FB Twitter

The Pilot's House

The Pilot's House

4.5
out of 5
Ratings from 13 reviews
92% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.8
Comfort
4.5
Condition
4.5
Location
4.6
Value
4.2
Customer
Service
4.6


The 200-year-old Pilot’s House, in Deal, Kent has been lovingly renovated by the current owners, both of whom work in design, to blend contemporary style and cosy cottage charm. The result is a welcoming and comfortable little house, full of interesting objects and artwork. The cottage sleeps four guests and has whitewashed walls and floorboards and a subtle seaside palette of greens, blues and yellows which, along with original wood features, warms things up. It has been furnished and decorated to feel very much like a home from home. The cottage also has a gorgeous paved garden which is a real suntrap.

The charming property, which gets its name thanks to the occupation of one of its earliest residents, a ship pilot in the port of Deal in the 1840s, sleeps four, with one double bedroom and one twin, and would be perfect for a couple or a small family. Due to a steep staircase, it is probably not suitable for anyone with limited mobility. Located in the heart of Deal’s conservation area, it is only a minute’s walk to the seafront and the vibrant town centre.

Delightful

Review submitted on Sun, 09 Jan 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Perfectly located on a quiet road on the edge of the conservation area, 2 minutes walk from the beach. Warm, comfortable, stylish and well-equipped, with a French deli, independent specialist wine shops, a butcher and numerous other lovely shops all just a short wander away. Lovely.

Nicky from London stayed at The Pilot's House for 4 nights in January 2022


Lovely house, perfect location

Review submitted on Sun, 31 Oct 2021
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Brilliantly located house made the perfect little base for our holiday exploring Deal and surrounding areas with the kids. We had to park along the seafront which was about a 5/10 minute walk from the house but this wasn't an issue as it was a lovely walk back to the house along the beach and down the beautiful, quiet side roads.
The house itself was decorated to be in keeping with its history and fairly spacious, apart from head height in a few places. If I was being picky there isn't much storage in the house, though, no wardrobes and only a three drawer chest of drawers in each bedroom which meant with four people in the house for a week, we were living out suitcases as not much would fit in these.
Not very child friendly upstairs for young children either, our 5 year old was ok but our 3 year old struggled.
Overall, despite these small points, we had a lovely holiday in a well equipped house


Rebecca from Burton-on-trent stayed at The Pilot's House for 7 nights in October 2021


A charming cottage

Review submitted on Sun, 24 Oct 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A wonderful cute cottage situated in a very quiet street, but only a few minutes from shops, bars restaurants, Saturday market etc



Nichola from London stayed at The Pilot's House for 7 nights in October 2021


A lovely place to stay and great location

Review submitted on Mon, 18 Oct 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage is lovely, quirky and comfortable. A nice Quiet location. Amenities close by, however some independent shops and restaurants are closed Monday to Wednesday so be prepared to eat in or wander further a field.
Wifi needs attention. All in all would recommend it and would stay there again.


Steve from Leicester stayed at The Pilot's House for 5 nights in October 2021


A little gem in the centre of Deal

Review submitted on Tue, 28 Sep 2021
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed @ The Pilots cottage for a week from 3-10 September. The cottage is in the perfect location a few minutes from the beach and a few minutes from the high street. We love the conservation area where the Pilots cottage is located and it was perfect for us. We did not really need to speak to anyone so difficult to answer the customer service question.
Only things I can think of were so minor- the bathroom door slides and is on a runner and often comes off of the run so it is difficult to open when it is closed so I had to be rescued quite a lot! Also some cushions for the garden furniture would be nice.
I have never had to pay £200 security deposit when booking a cottage so guess this is to do with Keepers cottages? Not a problem but we have booked many cottages and never paid this before. I know it is refundable but it just feels that you aren’t trusted? Maybe the owners or Keepers cottages have had bad experience with past visitors?
All in all the cottage was perfect and we are hoping to return and would most definitely recommend this lovely little cottage seeped in character.
Do you want to sell?!

Thank you


Karen from Marden stayed at The Pilot's House for 7 nights in September 2021


A gem of a house

Review submitted on Mon, 27 Sep 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The immense and varied collection of books, the artwork on the walls, the idyllic garden all added to the pleasure.
In practical terms - the house was well equipped and comfortable The numerous blankets and fire catered for autumn and winter visitors. The street was quiet, similarly the other residents.
As we had no car, the parking restrictions were not applicable. Bus stops were close, as were the high street shops.
To have the opportunity to stay there was a privilege.


Marion from Mottingham stayed at The Pilot's House for 7 nights in September 2021


A nice small cottage, good for couples

Review submitted on Mon, 23 Aug 2021
3.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
2.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed in the Pilot's House as a family of four with young children. The cottage was smaller than some of the other fisherman's style cottages that we've stayed in around Deal, and I would say it is better suited to a couple. Definitely dog friendly, and had bowls/treats for dogs etc.

The staircase is extremely steep and leads directly from the bedrooms, with the door to the twin room being off the side of the staircase. Without stair gates, this was extremely unsafe for young children, particularly given the bathroom was downstairs and we the children needed to navigate the stairs if they needed the bathroom in the night.

There is very limited storage space in the cottage, with no hanging space aside from some hooks on the wall in the twin room and the living room (no wardrobes), which makes it tricky for a longer stay.

It was a very good location for the beach and access to town, and we didn't struggle with parking in nearby streets. The backyard and BBQ was a great space and larger than many that you get in the area. I would stay in the property again as a couple, but it was too small for us with the children and I wouldn't say it was child friendly due to the staircase.


Nicola from Embsay stayed at The Pilot's House for 14 nights in July 2021


Phoebe Shipton replied 271 days ago
Dear Nicola, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of The Pilot's House. I am sorry to hear that you found the cottage stairs too steep for your children, which resulted in some lower scores for comfort and value. It does mention twice on the website listing that the cottage has steep stairs, so I will see if I can make that more clear somewhere. I know that the stairs are typical of an old cottage but we have had lots of families with children stay before and haven't had any mention of the stairs being unsuitable. I will speak to the owners and ask if they could possibly get some sort of stair gate for the top of the stairs, for when young children come to stay. There is a built in wardrobe in the double bedroom, with hanging space and the twin room has a chest of drawers and some hooks for hanging clothes, which is all stated in the description. I'm pleased to hear that you would return as a couple and we really appreciate the honest feedback. Best wishes, Phoebe

Perfect little short stay/ long stay retreat.

Review submitted on Sun, 22 Aug 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Pilots house was ideal for what I was searching for. Lovely comfortable little accommodation, was pleasantly surprised by the size of the rear courtyard, after seeing the pictures and imagining it quite small.
We stayed with our 3 large breed dogs and there was plenty of space for them when it came to time to wind down.
Parking was a little bit of an ordeal, depending on what time of the day you arrive/get back to the property, a permit is required for parking immediately outside, however there are a couple of spots nearby that are permit free, you just need to be quick to get a spot in the mornings!


Tom from Bodicote stayed at The Pilot's House for 7 nights in August 2021


Excellent stay in Deal at The Pilot House

Review submitted on Sun, 15 Aug 2021
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The Pilot House was great for our trip to Deal. For a family of 3, it was very comfortable, had everything we needed and was close to everything. The backyard was a nice space as well for lunch/dinner outside.

As for location, the beach and long promenade were just a few minutes walk away, . Shops/restaurants/pubs, all within a 5 minutes walk as well!

Easy access to get in/check out, everything we needed to know and helpful hints of the area where provided too.


Guest from London stayed at The Pilot's House for 6 nights in August 2021


Perhaps a case of style over function?

Review submitted on Sun, 27 Jun 2021
3.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The house is in a good location in Deal, close to the High Street and beach but in a quiet street where the noisiest thing you will hear is seagulls.
The back garden is a great little sun trap and very secure for dogs.
The house is very trendy and sometimes it felt as though style had been put ahead of function or comfort, some things looked good but didn't work terribly well.
For a couple, as long as you aren't too big, the house makes a great base. But, for four people the house would be very cramped.


Nicky from Norwich stayed at The Pilot's House for 7 nights in June 2021


The Pilot's cottage

Review submitted on Sun, 20 Jun 2021
4.0
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Overall a delightful cottage with a nice little back yard in which to relax when not out and about. Your hints of things to do in the area and pubs to visit were very useful. On the down side the sliding bathroom door constantly jammed making it a nightmare to get out. A shortage of hand towels, drying-up cloths and in particular cuttlery, we just got by with the number of plates. The glass coffee pot had a broken spout. No recycling box as in your instructions and no reply when we made a phone call to the office.

John from London stayed at The Pilot's House for 7 nights in June 2021


Phoebe replied 335 days ago
Dear John, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are so sorry to hear that the bathroom door was getting jammed and we will get this looked at straight away. We are also sorry to hear that you had a shortage of hand towels and we would have been so happy to bring some to the house had we known. We went to visit the cottage shortly after your stay and found spare drying up cloths in the drawer. The cottage also has enough cutlery and crockery for four guests (maximum occupancy of the cottage) but I am sure that the owners will be happy to provide a few more. We do provide detailed instructions about recycling in our arrival instructions and a list of collection dates so apologies if this wasn't clear. We will look at making this more clear for future guests. I am sorry that you didn't hear back from anyone after your phone call. This is very unusual as we have the phones diverted to our mobile phone out of hours. We have a local team and usually respond very quickly to calls/queries so I can only imagine there was a problem with the line. We would always advise leaving a message or sending an email if you don't get through the first time. Again, thank you for your review. We really value your feedback and will look at sorting these issues for future guests. Kind regards, Phoebe

Agatha

Review submitted on Tue, 11 May 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
All really good. A perfect weekend away for me and my dauhgter. Such a lovely house and many thanks for the treats on arrival!

Guest from London stayed at The Pilot's House for 3 nights in May 2021


A house to stay in and be quiet, recharge and relax

Review submitted on Fri, 23 Apr 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I spent 8 days in this lovely house. The owner has tastefully decorated it with such thought . She certainly has a good eye for decorations,
The little street it is set on is very quiet. A short walk to the sea, but away from the hustle and bustle of the High Street ( even though the High st is just at the end of tge street ) you certainly can relax in this home,
I had a wonderful stay,
Thank you to the staff Keepers cottage , you were so helpful.
Also thank you to the owner of this home.


Nico from stayed at The Pilot's House for 8 nights in April 2021