FB Twitter

Jackdaw Cottage

Jackdaw Cottage

4.6
out of 5
Ratings from 12 reviews
92% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.7
Comfort
4.5
Condition
4.7
Location
4.7
Value
4.4
Customer
Service
4.8


Nestled on a little street in the heart of Conwy town, this lovely 2 bedroomed terraced cottage is ideal for those wanting to see all that Conwy has to offer without having to jump in the car. With everything on your doorstep, you will be spoilt for choice. There are plenty of restaurants, shops, and pubs to visit during your stay alongside many fabulous visitor attractions within a short drive of the cottage.

Lovely house in beautiful location

Review submitted on Mon, 09 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Really nice cottage, clean and very well equipped. Hosts were friendly and helpful. Conway is a lovely location, nice town with great access to beautiful Snowdonia. Cottage is very convenient for public transport.

Jennifer from stayed at Jackdaw Cottage for 7 nights in August 2019


A fantastic holiday in Conwy

Review submitted on Mon, 26 Aug 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Jackdaw cottage was everything we hoped it would be! It was comfortable and welcoming, the roof terrace was perfect for the early morning sun. The position of the cottage is perfect for exploring the castle walls and the rest of Conwy. The children (and adults!) didn’t want to come home at the end of the week. We will definitely stay again.

Joanna from stayed at Jackdaw Cottage for 7 nights in August 2019


Could be better

Review submitted on Sun, 11 Aug 2019
2.8
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
2.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
2.0
Customer
Service
3.0
The cottage is smaller than it looks on the pictures and definitley not big enough to sleep 5 people as advertised.

The cottage needs a good deep clean. The kitchen cabinets and fridge need a good clean inside. The whole place smelt of damp and we needed to have windows open the whole time. Its a shame as it could be very nice but it needs some TLC. Definitly not value for money at £600 per week. We stayed for 5 days out 7 as we wanted to go home early. A real shame as the location is great and with some attention the cottage could be very nice but it felt neglected.


Gary from stayed at Jackdaw Cottage for 7 nights in August 2019


We'll equipped cottage in a perfect location

Review submitted on Sun, 28 Jul 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a fantastic week in Jackdaw Cottage. The house is small but was well equipped and we had everything we needed. It was fitted out to a high standard and was very clean.

The owners had left butter, milk, a bottle of wine and Bara Brith, which was a nice welcome touch.

The cottage is in a perfect location just within the town walls, and the shops, restaurants, quay and castle were all a short walk away. We didn't use the car all week as the station is close by and it was cheap to travel by train to Colwyn Bay for the beach and the zoo. We also took an open top bus to Llandudno.

I highly recommend the cottage and we hope to visit again.


Guest from Preston stayed at Jackdaw Cottage for 7 nights in July 2019


Family stay at Jackdaw cottage in Conwy

Review submitted on Tue, 23 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
As advertised this property is compact, but was absolutely perfect for our family stay, ( 3 children under 11). We spent a lot of time out and about. The house has been really well finished, and a good bathroom and shower. The back terrace was great for sitting out on and the location of the house was perfect for walking in and around Conwy, including the amazing city walls. We did not have an issue with parking as we were happy to park elsewhere, however the only downside for some visitors could be the somewhat tricky, steep parking in the dead end street outside the house.

Juliet from Moffat stayed at Jackdaw Cottage for 7 nights in April 2019


Great little place to stay

Review submitted on Tue, 27 Nov 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My wife, daughter, and I loved our stay at Jackdaw Cottage. We did not have a car. The location inside the city walls was perfect. The entire city is within walking distance. When we arrived we were notified that the downstairs heating element was out. No problem, we have been provisioned with extra coal, firewood, and kindling for staying warm. Upstairs was quite cozy as the heaters worked fine. The space was perfect for us and we had no issues. If we ever have the opportunity to return to Wales, we will be returning to Jackdaw Cottage.

Alan from Sharpsburg stayed at Jackdaw Cottage for 3 nights in November 2018


Review of Jackdaw Cottage, Conwy, August 2018

Review submitted on Tue, 04 Sep 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage was perfect for us (2 adults, 2 grandchildren). It had everything we needed for an enjoyable week’s stay. My only suggestion for improvement would be to have a more powerful extractor fan in the bathroom. We kept the heated towel rail on to keep towels dry. Parking is fun, room for only a few cars on one side of road only. Everyone was very friendly and co-operative, residents and holidaymakers alike. Conwy is a little gem of a town, the castle is spectacular, the walls impressive and fun, the quay always interesting. A lovely holiday in a lovely little cottage. Also, I carelessly left behind a pair of shoes. The office staff were exemplary in retrieving them for me. Thank you for that.

Susan from stayed at Jackdaw Cottage for 7 nights in August 2018


Great! Would stay again!

Review submitted on Sun, 29 Jul 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We loved our week at Jackdaw Cottage. The location was ideal - right in Conwy so we could walk to everything, yet still very quiet. The house was more spacious than we expected, decorated thoughtfully and stylishly. Beautiful bathroom with underfloor heating and heated towel rail. We slept really well (although my husband used the bottom (double) bunk bed as the double bed in the main room was a bit small). Although it might be on the small size for a bigger group, the space was ideal for our family of 3 and we’ll stay again when baby #2 arrives. Thank you for a very comfortable week in Conwy!

Lia from München stayed at Jackdaw Cottage for 7 nights in July 2018


A wonderful cottage

Review submitted on Tue, 03 Jul 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
OK, the weather was superb which helped to make the holiday but Jackdaw Cottage was excellent. The location is ideal, just inside the town walls, and the cottage has everything anyone could need. There are dishes and trays which I could not imagine needing but it was great to know they were there. The cottage was spotless, the chairs and the bed comfortable and all the wee extras helped to make it a perfect holiday venue. The TV and the collection of DVDs would have been great had the weather been poorer. I (Alex) loved sitting up on the deck at the rear with a book listening to people walking the town walls while Margaret was happy to chill indoors watching the local TV celebrity, Drew Pritchard on TV. Already thinking of booking for next year.


Alex from stayed at Jackdaw Cottage for 14 nights in June 2018


A charming location within Conwy Castle walls that brings with it a few compromises...

Review submitted on Mon, 04 Jun 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The standard of cleanliness and the general state of maintenance of Jackdaw Cottage is as excellent as you could hope for. Located inside Conwy Castle walls everything Conwy has to offer is no more than a 5 to 10-minute walk away: shops, pubs, restaurants, takeaways, the seafront and the castle itself.
Space is at a premium inside the castle walls and it is with a property like Jackdaw cottage that you feel it the most. The streets are tight and although there is theoretically one parking space outside the cottage it only works for small to mid-sized cars. A Ford C-Max just fits, a Ford S-Max is too big. The street just isn't wide enough to bring the nose of this car around to get it into the space. Having looked on Google street view before we left we chose to buy a parking permit from Conwy council at about £35 for a week for Mount Pleasant car park. This car park is the closest to the cottage - about a 3-minute walk. During the day this car park tends to be full in busy periods like the May school half-term holiday but there are plenty of spaces late afternoon and evening time when day visitors have left.
Although you can, and we did, squeeze 5 people into the cottage, with limited storage space for clothes (your bag on the floor in one of the rooms) we feel it is best used for 3 or 4 people.
The downstairs toilet and shower room is beautifully finished with stone floor and wall tiles and a great shower. Being built into the hillside there are no windows for ventilation. We found we had to have the shower room door open and the living room window locked open a crack during the day to have any chance of drying the room out after it was used. Steam from the shower condenses onto the walls and floor. The heated towel rail was essential for drying towels and I suspect the underfloor heating in the winter time is how you dry the room out in the winter if you don't want windows open.
There is nothing anyone could do to build a better bathroom in this property - one of the compromises for having a house in this location.
Overall it's a great place to stay, especially if you don't want to drive after an evening meal and drinks. Everything in Conwy is so close by.


Adrian from Alton stayed at Jackdaw Cottage for 7 nights in May 2018


Beautifully modernised small cottage in a stunning historic location.

Review submitted on Sun, 15 Apr 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Jackdaw cottage has been sympathetically modernised to give a cosy holiday let. Although this house is small, the space has been well used, and everything you need is provided should you want to cook for yourself. There is no washing machine, but as the owner points out, there isn't really space for this appliance and a dishwasher. The cottage is within the walls of Conwy which has many attractions itself and is a good base for exploring the many attractions of North Wales. Both the owner and Great escapes Wales were very helpful in dealing with my special request, and the owner provided useful information about parking. The only downsides are the parking which is tricky in the very narrow street outside the cottage. There is plenty of parking in Conwy, some you need to pay for, but if you had a mobility issue I would think this would be unsuitable for you. If you have a choice of vehicles, choose the most compact you can, or maybe use the train as the station is nearby. There are also several steps up to the cottage. Not a problem for us, but again if you had mobility issues, it could be difficult to navigate the small steps with a car parked in front of the house. Altogether this was a lovely property, nice and warm and cosy for our early April stay.

Cathy from stayed at Jackdaw Cottage for 7 nights in April 2018


Pre - Christmas break in Conwy

Review submitted on Tue, 05 Dec 2017
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Smashing little house under castle walls. Only small but well designed with plenty of storage space. Comfy beds and plenty of nice linen and towels. Well equipped kitchen. Big telly with good DVD selection - plenty of games too. Great chippy round the corner as well as a Spar and Post Office. Minutes walk into High Street for shopping. Nice and warm even in December with great log fire. The only downside for me was the bathroom is downstairs but this may not be a problem for most. All in all a nice place and would recommend as value for money.

Hilary from Leigh stayed at Jackdaw Cottage for 6 nights in November 2017