FB Twitter

Bluebell Lodge

Bluebell Lodge

4.2
out of 5
Ratings from 45 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.4
Condition
3.8
Location
4.7
Value
4.3
Customer
Service
4.3


Bluebell Lodge is lovely, wooden house, with a terrace, BBQ and a large, secluded garden to enjoy on sunny days, and a wood burning stove to cosy up by on cooler evenings.
Set on the hillside in the crofting village of Kilchoan, it has beautiful sea views and is just a short walk Kilchoan Hotel, Ferry Stores, Kilchoan Community Centre, Playpark.
There are regular ferry sailings over to Tobermory from Kilchoan.

Great place to stay

Review submitted on Fri, 14 Sep 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have been holidaying in Kilchoan for decades - so that's our recommendation of the area as a holiday destination.

This is our second stay in this cottage and the kitchen has been renewed since our last visit. The house is very well equipped and we had a very comfortable stay. We enjoyed using the breadmaker and the wood burning stove . The WiFi (required by son for work) was good.

It was still warm enough to sit outside and the tables are well placed to maximise the sunny spots.

How would you rate the service we provide as a booking agency?
Very good

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Walking

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Biking

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Wildlife

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Fishing

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Boating

Could you tell us what your interests are?
History

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Family break

Any friends or family that you would like to recommend Steading Holiday Cottages to?
No - they all come with us already!

How did you find the local facilities?
The store has recently changed hands and is well stocked for most things. Food at the Kilchoan Hotel was excellent.





Bluebell Lodge, Kilchoan - August 2018

Review submitted on Fri, 10 Aug 2018
3.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Beautiful location - might feel a bit remote for some. Amazing local wildlife and hotel down the road serves good food.

Well provided for accommodation with fire, new kitchen, games and pine martens. Kids loved the rope swing. Looked a bit tired in places and more attention to the corners and recesses is needed - the bathroom needs freshening up.

How would you rate the service we provide as a booking agency?
Good

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Walking

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Wildlife

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Fishing

Could you tell us what your interests are?
History

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Family break

Any friends or family that you would like to recommend Steading Holiday Cottages to?
No

How did you find the local facilities?
For location, local facilities were fine.





Comfortable and spacious

Review submitted on Fri, 29 Jun 2018
3.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
3.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
This was a comfortable and spacious lodge in a lovely woodland setting. It was cold when we arrived as the windows had been open for 24hours before we arrived and unfortunately the off peak heating was switched off and the promised supply of wood and kindling was not there. However all this was sorted quickly and pleasantly and we were very happy. Had a very enjoyable stay in Bluebell Lodge.

How would you rate the service we provide as a booking agency?
Very good

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Walking

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Wildlife

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Family break

Any friends or family that you would like to recommend Steading Holiday Cottages to?
no

How did you find the local facilities?
Meal out in Kilchoan hotel was very good. Community market was small but had good local produce. Access to ferry to Tobermory good and easy walk from Bluebell Lodge.





Great location

Review submitted on Fri, 13 Apr 2018
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We enjoyed a great week at Bluebell Lodge, blessed with some well needed spring sunshine. The location was excellent, providing easy access to the great beaches and some lovely walks, with wildlife in abundance. The lodge was well equipped and comfortably accommodated 4 adults, 2 teenagers and 2 dogs - with the large, sheltered decked area being by far the best feature. We did feel it was in need of some TLC in places and some upgrades e.g. the bathroom.

How would you rate the service we provide as a booking agency?
Very good

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Walking

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Wildlife

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Fishing

Could you tell us what your interests are?
History

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Family break

Any friends or family that you would like to recommend Steading Holiday Cottages to?
Yes we will recommend

How did you find the local facilities?
Good food at the local hotel and the heritage centre. Local shop not very well stocked, but not surprising given the remote location. Mull has great facilities and makes for a pleasant day out.





another great stay

Review submitted on Wed, 18 Oct 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our third visit here. It is a cosy property containing all we need for a comfortable and relaxing weeks stay in the area.

How would you rate the service we provide as a booking agency?
Very good

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Walking

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Wildlife

Any friends or family that you would like to recommend Steading Holiday Cottages to?
Already recommended

How did you find the local facilities?
The local stores has a great selection of stock and friendly staff. Also really liked the organic produce from the community garden 24 hour shop





Good value per friendly property

Review submitted on Sat, 26 Aug 2017
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Good value property, child and dog friendly. A few cobwebs but rest of property was clean, with a well equipped kitchen. Lovely views across to Mull

How would you rate the service we provide as a booking agency?
Very good

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Family break

Any friends or family that you would like to recommend Steading Holiday Cottages to?
No

How did you find the local facilities?
As described.





Great holiday

Review submitted on Fri, 04 Aug 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
3.0
The lodge is really well equipped and the location is stunning. Local food from the community garden is great value for money and delicious. They do bread too, which is also delicious. Don't rely on the ferry shop for anything except milk.

How would you rate the service we provide as a booking agency?
Very good

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Walking

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Biking

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Family break

Any friends or family that you would like to recommend Steading Holiday Cottages to?
I already have

How did you find the local facilities?
See above





A lovely place to stay

Review submitted on Sat, 08 Jul 2017
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
The wooden house was very spacious, comfortable and a really well equipped kitchen. View of the sea and Mull . Lovely wild garden with orchids, very peaceful

How would you rate the service we provide as a booking agency?
Very good

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Walking

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Wildlife

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Food

Any friends or family that you would like to recommend Steading Holiday Cottages to?
yes

How did you find the local facilities?
Kilchoan is a very small village, only 1 pub within walking distance, food ok





Beautiful location

Review submitted on Tue, 27 Jun 2017
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Bluebell Lodge is in a wonderful location and the accommodation is spacious ,the log burner is lovely on chilly evenings ,the kitchen is newly done and very well equipped ,the only downside is the carpets need a good clean as there are many stains on them especially the hallway to the bedrooms

How would you rate the service we provide as a booking agency?
Good

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Walking

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Food

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Family break

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Geology

Any friends or family that you would like to recommend Steading Holiday Cottages to?
No

How did you find the local facilities?
The ferry store is well stocked for food and many necessities





a great pace to stay

Review submitted on Fri, 16 Jun 2017
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The lodge is great for a relaxing break. Beautiful views across to the isles and lovely beaches are within easy rach. the lodge has a deck for the sun and a log burner for cooler days .lots of games and wi-fi too just the place for a family holiday

How would you rate the service we provide as a booking agency?
Good

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Walking

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Music Events

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Wildlife

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Food

Could you tell us what your interests are?
History

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Family break

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Geology

Any friends or family that you would like to recommend Steading Holiday Cottages to?
not at the moment

How did you find the local facilities?
Considering the remote location they were fine.





What a lovely week in the highlands!

Review submitted on Fri, 09 Jun 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fantastic week at Bluebell Lodge. Wonderful views across the Sound of Mull, comfortable accommodation and lots to do. Geoff and Sandra were great hosts and we loved the new kitchen. Looking forward to coming back in the summer.

How would you rate the service we provide as a booking agency?
Very good

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Walking

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Wildlife

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Fishing

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Food

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Boating

Could you tell us what your interests are?
History

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Family break

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Geology

Any friends or family that you would like to recommend Steading Holiday Cottages to?
Yes

How did you find the local facilities?
Good





"Bluebell" revisited

Review submitted on Sat, 20 May 2017
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
This was our second stay at Bluebell, with family joining this time, and it was perfect for our purposes. The party comprised 2 grandparents, 2 parents and a grand-daughter. With 1 double bedroom and 2 twin bedrooms the sleeping arrangements worked well and accommodation generally was very spacious for everyone. A minor booking mix-up in the provision of linen etc was attended to immediately and efficiently after arrival. We left with no complaints and an experience overall that was as good or better than the first visit.The kitchen has been refurbished and re-equipped since our first visit and is now an excellent feature of the property. The weather was great so the log fire wasn't needed and heating generally wasn't an issue. The property was well equipped including laundry equipment, TV, broadband, family games, books and local information We got good mobile phone reception on the EE and Vodafone networks and roaming for calls and text on "3 mobile" but of all digital services were available via the BT Hub5 broadband anyway. We didn't use the barbecue but it's there if need be. Having a bath/ wc/ shower room and another separate toilet was excellent. The approach drive is a long way round and, with 2 cars, we found the final downhill gravel section is best tackled carefully in reverse due to a very restricted turning space at the house rather than having to reverse uphill on the way out. The property is a 5 minute drive to the Tobermory ferry and a 5/10 minute walk to the Kilchoan Hotel, the village store and an amazing playpark for the children. A must-do drive to the lighthouse, Sanna Bay and Portuairk takes about 15 to 20 minutes depending on how much opposing traffic needs to be passed on the narrow single track roads.

How would you rate the service we provide as a booking agency?
Good

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Walking

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Wildlife

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Family break

Any friends or family that you would like to recommend Steading Holiday Cottages to?
We've told everyone already to think about Bluebell if they plan to visit the Kilchoan area.

How did you find the local facilities?
All local services were adequate for our needs.



A relaxing weeks break

Review submitted on Sat, 22 Apr 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a fantastic week in the lodge. It was clean and beds were made up for our arrival. There were lots of games, jigsaws, CD's, DVD's and a dart board to keep you entertained. There was also a large selection of books on the shelf in the hall.

The kitchen was new which was great and had every utensil you could possibly need. It had a full size fridge freezer and a dishwasher was fab too!!

We never once felt cold in the lodge. The radiators heated up the rooms quickly and the stove fire is on hand in the sitting room if needed.

The weather wasn't great when we were there so didn't get much use out of the garden but it was a good size.

We left wishing we had booked a 2nd week. It was so peaceful and relaxing.


How would you rate the service we provide as a booking agency?
Very good

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Walking

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Food

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Family break

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Romatic Get Away

Any friends or family that you would like to recommend Steading Holiday Cottages to?
no

How did you find the local facilities?
The local shop wasn't great to be honest. We took food with us and also had a trip on the ferry to Tobermory where we stocked up from the Co-op. Kilchoan Hotel is great and their food is amazing. We had a Sanna Spice one night (Indian Takeaway). It was delicious.



Family holidays

Review submitted on Fri, 04 Nov 2016
3.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Great place with everything you could need but needs a refresh. I believe it is having a new kitchen and carpets which will be great. Will stay again.

How would you rate the service we provide as a booking agency?
Good

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Walking

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Wildlife

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Fishing

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Food

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Family break

Any friends or family that you would like to recommend Steading Holiday Cottages to?
No

How did you find the local facilities?
We love Kilchoan





Lovely Break

Review submitted on Thu, 27 Oct 2016
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a lovely break at Bluebell Lodge. A great base for explorining Ardnamurchan and easy access to Tobermory, Mull via a short ferry ride. Lodge was cosy and comfortable. Log burner an extra treat. Would thoroughly recommend this place to friends

How would you rate the service we provide as a booking agency?
Very good

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Walking

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Biking

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Music Events

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Food

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Family break

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Romatic Get Away

Any friends or family that you would like to recommend Steading Holiday Cottages to?
I have

How did you find the local facilities?
Local facilities were more than adequate. All very friendly locals





Bluebell Lodge

Review submitted on Sat, 15 Oct 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our 3rd visit, Its comfortable & has everything we need for a super week. Booked for next year already

How would you rate the service we provide as a booking agency?
Very good

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Walking

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Wildlife

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Food

Any friends or family that you would like to recommend Steading Holiday Cottages to?
already recommending

How did you find the local facilities?
Very friendly people. We found all we needed in the local stores





Very well equipped and comfortable but needs a refresh.

Review submitted on Sat, 27 Aug 2016
3.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
2.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Visited Bluebell Cottage as a family (2 adults, 2 young adults and one 6 yr old) in August. Of course this is a beautiful part of the world and we saw seals, loads of herons and a huge pod of porpoises while we were there.
The cottage (more a log cabin) was very comfortable and well equipped. Lots of pots, pans, casseroles etc of all kinds. A good washing machine and tumbler dryer. Plenty of hot water and a large freezer and fridge. Comfy beds and sofas. Plus free wifi.
The bedroom was a little chilly on our first night, but we could have put on the bedroom heaters and solved that had we needed to. The rest of our week was blazing sunshine so we didn't need to work out how to control the main (storage heating). We used the log burner in the living room on 3 evenings, mainly for effect. it was very simple to use and the wood supplied was fine for those 3 fires. You might want to buy some kindling if you are going at a colder time of year and plan to use the fire more.
Our daughter loved the little swing on the tree by the burn running down through the garden. Watch out for midgies on a still evening but as long as there is a bit of breeze we found it fine. The view from the veranda is gorgeous and we saw several interesting vessels making their way up the loch in the sunset.
There was a local produce (food and crafts) fair in the community centre (5 mins walk) on the Sunday after we arrived, where we got veg from the community garden (beans, onions, courgettes.. the spuds had run out by the time we arrived, and also cheese, smoked trout and local sausages) . There is also a decent cafe in the community centre and a good play park for the little ones too.
The ferry stores in Kilchoan has all the basics but the supplies van arrives about 1100 so don't go for milk at 0900 on a Monday morning. Also it is closed at lunchtime, no matter that Google tells you.
We had the fish and chips supper in the Kilchoan Hotel on our final evening to avoid cooking again. It was exactly what it says. A Scottish fish and chip shop menu (fish, sausages, puddings etc ) served with chips in a cardboard box. Simple and tasty after a day walking in the caldera.
This is a beautiful part of the world if you like to get out in nature and Bluebell Cottage and Kilchoan were a great base to explore it from. We will return.

How would you rate the service we provide as a booking agency?
Very good

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Walking

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Wildlife

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Food

Could you tell us what your interests are?
History

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Family break

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Geology

Any friends or family that you would like to recommend Steading Holiday Cottages to?
Yes but not that I want to add here.

How did you find the local facilities?
As long as you are aware of the limitations of being at the end of 30 miles of single track road, the facilities in Kilchoan are very good.



Peaceful Break

Review submitted on Fri, 26 Aug 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I love this lodge ! It is a well equipped haven with a beautiful view of the sea from the living room window . The layout of the accommodation is perfect for spending family time together and it feels wonderfully secluded . Even when the weather is cold and wet I love lighting the wood burning stove and sitting by the fire with a book . We love staying here to recharge our spiritual batteries and I look forward to our next visit !

How would you rate the service we provide as a booking agency?
Very good

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Walking

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Wildlife

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Fishing

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Food

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Family break

Any friends or family that you would like to recommend Steading Holiday Cottages to?
Jacqui Sommerville

How did you find the local facilities?
Very good local shop that stocks most essentials . Great pub with excellent food . Lovely craft shop at entrance to Steading Holidays office .





Bluebell Lodge

Review submitted on Sat, 13 Aug 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
This is a lovely place to stay in and the views are stunning. The lodge is well equipped and clean. There are plenty of board games if you need to stay out of the rain, but if you want to stay around the lodge on a sunny day the views from the ample decking ot to Mull are spectacular. There is plenty to do, be it ambling to the village shop and jetty, popping down to the community centre or heading off on a boat trip to the smaller isles to see puffins, seals and eagles. If you want a little more hustle and bustle it is only a short and cheap boat trip to Tobermory on Mull. We absolutely love this area and come back and back. This is the best place we have stayed

How would you rate the service we provide as a booking agency?
Very good

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Walking

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Biking

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Music Events

Could you tell us what your interests are?
History

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Family break

Any friends or family that you would like to recommend Steading Holiday Cottages to?
Chris and Amanda Dunkley

How did you find the local facilities?
Very good



our stay at blubell lodge

Review submitted on Fri, 05 Aug 2016
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
A lovely cottage in a nice setting. Our third visit to the area and third property. It did smell a bit damp and wasn't as clean as the other cottages we had stayed in previously, but it didn't stop us enjoying our holiday. The bin location was slightly confusing as was the sign to get to the cottage (showed old name rather than bluebell) Kilchaon still remains a firm favourite for holidays for us.

How would you rate the service we provide as a booking agency?
Very good

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Walking

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Food

Could you tell us what your interests are?
History

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Family break

Any friends or family that you would like to recommend Steading Holiday Cottages to?
[email protected]

How did you find the local facilities?
We just love the area and facilities are good





Excellent accommodation in a wonderful place

Review submitted on Fri, 17 Jun 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Such a joy to return to Kilchoan. We love Bluebell Lodge, with its open plan layout, wood burning stove and beautiful views. Whatever the weather, there's always something nice to do.

How would you rate the service we provide as a booking agency?
Very good

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Walking

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Biking

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Wildlife

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Fishing

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Food

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Boating

Could you tell us what your interests are?
History

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Family break

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Geology

Any friends or family that you would like to recommend Steading Holiday Cottages to?
yes

How did you find the local facilities?
good





Great location but some room for improvement

Review submitted on Fri, 17 Jun 2016
3.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
2.0
Comfy lodge in a lovely location with lovely views, amazing wildlife and easy access to Kilchoan faciities, ferry to Mull etc. Access track criticised by some reviewers on TripAdvisor is rough but entirely do-able in a normal car - but hard to find as poorly signed - and the only sign that there is uses the previous name of the property - Chris' Ranch. Cabin spacious and very well equipped and all essential areas were clean - although some time since this place last came into contact with a duster - and calls to/messages left for the house managers were not returned (hence poor score for customer service above, although service at booking etc was great).

How would you rate the service we provide as a booking agency?
Good

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Walking

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Wildlife

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Fishing

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Food

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Geology

Any friends or family that you would like to recommend Steading Holiday Cottages to?
N/A

How did you find the local facilities?
Easy access to the Ferry was great, shop stocked an amazing array of stuff, and food at the Kilchoan hotel OK but nothing special. Came here for the landscape and the wildlife rather than the facilities - amazing place!



Getting a bit tired

Review submitted on Fri, 03 Jun 2016
3.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
2.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We have stayed at Bluebell Lodge several times and have always enjoyed ourselves but would like to make a few useful comments.
Although the property is in a lovely position and very comfortable, it is in need of a good spring clean particularly the lounge suite which is very shabby. The front door area could do with a good sweep and tidy up. There was no kindling wood provided for the fire and the logs were wet and would not burn.

We are sure we will be back and hope you find these comments useful and constructive.

How would you rate the service we provide as a booking agency?
Very good

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Wildlife

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Geology

Any friends or family that you would like to recommend Steading Holiday Cottages to?
no

How did you find the local facilities?
Adequate



Short break with our dog

Review submitted on Fri, 13 May 2016
3.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
3.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Log cabin adequate. Kitchen needs upgrading although everything we needed was there. Electric Shower in bathroom very poor:-(. Garden area lovely for us and our dog. We did leave feedback that the parking area could have been better - it was very muddy and slippy. It would have been useful to have some maps in the cabin with local walking guides. Also first time that a welcome pack was not waiting on us

How would you rate the service we provide as a booking agency?
Good

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Walking

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Wildlife

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Fishing

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Food

Any friends or family that you would like to recommend Steading Holiday Cottages to?
No

How did you find the local facilities?
Local hotel food good able to eat in the bar, lounge or conservatory areas with our dog which is very always good for us.





Bluebell Lodge

Review submitted on Fri, 29 Apr 2016
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A comfortable and relaxing place to spend a holiday. Well situated for walks (Sanna Beach a must) and for ferry to Mull. Pleasant hotel within a short walk for a meal or relaxing drink.

How would you rate the service we provide as a booking agency?
Very good

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Walking

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Fishing

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Food

Could you tell us what your interests are?
History

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Geology

Any friends or family that you would like to recommend Steading Holiday Cottages to?
No, already aware

How did you find the local facilities?
Excellent





A winter break

Review submitted on Wed, 03 Feb 2016
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our trip was a last minute affair and Steading Holidays couldn't have been more helpful in getting things arranged. We enjoyed our stay at the lodge very much.

How would you rate the service we provide as a booking agency?
Very good

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Walking

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Wildlife

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Family break





A lovely, peaceful stay in a comfy home from home

Review submitted on Fri, 08 Jan 2016
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
A lovely week in a very cosy and comfy house, I was impressed by how well-equipped Bluebell Lodge was (particularly the kitchen). Our children loved the garden and the spacious living / dining area. It was a godsend to have the log-burner stove for the stormy days. The beds were really comfy and cosy, plenty of blankets provided and so on. We were lucky enough to see plenty of the local wildlife, birds in the garden were a delight plus we saw two golden eagles and a sea eagle not far from the house on two separate walks.

We would definitely recommend Bluebell Lodge to others and would like to return in the summer months someday.

How would you rate the service we provide as a booking agency?
Good

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Walking

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Biking

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Wildlife

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Family break

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Geology



A great escape

Review submitted on Tue, 03 Nov 2015
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great views
Great journey to get to Kilchoan
Sanna beach, the lighthouse, a new distillery and a quick ferry to Tobermory make this area a lovely place to unwind
We love it

How would you rate the service we provide as a booking agency?
Very good

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Walking

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Family break

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Romatic Get Away

How did you find the local facilities?
Have been coming for eighteen years on and off Love the place





our second visit

Review submitted on Sun, 11 Oct 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our second visit to Bluebell Lodge. The cabin has everything we needed for a clean, comfortable and above all relaxing stay. It is a great base for exploring the local area from and many great days have been had from here. Have booked again for 2016 already

How would you rate the service we provide as a booking agency?
Very good

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Walking

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Wildlife

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Food

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Geology

Any friends or family that you would like to recommend Steading Holiday Cottages to?
Have already recommended to family

How did you find the local facilities?
We found everything that we needed available and more





Another relaxing stay

Review submitted on Mon, 28 Sep 2015
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
It's our second stay here and we found it just as good as last time.
We look forward to coming back even though the journey of over 500 miles is a pain. It's worth it to enjoy the beautiful scenery and complete calm of the area. The village has a good Pub which is a bonus.

How would you rate the service we provide as a booking agency?
Very good

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Food

How did you find the local facilities?
Limited but good





Great views! Very relaxing! A little TLC needed.

Review submitted on Fri, 28 Aug 2015
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful views from Chris' Ranch and very peaceful! Enjoyed the stay!

The living room furniture should be replaced as it is starting to wear. It was a bit uncomfortable.The house was generally clean but very dusty which was even noted by our 10 year old.The kitchen was very well equipped but difficult to work with wooden surfaces as this can be unsanitary and difficult to sanitize.

It was a very relaxing week!

How would you rate the service we provide as a booking agency?
Very good

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Walking

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Music Events

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Food

Could you tell us what your interests are?
History

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Family break

Any friends or family that you would like to recommend Steading Holiday Cottages to?
None

How did you find the local facilities?
Not very good. The local store had outdated food and the available meat was not very appealing.





Lovely house and a great place to stay

Review submitted on Fri, 21 Aug 2015
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My family and I have spent many very happy days here and look forward to returning soon. What could be nicer than sitting by a log fire, enjoying those splendid views.

How would you rate the service we provide as a booking agency?
Very good

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Walking

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Biking

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Music Events

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Wildlife

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Fishing

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Food

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Boating

Could you tell us what your interests are?
History

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Family break

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Geology

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Romatic Get Away

Any friends or family that you would like to recommend Steading Holiday Cottages to?
no

How did you find the local facilities?
good





Great place for a summer break

Review submitted on Wed, 24 Jun 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A group of us stayed in Chris' Ranch on a kayaking holiday. The Ranch easily accommodated all our gear and there was plenty of space for everyone to relax after a day on the water. The Ranch is comfortable and clean and the front deck makes for a great place to sit out of an evening. The wood burning stove makes the house cosy on a cooler evening. The kitchen was well equipped with a bread maker as an added bonus. We were a short walk from the friendly local Pub and the village shop is about a 15 minute walk.
Lovely house in a lovely village with a stunning coastline.

How would you rate the service we provide as a booking agency?
Very good

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Walking

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Biking

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Wildlife

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Boating

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Geology

Any friends or family that you would like to recommend Steading Holiday Cottages to?
no

How did you find the local facilities?
Wonderful area for exploring, especially by kayak. Loch Sunart with sheltered water, Tobermory for a short crossing and the Small Isles for the more adventurous. Its got everything.



Great stay in the wild west!

Review submitted on Fri, 15 May 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Stayed for my brothers wedding in Kilchoan, there were 6 of us so the rooms and beds worked out well.

The cabin is in a perfect location to village and ferries etc.

The place was very tidy and the log burner was great in the evening.

We all really enjoyed this place and would be great for groups up to explore the area etc as it is very social with a large dining table to sit round and benches out in the veranda.

Im sure we will be back to stay with Steading Holidays again.

How would you rate the service we provide as a booking agency?
Very good

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Walking

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Music Events

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Wildlife

Any friends or family that you would like to recommend Steading Holiday Cottages to?
Everyone

How did you find the local facilities?
All good, The local hotel was great in the evening.





Stunning location, great for a family holiday.

Review submitted on Fri, 24 Apr 2015
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We've stayed here a number of times over the years, the kids absolutely love it. Amazing beaches to explore and some stunning wildlife. A great opportunity to get back to nature. I'd recommend getting wetsuits that way you can spend all day on beach and not get cold. Thoroughly recommended !

How would you rate the service we provide as a booking agency?
Very good

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Walking

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Wildlife

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Fishing

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Food

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Family break

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Geology

Any friends or family that you would like to recommend Steading Holiday Cottages to?
We've brought several sets of friends with us over the years.

How did you find the local facilities?
There are enough local facilities to keep you going should you run out of anything.





2nd visit to Chris' Ranch

Review submitted on Fri, 02 Jan 2015
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Just returned from our second visit to Chris's Ranch this year. We stayed during the heatwave in July and this time we returned with friends for the xmas week. The accommodation is homely, comfortable and well equipped. It is also warm and cosy even without using the lovely log burner which is easily lit and is a welcome and attractive feature especially over the festive season. The location is perfect for experiencing some of the most stunning scenery in the country. Hills and coastline are easily accessed by foot, bike or car. However, the views through the picture window from the couch are also stunning and in winter you have the advantage of being able to witness spectacular sunrises and sunsets from the same window. A lunch trip to Tobermory via ferry from Kilchoan pier, a short walk from the accommodation is recommended, where there is also a good chance of viewing eagles on the way. Provisions can also be bought at the local Ferry Stores and post office. We also used the new Salen Jetty Shop, ordering our turkey and trimmings in advance and picking them up on our way to Kilchoan.

How would you rate the service we provide as a booking agency?
Very good

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Walking

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Wildlife

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Food

Could you tell us what your interests are?
History

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Romatic Get Away

Any friends or family that you would like to recommend Steading Holiday Cottages to?
I would happily recommend to friends and family.

How did you find the local facilities?
The local facilities are great given the relatively remote location. Some forward planning for provisions is needed but the Ferry Stores and Post Office are well stocked, the Kilchoan Hotel is great for lunch and an evening pint, and we found the Salen Jetty Shop brilliant for advance ordering and collecting on the way past.



well recommended

Review submitted on Mon, 13 Oct 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We really enjoyed our stay at Chris's Ranch, the only problem we had was that the week went too quick. We have already booked our return visit next year.

How would you rate the service we provide as a booking agency?
Very good

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Wildlife

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Food

Could you tell us what your interests are?
History

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Geology

Any friends or family that you would like to recommend Steading Holiday Cottages to?
>

How did you find the local facilities?
We found all we needed in the area





To the point (Ardnamurchan ;-) )

Review submitted on Fri, 26 Sep 2014
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We enjoyed our stay. It was a quiet location close to areas on the point. Exactly what we were looking for.
The facilities were everything we needed. Our dog was very at home on the decking in the afternoon sun.


I like to cook and it was great to actually have sharp knives in the kitchen!!


The wi-fi was a very useful feature.

How would you rate the service we provide as a booking agency?
Good

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Walking

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Wildlife

Any friends or family that you would like to recommend Steading Holiday Cottages to?
We keep Scotland a secret! Fabulous without the crowds

How did you find the local facilities?
The local facilities were limited, but this is part of the charm. The Kilchoan Store had everything we ever needed. The Community Garden is a great source of fresh produce.





Comfortable, spacious and welcoming

Review submitted on Wed, 25 Jun 2014
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We booked at short notice and the process was efficient, easy and personal. On arrival our expectations of the location were exceeded. From an elevated position above Kilchoan, the views from the accommodation over the sound of Mull are spectacular particularly when you can view from the comfort of the couch in front of a full size window. The accommodation is very comfortable, spacious and welcoming. The layout is thoughtful and practical with ample surfaces and storage space which help you quickly settle in and feel at home. The weather was warm so we didn't need to use the log burner which is provided with a generous supply of logs but we enjoyed the large and secluded front garden in the sun and eating on the verandah. The kitchen is well laid out with plenty of equipment and the spacious fridge and freezer were appreciated. I like to cook and found everything I needed with plenty of cutlery, crockery and equipment. The breadmaker was particularly welcome! The bedrooms are a good size and comfortable and waking to the sound of birds song (including a cuckoo) through an open window was a joy. The bathroom is also spacious with a good standalone shower. It is a beautiful and peaceful place, ideal for larger groups or couples and perhaps due to the elevated position and breeze we were not bothered by midgies. We didn't want to leave and look forward to returning.

How would you rate the service we provide as a booking agency?
Very good

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Walking

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Biking

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Wildlife

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Food

Could you tell us what your interests are?
History

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Romatic Get Away

Any friends or family that you would like to recommend Steading Holiday Cottages to?
Yes I would.

How did you find the local facilities?
Local facilities were better than expected. The local shop is well stocked and having the post office there was an advantage. We always like to look out for local produce so were delighted at what was available and the service from the market garden at Sonachan. Also it was great to be able to buy eggs and preserves at croft gates and the gallery. Good choice of places to eat out and the local bar is welcoming.



Delightful Holiday Accommodation

Review submitted on Wed, 11 Jun 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The accommodation was excellent for our group of 5 and I can highly recommend it to anyone. The surrounding area breathtakingly beautiful and this property provides a perfect base from which to explore it.

How would you rate the service we provide as a booking agency?
Very good

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Walking

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Biking

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Music Events

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Wildlife

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Food

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Boating

Could you tell us what your interests are?
History

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Geology

Any friends or family that you would like to recommend Steading Holiday Cottages to?
Anyone

How did you find the local facilities?
Fantastic





Chris' Ranch

Review submitted on Wed, 14 May 2014
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely comfortable accommodation which we have visited now on a number of occasions over the last few years. Really cosy and homely and with plenty of space for 6 adults and 2 dogs. The views over to Mull are stunning and we even had deer in the garden this year. An easy stroll to the pub in the evening makes it an ideal location for mixing with the locals who are all very friendly and welcoming.



chris's ranch october 2013

Review submitted on Sun, 20 Oct 2013
3.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Spent a few days at chris's ranch during October week.Plenty of space inside the cabin which was bigger than I imagined.In the picture you would think that it was on its own, however there are other cabins dotted about the place but there is a fair bit of privacy due to surrounding trees and shrubs.The cabin is rustic which I quite liked however one improvement which would help would be a new kitchen.The work surfaces are wooden and would be difficult to clean properly/hygienically due to the porous nature of the wood.There is a view of Mull and the sea to the front right of the property and I think some trees or bushes have been reduced recently to acheive this.Great view of the stars at night when sky clear.Good wood burning stove for cold rainy days which provides heat and cheer when looking out at the small birds on the bird feeders and reading a book.Barbeque available which was good.Overall I enjoyed my stay at the cabin,just the kitchen needs improving.



Steading Holidays replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your feedback, we very much value opinions from our clients. We are sorry the cabin wasn't quite as private as you would have liked, and have passed on your feedback regarding the kitchen.

25 years on

Review submitted on Wed, 16 Oct 2013
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Stayed here 25 years ago and the ranch has been upgraded with wood burner, kit in the kitchen and decking. All round excellent value, perfectly placed for peace and quiet and hiking. Long trip to get there but well worth it



A Great Stay

Review submitted on Tue, 24 Sep 2013
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
A very nice holiday home providing everything required for a comfortable stay. Great location with plenty of wildlife on your doorstep. The garden was especially suitable for outside games and alfresco meals.



Chris,s ranch

Review submitted on Tue, 24 Sep 2013
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Had a great week ranch was well equipped and comfortable. Only downside was drive up to ranch we scraped bottom of car driving over weeds on path grass on front of ranch was uneven making it difficult to play with children, upside we were allowed dog