FB Twitter

B&B Farmhouse - St Loy room

B&B Farmhouse - St Loy room

4.9
out of 5
Ratings from 18 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.9
Comfort
4.9
Condition
4.8
Location
4.8
Value
4.8
Customer
Service
4.9


Luxury five star Bed & Breakfast accommodation for 2 people. The St Loy bedroom is beautifully appointed with outstanding views over the countryside to the sea. This room is named after St Loy, a very peaceful rocky cove, just 30 minutes’ walk across the fields and through the woods.
Centrally heated room is tastefully furnished with king size bed and has a TV, clock/radio, hair dryer and well stocked refreshment tray. Ensuite facilities with roll top bath, separate shower, fluffy towels, robes and slippers. Free WiFi

85

Review submitted on Fri, 16 Oct 2020
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We found our stay at Downs Barn Farm to be up to a very good standard. Carolyn greeted us with a warm welcome, and was hospitable and helpful during our stay
.We would not hesitate to recommend D B F as a good place to stay.
John & Victoria Powers




Great place, great host.

Review submitted on Mon, 28 Sep 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our second visit to Downs Barn and we had a lovely welcome from the dogs and from Carolyn. We enjoyed our delicious cream tea before we unpacked and settled in. Carolyn is the perfect hostess, nothing too much trouble and always ready to give some tips on places to visit and eat out. The breakfasts are fantastic, tasty and beautifully cooked. We had a lovely week and could not have asked for anything better. Would highly recommend.



Another Amazing stay

Review submitted on Sun, 20 Sep 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
It’s a real pleasure to stay at Downs farm. Everything about our visit there is so lovely,Richard and Carolyn make it that bit more special. Already looking forward to going back.



Review of stay at Downs Barn Farm

Review submitted on Thu, 17 Sep 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Downs Barn Farm is the loveliest B&B we have ever stayed in. We come back to it every year, and are always so sorry to leave.
We can't thank Carolyn and Richard enough for their wonderful hospitality!




Re-visiting haunts from a group holiday almost 50 years ago.

Review submitted on Fri, 11 Sep 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I am a picky critical consumer. I spend much time complaining about poor aspects of service. I am not given to excess praise.

Downs Barn Farm is the BEST B&B that I have ever used. Everything perfect or better.

Carolyn is the Olympic Gold Medal host.





Perfect

Review submitted on Sun, 06 Sep 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fantastic hosting, nothing was too much trouble for Carolyn who went out of her way to enhance our stay. From suggestions for walking routes and eating places to the loan of a waterproof coat, nothing was too much trouble.
The room was lovely, great view and the bath was welcome after a hard days walking. Having a sitting room and fridge was an additional plus.




Always a warm welcome

Review submitted on Thu, 03 Sep 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Always a warm welcome from Carolyn (and her friendly dogs!)We feel like friends of the family. Great walks from the door and within short car rides. The very best breakfast too.



A very comfortable stay.

Review submitted on Mon, 21 Oct 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Nothing is too much trouble for Carolyn. From a warm welcome to suggesting where to visit. Her cream tea is wonderful.



So Beautiful!!

Review submitted on Tue, 01 Oct 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Amazing and beautiful place! And breakfast!



Lovely weekend stay

Review submitted on Tue, 10 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Warm welcome from Carolyn, including scones with homemade jam and cream! Very comfortable room with plenty of space and good amenities. Excellent breakfast! Super location for walking and getting away from it all. Definitely recommend.



A real gem in the far West of Cornwall

Review submitted on Wed, 04 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We are not regular users of B&Bs but Downs Barn Farm was a perfect location for our visit to the Minack Theatre, and ideal for a weekend break. Our expectations were high based on earlier reviews, and we were not disappointed. Everything was just as you would wish - a spotless, spacious and very comfortable room with all the facilities you could need, beautifully presented and delicious breakfasts, and a warm, friendly and very helpful host in Carolyn. Highly recommended.



Short stay at Downs Barn Farm

Review submitted on Sat, 31 Aug 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our stay at Downs Barn Farm is exactly what we look for in a Bed and Breakfast.
Five star accommodation with five star customer service along with arguably the best creamed tea and farmhouse breakfast in Cornwall. Location could not be better for long coastal walks and exploring the local countryside. Certainly recommend a stay at Downs Barn Farm.




Welcomed in Cornwall - Downs Barn Farm

Review submitted on Tue, 27 Aug 2019
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
From start to finish our 6 night stay at Downs Barn Farm was memorable for all the right reasons. Our room was clean and comfortable although the shower cubicle is a little 'cosy'. The breakfasts were fresh and delicious and Mrs Care lived up to her name by ensuring that all we needed was provided, including tips for eating out in the area.

Although at the top end of our price range Downs Barn Farm is excellent value for money and in a lovely quiet location, yet only a few minutes drive from Penzance and Lands End.




Beautiful accomodation, fantastic location, superb hospitality.

Review submitted on Sun, 25 Aug 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This accommodation is superb, five star accommodation. Located in a peaceful , tranquil setting and excellent position for exploring West Cornwall. Excellent, easy parking.
Carolyn (the host) was friendly, thoughtful and helpful and went above what would be expected of a host to make this an enjoyable stay. The farmhouse breakfast was the best we have tasted in any previous B&B.
The room and the guest lounge was immaculately clean and extremely comfortable.
This is the best B&B that we have stayed in throughout the UK.
We would highly recommend this B&B accommodation, we were fortunate to take a look in the barn conversation cottage within the same location , which is available for rent , and this is also truly wow!!
Just beautiful!





A perfect weekend at Downs Barn bed and breakfast

Review submitted on Fri, 16 Aug 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Carolyn and Richard are the perfect hosts and we had a lovely relaxing break in Cornwall.
The St Loy suite has all we needed for that bit of luxury including a comfortable king size bed with crisp white linen and a roll top bath.
Carolyn was very helpful and upbeat and she helped with our questions about the local area. She also sorted out a taxi so we could go to one of the local restaurants for a special meal.
The breakfasts that Carolyn produced for us were superb and it is obvious why she has won so many national awards.
The fact that so many people return to stay with Carolyn and Richard is testament to the quality you can enjoy at Downs Barn Farm.
We will be back again as soon as we can.




Gorgeous area, amazing host, very enjoyable stay.

Review submitted on Fri, 09 Aug 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Spotlessly clean rooms along with amazing views across to the sea.
Carolyn & Richard made us very welcome, the breakfasts were 1st class!
The rooms are very tastefully decorated, each filled with all you could wish for. Fresh towels & clean rooms every day, wonderful place to stay. Very relaxing, peaceful place to stay, close to all lovely beaches.




Very good in all respects.

Review submitted on Wed, 31 Jul 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Friendly and most helpful. Stayed several times and we now get welcomed as friends (not as customers).
Breakfasts really good. Lovely relaxing setting.




The scores say it all, excellent all round

Review submitted on Tue, 30 Jul 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Difficult to find fault with this B&B
Hostess most welcoming
Breakfast excellent
A working farm with two or three ever-present but very friendly dogs