FB Twitter

Kinsale Coastal Cottages, Kinsale, Co. Cork, Sleeps 8

Kinsale Coastal Cottages, Kinsale, Co. Cork, Sleeps 8

3.8
out of 5
Ratings from 12 reviews
83% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
3.6
Comfort
3.9
Condition
3.6
Location
4.2
Value
3.8
Customer
Service
3.8


Kinsale Coastal Cottages at Garrettstown beach are located on the Old Head of Kinsale beside the Garrettstown Blue Flag beach where you can swim, picnic or just relax in the sun while children play.

A short review

Review submitted on Fri, 23 Aug 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx



Maura replied 109 days ago
Good morning Brigid Thank you for taking the time to review Kinsale Coastal Cottages. We're glad to know you enjoyed your stay. Kindest regards Maura

Perfect for a good sleeping and in large numbers of personns

Review submitted on Thu, 03 Jan 2019
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The bedrooms and bathroom were perfect.
We just had a breakdown of heating in the living room, which was quickly repaired the day we left




REview of Kinsale Coastal Cottages

Review submitted on Mon, 17 Jul 2017
2.2
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
1.0
Comfort
2.0
Condition
2.0
Location
4.0
Value
1.0
Customer
Service
3.0
HI
I was absolutely disgusted at the state of the kitchen in this house. The fridge was actually stinking of rotten food and had food deposits in the freezer which need defrosting. the hob was rusting. A number of sockets had burnt out and had holes in them. The carpet was dirty with cigarette burns in them.

I felt embarrassed and upset as I had rented this "pit" and had invited my daughter and her 2 year old to stay with me. Never again.

The only consolation was that we could leave early and went to stay with my brother in Kerry

I hadn't a correct sense of rental prices but it compared unfavourably with a house my brother had rented for a little over 500 euros - pristine condition and uptodate in Ballinskelligs.

https://www.airbnb.ie/s/Ballinskelligs--Ireland?type=house&listing_types%5B%5D=2&s_tag=6C9Pvsm4&allow_override%5B%5D=

We complained and the person managing the property said she was tired asking owners to update the property. However that didn't explain filth of fridge. However she did order a new fridge and hob. Her excuse re cleaning was that "you cant get good cleaners" - If I was renting out property I would clean it myself rather than let it in such as state. Rip off Ireland is alive and well and shameless.





Maura replied more than 1 year ago
Good morning Una. Please see below the reply from the management company and caretaker of Kinsale Coastal Cottages. We have investigated the matter and the following is the report from Ann our caretaker: On Sat July 1st – Ms Collins, daughter and granddaughter arrived and checked into house number 6 The house had been vacated that morning and was freshly cleaned and checked, no complaints from previous occupants On Sunday – July 2nd – 11am – received a voice mail regarding the fridge not working properly At 4pm I called to the house and we established the freezer box was defrosting with an odour of defrost coming from the fridge Monday – July 3rd – I contacted the office in Limerick and ordered a new fridge and cooker top I informed Ms Collins of this Tuesday July 4th – Cooker and fridge arrived and were installed Thursday 6th – Received a phone call from Ms Collins to say they were departing early as the weather was bad and they were going to Kerry I was at work and therefore could not to the house at short notice to read the meter. Ms Collins offered to have the electricity bill taken out of her credit card and she offered to pay for the cup they had broken. Upon receipt of the complaint via email I inspected house number 6 on Saturday July 22nd, the next time I became vacant. There are no cigarette burns and the cover of the electrical socket plus in the hall is slightly cracked. I was very shocked with complaint as I never had a complaint regarding house number 6, despite it being occupied for several weeks. Both the office staff and myself had done everything possible to address the situation that arose during their stay Signed Ann Crowley – caretaker at Kinsale Coastal cottages Kindest regards Maura

Garrettstown - Great beach side location, what we expected from a typical Irish holiday home.

Review submitted on Mon, 19 Jun 2017
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The location is excellent, on the doorstep a beautiful blue flag beach, and the Wild Atlantic Way. Kinsale and quieter Ballinspittle just a short spin.
The house very comfortably sleeps 8 in one master with en-suite, one double and two twin rooms, over two floors accessing two additional bathrooms. You might be pushed for 'living/sitting space' in the all in one, kitchen / diner / lounge area. The living space has an open fire, essential for an Irish summer, and the whole house has electric storage heating. Overall what you would expect from a typical Irish holiday home. The standard was good, clean, some of the furniture was a little worn - drawers that were a little worn, but nothing that a bit of wood glue and couple of screws wouldn't sort out. The kitchen was well equipped for a holiday home, plenty of crockery, adequate cutlery, lots of pots and pans of all descriptions, even casserole dishes! Standard cooker / hob, microwave, fridge (no freezer - not a criticism), dishwasher (didn't use), washer / dryer. There was sugar, dishwasher tabs, pepper and salt sachets, soap and kitchen towels. Also hand towels in all bathrooms, which was very handy!




Maura replied more than 1 year ago
Good morning Carmel Thank you for taking the time to review Kinsale Coastal Cottages. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay here. The cottages are in a great location and well taken care of. Thank you again for the your feedback. Kindest regards Maura

Kinsale Cottages at Garrettstown Beach

Review submitted on Fri, 16 Jun 2017
3.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
3.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Great seaside location. Four decent bedrooms, one en-suite with two other bathrooms, and lounge/kitchen/diner. Kitchen area tiny and very tired. Unable to use 2 of the drawers as runners broken. Insufficient chairs in diner and lounge to seat 8 people. Thought there were not enough utensils for proper self-catering. We were a party of 4 seasoned self caterers so we were used to being creative with what we had. Would have been nice to have a few basics like salt and pepper for instance. Nearest pub was a much further walk than described in write-up on narrow pathless roads.

However, couldn't get better than walking over the road for a walk on the beach either first thing or after dinner in the evening. Great place if you want to surf. Kinsale was approximately a 15 minute drive so car essential. Plenty of things to do in the immediate area. Would certainly be happy to go again. What better recommendation.




Maura replied more than 1 year ago
Good morning Paul Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Kinsale Coastal Cottages. We a happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay here. It is fab having the beach so close to the houses for everyone in the family to enjoy. Your comments will be passed on to the management company. Thank you again for your feedback. Kindest regards Maura

Kinsale Coastal Cottages

Review submitted on Tue, 12 Jul 2016
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We are just back from a wonderful week in West Cork, the cottages are an ideal location and views were fabulous, right beside the beach, we had a fantastic time and really enjoyed our stay, the cottages had all we needed, only thing I would change is location of fridge as I am not the tallest I had to stand on a chair to reach into fridge and freezer! Overall great stay!



Beautiful spot in West Cork, we loved our stay.

Review submitted on Mon, 04 Apr 2016
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Beautiful spot in West Cork, we loved our stay.
The cottage was really clean and greatly furbished, had anything you might want. We found it cosy and neat.The fireplace was lovely and we even found coffee, tea,milk and sugar when we arrived which was very nice after a long trip.
The only problem was the electric heating system which was very consuming in March cold weather. Besides, at night it was impossible to have hot water even thoug no one had showers during the day, we couldn't figure out why. Also, one of the electric heaters in the bathroom was broken. We were said someone would come and fix it but we stayed for two weeks and never saw anyone.




November stay in Garretstown

Review submitted on Mon, 09 Nov 2015
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
2.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely cottage in a peaceful location very close to the sea. Will think about going again. Long way from all shops etc so a car is essential........................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................



Maura replied more than 1 year ago
Good morning Paul Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Kinsale Coastal Cottages. It is lovely to hear that you enjoyed your stay here. It is very peaceful area you can really relax and get away from it all. Thank you again for your review, we value your feedback. Kind regards Maura

amazing location

Review submitted on Mon, 10 Aug 2015
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
2.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The cottage was in the most beautiful location. It was the perfect size for our family of eight. Our only issue was it was not very clean which was very disappointing as we felt we were paying for a four star accommodation but it didn't meet it . We spent our first few hours cleaning showers etc.



Only a nice place

Review submitted on Thu, 04 Jun 2015
2.3
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
1.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
2.0
Customer
Service
1.0
Nice place, but dirty rooms, very different wifi power. One bedroom without heating, the other one without lightning, the third one with shower problems.



Maura replied more than 1 year ago
Good afternoon Ludger and Katharina Thank you for taking the time to review Kinsale Coastal Cottages, we value all our customers feed back. Thank you for bringing the above issues to our attention. The shower has been replaced, the heating is now working and lamps in the kitchen/living room have been replaced. Caroline passed your email on to me and I contacted the home owner and they contacted me today with the news that all the above issues have been addressed. We would just like to say that we are sorry you had this experience on your holiday. Thank you once again for your review. Kind regards Maura

Perfect coastal relaxation - endless days on the beach

Review submitted on Tue, 02 Jun 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Everything about this booking was easy. From contacting the people at Relax to collecting the keys to the cottage. Clean, spacious and modern feeling with sea views and two beached within walking distance. Surf school and fresh baked Pizza's at the weekend and even a mobile sauna for after those sea swims. Child friendly. Enjoyed the open fire once the kids were asleep. Will definitely book again, Dave



Maura replied more than 1 year ago
Good morning Dave Thank you for taking the time to review Kinsale Coastal Cottages. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay so much and you found everything easy from start to finish. The houses are lovely and situated perfectly. We are glad you and your family had a wonderful time here. We would be delighted to have you come back again in the futute. Thank you again for the review, we value your feed back. Kind regards Maura

review of kinsale coastal cottages

Review submitted on Tue, 22 Jul 2014
3.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
these properties occupy a good location near Garrettstown Beach and convenient with a car to Kinsale
they are also well designed with 4 bedrooms and 3 bathrooms.
However they are looking quite tired and there is an urgent need for a spruce up
the kitchens are quite poorly stocked no large cooking utensils and the very bare minimum of everything
No tea towels are provided nor beach towels nor indeed a clothes line!
our house had no outside seating though others did
If I was advising people to come I would describe them as serviceab;le but basic and certainly 3 rather than 4 star
Rosemary Connolly




Brenda replied more than 1 year ago
Hello rosemary, Thank you for submitting your feedback for the Kinsale Holiday Homes, we have passed your email to the management team and home owners for action and appreciate very much you letting us know of your experience.