FB Twitter

Ian's Lodge

Ian's Lodge

4.1
out of 5
Ratings from 45 reviews
84% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
3.8
Comfort
4.2
Condition
3.4
Location
4.9
Value
4.1
Customer
Service
4.3


Ian’s Lodge is a comfortable, wooden house, set high up on the hillside, overlooking Kilchoan Bay. Enjoy wonderful sea views over the Sound of Mull from your balcony or climb over the stile at the back to explore heather-covered hills. Set in the crofting village of Kilchoan it is a short walk from a friendly, local pub, shop, tearoom and regular ferry sailings to Tobermory, on the Isle of Mull.

Comfy, well equipped lodge in stunning surroundings.

Review submitted on Fri, 05 Aug 2022
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
2.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The lodge has everything you could possibly want (even sharp knives!) and its location is perfect. However, it is looking tired and in need of refurbishment. Eg some door handles are loose and the shower screen leaks all over the floor. Nevertheless we spent a lovely week there and found the lodge cosy and comfortable. There is plenty to do in the area amidst the stunning scenery. The service from Steading Holidays was excellent.

How would you rate the service we provide as a booking agency?
Very good

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Walking

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Biking

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Wildlife

Could you tell us what your interests are?
History

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Family break

Any friends or family that you would like to recommend Steading Holiday Cottages to?
Many

How did you find the local facilities?
The shop and the Puffin Cafe and lighthouse are excellent. MingaryCastle also.

We would love to hear your stories about your holiday. Are you happy to give us photos and text that we can share on our blog and social media? If yes, please send your text and photos to [email protected] or put them directly on to our Steading Holiday face book, instragram and or twitter
Yes





Ian’s Lodge

Review submitted on Sun, 24 Jul 2022
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were disappointed with this property in comparison with the similar Comraidh accommodation we rented last year. The property seemed dark internally and the standard of the kitchen was inferior. The property had no Wi-Fi which these days one would expect as standard. Other family members were in Comraidh this year at the same time so we had a direct comparison.

How would you rate the service we provide as a booking agency?
Very good

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Walking

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Food

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Boating

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Geology

How did you find the local facilities?
Good food available at the local hotel.





Shane & Rob replied 7 days ago
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review and very sorry to read you were disappointed with Ian's Lodge, we will pass on your comments to the owner. We hope this hasn't put you off in booking another property with us again and hope to welcome you back to Ardnamurchan in the future. Kind Regards, Shane and Rob

A wonderful week in Kilchoan

Review submitted on Fri, 15 Jul 2022
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
2.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
When we arrived we where a bit strartled by the state of the cottage. Old fashioned interieur and in need of some TLC. But it is beautiful situated so we decided to enjoy it.
And then we discovered that actually everything you realy need is in the cottage.
It is warm and cosy. Everything you need for a bit of comfort is there. And the vieuws are stunning. So I cleaned some windows and we felt completely at home.
Half way the week we had a message that we would be out of power for a whole day. Everything in the cottage works on electricity so we would not even be able to make ourselves a coffee. We decided that for us that would be a day for a visit to Mull. We enjoyed that trip very much and where not bothered by the powercut at all. But also trips to the beaches, the inlands and to the lighthouse, we enjoyed every bit of it.

How would you rate the service we provide as a booking agency?
Good

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Walking

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Wildlife

Any friends or family that you would like to recommend Steading Holiday Cottages to?
I would recommend it to people that love to be a part of nature and to be away of the hussle and bussle of todays life.

How did you find the local facilities?
The shop was very good, it has all the basic things you need for daily life. We did not use any other local facilities.



Shane & Rob replied 23 days ago
Dear Sjoukje, Thank you for your review. We are glad you had a wonderful week in Kilchoan and found that Ian's Lodge was adequate during your stay. Sounds like you made the most of your holiday including a trip to Mull. We hope to welcome you back to Ardnamurchan again in the future. Kind Regards, Shane & Rob

Quality time

Review submitted on Sun, 03 Jul 2022
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fabulous week at Ian’s lodge. Wonderful location. Peaceful and tranquil in lovely surroundings. Short distance from sanna beach and ardnamurchan lighthouse. Well equipped and comfortable. Could do with some updating however I have no complaints the whole experience was amazing and would definitely return.

How would you rate the service we provide as a booking agency?
Very good

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Walking

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Wildlife

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Family break

How did you find the local facilities?
Small village with well stocked shop. Excellent cafe both with friendly staff. Short walk to ferry to mull.

We would love to hear your stories about your holiday. Are you happy to give us photos and text that we can share on our blog and social media? If yes, please send your text and photos to [email protected] or put them directly on to our Steading Holiday face book, instragram and or twitter
Yes





Shane & Rob replied 34 days ago
Dear Margaret, Thank you for your kind review. We are very happy that you had a fabulous week staying in Ian's Lodge and look forward to welcoming you back to Ardnamurchan again in the future. Kindest Regards, Shane & Rob

Ian's lodge 2022

Review submitted on Fri, 24 Jun 2022
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Loved every minute stopping in the lodge it's a great place for dogs. Even though the lodge is getting a bit tired we were very comfy and warm . We will be back .

How would you rate the service we provide as a booking agency?
Good

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Walking

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Wildlife

Could you tell us what your interests are?
History

How did you find the local facilities?
Very good.





Shane & Rob replied 39 days ago
Dear Elsa Jane, Thank you for your review. We are glad you loved your stay in Ian's Lodge and your four legged friend enjoyed it too. We look forward to welcoming you back to Ardnamurchan in the future. Kind Regards, Shane & Rob

Lovely location in a beautiful place

Review submitted on Fri, 10 Jun 2022
3.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
2.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
2.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
As locations go, it's hard to beat! The lodge sits in large garden with some good size trees a little above the middle of Kilchoan looking out to the Sound of Mull, the island itself and the hills; parking and access are very good. A comfy sitting room and a balcony make the most of the view, electric heating throughout keeps things cosy, very welcoming on cooler evenings although the bathroom was fresh if the wind was that side. Being established, there are a few signs of age so there was a knack to closing the balcony door and the kitchen tap seemed a bit loose. The larger ones are past their best which made it tricky to cook for three. Ardnamurchan is very beautiful with varied landscapes and plenty to see and do - we enjoyed a quick visit to Tobermory and were lucky enough to see puffins when we went to Lunga but we mainly stayed around the village walking to enjoy the countryside, wildlife, the coastline and big skies.

How would you rate the service we provide as a booking agency?
Good

How did you find the local facilities?
Excellent! The Ferry Stores is well stocked and the Community Garden produce is amazing.



Peaceful week in idyllic setting overlooking mull

Review submitted on Fri, 20 May 2022
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Quiet and peaceful week in comfortable but rustic house overlooking the sound of mull, amongst birch trees and bluebells.within easy reach of beaches,hills and historic sites. Excellent but simple facilities at house. Shop, cafe and ferry close by.

How would you rate the service we provide as a booking agency?
Very good

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Walking

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Wildlife

Could you tell us what your interests are?
History

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Geology

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Romatic Get Away

How did you find the local facilities?
Good





Shane & Rob replied 80 days ago
Dear Alison, We are pleased that you had a quiet and peaceful week staying in Ian's Lodge. We look forward to welcoming you back next year again. Kindest Regards, Shane & Rob

Holiday 2021 July

Review submitted on Mon, 09 May 2022
3.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
2.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
1)Had a great week in Ardnamuchan, thanks to the weather. Thank you for the improvements already made to Ian's but your property still needs a lot of work to make it totally habitable. The roof apexes are totaly missing allowing the birds to nest in them again so, 5am you are woken by them rustling about.
2) No water pressure in the hot tap in the bath, had to fill the bath by aid of the shower.
3) If you used the shower, which we were forced to, the water spills out the side of the shower screen, down the side of the bath and onto the floor.
4) The mirror in the twin room up the stair fell of the wall in the middle of the night giving us an awful scare but it is not even fixed to the wall
5) The washing machine and drier had to be cleaned before use
6) There is still sand underneath the couch cushions
7) The DVD player is still not working and it was like that last year too
8) The inner door to the living area has dropped so much you can hardly open/close it
Despite these complaints it is still a beautifully situated lodge. it is just a shame that it always has problems. I appreciate that that you need revenue to do improvements but I feel that it needs a little more TLC. On the windy nights we had during our stay felt like the house was going to fall down, it shuddered that much that the mirror fell off the wall.

How would you rate the service we provide as a booking agency?
Good

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Walking

Any friends or family that you would like to recommend Steading Holiday Cottages to?
Not at the moment

How did you find the local facilities?
Good



Shane & Rob replied 91 days ago
Dear Irene, Thank you for your review. We are sorry you had problems with your stay in Ian's Lodge, as stated in our terms and conditions, any issues with the properties are to be reported to the house manager or Steading Holidays, during your stay so the issues can be raised with the owner straight away. Ian's Lodge will be closed in 2023 for a full refurbishment and in the meantime, we will ask the owners to look into the issues you have raised. We do hope that you will return in the future and again, we are sorry you encountered some issues during your stay. Kind Regards, Shane & Rob

New Year Break

Review submitted on Tue, 11 Jan 2022
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
First time in Ians Lodge, great position, however needs a bit of TLC to bring it back to its former glory. Downstairs very very drafty around both windows in lounge and internal door and very dusty under the beds and sofas, which with two youngsters under 3 was a bit of an issue.
Otherwise, as alwasy enjoyed out stay.

How would you rate the service we provide as a booking agency?
Good

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Walking

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Wildlife

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Fishing

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Family break

How did you find the local facilities?
Regular vistors, so aware of what local facilities are available. As always, Friday night suppers from the hotel were of their usual high standard.





Lovely location but property didn't match

Review submitted on Sat, 25 Sep 2021
3.2
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
2.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
1.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Full of blowflies when we arrived - at least 100. Took all week to get them out.
Upstairs door didn't lock.
Surfaces were clean (though the flies we're on them) but all superficial - found food on floor and in sofa.
Bathroom awful - shower so feeble as to be more or less unusable. Water spills to floor under screen making it dangerous and rotting the wood. The lack of antislip was also dangerous. The window broken ajar - very draughty.
Broken light fittings leaving area pitch dark.
No sink plugs except kitchen
But having said all that, the bed and lounge were great and the property has potential to be lovely again with some maintenance. Overall it was very overpriced for the quality.


How would you rate the service we provide as a booking agency?
Good

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Walking

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Wildlife

How did you find the local facilities?
Kilchoan is lovely - we've been many times and it's great



A perfect holiday just where we wanted to be

Review submitted on Fri, 17 Sep 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We felt art home as soon as we entered Ians lodge. It was placed in a nice quiet secluded site with good views. Beds and chairs very comfortable Facilities excellent . Kitchen very well supplied. Central heating very cosy.Basun plugs not very good but everything else OK TV reception good . Lovely supply of books for rainy days.. Very handy for hotel meals.

How would you rate the service we provide as a booking agency?
Very good

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Walking

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Biking

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Wildlife

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Food

Could you tell us what your interests are?
History

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Family break

How did you find the local facilities?
Excellent, hotel, local shop, coffee shop all nearby

We would love to hear your stories about your holiday. Are you happy to give us photos and text that we can share on our blog and social media? If yes, please send your text and photos to [email protected] or put them directly on to our Steading Holiday face book, instragram and or twitter
Yes





Shane replied 322 days ago
Dear Guest, Thank you for your kind review. We are glad you had a perfect holiday and thank you for making us aware of the basin plugs. We hope to welcome you back to Ardnamurchan in the future. Kind Regards, Shane & Rob

Holiday 2021 July

Review submitted on Sat, 31 Jul 2021
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Thanks for the new kettle and sugar bowl!! Had a great week it was good to get back to lovely Ardnamuchan. Ian's Lodge such an excellent location but unfortunately the views are slowly diminishing with the growth of the trees and bushes, it is also getting more difficult to park the car due to this reason also. There was a broken chair which we had to look at for 3 days but it was taken away and repaired efficiently in one day but I feel that this should have been removed before our arrival, smoke alarm 'beeping' on arrival but sorted that by buying battery at the shop.
Can i also mention the information folder in Ian's did not have any information that we required eg ferry timetables, what was required when we went to the shop or hotel, there should have been some Covid rules or information in that folder.
Despite these complaints it does not stop me returning to the property, still feel very much at home here and it is very comfortable.

How would you rate the service we provide as a booking agency?
Very good

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Walking

Could you tell us what your interests are?
History

How did you find the local facilities?
Shop not as stocked as usual , but due to Covid neither are the shops here in Carluke. Never went to Hotel this time as unsure what the terms of entry were like.



Excellent stay

Review submitted on Fri, 18 Jun 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Three of us had a great stay at Ian’s Lodge in June. In an ideal detached location with views over the coast on one side and wild moorland on the other we had a peaceful stay. Surrounded by wildlife we were visited by lots of birds including goldfinch and hooded crows and animals such as hedgehogs. The land around was covered in marsh orchids!
Local amenities such as village shop, coast and ferry to Mull easily accessible by foot.
The lodge was fully equipped with cooking utensils, toaster, duvets, pillows etc and even had books and dvds.
The owner, Shane, was easy to talk too and I
would not hesitate in recommending the place.

How would you rate the service we provide as a booking agency?
Very good

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Walking

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Wildlife

How did you find the local facilities?
Adequate for us.



Shane replied more than 1 year ago
Dear Paul, Thank you for your kind review. We are delighted you had a great stay at Ian's Lodge and hope to welcome you back to Ardnamurchan in the future. Kindest Regards, Shane & Rob

Return to Kilchoan

Review submitted on Fri, 04 Jun 2021
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely break in Kilchoan with mixed weather but managed to be out and about for the majority of the holiday. We are returning visitors having stayed in a number of Steading Holiday properties. The house is in a great position up the hill providing lovely views. The house is well equipped and with only the 2 of us we basically lived downstairs. equipped kitchen and a comfy bed. Ideally situated for walks to the shop, or the Community Centre with the welcoming Puffin Coffee cafe. The house doesn’t have WiFi but both Puffin Coffee and the hotel do have WiFi. Spotted deer walking gown the hill behind the house and grazing at the front on 3 evenings. Spotted white tailed and golden eagles, hen harriers, gannets an otter and lots of yellow hammers, goldfinches and goldcrests. A few trips on the ferry to Tobermory for the day we’re also enjoyed. Unfortunately the water pressure on the shower is low but the mixer tap shower compensates.

How would you rate the service we provide as a booking agency?
Very good

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Walking

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Wildlife

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Food

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Family break

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Geology

How did you find the local facilities?
Local general shop also sells petrol and between the hotel and Puffin Coffee there are local places for a snack, meal or evening out. Lots of walks in the area.



Shane replied more than 1 year ago
Dear Guest, Thank you for your kind review and we are glad you had an enjoyable time in Ardnamurchan. We hope to welcome you back again in the near future. Kindest Regards, Shane & Rob

Peaceful and comfortable, beautiful location,

Review submitted on Fri, 21 May 2021
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Ian's Lodge was a great place to stay for a week, with its elevated position giving lovely views of the sea and the mountain behind. The A frame was well equipped, comfortable and spacious. Have re-booked as it was so good. Hardly needed the car, just used i for short trips to other areas of Ardnamurchan. Easy access to ferry and boat trip by foot.

How would you rate the service we provide as a booking agency?
Very good

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Walking

How did you find the local facilities?
Good shop, hotel/bar good, cafe/shop excellent and friendly.





Shane replied more than 1 year ago
Dear Guest, Thank you so much for your kind review. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay at Ian's Lodge and look forward to welcoming you back to Ardnamurchan again, in August 2021. Kindest regards, Shane and Rob

My holiday in Ian's

Review submitted on Fri, 27 Sep 2019
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Another great holiday in Ian's despite the weather made even more comfortable with the new furniture and furnishings. Loved the choice of books to read, something for everyone. Just feel at home here hence why I keep coming back.

How would you rate the service we provide as a booking agency?
Very good

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Walking

How did you find the local facilities?
Very good, love the pub x x





Loverly stay in a excellent location

Review submitted on Thu, 27 Jun 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The lodge was excellent for us as we were working in the area, had everything we needed, we just had to bring food and clothes, didn’t get to go the local shop but apparently it is well stocked,
Thanks for a nice week just a pity we were working most of it.

How would you rate the service we provide as a booking agency?
Very good

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Walking

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Biking

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Fishing

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Family break





My holiday in Ian's

Review submitted on Sat, 15 Jun 2019
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Had a lovely week staying in Ian's although the weather was not good. However, achieved climbing Ben Hiant so that made it all worth while. Know what to expect when we go there but it is always a shame that it is the same things that we need to clean and tidy when we get there. Not complaining about the Steadings or the housekeeper but the previous residents of the property. Please, if you make a mess please tidy it up before you go and not leave it for anyone else.e.g sand down the sofa,evidence of previous cooking still sitting on the kithchen cupboards. As to Steading yourself have been asking for a sugar bowl for the last 2 years and still no one apparent, please cut back the grass and shurbry around the property, have hardly no views from the windows now and you could not even get to the washing line, there was no questionnaire form left for us to write these things down. Don't worry can't wait to get back to Kilchoan and will still book this property, still love the place

How would you rate the service we provide as a booking agency?
Good

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Walking

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Family break

How did you find the local facilities?
Never used them this visit but love the Ferry stores



Cosy hideaway

Review submitted on Sun, 21 Apr 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great views. Comfortable and cosy. Brilliant countryside. We were very lucky with the weather. Nice to be able to bring the dog.

How would you rate the service we provide as a booking agency?
Good

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Walking

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Biking

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Music Events

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Wildlife

How did you find the local facilities?
Friendly





We will Be Back

Review submitted on Fri, 03 Aug 2018
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
3.0
It was a third stay at a Steadings Lodge for me and the wife, the fourth for our daughter, and the umpteenth of my Sister and Brother in Law. We will be back again.

Ardnarmurchan is a beautiful place and Steadings provide comfortable and well priced accomodation for families.

How would you rate the service we provide as a booking agency?
Very good

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Walking

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Music Events

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Wildlife

Could you tell us what your interests are?
History

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Family break

Any friends or family that you would like to recommend Steading Holiday Cottages to?
No

How did you find the local facilities?
Kilchoan is a small friendly village, with a good pub with decent food. It has a shop that stocks most things that you might need on a daily basis. The Isle of Mull is only a short ferry journey away, and that has an excellant choice of shops, restaurants and pubs.





Basic chalet in picturesque, peaceful and convenient location

Review submitted on Wed, 01 Aug 2018
3.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
This is a pleasant chalet set in a peaceful location . It is comfortably furnished but basic. Other chalets seemed to have more 'finishing touches' such as seating in the verandah, tubs of flowers at the entrance etc. Although the kitchen, bedroom and bathroom were very clean, there were lots of cobwebs on ceilings and down the sides of some pieces of furniture. We reported a jammed sink plug in the bathroom at the beginning of the week and it still wasn't fixed by the end of our stay. However, the manager was very friendly and helpful. Altogether a reasonably priced place to say especially with children, but I would have expected a little more luxury for the price really.

How would you rate the service we provide as a booking agency?
Average

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Walking

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Food

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Family break

Any friends or family that you would like to recommend Steading Holiday Cottages to?
no

How did you find the local facilities?
good



Great location but scruffy cabin.

Review submitted on Fri, 13 Jul 2018
3.2
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
2.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
2.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Lovely position. However the cabin was shabby and dusty and had seen better days. The shower was poor and the kitchen equipment, glasses and cutlery were insufficient for a full house but adequate for our needs.

How would you rate the service we provide as a booking agency?
Very good

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Walking

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Wildlife

Any friends or family that you would like to recommend Steading Holiday Cottages to?
No

How did you find the local facilities?
Limited but as expected for the location.





Good location but property a bit tired.

Review submitted on Thu, 12 Jul 2018
2.8
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
2.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
2.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Location is great and we had a good holiday but the property needs some TLC. Rugs and flooring are worn. Windows dirty, cobwebs, garden partly overgrown. New bedding needed.

How would you rate the service we provide as a booking agency?
Good

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Walking

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Biking

Any friends or family that you would like to recommend Steading Holiday Cottages to?
No

How did you find the local facilities?
This is a very remote location so local facilities are very limited, but the local shop is well stocked.





Ian,s lodge

Review submitted on Fri, 15 Jun 2018
3.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
I would describe this property as shabby chic but acceptable. It is beginning to show its age. It could have been cleaner around the edges, especially in the bathroom. The area is fantastic for exploring and relaxing.

How would you rate the service we provide as a booking agency?
Good

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Walking

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Wildlife

Could you tell us what your interests are?
History

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Family break

Any friends or family that you would like to recommend Steading Holiday Cottages to?
Yes

How did you find the local facilities?
Adequate





spring break in the sun

Review submitted on Thu, 31 May 2018
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
2.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a glorious few days weather wise which meant we didn't spend that much time in the lodge. We had a great walk up Ben Hiant, walked down to the ferry over to Tobermoray and visited the lighthouse and Sanna Bay. Enjoyed having a pub within walking distance too. The lodge was well appointed with plenty of puzzles and books for indoor days, not that we had any! The views are stunning - out back there's a hill and some friendly sheep, whilst at the front there's a great view down to the sea. I would say the lodge could be a bit cleaner, but apart from that, all good.

How would you rate the service we provide as a booking agency?
Very good

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Walking

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Wildlife

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Family break

Any friends or family that you would like to recommend Steading Holiday Cottages to?
M

How did you find the local facilities?
Limited but a place to go to escape from it all



My holiday in Ian's

Review submitted on Mon, 14 May 2018
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
2.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Had another wonderful week in Ian's not being able to be there for over a year and a half. Cleanliness of the place on arrival could have been better but nothing I could not sort myself. Weather kind to us making it easier to get some walking done which are all easily accessible from the house. Views are amazing, love sitting on that balcony x x

How would you rate the service we provide as a booking agency?
Good

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Walking

Any friends or family that you would like to recommend Steading Holiday Cottages to?
no thanks

How did you find the local facilities?
Very good





wonderful as usual

Review submitted on Tue, 16 Jan 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Hi the only niggle was the shower - this was very very poor in fact i got wetter walking in Tobermoray , not good if you are coming in from the hills and need a warm shower

How would you rate the service we provide as a booking agency?
Very good

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Walking

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Wildlife

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Family break

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Geology

Any friends or family that you would like to recommend Steading Holiday Cottages to?
yes - we have been coming up here and using Steading in over 25 years

How did you find the local facilities?
good





Ian's Lodge

Review submitted on Fri, 03 Nov 2017
2.7
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
1.0
Comfort
2.0
Condition
2.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
We had an enjoyable holiday at Ian's Lodge however this was due to the fantastic location of the lodge which is set in a beautiful part of the country.
We arrived in darkness and the lodge was quite difficult to find. Unfortunately the bed wasn't made up and there were no linens left for us to do it ourselves despite requesting this at the time of booking. To be fair this was rectified the next day when we were handed sheets to make the bed up ourselves but had to tumble dry them for a while due to dampness.
The lodge itself was not cleaned prior to our arrival and again I had to do this myself as my partner really, really, did not want to stay there. It took some persuasion on my part which kind of put a dampener on our stay, it's not something you envision having to do when you go for a break!
There was an overpowering smell in the kitchen which was difficult to identify, we suspect something may have died behind one of the kickboards in the kitchen, we didn't investigate because that would have been the end of our holiday!
The TV didn't work and the shower had no water pressure but thankfully there was a bath.
The location was fantastic and we saw some amazing wildlife during our trip which made up for the disappointment of the accommodation - just!

How would you rate the service we provide as a booking agency?
Very good

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Wildlife

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Fishing

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Romatic Get Away

Any friends or family that you would like to recommend Steading Holiday Cottages to?
No

How did you find the local facilities?
The local facilities were good given the remote location



4 nights at Ian's Lodge

Review submitted on Thu, 26 Oct 2017
3.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
2.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
2.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The house overall needs better cleaned as we found it all quite dirty, I thought it could also be in need of a freshen up . We spent 4 nights at £400.00 which is perhaps a bit overpriced for the time of the season and the standard of the accommodation. We have stayed at other lodges namely Comraich which is of a better standard.

How would you rate the service we provide as a booking agency?
Very good

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Walking

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Wildlife

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Family break

Any friends or family that you would like to recommend Steading Holiday Cottages to?
yes

How did you find the local facilities?
good





Wonderful Stay

Review submitted on Mon, 12 Jun 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
It was such a lovely weekend and the accommodation was great. A wonderful place to go for a weekend and catch up with old friends.

How would you rate the service we provide as a booking agency?
Very good

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Walking

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Wildlife

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Geology

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Romatic Get Away

Any friends or family that you would like to recommend Steading Holiday Cottages to?
yes

How did you find the local facilities?
Facilities were good - had a nice pub lunch in the hotel





Last minute holiday

Review submitted on Fri, 04 Nov 2016
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
3.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We love to stay in Scotland and have done so many times over the years, this was the first time with steading holidays.
As we live in Yorkshire it was a very long trip but well worth it for the views alone. Stunning location, from the large front window we could see the ferry to Mull passing . The ferry terminal is only a 5 minute drive away and well within walking distance. 35 minutes and you are on Mull { worth a visit } The lodge was comfortable and offered every thing you could need, although a larger TV would have made the husband happier to watch his sport on {tiny}
We had a lovely stay and would recommend Steadings to our friends

How would you rate the service we provide as a booking agency?
Very good

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Walking

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Wildlife

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Geology

Any friends or family that you would like to recommend Steading Holiday Cottages to?
yes by word of mouth

How did you find the local facilities?
Not much locally, a little village shop with a post office and a good pub with really good food



My return to Ian's Lodge

Review submitted on Thu, 06 Oct 2016
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Just love this property, hence why the quick return to Ardnamuchan. I feel very at home in this property, even on a rainy day the view and the activity of the boats that go up and down the water is so interesting. The location just perfect for walking, going to the shop and the pub.Can't wait to return.

How would you rate the service we provide as a booking agency?
Very good

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Walking

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Wildlife

Any friends or family that you would like to recommend Steading Holiday Cottages to?
Not at the moment thanks

How did you find the local facilities?
Very good, enjoy the shop and the Hotel





Midweek Break in Beautiful Ardnamurcharan

Review submitted on Thu, 21 Jul 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed at Ian's lodge with Steading Holidays in the lovely village of Kilchoan. Our accommodation was
wonderful. A real home from home. Well equipped, with beautiful views over the Sound of Mull. Set high on the hillside with a short walk to the local amenities, Pub/Hotel, Café, Tourist Information Centre and Post Office. A great base to explore the Ardnamurcharan peninsula with The Lighthouse, Sanna Bay, and the Ferry to Mull on your doorstep. Wildlife a plenty, this place was perfect for a relaxing break away from it all. Hope to come back some day soon.

How would you rate the service we provide as a booking agency?
Very good

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Walking

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Wildlife

Any friends or family that you would like to recommend Steading Holiday Cottages to?
Daughter, Megan Hunt

How did you find the local facilities?
Excellent. Loved the Kilchoan Hotel, Community Centre and Post Office/Shop



My week at Ian's

Review submitted on Mon, 04 Jul 2016
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Had another great week in Ardnamuchan in this lovely house, glad to see the new washing line up but can hardly get to it for shurbs and flowers. Requested that this area should have been dealt with last year but it does not deviate from the fact that it is a lovely situated chalet, enjoyed it so much I have rebooked for September. Hope the weather is good to us again but not likely but it will be enjoyable no matter what.

How would you rate the service we provide as a booking agency?
Very good

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Walking

Any friends or family that you would like to recommend Steading Holiday Cottages to?
No thanks

How did you find the local facilities?
very good, love The Ferry Stores especially the Pakora !!!





A very comfortable property and totally adequate for a self-catering holiday

Review submitted on Fri, 27 May 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
My wife and I have stayed in this property several times and it is still the preferred location. The lodge is warm and well-equipped and, as a bonus, the electricity charges are now included in the weekly rental and so there are no nasty surprises at the end of your stay in the way of a high charge for power. The lodge has been standing for a few years now and, since the entire construction is of wood, one needs to be aware that it is not quite as "rock-solid" as a bricks-and-mortar construction and so on e needs to be aware that things may not be perfect. However, the little idiosyncrasies associated with the type of construction will not mar a very comfortable stay. The heating is more than adequate, the kitchen is well equipped, the bathroom leaves nothing to be desired (unless you insist on the use of a bidet, in which case, you will need to bring your own). It is ideal for a family and, as another bonus, that includes your dog and the local shop (in fact, the only shop) is only a mile away. The staff at Steading Holidays are usually around and, if they are not, there is a property manager living not too far away and who is contactable by 'phone. Should you notice that anything is amiss, it will be dealt with promptly so long as you tell someone at the time and not at the end of your stay. I love the place and I intend to continue using on a regular basis until I can no longer make the journey (540 miles).
I ought to add that I am a man of relatively simple needs and, not to say that I am easily pleased, but that I do not usually live a life in luxurious surroundings but I cannot see how this property can be improved.
I hope that you will seriously consider this property if you are ever on the Ardnamurchan peninsula as I believe that you will not be disappointed.

How would you rate the service we provide as a booking agency?
Very good

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Walking

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Music Events

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Wildlife

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Food

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Geology

Any friends or family that you would like to recommend Steading Holiday Cottages to?
Yes and I already have

How did you find the local facilities?
Considering the remoteness of the location, I found them to be more than adequate. It should be pointed out that the local shop, "Ferry Stores" tends to be expensive and some of their stock is old (beware of buying anything that has batteries included - I wasn't and it cost me £8.00 because the batteries had leaked and the item was useless). Do as much of your shopping, particularly the non-perishable items at Fort William or at some other place in order to keep the costs down.



Just what we needed...

Review submitted on Sun, 24 Apr 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our stay at Ian's lodge was comfortable and cosy and the a frame cabin felt much more spacious than we had expected. The kids loved it, the views and weather were spectacular, and the bird song was just so beautiful. Lovely destination, great for exploring the west of the peninsula. we will all remember it for a long time to come.

How would you rate the service we provide as a booking agency?
Very good

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Walking

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Wildlife

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Family break

Any friends or family that you would like to recommend Steading Holiday Cottages to?
No

How did you find the local facilities?
As expected, good for the location. We took in all our food but the local Kilchoan hotel was lovely and we would eat there again.





Christmas in Kilchoan

Review submitted on Sun, 03 Jan 2016
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
I would recommend the peace and tranquility of a christmas spent here to anyone but be careful to prepare for the West Coast climate.The cabins are predominantly summer lets and whilst all you will need to enjoy your stay is to hand,there is no escaping what nature will inevitably provide.

How would you rate the service we provide as a booking agency?
Very good

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Walking

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Wildlife

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Food





Ian's Lodge

Review submitted on Fri, 03 Jul 2015
3.3
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
2.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Bathroom very poor compared to other properties I have used in this price range, the rest of the property was fine, although some of the furnishings were rather worn and tatty.

How would you rate the service we provide as a booking agency?
Good

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Walking

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Wildlife

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Fishing

Could you tell us what your interests are?
History

Any friends or family that you would like to recommend Steading Holiday Cottages to?
No

How did you find the local facilities?
Fine





Could do better

Review submitted on Fri, 29 May 2015
3.5
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
When staying at Ian’s Lodge it is essential for safety reason to have a working mobile phone as there is no land line in the property. The potential threat to life and property is totally unacceptable. I do not remember seeing any warning of this danger in the property description when booking.
With no phone line the property does not have access to the internet which in this standard of property is expected by occupants who need contact with business and the World.
The incredible view is blighted by scrub bushes at the front of the property.
The property has a TV in name only as it is so small and with its indoor aerial which constantly needs retuning is impossible to view in comfort.
Some kitchen utensils’ are of a poor standard which include a spilling when poring kettle. A completely erratic toaster and knives so blunt butter has no fear of them.
We booked Ian’s Lodge as the excellent property we stayed in last year (Chris’s Ranch) was not available so expecting a similar standard we booked. Please view my comments in a positive way hopefully encouraging the owner to invest in the property making it the truly excellent experience that it could so easily become for this beautiful area.


How would you rate the service we provide as a booking agency?
Very good

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Wildlife

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Food

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Geology

Any friends or family that you would like to recommend Steading Holiday Cottages to?
Only after improvements have been made

How did you find the local facilities?
Local knowledge



Steading Holidays replied more than 1 year ago
Hi Brian, thanks for your feedback and suggestions following your stay at Ian's Lodge. We've passed these onto the owner and they are going to take remedial action to inprove the facilities in the house and asked me to thank you for your useful comments.

My findings with Ian's Lodge

Review submitted on Tue, 19 May 2015
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Had a marvelous week in Ian's, have been before so knew what to expect but there are definate improvements i.e. new doors on the balcony and front doors. Glad to see that the hole that the birds were nesting in was blocked off. Did all the walking from the front door- always a bonus. Had reported that there could be more kitchen equipment, no sugar bowl, measuring jug, no outside facilities for drying clothes outside but created our own. Found the microwave dirty and the tumble dryer also but sorted that ourselves also. Met the owner personally and have given her these point + cutting the side hedge back as it spoils the view. Can I also mention as I do every visit, please cut the trees back a little as the views are stunning, not asking you to chop them down be cut them back to keep the stunning views as one of the reasons I keep coming back to you.

How would you rate the service we provide as a booking agency?
Good

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Walking

Any friends or family that you would like to recommend Steading Holiday Cottages to?
No

How did you find the local facilities?
Love the shop!!!! Love the Hotel (pub) !!!!! apart from that never needed to use anything else but I am aware what is available



Prepare for the cold!

Review submitted on Fri, 10 Apr 2015
3.8
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Had a lovely week in Kilchoan with my other half in march/april.

The views were fantastic and there was some great walks and a surprising amount to do with ferries to the surrounding areas such as Tobermory

The only downside is the heating!! There was never enough hot water and as we found out at the end of the week when we looked at how much the electricity would cost, it was also very expensive to heat.

The house uses storage heaters which are very difficult to alter the settings and we were cold pretty much all week Which meant there was lots of wrapping up!

Overall we spent arround £40 for the week which wouldn't have been so bad if there was enough hot water and the lodge was warm.

Overall I really enjoyed our stay here but it may be an idea to go during the summer months.


How would you rate the service we provide as a booking agency?
Good

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Walking

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Music Events

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Wildlife

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Fishing

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Food

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Romatic Get Away

How did you find the local facilities?
Good



Have now stayed twice and love it

Review submitted on Wed, 23 Apr 2014
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Love the area and this lodge. Great views, spacious and free-range environs. I am 6'2" tall and can bump into some beams here, so we might try another house at Steading Hols next time.



Great Location

Review submitted on Mon, 28 Oct 2013
3.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The property provides comfortable accommodation, in a stunning part of Scotland, for three or four people. My wife complained about the comfort of the bed but I found it OK. Perhaps it is because we have a Queen's size bed at home with a memory foam mattress! My main complaint is that the television is not big enough for the few occasions that we watched some programmes and a couple of DVDs.

The property is well positioned for walking to the Community Centre, Pub and the village shop. It is also very convenient for the ferry to Mull (Tobermory) where we went for a great day's cycling. Ian's Lodge also backs straight on to the fell and there is a convenient stile just behind the property so it is ideal for walking the dog or wandering up the low hills behind where you get stunning views of the Sound of Mull and Mull itself where you can pick out Glengorm Castle on the other side.




A relaxed, get away from it all, autumn break.

Review submitted on Tue, 15 Oct 2013
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The photo shows the view back to Kilchoan after we'd walked about a mile to the end of the road around the bay, stunning views. Friendly staff and customers in the bar of the Kilchoan Hotel and decent food if you want to eat out. The accommodation was a bit chilly in the evening (October) but was well equipped. The Ferry Stores was an OK 'corner shop' a bit expensive so take what you can with you. Be prepared for the slow-ish driving on one track roads, but a trip North to Sanna beach is well worth it. We had a wonderfully relaxing week but teenagers would probably be bored so leave them with grandma as we did.
Phil & Ruth




July 2013

Review submitted on Tue, 24 Sep 2013
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Booked at the last minute but a success. Recommended. More spacious than you might think. Peaceful with great outlook to Mull. Steading Holidays very helpful and efficient.