive decorations. Thanks for that it added to the festive feel of the property. We had a delicious fresh turkey ordered from the local Ducks Farm Shop recommended by Customer Services, thanks for that, it made our Christmas lunch.
The Customer Service from start to finish was excellent. We had a central heating/hot water component failure on Christmas Eve and the problem was dealt with efficiently and immediately without hesitation by the customer service. Our thanks to the plumber and electrician for their prompt service getting the system running again the same day.
We would highly recommend the Grain Store to anyone for a winter or summer stay. It is in a great location to explore the Dorset coast and surrounding area.
We had a fantastic Christmas at the Grain Store and would like return again.


Paul from Trowbridge stayed at The Grain Store for 7 nights in December 2016


Kerry replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for our 5 star review. It is greatly appreciated that you have taken the time to write such a thorough review which will help other people make their decisions when choosing to stay with us. It is refreshing to hear your gratitude and understanding for when things go wrong because we do try our very best to put them right as soon as we are notified and of course there is never a convenient time for things to breakdown but we are thrilled that everything was fixed on Christmas Eve. It was a pleasure taking your booking and helping you plan a quintessentially British Christmas for your Japanese partner and kids. We are delighted that they enjoyed themselves and you enjoyed exploring this Jurassic fantastic piece of Dorset coastline. We look forward to welcoming you all back in the future and you are absolutely right that Abbotsbury is a fabulous part of England in all seasons. Arigatou!

A lovely week in Dorset

Review submitted on Fri, 04 Nov 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A perfect week in one of our favourite parts of the country with beautiful scenic views, and absolute peace. The cottage was very clean and comfy and excellently equipped.

Guest from Beckenham stayed at The Grain Store for 7 nights in October 2016


Kerry replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay on the Jurassic coast in Abbotsbury. Wears Farm is an ideal location for privacy and peace surrounded by glorious, unspoilt Dorset countryside. We are pleased that The Grain Store was everything you hoped for and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Dorset

Review submitted on Fri, 28 Oct 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely barn. Great area for walking and lovely pubs. The situation of this barn is very peaceful and loads of wild life.

Guest from Guildford stayed at The Grain Store for 4 nights in October 2016


Kerry replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your 5 star review. We really appreciate you taking the time to write us a review and are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at The Grain Store and in Abbotsbury in general. Wears Farm is a very special secluded spot and perfectly situated for Jurassic coast exploring and Dorset Ridgeway/SWCP walking. We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Another wonderful break at the Grain Store

Review submitted on Fri, 16 Sep 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A wonderful place to stay with the most fantastic views across the Jurassic coast. The grain store accommodation is like home from home with everything to make a most comfortable stay.

Nina from Nuneaton stayed at The Grain Store for 7 nights in September 2016


Kerry replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your Jurassic fantastic review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your 2016 stay as much as you did in 2014 and look forward to welcoming you back again in the future to your Dorset 'home away from home'.

Ideal family accommodation

Review submitted on Fri, 02 Sep 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Grain store offered us everything needed for a family of 6 stay plus the dog. The location, so close to the Ridgeway, meant easy access for some pleasant walk. We had excellent weather all week so the bar-b-q and outside furniture located in its own fenced garden area were used most evenings. The accommodation is well appointed and comfortable.

David from Bramcote stayed at The Grain Store for 7 nights in August 2016


Kerry replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your 5 star review. We are delighted that The Grain Store fulfilled all your holiday needs. The location is really quite special and walking out on to the South Dorset Ridgeway is a treat enjoyed by many of our guests and their four legged friends! We have another property called Clayhanger Lodge which is located near the World's only Swannery in Abbotsbury and has easy access to the SWCP. We hope to welcome you and your family back for more Dorset adventures in the future.

Special, peaceful place to stay

Review submitted on Thu, 18 Aug 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely barn, in superb, quiet location. Abbotsbury lovely, make sure you buy some delicious beef from the local butcher and fish in Bridport.
Only suggestion is to take your own towels as the ones provided are a bit on the small side.


Chris from Chalfont St Peter stayed at The Grain Store for 7 nights in June 2016


Kerry replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We are delighted that you enjoyed the barn, location and village. Abbotsbury is a very special place and Wears Farm has a nice secret spot in it! We are really pleased you had the opportunity to sample Dorset's larder of loveliness including the locally reared longhorn beef from Bride Valley and the wet fish landed daily in West Bay. I note your comments on the towels which we will look into improving when we next purchase and we hope you will return to our Jurassic fantastic coastline again in the future.

A great holiday home

Review submitted on Wed, 17 Aug 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Grain Store delivered on 2 very important fronts: the property itself and the location which is stunning. The house itself is ideal for a family--spacious open plan living downstairs and pretty bedrooms upstairs with amazing views of the farmland. Although tucked away in the countryside it is a very short drive to the coast.
We loved the walk straight from the house that, after some exertion climbing a hill, gave a reward of a panoramic view of the Chesil Beach and coastline to Portland. Our little dog had the most wonderful time running up there each day.
The completely flat grassed garden to the rear of the property was also ideal for 2 football mad grandsons.


Stephen from Westerham stayed at The Grain Store for 7 nights in August 2016


Kerry replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for leaving such a thorough and detailed review which will be so useful to potential bookers and future travellers. You have painted a beautiful and accurate picture of The Grain Store and its setting which is in a very special part of Dorset. We are delighted that you and your family enjoyed your trip and hope to welcome you back in 2017 for more Jurassic fantastic adventures. Thank you for taking the time to write such a positive and helpful review, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay in Abbotsbury-by-the-Sea.