FB Twitter

The Moorview

The Moorview

4.8
out of 5
Ratings from 86 reviews
98% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.9
Comfort
4.8
Condition
4.7
Location
4.8
Value
4.6
Customer
Service
4.9


Our spacious one bedroom Enjoy England Five Star rated apartment with views on three sides including over Ilkley and Ilkley Moor. Ideal for singles and couples seeking a spacious apartment with a very high level of furnishings and fittings. This apartment is kept pet-free.

The perfect place to come after the Covid lockdown and restrictions

Review submitted on Thu, 30 Jul 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely week once again in the Moorview Apartment, which is why we keep on returning. It was the perfect place to come after the Covid lockdown and restrictions. The standard of cleanliness and the precautions being taken were excellent. A lot of work and thought has gone into making Westwood feel very safe for guests and also the staff. All of which was greatly appreciated as we felt we could just relax and enjoy ourselves. We had some lovely walks out on the Moor without even having to drive anywhere in the car. We also visited familiar old haunts further up Wharfedale and into Wensleydale. There was still the same friendly greeting on our arrival and the delicious cake that Paula bakes.

Rosie from Walton-on-Thames stayed at The Moorview for 7 nights in July 2020


Home from Home in a panoramic setting

Review submitted on Sun, 19 Jul 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Westwood Lodge is superbly located above the town and right on the edge of the Moor. Moorview provides comfortable and homely accommodation and has everything to make your stay hassle free. The roof terrace gives superb 360 panoramas for miles around. The owners go out of their way to make you feel welcome as typified by the Victoria Sponge awaiting you on the dining table.

Michael from London stayed at The Moorview for 15 nights in July 2020


Excellent customer service

Review submitted on Sun, 08 Dec 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A needed visit to Ilkley to see a poorly relative at short notice. Tim & the team could not have been more helpful, mind you we have stayed quite a few times now in most of the properties. This time it was Moorview, ideal for a couple. When not needed at the hospital I was able to work there easily and my daughter popped over from her work and at short notice Tim arranged for a put up bed for her so she could stay the night. Many thanks for your flexibility.

Robert from Cheltenham stayed at The Moorview for 2 nights in December 2019


Cosy Calm

Review submitted on Mon, 25 Nov 2019
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Needed a bolt hole whilst clearing another property prior to sale. This was the perfect hideaway and the climb up from town good exercise.

Michael from London stayed at The Moorview for 3 nights in November 2019


short break

Review submitted on Mon, 28 Oct 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our second stay at Westwood Lodge and we will certainly be returning. Ideal location - close enough to shops/ restaurants etc but quiet/peaceful setting.

Christine from Castle Douglas stayed at The Moorview for 2 nights in October 2019


Lovely place to stay on Ilkley Moor

Review submitted on Fri, 20 Sep 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Really enjoyed our stay at the Moorview apartment at Westwood Lodge. The customer service we received was outstanding, Justine even came to collect us and our heavy bags from the station!
The apartment was quiet, spacious and comfortable with lovely views. There is access to the roof terrace which is a great place for a glass of wine at sunset.

The apartment is well equipped with all the cooking utensils you could possible need and there’s even a freshly baked Victoria sponge cake waiting for you on arrival with plenty of Yorkshire tea and milk! Our 4 year old daughter loved the box of toys left for her.

In the hallway of the building there is an honesty box system with a few supplies for purchase - these included deodorant, toilet roll, biscuits, soy sauce and jam.

My only bit of feedback to the owners would be to consider getting mini toiletries for the rooms (shampoo, conditioner and body wash). I was surprised the apartments don’t have them as they are so well equipped with everything else. The shops are quite a long walk away so it would be annoying if we hadn’t brought these ourselves.

Overall had an absolutely lovely time and would definitely recommend staying here.




Rosie from Brighton stayed at The Moorview for 2 nights in September 2019


Tim Edwards replied 318 days ago
Thanks for your review. We're pleased you had a great stay! Regarding toiletries, we do supply a large body wash/ soap, plus washing up liquid, dishwasher powder etc. We used to include single use shampoos/ conditioners and soap bars but it was expensive and we found they were either not used, ran out after the first night or were just taken home as "freebies". We are also very conscious of the environmental impact of such single use bottles and which is why we (like many hotels) now only use the large refillable containers.

Comfort in superb location

Review submitted on Thu, 19 Sep 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Warm greeting and apartment looked and was welcoming. Tea tray ready with Victoria sponge plus welcome bottle of wine.
Location is perfect on the edge of Ilkley Moor with its wonderful walks, and town
with good shops and restaurants, is a ten or fifteen walk away.
Comfy bed, kitchen well equipped and we were impressed when the heating came on despite the warm days (and clear chilly nights).
I have stayed here before with my grandchildren and they loved it too, especially feeding the pig and jumping on the trampoline - and enjoying the rooftop. I’m sure we will be back again.


Guest from Hinton St George stayed at The Moorview for 3 nights in September 2019


The perfect place to stay.

Review submitted on Thu, 19 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were at Westwood Lodge for a family birthday celebration and it proved to the perfect place. Relaxed atmosphere with great facilities, we'll definitely be back. A wonderful place!

Gordon from Edinburgh stayed at The Moorview for 3 nights in September 2019


100% satisfaction

Review submitted on Mon, 02 Sep 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
It’s not very often you can say that your accommodation was 100% what you wanted, right? Well, we can!
Our 4 night stay at The Moorview, Westwood Lodge Ilkley was perfect for us for the following reasons;
• Comfortable, clean, quiet & welcoming
• Well equipped, everything worked
• Perfect location, close (within walking distance) but far enough away from town centre and in close proximity to local walks around Ilkley moor and nearby towns.
• Private off road & secure parking
Would highly recommend this accommodation for anyone planning a visit to Ilkley or nearby.


Paul from Ringwood stayed at The Moorview for 4 nights in August 2019


A family holiday

Review submitted on Fri, 23 Aug 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A great apartment and welcome, everything you need for a great weeks holiday, the best holiday apartment ever.

Janet from Harwich stayed at The Moorview for 7 nights in August 2019


Another very enjoyable stay at Moorview

Review submitted on Mon, 19 Aug 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Another very enjoyable stay at Moorview, all be it a brief visit this time. The apartment was as comfortable and welcoming as ever, Justine was there to meet us and Tim was always on hand to help with any queries. The heather was just coming into bloom on the moor which looked beautiful. It was also the weekend of the Ilkley Jazz Festival which added an extra festival feel to the town during the afternoon, as we came out of Betty's, laden with cakes we had purchased. It was nice to sit awhile in the gardens across the road and enjoy the music.

Rosie from Walton-on-Thames stayed at The Moorview for 2 nights in August 2019


Something for everyone come rain or shine

Review submitted on Sun, 21 Jul 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Once more we were blessed with excellent weather. Moorview is a perfect location for walking stretches along the Dales Way, which starts in Ilkley, the Dales Highway up on Ilkley Moor, and parts of the Pennine Way, the bit that we did was up at Malham, a fifty minute drive from Westwood Lodge. And if it rains there is more than enough to do in York. The apartment is very comfortable and well appointed and nothing is too much trouble for Tim, Paula and Justine to attend to, which they do very quickly. The town of Ilkley is only a short distance away by foot or car, and there are restaurants and eateries to suit every pocket and taste.

Rosie from Walton-on-Thames stayed at The Moorview for 11 nights in July 2019


Lovely spot

Review submitted on Thu, 27 Jun 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have stayed in these apartments before and have always found them peaceful and restful. The location is great and the apartments are very well appointed as befits their 5 star rating but felt this time maybe some redecoration required. This in no way detracted from our stay. Ilkley itself is lovely, great place for eating out and a great base for exploring this part of the country.

Linda from Kilmarnock stayed at The Moorview for 4 nights in June 2019


Visiting relatives and friends

Review submitted on Sun, 12 May 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have come to Ilkley from the USA for many years and always try and stay at Westwood Lodge. We have stayed in different accommodations at the Lodge from two persons to 10 persons and found each accommodation to be excellent. Tim, Paula and Justine are so friendly it’s like being at home with family. Paula even carried our heavy suitcase up the two floors (36 steps) to the Moorview apartment. The accommodations have everything you could ever want and Tim and Paula have made sure you can live as if you were in your own home.

Richard from New Providence stayed at The Moorview for 3 nights in May 2019


Easter break

Review submitted on Mon, 22 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A great location right on the edge of Ilkley Moor. Fantastic views from our top-floor apartment (stairs though may be difficult for some: there are more accessible alternatives). Ilkley is a fine holiday location, and a good full programme of Holy Week and Easter services at St Margaret’s for those so inclined.

David from Hereford stayed at The Moorview for 10 nights in April 2019


Wonderful views from every window and close proximity to Ilkley Moor. This place is all about the lo

Review submitted on Mon, 15 Apr 2019
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The apartment was spacious and very comfortable for two guests but the multiple flights of stairs to get up to it are a bit of a challenge. The welcoming sponge cake was delicious and a nice way to greet guests. The kitchen is small but adequate apart from a limited number of cutlery settings. We needed to wash up more frequently because of this so this became a bit of a pain.
The over-bath shower with clingy curtain arrangement is difficult to manage. The heating could have been set of few degrees hotter for our comfort as the control panel only permits 22 degrees in the living room and 21.5 in the bedroom. The bed was comfortable but some of the bedroom furniture had ill-fitting doors and drawers.
The roof terrace provides a stupendous 360 degree view but the tower is closed for repair. The showrs in the ladies changing room in the basement are dirty and erratic. The sauna light flickered unbearably so the sauna was not used. Hot tub was very hot which we enjoyed but others may need the temperature toned down.
Tilly the pig was interesting to meet and the grounds were pleasant to view and walk through.
What matters most of all for this holiday rental is the location. Guests can walk straight onto the moor to explore the Cow and Calf rocks in one dorection or in the other direction a gentle walk to see the neolithic Swastika stone; all the while being treated to expansive views of moors and hills and backed by the cries of grouse and curlews.
Ilkley town has a lot to offer in the way of good restaurants, shops and a great Sunday market.
A great place to stay for the location and views.


Debra from Malmesbury stayed at The Moorview for 7 nights in April 2019


Tim Edwards replied more than 1 year ago
Dear Deb - thank you for your review. We're disappointed that you were not entirely happy about your stay. We do clearly point out on our website that this apartment is on the second floor and reached by stairs. Unfortunately you booked through a third party online agency and they choose what information to provide on their site. The apartment sleeps two. However, we always provide double of everything - small and large plates, bowls, cutlery, choice of glasses etc. so as to avoid the need to keep washing up. We fitted baths because some people prefer them to showers after a long walk. It is - as you say - somewhat of a compromise. The heating adjusts to the time of day and can be manually overridden by guests. It even comes on during the night hours if the temperature drops outside. It is normally set at 21 degrees throughout the day. We are carrying out work in the small tower but the roof terrace is open as normal. We hope you won't be deterred from staying with us in the future. Tim & Paula

Last minute but excellent ...

Review submitted on Thu, 21 Mar 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Due to family issues, I had to find somewhere to stay in Ilkley and having stayed at Westwood Lodge previously, it was my first port of call. Tim, Paula and Justine couldn't have been more helpful and came to my rescue. Every apartment is tastefully decorated, homely and kept spotless by the team! I can highly recommend staying at Westwood Lodge.

Windsor from Bassussarry stayed at The Moorview for 12 nights in March 2019


a wonderful holiday with our little one

Review submitted on Wed, 27 Feb 2019
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We really enjoyed staying at the Moorview apartment with our 7 months old baby boy. It was like a home away from home, well equipment including all the facilities that you would need when travelling with a baby. It is an ideal location for shopping, walking and simply relaxing. The Moorview apartment also has beautiful views and is spacious, cozy and comfortable. The hosts are very helpful and it we really enjoyed the homemade victoria sponge cake.

Carolin from Hartlepool stayed at The Moorview for 3 nights in February 2019


Great Break

Review submitted on Sat, 09 Feb 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Another great stay at Westwood Lodge. So comfortable, so relaxing and ideal in so many ways whether you want to do lots or just chill out! Hope to come back again and again!

Richard from Liverpool stayed at The Moorview for 9 nights in February 2019


Excellent customer service

Review submitted on Sun, 20 Jan 2019
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A home from home apartment and place to stay while visiting family. Very well equipped. The communications were excellent and the telephone calls a good personal touch. Hope to be back

Helen from Cheltenham stayed at The Moorview for 3 nights in January 2019


Always lovely

Review submitted on Sun, 30 Dec 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Always nice to come "home" to Westwood Lodge when we visit Yorkshire and after a walk on the moors we head "home" to Westwood Lodge. That says it all!

Marilyn from Mississauga stayed at The Moorview for 3 nights in December 2018


A home from home

Review submitted on Mon, 19 Nov 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My husband and I have now stayed many times at Moorview. For a one bedroom apartment it is very spacious and comfortable. It is very well appointed and the owners have thought of everything for their guests' convenience. They are constantly "on call" and nothing is too much trouble for them.
The views from the windows are magnificent, and there is easy access to walk out into the open country side form the door, and very easy access to the town of Ilkley.
Once again the weather was kind to us, but even if it is not there is so much to do in the local area.


Rosie from Walton-on-Thames stayed at The Moorview for 7 nights in November 2018


Fabulous views over Ilkley Moors

Review submitted on Wed, 26 Sep 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Moorview lives up to its name with fabulous views at both the front and rear over Ilkley Moors and Wharfedale. A very cosy, spacious one bedroom flat with all the amenities you could want.

Robert from Cheltenham stayed at The Moorview for 5 nights in September 2018


Another superb stay at Moorview

Review submitted on Wed, 01 Aug 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Another superb stay at Moorview. We like our extremes of weather. In March we got the Beast from the East and Storm Emma, this time we got the heat wave! It was wonderful to see the moor so green and bursting with life after being in the grip of snow and ice just a few months before. In Moorview you really do feel to be right up on the moor. And the fresh air from the surrounding countryside smells wonderful through the open windows. The apartment was as welcoming, clean and comfortable as it always is and Tim, Paula and Justine just as friendly and helpful. There is so much to do in Ilkley and the surrounding countryside one trip is never enough!

Rosie from Walton-on-Thames stayed at The Moorview for 7 nights in July 2018


Good place to stay in Ilkley

Review submitted on Sun, 08 Jul 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Westwood Lodge is an imposing Victorian building on the outskirts of Ilkley facing the moor - a scenic site but a liitle out of town. The Moorview apartment is high up, affording good views. It is spacious, comfortable, quiet at night, well-furnished and equipped, and clean. Everything worked efficiently during our stay. The owners and staff with whom we came into contact were all friendly and helpful. Although not cheap, in our opinion it represented decent value for money.

George from Maidstone stayed at The Moorview for 3 nights in June 2018


Fabulous!!

Review submitted on Fri, 22 Jun 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Exceeded all my expectations! Attention given to every detail to make my visit perfect. I ❤️ Westwood Lodge!!

Elizabeth from West Palm Beach stayed at The Moorview for 7 nights in June 2018


Perfect for Travel of any kind - Business, Leisure or Special Occassion - Highly Recommended!

Review submitted on Fri, 15 Jun 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I have been staying at the Westwood since 2002 (wow!) and have had exceptional experiences every time.

From booking out the entire place for our wedding (with guests traveling from across Canada and the US) in 2002; to many family holidays back to Ilkley since our return to Canada in 2007; and now bringing business colleagues while establishing a new business venture in Leeds - it really does have something for everyone.

The accommodations are lovely and provide lots of space to relax and soak up the beauty of Ilkley and its surroundings. It's super clean, quiet and charming. We stay as a family (with 3 kids) and love it every time. And my work colleagues are now experiencing the delight of staying in a 'house-setting' which is so much nicer than a hotel room.

I wouldn't hesitate to recommend Westwood Lodge to anyone looking for something special and extraordinary.


Lisa from Kitchener stayed at The Moorview for 6 nights in June 2018


A real Home from home

Review submitted on Thu, 07 Jun 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our second stay in 9 months. Suits us very well and I think will continue to do so whilst we can cope with the stairs ! Good location for getting out and about and the surrounding area is stunning and the town of Ilkley a real gem. The house is fantastic and the apartment extremely comfortable. Having access to the roof terrace is fantastic with its far reaching views (although the view from the apartment are excellent as well) We sat up there drinking tea in the company of some newly fledged blue tits ! The apartment is so quiet and the welcome tray of tea & coffee together with a bottle of wine and a delicious home made Victoria sponge cake was a bonus . The owners have got it “ just right”. We will certainly be returning.

Janice from Bishops Stortford stayed at The Moorview for 3 nights in June 2018


Lovely location

Review submitted on Wed, 23 May 2018
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Lovely location for our singing week in Bolton Abbey and for walks on Ilkley Moor, which was literally across the road. It is also a short, wooded walk into town.

Janet from Hereford stayed at The Moorview for 7 nights in May 2018


Our Regular Visit to Moorview

Review submitted on Mon, 26 Mar 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We enjoy staying in the Moorview apartment every year as we have realised that Westwood Lodge is an ideal base to explore the Yorkshire Dales for all activities and yet is convenient for other facilities whilst having a fine outlook over Ikley.

David from Glasgow stayed at The Moorview for 14 nights in March 2018


On Ilkley Moor W' Two 'ats on!

Review submitted on Sat, 17 Mar 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My husband and I had an extended stay at Moorview, from February 27 until 9th March. I have already sent to you a review as requested for the days 27/2 to 2/3. The review for 2/3 to 9/3 remains the same.

Rosie from Walton-on-Thames stayed at The Moorview for 7 nights in March 2018


On Ilkley Moor wi' two 'ats on!

Review submitted on Sat, 10 Mar 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a memorable visit! We walked out on Ilkley Moor (wearing TWO hats each!!) as the Beast from the East met Storm Emma. Awesome is a much overused word these days, but it was just that. We returned for deep hot baths and white fluffy towels and continued to watch from the windows as the weather raged on. Moorview could not have been more warm, cosy and comfortable. It was a real treat to see the moor in the snow. Can't wait to return in July and see it in the summer! Tim and Paula responded promptly to any queries we had, and thank very much once again for accommodating us early, so we could drive up from Surrey ahead of the snow. The town of Ilkley, a short walk down the hill remains as delightful as ever, and we thoroughly enjoyed an afternoon tea at Betty's.

Rosie from Walton-on-Thames stayed at The Moorview for 3 nights in February 2018


Another great stay at Westwood Lodge.

Review submitted on Mon, 12 Feb 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We keep coming back so it must be good - and it is!
Ilkley is a lovely place with so much to do and see.
Westwood Lodge is so comfortable, restful and a great place to chill out.


Richard from Liverpool stayed at The Moorview for 9 nights in February 2018


Disappointing

Review submitted on Fri, 12 Jan 2018
3.0
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
2.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
I really dislike giving negative reviews but we were disappointed with Moorview. It is marketed as 5 star luxury but failed to live up to that. We had been spoiled the previous week in an award winning property, which I have taken into account, but Moorview felt a bit shabby and not furnished to the standard we expected. It was ok but not great.

Guest from Guia De Isora stayed at The Moorview for 7 nights in December 2017


Tim Edwards replied more than 1 year ago
We are sorry you didn't particularly enjoy your New Year with us. We appreciate that there are some fantastic properties in Tenerife and we're disappointed that our Victorian Listed country house was not to your taste. There are certainly other "boutique" apartments in Leeds in the latest colours and styles, but that's not us! We prefer respecting the heritage of Westwood Lodge and Ilkley Moor, whilst providing up-to-date facilities (Virgin Media Superhub, high speed wi-fi etc). Even at New Year, your apartment was only £85 per night, which we feel offers excellent value.

Christmas break

Review submitted on Fri, 29 Dec 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great break staying in the Moorview apartment. Everything that you could need for a self catering break. Plenty of shops, bars and restaurants within walking distance. If you want to go further afield the bus and train stations are within easy reach. If you want to avoid the hustle and bustle, Ilkley moor is just across the road.

Julia from Old Colwyn stayed at The Moorview for 7 nights in December 2017


Family Wedding Celebration

Review submitted on Tue, 19 Dec 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Staying at Westwoood Lodge in The Moorview self-contained accommodation was a real pleasure. The apartment was clean, comfortable, well-appointed and homely! What a lovely, thoughtful welcome on arrival, to have tea and home-made cake provided, festive decorations and gentle, background music playing. Thank you very much to Tim, Paula, Justine and their team who helped to make our family wedding week-end a very special occasion.

Rose from Chichester stayed at The Moorview for 3 nights in December 2017


We absolutely loved our stay and will definitely be staying again.

Review submitted on Mon, 04 Dec 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
From booking to checking in to our stay to leaving it was fantastic - a really nice family to deal with and an amazing place to stay.

Rob from Ilkley stayed at The Moorview for 11 nights in November 2017


Lovely apartment in superb location

Review submitted on Tue, 07 Nov 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A very peaceful setting with onsite parking, perfect for taking on local activities such as walking or cycling, or for just chilling in very comfortable accommodation. The apartment was very fully equipped and it was good to find many little essentials (tea, coffee, milk and even a home made jam sponge) which the owners had provided as a see-you-in package.

We loved the place and highly recommend it.


Brian from Sotogrande stayed at The Moorview for 6 nights in November 2017


Regular Destination

Review submitted on Sat, 30 Sep 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have now lost count of the times that we have stayed in the Moorview at Westwood Lodge. Well maintained and clean accommodation with good heating system and lovely views of Ilkley and the Wharfe valley. Ideal location and a good base for all activities in the area.

David from Glasgow stayed at The Moorview for 14 nights in September 2017


A real home from home !

Review submitted on Fri, 15 Sep 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Welcomed by Justine who showed us to our apartment , which was lovely. Stylishly and comfortably furnished. Everything you could wish for was there, including a " welcoming tray" with tea, coffee, fresh milk and a homemade Victoria sponge cake.
We really felt at home there. Very quiet and peaceful with stunning views across the town and beyond and over the Moors. We weren't aware of other guests in the house until we met them outside !
The views from the roof terrace were fabulous. This beautiful house is well positioned for walking on the Moors and we did manage a couple of walks down into the town, but the walk back can be a bit of a challenge ! but we did it, ( reasonably active early 60 year olds ) pausing a couple of times on the way up and making use of the various benches along the way. We've heard that locally Wells Road is known as Weary Hill - and can see why !! We will certainly return to Westwood Lodge and cannot recommend it highly enough. Just loved it.


Janice from Bishops Stortford stayed at The Moorview for 4 nights in September 2017


A short stay for family.

Review submitted on Tue, 29 Aug 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A unique and delightful place for our family to stay. They loved the facilities, situation and views. Thank you so much.

Guest from Ilkley stayed at The Moorview for 3 nights in August 2017


Great accomodation in good area

Review submitted on Fri, 18 Aug 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Everything was brilliant - comfortable, well equipped and very welcoming owners on arrival. Tea, coffee etc was supplied and the home made sponge cake was much appreciated!

Guest from Bridport stayed at The Moorview for 7 nights in August 2017


A hidden gem.

Review submitted on Mon, 14 Aug 2017
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We've visited ilkley many times but have only just found Westwood lodge, we stayed in the moorview apartment and the views from every window was amazing. The apartment is very well equipped , we will definitely stay again. The roof terrace was a real bonus.the

Brian from Wakefield stayed at The Moorview for 3 nights in August 2017


Lovely Ilkley

Review submitted on Thu, 27 Jul 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have stayed in Westwood Lodge, Ilkley, on a few occasions now and have never been disappointed. The accommodation is first class, very comfortable and what we like especially are all the little personal touches provided by the owners.
The location is great as a base and the town of Ilkley is lovely with lots of good restaurants within walking distance of the lodge.


Linda from Kilmarnock stayed at The Moorview for 3 nights in July 2017


So good I want to go back and do it all over again!

Review submitted on Fri, 21 Jul 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Moor View at Westwood Lodge had everything we needed for an immensely enjoyable stay. I have lived for many years away from Yorkshire, where I was born and grew up, and it was such a pleasure to come back and stay in the perfect location which enabled me to show Yorkshire at its best to my husband. Westwood Lodge is quiet and peaceful whilst commanding magnificent views of the Wharfe Valley and Ilkley Moor. The Moor and its endless walking opportunities is accessible from right outside the front door and Ilkley, a delightful and attractive town, is only a 5 or 10 minute walk away down the hill. The roof terrace is an absolute delight, we spent some happy hours up there, and in the little quiet room next to it, also looking at wonderful views. The apartment had everything we needed for our stay, a lot of care and attention to detail has gone into its planning and maintenance. The whole place was scrupulously clean, cheerful and comfortable. So what with the delicious sponge cake and tray of tea which greeted us on our arrival, the glorious Yorkshire country side all around us and the many enticing restaurants and places to go for coffee in Ilkley, we had a most enjoyable week and will definitely be returning.

Rosie from Walton-on-Thames stayed at The Moorview for 7 nights in July 2017


July 2017 stay at Westwood.

Review submitted on Fri, 14 Jul 2017
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our 6th visit to WestwOod Lodge. Webenjoy our stay each year. Property could use a bit of upgrading. Treadmill in gym did not work again and room furniture is a bit tired.

Jeremy from Nassau stayed at The Moorview for 7 nights in June 2017


Tim Edwards replied more than 1 year ago
The broken treadmill has now been removed. There is now a Concept 2 rower, multi-gym, cycle and stepper plus free weights. The apartment has had new furniture, new windows and much upgraded equipment since you last stayed, so we're a bit baffled about the "tired" comments.

Fabulous

Review submitted on Fri, 07 Jul 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We spent two fantastic weeks in Westwood lodge. Tim, the owner was so kind to us and we had a very confortable and lovely stay. We enjoyed hicking in the moors and surroundings.and the nice roof terrace. We felt like at home.
We'd like to come back to Ilkley anytime.


Gloria from Gijon stayed at The Moorview for 16 nights in June 2017


Great spot and excellent service

Review submitted on Thu, 18 May 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I lived in Ilkley and go back on business and this was such a good alternative to staying in hotels.

The team there was really helpful when I contacted them to say I was carrying some expensive camera gear and needed to store it there while I went into town so they helped when I arrived early. The staff who were there when I arrived could not have made me more welcome.

The view from the top floor is amazing and it was very nostalgic. All the rooms full of light and I loved the way it was furnished a bit like home but with excellent touches such as Bluetooth speaker so we could listen to some tunes. Being able to walk down into town in a matter of minutes and visit a few old haunts (inns of character) was great and walking back up the hill and up the flights of stairs certainly kept me fit. The access to the Moor is also perfect (just across the road) and I was able to wear myself out going over the top to Keighley Gate (not for the faint hearted!!!!) on a beautiful sunny morning.


So this place is a bit different, I would like to try one of the cottages next.


Fiona from Normandy stayed at The Moorview for 6 nights in March 2017


Best accommodation in Ilkley!

Review submitted on Mon, 08 May 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fabulous, clean and comfortable. We were looked after throughout our stay and we would recommend Westwood Lodge without hesitation.

Guest from London stayed at The Moorview for 3 nights in May 2017


Beautiful views, perfect location and first class service

Review submitted on Mon, 10 Apr 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful stay at the Moorview apartment. The location is perfect, with the Moor on your doorstep and the town with all its shops and restaurants only a 10 minute walk away. We were originally looking to go for a cottage, but really loved the apartments as they have such amazing views and they're really light and airy (we thought it would be much smaller from the pictures!). You also get the roof terrace just above that you can use as well as the gardens. We loved the warm welcome with the tea and cake. The little touches like the dvd library, excellent guide, children's toys and animals all added to our stay. Service was excellent and they really went the extra mile -even dropping our luggage off in town. All in all a lovely apartment and we'll definitely be back!

Mary from Hertford stayed at The Moorview for 3 nights in March 2017


Superb apartment for two with lovely views over the Ilkley moors

Review submitted on Mon, 20 Mar 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Westwood Lodge is the perfect location for exploring West Yorkshire and only 5 minutes walk into the upmarket town of Ilkley with a huge selection of Restaurants, bars, cafes and shopping.
The property is within a beautiful Grade 2 listed building right on the edge of the moors so its a walkers paradise. Inside, absolutely everything has been considered and provided - from Paula's home baked cake on arrival to Tim's comprehensive instructions and information sheets on everything from the best pubs to borrowing a bike. The standard of furnishings and fittings were excellent and everything from cling film to welcome supplies of filter coffee were provided. Justine the manageress was always there when we needed her (we didn't) and was super friendly and full of helpful information - she even face-booked her friends to find out where we could enjoy live music in a local pub one evening!!
All in all a superb week and would certainly return.


Gilly from Malvern stayed at The Moorview for 7 nights in March 2017


January 2017

Review submitted on Sat, 18 Mar 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We had a lovely stay. Beautiful location, very comfortable. We enjoyed it so much that we are booked it again for April/May.

Emily from Vancouver stayed at The Moorview for 5 nights in January 2017


Quiet retreat

Review submitted on Sat, 04 Mar 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We are becoming regulars at this property and can only positively recommend the entire accommodation as an excellent base for a host of activities in the Yorkshire Dales. Every need is catered for in these luxury apartments they are welcome place to return after days out with ample parking and privacy.

David from Glasgow stayed at The Moorview for 11 nights in February 2017


Another great stay!

Review submitted on Sun, 19 Feb 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Yet another return viisit. Have lost count of the number of stays at Westwood Lodge. It is great in every respect. A perfect relaxing break. And again we didn't want to leave.

Richard from Liverpool stayed at The Moorview for 9 nights in February 2017


Great apartment right on the edge of Ilkey Moor. Perfect for walking.

Review submitted on Mon, 02 Jan 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great location with lots to do and see in the area. In less than ten minutes you can be up on Ilkey Moor with great views over the town. The apartments are lovely. Well looked after, comfortable and spacious.

Alan from Bury St Edmunds stayed at The Moorview for 3 nights in December 2016


Father Daughter expedition to Yorkshire

Review submitted on Sat, 31 Dec 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent accommodation as always, and chance to hike the moors and the hike to Bolton Abbey at the doorstep...couldn't ask for better.

Marilyn from Mississauga stayed at The Moorview for 4 nights in December 2016


Another Great Stay

Review submitted on Mon, 28 Nov 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This apartment is a gem. Great bevies of the dales. Short walk to town. High quality amenities.

James from Simsbury stayed at The Moorview for 14 nights in November 2016


Moorview Review

Review submitted on Fri, 21 Oct 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great views, Great rooms, Great Service, short walk to town and the moor. As we say in America "Awesome"

James from Simsbury stayed at The Moorview for 7 nights in September 2016


Moorview Again

Review submitted on Wed, 05 Oct 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Westwood apartments are ideal as a base for exploring central Yorkshire, with very good facilities in house and within very easy reach of numerous eateries and attractions. Many thanks again to hosts Tim, Paula and Justine. We will be planning our next visit soon.

David from Glasgow stayed at The Moorview for 11 nights in September 2016


Westwood Lodge

Review submitted on Fri, 29 Jul 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I have stayed at Westwood Lodge for 5 years, it is ideal for my family. We look forward to returning there next year. The views from the apartment are excellent.

Jeremy from Nassau stayed at The Moorview for 7 nights in July 2016


A wonderful base for a Yorkshire wedding

Review submitted on Mon, 25 Jul 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We enjoyed a wonderful stay in the Moorview apartment for the days before and after our wedding and several friends stayed in other apartments and in the cottages. The setting is spectacular and everything was beautifully prepared for our arrival. An excellent experience and Tim and Paula could not have been more helpful. We will be back ...

John from Doha stayed at The Moorview for 10 nights in June 2016


Clean comfortable appartment.

Review submitted on Thu, 09 Jun 2016
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The appartment was very clean and comfortable. Close to Ilkley but up a very steep hill but this was countered by the amazing views from all windows and the roof terrace.

Joan from Enfield stayed at The Moorview for 6 nights in May 2016


Ilkley View

Review submitted on Fri, 22 Apr 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Westwood Lodge provides an excellent base to relax after days out in the Yorkshire Dales and surrounding areas. Every possible comfort is provided by Tim and Paula with host Justine available for assistance in this well equipped residence. Particular benefits of Westwood are its outlook and peacefulness.

David from Glasgow stayed at The Moorview for 8 nights in April 2016


the ideal accommodation for us

Review submitted on Mon, 28 Mar 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We've been staying at Westwood Lodge for several years and never been disappointed . It was the first time in this appartment . It's smaller but very cosy .
The only thing we found not so convenient was the curtain to be drawn around you in the bathtub when having a shower . But apart from this, we love the tasteful decoration, the cute details ... and the service is perfect !


Patrick from Coutances stayed at The Moorview for 3 nights in March 2016


Very positive review

Review submitted on Fri, 08 Jan 2016
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
No complaints at all about Westwood Lodge. We are repeat guests and hope to stay here again in the not-too-distant future. Now if you could do something about the weather........

John from Victoria stayed at The Moorview for 25 nights in December 2015


Up hill and down dale

Review submitted on Mon, 05 Oct 2015
3.7
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
3.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Moorview is ok, warm comfortable and well-equipped. Views are wonderful except that to reach them you have to be prepared for 36 steep and narrow stairs. Car parking, both on site and in Ilkley, is a nightmare. Not the place for the elderly.

Robert from Newcastle Upon Tyne stayed at The Moorview for 7 nights in September 2015


Comfortable stay

Review submitted on Fri, 18 Sep 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our stay at the Moorview was almost perfect! I've rented many holiday cottages, villas and apartments and can honestly say this was one of the best prepared and managed I've ever been to.
Little things like having tea, coffee and milk in the fridge on arrival were much appreciated.
Technical issues with the internet provider (temporary fault) were handled very responsively by Tim, even including a follow up after our stay.


Craig from Gurnee stayed at The Moorview for 7 nights in September 2015


A very comfortable short break

Review submitted on Fri, 04 Sep 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Moorview is a comfortable and well appointed apartment. There are fabulous views over the moors and ilkley. We had a very restorative visit. Lovely bath and well located for a choice of walks.

Wendy from London stayed at The Moorview for 4 nights in August 2015


Wonderful base from which to explore

Review submitted on Mon, 29 Jun 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed here for 10 days for a very relaxing get-away. The apartment is very comfortable and well-equipped. The property is efficiently managed and Tim and Paula have provided everything you need, from kitchen utensils to comprehensive information about the area, to get the most out of your stay. The views are amazing!

We did not have a car and found getting around on foot and using public transportation to be reasonably convenient. Do keep in mind that the lodge is located uphill from the town; we soon felt acclimated to the climb up and there is bus service if needed.

We've vacationed at various self-catering establishments and this was our best experience, hands-down. No complaints, recommended without reservation!


Guest from Hartford stayed at The Moorview for 11 nights in June 2015


Lovely Break

Review submitted on Thu, 21 May 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Was recommended to us. Our first visit. Lovely place to stay. Location ideal. Lovely views. Will definitely return and recommend to friends. Everything in Moorview that we needed. Thanks to all at Westwood Lodge.....and lovely cake.

Tina from Milton Keynes stayed at The Moorview for 3 nights in May 2015


Fantastic place to stay!

Review submitted on Wed, 22 Apr 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed here for Easter and it was a wonderful relaxing location. The owners have thought of everything that one might wish for.
I would highly recommend it to anyone.


Luke from Ampthill stayed at The Moorview for 7 nights in March 2015


Delightful apartment with amazing views

Review submitted on Sun, 19 Apr 2015
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely apartment in a fascinating building - we loved the sweeping views of the Moor and the surrounding countryside, so peaceful but an easy walk downhill into Ilkley. Owners welcoming and helpful, and The Moorview has been beautifully decorated and thoughtfully equipped (lots of useful information provided also). Easy to explore the area by public transport too if you don't want to drive - lots of trains & buses going in different directions from the centre of Ilkley, and of course wonderful walking also.

Guest from Daventry stayed at The Moorview for 7 nights in April 2015


A cosy haven in Ilkley

Review submitted on Mon, 02 Mar 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Westwood Lodge is quite the nicest place to stay in Ilkley which is why we have made a return visit. The apartment has recently been redecorated; there is a new sofa and very attractive new lighting. Although it was the beginning of March we had snow and freezing winds so we really appreciated having a warm and cosy place to stay. Top marks for the comfy bed and super warm duvet and also for the much appreciated (and unasked for) late night text from Tim saying that we could take our time checking out the following morning. All in all a five star, ten out of ten experience!

Guest from Bromley stayed at The Moorview for 3 nights in February 2015


A great time in Ilkley

Review submitted on Thu, 05 Feb 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was out SEVENTH visit to Westwood Lodge and the stay was as delightful as ever.
The apartment is warm and comfortable with some great views across Ilkley and the Moors.
Everything is provided so there is nothing to do but sit back and relax!


Guest from Liverpool stayed at The Moorview for 6 nights in January 2015


Excellent new year break

Review submitted on Tue, 13 Jan 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely relaxing break at Westwood Lodge. There was even a Christmas tree in the apartment! Really enjoyed the spa and had it to ourselves on both occasions we used it. I don't think you have forgotten to provide anything and the sponge cake was gorgeous. Thank you

Guest from Coventry stayed at The Moorview for 5 nights in December 2014


A peaceful haven

Review submitted on Mon, 08 Dec 2014
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I stayed for a fortnight while my own home was being redecorated. On my arrival and throughout, the staff could not have been more helpful: even to the extent of turning the car for the friend who transported me and my luggage, and driving me (and luggage) back to my home (a quarter of a mile away) on departure. The apartment was invitingly lit when I arrived, with music playing softly, and the table set with tea-things and a delicious home-baked cake.

Even when the place was fully booked, no sounds carried from the other apartments and cottages. It was an utterly peaceful and profoundly relaxing contrast to the temporary chaos of my own home! Everything one could wish for had been provided, and the apartment was very comfortable, with stunning views. The gardens contain a number of summer-houses, as well as the interest of the pigs and poultry, Wendy house and trampoline; while the roof-garden is a delight.

A detailed and fascinating history of the property is provided in the information-folder.


Guest from Ilkley stayed at The Moorview for 14 nights in November 2014


A comfortable base in a great location

Review submitted on Mon, 22 Sep 2014
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We enjoyed every minute of our stay, even though the moor view was obscured by mist most of the time. The apartment was spacious, comfortable and very well-equipped. Ilkley is a great place to stay. It is surrounded by beautiful countryside, but has a good selection of shops and restaurants and very good public transport links.

Guest from Leicester stayed at The Moorview for 4 nights in September 2014


review of Moorview

Review submitted on Fri, 15 Aug 2014
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We enjoyed our stay at Moorview and found the apartment comfortable and roomy. The view from the roof garden was really good. We found the bath and shower irritating especially as the shower curtain was ill fitting and not waterproof.

Guest from Milton Keynes stayed at The Moorview for 4 nights in August 2014


likely idyll

Review submitted on Fri, 01 Aug 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Westwood lodge is a lovely place to stay with various options for all guest party sizes. This time we stayed in the Moorview apartment-very well appointed as all the other cottages and apartments are,nice homely touches with a lot of attention to detail that makes the difference. Always very clean. The grounds are nice and the location is good as long as you don't mind a little bit of a walk(there is also a bus ) to town.Definately recommend - we have stayed here four times now and will be back.

Guest from Kilmarnock stayed at The Moorview for 4 nights in July 2014


short stay for Pam in Moorview

Review submitted on Tue, 22 Jul 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
temporary place for Pam while I was back in NZ, she was very comfortable there and liked the views.
thanks for your held Tim in squeezing some space for us


Guest from Ilkley stayed at The Moorview for 3 nights in July 2014


A lovely place to stay

Review submitted on Sun, 20 Jul 2014
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had an excellent stay at The Moorview, it's a lovely location, convenient for both town and the moors, and Tim and Paula were very helpful with extra things, such as printing out booking forms.

Guest from London stayed at The Moorview for 4 nights in July 2014


a week not long enough

Review submitted on Mon, 02 Jun 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very very comfortable, almost everything carefully thought out, immaculately clean and nicely decorated. Great views, peace and quiet and can just go straight out for a walk on the Moor. Managers very helpful, lots of information, almost everything supplied and 'Wee shop' a great idea.

Guest from London stayed at The Moorview for 7 nights in May 2014


Wonderful break - Ilkley has everything!

Review submitted on Sun, 09 Feb 2014
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Westwood Lodge is one of the best self-catering apartments ever!
Comfortabke, clean and eveything to hand.
Ideal location - all in all a very special holiday thanks to Westwood Lodge and Ilkley!


Guest from Liverpool stayed at The Moorview for 10 nights in January 2014


Warm and cozy - a treat in winter!

Review submitted on Tue, 19 Nov 2013
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a pleasure it was to arrive on a cold Friday night in November after a long drive from London and find the apartment bathed in soft light and with the heating on. Best of all, we found a thoughtfully laid tea tray with fresh milk, tea, coffee and a lovely Victorian sponge cake made by the owner, Paula. Weetwood Apartments boasts the most spectacular views of Ilkley Moor (it's literally just across the road) yet is within easy walking distance of the charming town of Ilkley. The Moorview is a large one bed apartment and it really is a home-from-home. Can't fault it!

Guest from Bromley stayed at The Moorview for 3 nights in November 2013


Thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

Review submitted on Mon, 23 Sep 2013
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The Moorview apartment was spacious and very well equipped.

It was a lovely base from which to explore the Yorkshire Dales.

The location close to the moor and within walking distance of the town was excellent.

We loved feeding the pigs.


Guest from Lugarno stayed at The Moorview for 7 nights in August 2013


Westwood Lodge

Review submitted on Tue, 17 Sep 2013
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a very enjoyable stay at Westwood lodge, the location was ideal,just about 25 steps to ILkley moor and 10 min walk from the town centre where we took full advantage of the bus and train service.The only downside of Westwood lodge was the shower over the bath it needed a better shower curtain, Or we should have been supplied with a MOP & the bath wasn't very suitable for people over 6 ft tall. Another good point about the Lodge was the way we got rid of left over food ??? You will have to stay there to find out. Excellent place.

Guest from Eastleigh stayed at The Moorview for 7 nights in August 2013


Tim Edwards replied more than 1 year ago
Thanks for your constructive feedback. Baths are an emotive issue! Some people love to have a long,relaxing soak whilst on holiday, whereas some people prefer a good shower after a day walking on Ilkley Moor. We're thinking of removing the bath from The Moorview following your experience and replacing it with a modern, power shower.