FB Twitter

Chalet Jean

Chalet Jean

4.4
out of 5
Ratings from 11 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.6
Comfort
4.5
Condition
4.3
Location
4.1
Value
4.3
Customer
Service
4.4


Chalet Jean is a spacious luxury ski chalet with panoramic views, log fire, hot tub on sunny terrace, sleeping up to 14 people in 6 bedrooms.

Chalet Jean est un chalet de ski de luxe spacieux avec vue panoramique, cheminée, jacuzzi sur terrasse ensoleillée,14 couchages dans 6 chambres. Voir plus d'infos ou cliquez sur 'Book online' pour réserver.

Fantastic size and quality chalet 10 minute walk from the Ski Lift

Review submitted on Tue, 01 Jan 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
3.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a really enjoyable stay over Christmas at Chalet Jean with 14 members of our family. The Chalet is extremely warm (at times we had to turn all the rads off it was so warm) the kitchen area and lounge are huge and can easily fit 14 plus sitting around - this area is the best part of the Chalet. The hot tub and playroom an added bonus too. I would thoroughly recommend this Chalet to a large family or group of friends.
Downside is that the boot room is the only room that doesn’t have heating so we had to hang wet skiwear and boots around the chalet/bathrooms/boiler room.
The quickest walk to the ski lift is via a field on a slope which isn’t ideal if icy - otherwise it’s a 15-20 minute walk on the road so we had to transport ski’s/boots in the trailer everyday but there is a free car park by the lift


Lucy from Upminster stayed at Chalet Jean for 7 nights in December 2018


Chamonix All Year replied 155 days ago
Thank you for your review, we are so pleased that you enjoyed your Christmas here in Chamonix and that you found Chalet Jean to be perfect for this, we do hope to see you again.

Perfect location for large group

Review submitted on Mon, 16 Jul 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed for a week in Chalet Jean, primarily for the MB-race (mountainbiking). The chalet is probably one of the best we have ever had. The chalet is large enough for 12 people, no queues for the bathroom/shower in the morning. The dining table and living room were large enough to seat our group. The view at the Mont-Blanc is astonishing, although removal of a few large trees would make this even better. The area was perfect for an active holiday, rafting, via ferratta, mountainbiking, hiking in the mountains and to the ice cave, swimming, canyoning. Would definitely recommend staying here. After a week a few of us wanted to stay a little longer, we were offered a good deal by Chamonix all year.

Simon from Veenendaal stayed at Chalet Jean for 9 nights in July 2018


Chamonix All Year replied 343 days ago
Thank you for staying with us, it was a pleasure to meet you and we hope to see you again in the future!

Great Stay

Review submitted on Tue, 26 Jun 2018
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The Chalet was great with clean and large living areas and kitchen. Views from the living area was also amazing. Please note though that the 2 bunk beds listed next to the kitchen was more like temporary accommodations inside a cupboard. Other then that we had a great stay.

Florencia from Bandung stayed at Chalet Jean for 4 nights in June 2018


Beautiful Chalet - Excellent Location

Review submitted on Mon, 05 Feb 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Just back from a great weeks skiing with 9 friends and family. Chamonix All year were excellent to deal with. They sorted all our ski passes, ski hire etc and had it all delivered to the chalet the night we arrived. They also booked some other activities for us - nothing was too much trouble.
The chalet was beautiful, it comfortably slept 10 of us, 3 couples and then 4 singles who all had their own bedrooms (one was a small bunk room, but adequate). There was plenty of space to spread out and you didn't need to be on top of each other. The property had everything you needed and was very comfortable. Home from home.
Not too far to walk to the ski lift, we did however hire a locker at the Prarion gondola - much easier than walking up and down the hill in ski boots.
Fantastic views from the chalet, especially from the hot tub at sunset!!!!
Would thoroughly recommend Chalet Jean and Chamonix All Year.


Mandy from stayed at Chalet Jean for 7 nights in January 2018


Chamonix All Year replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for staying with us, it was a pleasure to meet you and we hope to see you again in the future!

Fantastic Chalet in a beautiful Location

Review submitted on Tue, 29 Aug 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Loved the chalet, inside it looked just like the online pictures. There were 8 of us staying in it and we had loads of room. Beds and rooms were comfortable with plenty of bathrooms. Fantastic kitchen and facilities. A definite home from home. Great location within 5 minutes walking distance to the Prarion Chairlift and 10 minutes to the nearest restaurant/bar. We had a fabulous holiday and would definitely stay here again.
Only issue we had was with the outside area which could have had more up to date furniture for the summer months. There were no sunbeds although these were shown on the pictures. Chamonixallyear did bring us 2 of their own when we asked for some though. It was also extremely hot at night although I guess that wouldn't be a problem in the winter months. The Hot Tub was spotless and well maintained.


Jacqueline from Bellshill stayed at Chalet Jean for 14 nights in July 2017


Chamonix All Year team replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your review of your stay in Chalet Jean. We are very pleased that you found everything that you needed and enjoyed the elevated location in Les Houches. Unfortunately the chalet doesn't have sun loungers anymore so we have removed these photos from the site, but we are glad that we could help provide some for you. We do hope we'll see you again in the future.

Fantastic chalet for a family ski trip

Review submitted on Mon, 17 Apr 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were very pleased with Chalet Jean and the Camonix All Year team. Gorgeous Chalet, loads of space for 6 adults and 7 kids, beds and sofas super comfy and location ideal. Can't recommend highly enough!

Sarah from stayed at Chalet Jean for 7 nights in April 2017


Chamonix All Year team replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your lovely review of your stay in Chalet Jean. We are so pleased that your family enjoyed it and we do hope that we'll see you all back again soon.

Lovely spacious chalet

Review submitted on Sat, 15 Apr 2017
3.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
3.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Chalet Jean worked really well for our 3 family group, the kids loved the massive playroom and everywhere felt so airy and spacious.
Very good value for money and definitely worth a visit!


Julia from Leatherhead stayed at Chalet Jean for 7 nights in April 2017


A fabulous family holiday in Les Houches

Review submitted on Tue, 03 Jan 2017
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
3.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Prior to arriving at Chalet Jean, Chamonix All Year provided all of the information that we needed in order to get our kids first ski trip off to a flying start...... lessons, transport and resort info was all sorted with no fuss. Alas the snow wasn't quite so forthcoming, but the sun shone and made for a stunning vacation nonetheless.

We had 3 generations of family convening from US, Singapore, UK and Hungary, so arranging their unflustered and timely arrival is no mean feat.

On arrival, it was lovely to meet the chalet owners on the staircase. If only in an abundance of holiday photos, it was very nice to feel their watchful gaze throughout, and welcome them into our family holiday. They look like a smashing bunch.

The chalet has a huge amount of space. Set over three floors, with kids play space, storage and bedrooms on the lower level, living and kitchen on the mid-level and bedrooms up above, it provided a perfect layout for our three generations. We put the elders up above in rooms with balconies with stunning views to afford them a peaceful retreat from the noisy onslaught of children. The kids, Aunts, Uncles, Nieces, Nephews and ourselves all stayed in relative comfort on the lower floor. Storage isn't generous, but the level of comfort is exactly what I would expect for the money that we paid.

The only accommodation complaints appertain to heat. There is no heater in the bunk room , so our nanny had to move out because she was too cold. The storage heaters throughout (especially bedrooms where they are exposed) are extremely hot to touch, which could've posed a problem to the kids, and we ran out of hot water on several occasions (this was easily fixed by flipping the water heaters on to constant, but worth noting if you're to stay there).

The living space had a Sonos system and Apple TV for entertainment, but be careful to sign out prior to leaving. The Sky TV didn't work, although that was no compromise for us.

The location is polarising, and will need to be carefully considered based on your personal circumstances. The Prarion lift is a very short walk down the hill, and is great for beginners. Buses run throughout the day through Les Houches to Chamonix, Les Praz and Argentiere, but they stop early evening so don't expect to be lovin' the apres and beyond without a long trek home. This was fine for us in this instance, but not good if you want a night out or an escape from your travel companions.

There is a beautiful little restaurant in Les Houches (La Ferme Des Agapes), approx 15 minutes walk away, but the chalet location is quite remote without transport. The supermarket is at the opposite end of Les Houches, a few km away. Chamonix is impossible to get cabs, so be prepared to drive to your destination or stay put.

All things considered this was a fantastic holiday. Well organised and a great debut for our little kids, but the skiing played second fiddle (entirely due to the lack of snow) so we didn't have to rely on multiple daily trips on local public transport to Chamonix and beyond. The chalet space was vast and allowed for the twelve of us to play or escape each other as moods required. I'd definitely recommend it as a great affordable spot to get a sprawling family together.


Rich from stayed at Chalet Jean for 8 nights in December 2016


Chamonix All Year team replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your lovely detailed review of your family stay in Chalet Jean. We are so pleased that you all enjoyed such a successful family reunion, and it was our pleasure to help you organise your lessons, transport and everything else you needed. We are working hard with the owner to replace the Sky TV with another solution for English channels and will see if there is a way to install a heater in the bunk room, although space is very tight in here. We do hope to welcome you back again in the future.

Wonderful stage

Review submitted on Sat, 10 Dec 2016
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We stay with some friends and kids. We enjoy the house and the views. Ir was an incredible experience that we will repeat soon.



Xavier from Barcelona stayed at Chalet Jean for 4 nights in December 2016


Chamonix All Year team replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your lovely review of your stay in Chalet Jean. We're very pleased that you enjoyed it so much and we do hope to see you again soon.

Chalet Jean, fantastic place!

Review submitted on Thu, 18 Feb 2016
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Beautiful property in a great location we had a great holiday with family and friends. Perfect for large groups with kids. The games room and the hot tub is brilliant after a cold day in February to warm up!

Gabrielle from Sheffield stayed at Chalet Jean for 7 nights in February 2016


Chamonix All Year team replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your great review of Chalet Jean. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that the chalet was a comfortable base with everything you needed to make the most of your holiday. We hope to see you back in Chamonix again in the future.

Could be perfect......

Review submitted on Mon, 28 Dec 2015
3.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
3.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
We stayed here as a family group of 10. Overall it was good, but could have been excellent with a few finishing touches-for example; a chalet for up to 14 people and only 1 small single oven?? Generally I would say the kitchen was not well equipped (Only 6 wine glasses when we arrived-quickly sorted, but unecessary). As advertised, flat acreen TVs in several bedrooms......but no way to connect them to power or aerial!!! (pointless). Better instructions for the hot tub. Advertised as having a Playstation.......but none there (disappointed kids). More hangers for clothes. Bunk room ridiculously small (better used as a food store as nowhere in kitchen to put any food). Not enough power points for charging things (and no hairdryer for the ladies). Finally, why not charge slightly more and provide towels for the hot tub as having to bring towels with you for a 'luxury' chalet is ridiculous!

Peter from East Stratton stayed at Chalet Jean for 7 nights in December 2015


Chamonix All Year team replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your review of Chalet Jean. We will pass on your feedback on the chalet to the owners in case they are looking to make any improvements in the future; as each of our chalets is individually owned the owners do furnish and finish them personally. We hope that future guests interested in staying at Chalet Jean will see that the TVs in the bedrooms are not advertised on our website as we know that they are not connected, and the small bunk read is described as such. We hope that you enjoyed your Christmas stay with us and that we might see you back in Chamonix again in the future.