FB Twitter

Butterdon

Butterdon

4.9
out of 5
Ratings from 60 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.9
Comfort
4.8
Condition
4.9
Location
4.9
Value
4.8
Customer
Service
4.9


2 bedroom cottage (sleeps 5) nestled in the heart of the beautiful wooded Teign Valley on Dartmoor - next to National Trust's Fingle Woods (850 hectares of footpaths, wildlife haven, mountain biking), set in 50 acres private nature reserve with 2 acre lake. Private fenced garden. Great location for kids and adults for walking, cycling, wild swimming, golfing and fishing.

simply wonderful

Review submitted on Tue, 16 Jul 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Question: What could be improved? Answer: nothing, in my humble opinion. The house was beautiful, the owners were friendly, helpful and professional, the welcome was as warm as the weather (which was in the high twenties) and the wildlife was so close that even sitting in the garden the birds were close enough to touch.
I will be recommending this as a place to stay to anyone who will listen- but only on the condition that they want a week other than the one I want. I cannot think of any reason not to stay.




A wonderful week in Butterdon Cottage.

Review submitted on Wed, 29 May 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful week in Butterdon Cottage, enjoying its old world charm with modern amenities. The cottage garden , birdlife and stunning scenery with Lakeland walks amongst the wild flowers were all an absolute pleasure. The owners were extremely welcoming and helpful and we would certainly love to return again.



Early March weekend break

Review submitted on Tue, 05 Mar 2019
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We chose Butterdon for a late winter/ early spring weekend break for the location - peaceful, remote, good walking and cloae to Exeter where our daughter is studying, so she could join us for the weekend. It was ideal! The cottage was charming and had everything we needed. Vicki and Gavin were welcoming and helpful. It’s a great area for walking andvery dog-friendly.



A lovely Christmas break

Review submitted on Tue, 01 Jan 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our third stay at Butterdon cottage and it's hard to imagine a better location for a relaxing holiday. We enjoyed watching the winter mists gather and disperse along the river Teign and the very efficient wood stove made the evenings extra cosy. Luckily the rain held off most days and we were able to get out and about and enjoy some of the many local walks. The cottage is beautifully furnished and well-equipped and we had everything we needed to make us comfortable. All in all it was a great Christmas and we hope to return.



Wonderful break away

Review submitted on Wed, 17 Oct 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We came with other family members who rented Bridesmere for three nights last weekend. It was such a wonderful discovery. However, by me waxing lyrical it will endanger us being able to book it again as it will be even more popular! Thank you Vicki for a delightful break in such homely and pristine accommodation. All of your hard work has paid off as the quality shows.



Cosy, comfortable cottage in lovely area

Review submitted on Sun, 14 Oct 2018
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Thank you Vicki for your cosy, comfortable cottage which had all what we required for a weeks get away, we loved it and didn't want to leave.
We used the cottage for a base for looking and walking around the devon moors and visit to Eden Project

If I was to be very nit picking the water pressure was low so bath took a while to run and fire could be better without grate in I think BUT I had to think hard to find them thoughts and if that's all I have too worry about I would need to get a life !!

More than happy to recommend and thus why we did review




Beautiful

Review submitted on Wed, 26 Sep 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We hired Bridesmere and both cottages for my 40th birthday. There was 10 of us and 5 dogs in total. All of the properties were very well equipped and lots of little extras to make the stay even more pleasant ( a lovely home made cake), there was even a dog bowl, towel, treats and poo bags. The gardens were enclosed so no need to worry about the dogs escaping and the fire pit was lovely to sit round on a chilly evening.
We will definitely be returning in the future.




Wonderful, relaxing stay

Review submitted on Sat, 18 Aug 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful, relaxing stay at Butterdon. It is in a beautiful spot, close to the River Teign. The cottage is cosy and stylish and very well equipped. We loved watching the endless birds flying down to the bird feeder in the garden and using the on-site bikes to cycle along the river. The hosts are lovely and even provide a delicious homemade cake and apple juice on arrival. We hope to go back again.



A weekend in Paradise

Review submitted on Tue, 26 Jun 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed at Butterdon for a wedding nearby. It was a perfect destination to retreat from the mele of the wedding to the tranquillity of butterdon Garden. With the wonderful smell of honeysuckle and roses. With all the wedding activities we didn't get chance to explore this beautiful place but we will surely be back for more. Thank you Vicki and Gavin for making everything so perfect.



Beautiful countryside cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 04 Jun 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Butterdon cottage is a lovely clean cottage, nicely decorated and cosy.
The cottage is one of 3 rental properties, set in a very rural location, it’s very peaceful and really feels a world away from the normal chaotic lifestyle. We felt our children were really safe here.
The owner lives onsite and is very helpful, leaves you to your own devices but is around if you need anything.
On arrival there was a yummy cake for us and treats for our dogs!




We loved this cosy cottage!

Review submitted on Wed, 16 May 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had booked all three cottages and four of our family of twelve spent their short break in Butterdon, which some of us had already stayed in last autumn. Warm and welcoming (especially liked the cake and juice left for us on arrival), we love this cosy cottage! It's comfortable, very attractive, equipped with all you need for a family stay. The garden is a peaceful haven for an alfresco lunch or an evening drink and the bird life is wonderful.... fiskins, nuthatches, house martins gather to feed. The children loved riding bikes and playing in the barn.... and the family will I'm sure be returning!



A fantastic holiday

Review submitted on Wed, 16 May 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A lovely cottage in a beautiful and tranquil location, perfect for walking and observing wildlife. Vicki and Gavin were great hosts.



Wonderful stay at Butterdon

Review submitted on Mon, 23 Apr 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage was excellent, it had everything we needed and was located in a superb setting within easy reach of local landmarks.



A gorgeous stay

Review submitted on Sat, 24 Feb 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I had never been to Devon before, and this was an excellent first trip. The cottage is well taken care of, and the location couldn't be better. Easy walks along the Teign River, with lots of natural beauty to be had (including the most stars as night I've ever seen in my life!) The location is great if you want a quiet place to return to after a day in Exeter or at the beach. Absolutely amazing all around!



Wonderful Autumn Break

Review submitted on Fri, 08 Dec 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We were delighted to find Butterdon cottage every bit as attractive as it looks in the pictures on the website. Despite some bad weather during the week it was generally snug and cosy, though the larger bedroom wasn't as warm as the double one and could perhaps use some supplementary heating during the colder months. The location is perfect for walkers, with a beautiful wooded private valley literally on the doorstep, and Fingle Woods and the River Teign just down the lane. The garden birds were also a highlight - the feeder outside the living room window provided lots of entertainment. Altogether a relaxing time was enjoyed by all and hopefully we'll be back for a repeat visit.



Beautiful cottage in a great location

Review submitted on Sun, 08 Oct 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A great "get away from it all" cottage in a beautiful setting, we were there to work on our daughter's wedding otherwise we would have taken advantage of the lovely walks around Clifford Barton and into Fingle Woods. Kids will love it with their own mezzanine play room, games area and the bikes and animals. Thank you.



A very nice and pleasant week in an ideal sourrounding

Review submitted on Sun, 17 Sep 2017
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Wir 5 (2 Erwachsene, 3 Kinder im Alter von 1-10) haben hier eine großartige Woche verbracht, mit etwas Wind und ein bisschen Nebel und Regen, aber auch mit Sonne, tollen Stränden, atemberaubender Landschaft im Dartmoor und interessanten Dörfern. Trotz des nicht immer sonnigen Wetters waren wir jeden Tag am und im Meer, mit sehr hohen Wellen, body boards und wet suits auch für unsere Kinder ein tolles Abenteuer. Die Unterkunft war super, idyllisch gelegen im Grünen, genug Platz im Haus, auch für die Kleinen zum Spielen, alles ziemlich sauber und aufgeräumt, einschließlich einem riesen Grundstück, alle notwendigen Utensilien vorhanden - rundum alles, was man für eine erholsame Woche benötigt. unsere Vermieter waren sehr nett und hilfsbereit. Alles in allem eine tolle, erholsame, spannende und aufregende Woche - we will be back! :-)

Nous avons passé une très agréable semaine - malgré un temps mitigé. La région est tout simplement magnifique: des plages à perte de vue (un paradis pour les surfers!), des chemins de randonnées spectaculaires, le Dartmoor National Park juste à côté et des petites villes typiques.

La maison est spacieuse, propre, tout ce dont on a besoin est mis à disposition. Le jardin est idéal pour les enfants, il y a même une table de ping pong et un baby foot.

Eine tolle Woche im windigen Dartmoor - a great week in windy Dartmoor - superbe semaine dans le Dartmoor!




Amazing week away

Review submitted on Sat, 02 Sep 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage and area were fantastic. I couldn't have asked for a better week away for me and my children. Lots of precious memories made. Thank you so much. We would like to return for another stay xx



Comfortable stay in lovely countrside

Review submitted on Sun, 11 Jun 2017
3.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
3.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The Butterdon cottage was compact and well thought out. Facilities were good and extensive, close to beautiful countryside. Kitchen was good with quality appliances and utensils. Water pressure was poor in some of the sinks and bath but shower was adequate. Lighting level in a dark living room was a bit low. Great welcome with a lovely cake and bottle of apple juice. Very quiet location with lots of wildlife, especially birds. Vicki and her husband were delightful people and very helpful.



May 2017 - wedding

Review submitted on Tue, 06 Jun 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were able to book all three cottages for the wedding party. Vicki was friendly and helpful. The cottages were clean, comfortable, and the self-catering enabled us to cook meals when we didn't feel like going out. The kitchen was well appointed and had everything that we needed. We enjoyed being in the heart of Dartmoor and visited a number of lovely pubs within a short distance of the cottages! We wish we had more time to wander on the lovely walks from the cottages. All in all a successful trip thanks in part to Vicki!

Sheila
Wetaskiwin, Alberta, Canada




Beautiful accommodation in a beautiful setting

Review submitted on Thu, 18 May 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Perfect! In every way. Vicki was very helpful and accommodating. Will certainly return. Without doubt, it's a ten from Len!



A lovely spring stay at Butterdon

Review submitted on Wed, 29 Mar 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Butterdon is a comfortable and cosy cottage in a gorgeous setting. My partner and I stayed with our two dogs and the secure garden at the back of the cottage was a particular bonus. The garden's pretty too and alive with birds, swooping in to take seeds from the feeder hanging by the window. The cottage is very well equipped and I can't think of anything we needed that wasn't provided. The walks along by the river in all directions are beautiful. A return visit is being planned!



Absolutely wonderful!

Review submitted on Fri, 06 Jan 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The house, location, owners were all lovely. We loved the house, so beautifully decorated, with so much care to detail and the location was amazing. You can walk out from the house to fantastic walks and pubs for lunch. Or a short drive and you are on Dartmoor for more stunning walks and amazing scenery. The play barn is a fantastic addition, full of fun things for the whole family and plenty of bikes for everyone to go out cycling on. The owners have thought of everything and more that you could need or want for a wonderful family holiday. Thank you so much and hope to come back again soon.



Autumn week in Dartmoor

Review submitted on Tue, 18 Oct 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We returned to Butterdon in October after a lovely holiday here last year. The cottage is a perfect place to explore Dartmoor and the local area, with many local walks near by. With perfect sunny weather (though a cold wind at times on the moor) we walked along the Teign, explored several tors, had a trip to Dartmouth and Slapton Sands and Lydford Gorge.

When we arrived at the cottage we were welcomed with a lovely home baked cake and local apple juice. The cottage is lovely and so well equipped, with a secure garden at the back for the dogs. Each day we walked around the lake through the woods watching pheasants and deer.

We would definitely recommend a stay here.




A summer week with the Family

Review submitted on Mon, 22 Aug 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have sadly just returned from a fantastic week in these delightful cottages (Butterdon & Mardon).

We had a lovely greeting from Vicki the owner who gave us tips on the area and said she was around should anything be needed.

We were welcomed with a lovely home baked cake and local apple juice which was gratefully received after our long journey. The cottage was so beautiful with homemade furnishings and so well equipped. The garden was ideal for us as it was completely secure which allowed me to completely relax knowing my Springer (who thinks he is Houdini) stay safe in my sights.

We hardly used our car as there were fantastic walks from the doorstep, either going to the Onsite Lake and woods or along the Teign to the wonderful Fingle Bridge pub. There was also the use of bikes which we took advantage of one day. The games barn was fantastic for the grown up kids who loved the table tennis and pool. The weather was superb all week so we all now feel super relaxed.

We cannot wait to return.




A five day stay at Butterdon

Review submitted on Fri, 15 Jul 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Two grandparents, a mother, and two young boys had a wonderful stay here, enjoying the backyard birds, exploring the countryside, and making the most of the amazing party barn.



All quiet at Clifford Barton

Review submitted on Tue, 28 Jun 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is a lovely place to stay for a quiet and relaxing holiday. Away from the hustle and bustle of the towns and cities yet convenient for trips to Exeter and small towns and villages on the moor. The cottage is well equipped and the owners are very helpful and are on the spot if any problems. There is a games room for those with children and for teenagers to enjoy the facilities. There are many wonderful walks in this area and our dog loved the freedom in the woods. I would thoroughly recommend this place to anyone who wants a break away from the crowds.



A lovely, comfortable cottage in an idyllic location

Review submitted on Tue, 14 Jun 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Clifford's Barton is a delightful base for a holiday in Devon - set in a wooded valley on the edge of Dartmoor but with easy reach of the North and South coasts. Butterdon was a lovely, comfortable cottage - cosy but spacious and very well equipped. Vickie and Gavin are friendly, helpful and unobtrusive hosts who clearly care greatly about the property. We would fully recommend this as a base for a quiet break or active holiday with children



Short weekend stay in Devon for a wedding

Review submitted on Wed, 18 May 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely stay at Butterdon. We were welcomed with a delicious cake and bottle of local apple juice which we thought was a lovely welcoming touch. The accommodation was clean and tidy and the beds were very comfy. The kitchen was full with all the equipment we needed for our stay including a Nespresso machine which gave us a good caffeine fix. The wifi was not working but Vicki offered us to go to the main house if we needed it. My two girls enjoyed spending some time in the play barn and going for a short walk around the cottages. We found Vicki and her family very friendly and helpful...thank you for the bow tie again!

We had a great stay and would recommend the cottages.




A very special place

Review submitted on Thu, 21 Apr 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The quality accommodation is truly fabulous but the very rare feature here is just how quickly it is possible to relax and for the kids to have an amazing time!



Long Easter weekend

Review submitted on Sun, 03 Apr 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great place to spend a long weekend with our two young kids. Everything we needed indoors for rainy days and evenings in, well equipped kitchen and beautiful surroundings for walks nearby.



What a great place!

Review submitted on Tue, 23 Feb 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage was immaculate and very well equipped. Despite the cold weather it was extremely warm and cozy. The beds were comfortable with very nice linen and it was lovely to have plenty of hot water. The location is excellent with walks from the doorstep within the estate and further afield along the river. The garden is perfect for dogs and for sitting out in the summer. The visiting birds added to our enjoyment. Also there are many places to visit in the vicinity whatever your taste, including some great pubs!



Beautiful Butterdon.

Review submitted on Thu, 26 Nov 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a wonderful place to stay!It simply has it all by the bucket load.We will definitely return to continue exploring the Devonshire countryside. Thankyou Vicki and Gavin for your hospitality.



Probably the nicest holiday let we have taken.

Review submitted on Wed, 04 Nov 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We loved it. Lovely cottage, warm welcome and fantastic extras. The party barn (play barn) was an real bonus as the nearest pub was a drive away. We took our own drink and snacks and made use of the games and space. Loved the additions like bird seed, and saw wonderful birds from our breakfast table. Very thoughtful. Well done.



Wonderful cottage and a great location with lots of wildlife. We had a great time.

Review submitted on Thu, 15 Oct 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Vicky and Gavin (and not forgetting Twiggy) were wonderful hosts giving us a warm welcome. Some lovley coffee and walnut cake on arrival. Wonderful comfy cottage with everything we needed for a great holiday. The location was beautiful and it was lovely going for early morning walks around the lake, meeting deer and pheasants on the way. The bats were a particular highlight for us. We would recommend to all.



A Wonderful Place

Review submitted on Tue, 06 Oct 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My family and I were lucky enough to stay in this lovely cottage for five days; we wished we could have stayed longer. The decor was just the right mix of cosy and contemporary, the kitchen was kitted out more than adequately, the beds were wonderfully comfy and the location was perfect. We really enjoyed the short walk to the tranquil lake surroundings nearby and loved breathing in the clean country air. We're already thinking of when we can return.



September 2015 - Butterdon

Review submitted on Wed, 16 Sep 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely cottage and surroundings and very helpful and welcoming owners living in adjoining house. Directions to cottage were excellent. Definitely ignore the satnav and follow Vicki's instructions.



Beautiful Holiday,the location of the House top!!!

Review submitted on Tue, 01 Sep 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The farm is located off what we liked very well.
The holiday house (Bardon) is very comfortable and has everything you need. Very suitable for children. Vicki and her family are very nice and helpful.
All sights are easy to reach, it is not far to the coast.
We will book the House again.




Highly recommended

Review submitted on Tue, 18 Aug 2015
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage is delightful and in a superb unspoilt setting. We were treated to a lovely cake by Vicki and generally made very welcome.
There are many good walks close by and shops etc. are only a short drive away.




Lovely cottage, ideal for exploring Dartmoor!

Review submitted on Sat, 06 Jun 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We really enjoyed our stay in Butterdon cottage at Clifford Barton. Vicky's directions were excellent and we had no trouble finding the cottage. What a surprise to also have a home made cake waiting for us on the table! The cottage was extremely neat and clean, had all the facilities you needed for self catering and the location is beautiful and excellent for exploring Dartmoor! We would definitely recommend Clifford Barton to anyone wishing to stay in Dartmoor and our only regret is that we could not stay longer.



Peaceful holiday.

Review submitted on Sat, 09 May 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great attention to detail is shown in this delightful cottage which is so attractively furnished. Everything was so accessible in the kitchen and Vicki is a very warm hearted hostess who had baked a lovely cake for us and supplied a bottle of local apple juice. One of the nicest cottages we have ever stayed in and we hope to return again.

Hazel from Worthing.




Spring break

Review submitted on Fri, 08 May 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The property was picturesque, plenty of room for parking and very peaceful. We were pleasantly surprised to find a delicious homemade Victoria Sandwich on the table on our arrival as well as a bottle of local apple juice, a very nice touch!!
The interior was spotlessly clean and well appointed and very comfortable. Even the birds in the garden were catered for with lots of feeders around giving us the chance to see birds we had not seen for a long time. It was very pleasant to walk from the house around the lake which, for children, would be heaven. Our hosts were very friendly and helpful and we had a very enjoyable week.




Recent stay at Butterdon, April 2015

Review submitted on Fri, 24 Apr 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a fantastic stay at Butterdon. The cottage and surroundings were excellent, the rooms were very comfortable. It was a lovely place to relax.
The room our two children slept in had a mezzanine floor which they used as a playroom, the owners had left some toys to be played with which was a lovely touch. Directly from the cottage we were able to walk around the lake, this took approx. 1 hour with a stop for lunch. Then a short walk up the track there is a field where we could fly the kite and play football.
The owners were very welcoming, and helped us to make the most of our stay.
We would most definitely recommend Clifford Barton cottages.




Really couldn't be better...!

Review submitted on Sun, 19 Apr 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Everything about our stay far exceeded any expectations. The cottage was warm, comfortable, spotlessly clean and contained all you could need. Our children loved their room, mezzanine and games barn and made the most of exploring the grounds.
The location is beautiful and idyllic yet perfect for exploring the area and beyond as well. Owners Vicki and Gavin could not have been more welcoming and helpful so that we could make the most of our stay.




A delightful cottage

Review submitted on Wed, 31 Dec 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Butterdon over the Christmas holidays. We were a family of five adults and found the cottage surprisingly spacious and equipped with every thing we needed. It was warm and cosy and very welcoming.The situation is perfect for gentle walks along the river or for walks further afield out on the moor.





Idyllic setting

Review submitted on Sun, 28 Dec 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely stay when we visited in December. The perfect setting for Christmas and our visit on the polar express. We will definitely return and recommend highly.



Idyllic setting

Review submitted on Sun, 28 Dec 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely stay when we visited in December. The perfect setting for Christmas and our visit on the polar express. We will definitely return and recommend highly.



Lovely stay in a gorgeous surroundings

Review submitted on Thu, 04 Dec 2014
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Far exceeded expectations ... very friendly hosts ... would not hesitate to recommend.
Stayed for weekend ... lovely walk to Castle Drogo and access to Dartmoor.




Great cottage

Review submitted on Sat, 15 Nov 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely place to stay, very comfortable and great location. Very nice walk by the river Teign from the cottage and a short drive to the pretty town of Chagford.



GREAT COTTAGE

Review submitted on Tue, 11 Nov 2014
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Stayed with our three granddaughters aged 7,10 and10.We had a great time the girls really liked their room.The cottage was just what we wanted,really clean and comfortable.We will be back.



Lovely 2 night stay.

Review submitted on Thu, 06 Nov 2014
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely 2 night stay wish it could have been longer. The cottage has everything you could possibly want and feels homely. Had some great walks after some advice from Vicki. Highly recommend it.



Fantastic place

Review submitted on Thu, 09 Oct 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Really welcoming. Clean and quality throughout. Lots of investement on the bathrooms and shower. Very lovely area and tranquil. Good location for walks and nice towns.



Enjoyable Stay

Review submitted on Fri, 26 Sep 2014
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Just a short stay but very welcoming. Homemade cake on arrival, very clean and comfortable with nice handmade touches all over the cottage. A great base for exploring the moor and nice local walks.



Fantastic countryside

Review submitted on Tue, 23 Sep 2014
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We were blessed with good weather and were able to cycle along the river Teign to Castle Drogo. We stopped at Fingle Bridge for a well earned drink!
The cottage was very comfortable with everything we needed. The garden was private and dog proof! We enjoyed sitting outside relaxing after a long walk.
Our dog enjoyed walking around the lake in the grounds of Clifford Barton.
It is a great place to to get away form the rat race!




A delightful break from reality

Review submitted on Tue, 26 Aug 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
An idyllic base from which to explore one of Devon's most beautiful regions. The cottage was incredibly comfortable, offering all modern amenities, and felt like a genuine 'home from home' - one of the first times we could say that about holiday accommodation. Vicki and Gavin were wonderful hosts, and bent over backwards to ensure that our family - including the children aged 10 and 1 - settled in immediately. Clifford Barton is very well located to explore most of Devon within an hour (by car), so when combined with the quality of the welcome & lodgings, stunning natural scenery, and the overall sense of peace & quiet, it made for a near-perfect venue for our holiday. Last but not least, the owners have made major investments in making their property as sustainable as possible, which was an additional 'feel good' factor about our time spent there!



Butterdon

Review submitted on Sun, 24 Aug 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely week at Butterdon. The homemade cake on arrival was a delicious treat. The cottage is well equipped and beautifully decorated but simple enough that you can stay with children. The older children liked the mezzanine play area and the books and toys there.






Perfect!

Review submitted on Tue, 29 Jul 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We already left a review at Butterdon. Everything was perfect!!!

Tom Koster
Joure




Excellent place to stay

Review submitted on Wed, 23 Jul 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a glorious few days at Clifford Barton. Everything was perfect for our stay. The accommodation is really well appointed with very comfortable beds, fully equipped kitchen, and lovely garden. The nearby villages are very interesting and there are lots of walks in the area and around the property. A highlight was walking through the woods to the pub at Fingle Bridge for dinner and returning at dusk. Vicki and her family are excellent hosts. I would have no hesitation in recommending a stay here and I look forward to returning for a longer stay next time.



Very lovely and comfortable cottage

Review submitted on Sun, 29 Jun 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We found the cottage very well equipped and comfortable with a lovely outdoor area. We really liked the decor too. Vicki left us fresh scones with jam and cream which we really appreciated. Vicki was very warm and helpful as well.



an excellent environment, nice cottage, fine for kids

Review submitted on Wed, 25 Jun 2014
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage is located in the countryside. Next to the house is a nice garden where you'll hear the birds chirping. Pheasants, you see a lot. Near the house is a large barn where the children can play table tennis. It is a beautiful area for mountain biking. The cottage has a fireplace that makes it even more cozy cottage. The hosts are lovely people who are always ready for you. We enjoyed it and will definitely come back sometime!