FB Twitter

Appletree Cottage

Appletree Cottage

4.0
out of 5
Ratings from 8 reviews
75% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
3.6
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.1
Location
4.3
Value
3.8
Customer
Service
4.1


Lovely holiday cottage in a pretty rural village, within a few miles of the historic town of Rye

Quibbles

Review submitted on Mon, 13 May 2019
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Good except we found the bed very hard: key for front door mortice lock erratic: stairs not easy to negotiate.




Andrew Gardner replied 281 days ago
Thank you for your review. We are sorry that you found the bed hard and that the stairs were not so easy for you. I know we had communication with you prior to your stay regarding accessibility and the stairs. Steeper stairs are a common feature in much older properties and won't always suit all guests. Thank you for drawing our attention to the lock, this will be addressed.

Comfortable character cottage with some hazards.

Review submitted on Mon, 18 Sep 2017
3.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Nice character cottage. Good parking. Nice kitchen. Comfortable beds. Step hazard at foot of stairs needs better highlighting. Hot water far too hot. Whoever cleans the property really should move the lounge furniture when hoovering ... there was rubbish and grit under the settee. Low beams in places were difficult for our 6-foot member of party.



Jacqui Maxted replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to review and for your important feedback. We will pass on your comments to the owner regarding the heat of the hot water and whether there is a way to highlight the step better at the bottom of the stairs. We will address the cleaning under furniture with the housekeepers, which I know they will be disappointed to have missed. We do mention in our web details that the cottage is Grade II listed with beams, so we are sorry that anyone in the party struggled with the ceiling height but is to be expected when staying in a very old cottage and as you have said the cottage is very characterful.

A lovely cottage in a great location to tour the area

Review submitted on Mon, 17 Jul 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Comfortable beds..mind your head in one room..lovely well looked after cottage within easy reach of Rye.



Appletree cottage a little haven on our road trip around southern England...

Review submitted on Mon, 29 May 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We booked a last minute stay at Appletree Cottage in May whilst touring Kent and East Sussex, everything was perfect. Quick, easy and helpful booking. The cottage is in a great location to visit nearby National Trust and English Heritage properties, Winchelsea, Rye, Battle, Tenterden, Batemans...great walks in and around the local woods & countryside.....so much to see and do as well as relax in the lovely garden. Great little village pubs nearby with good food. The cottage was clean, comfortable and equipped with everything you need & private parking off road.



Exploring East Sussex & Kent

Review submitted on Mon, 14 Nov 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very pleased with our stay in Appletree Cottage !
We had some slight concerns due to one or two 'negative' reviews previously posted but we can honestly say that we had absolutely no complaints at all about staying in this cosy, old cottage ( the downstairs bathroom is no big deal, being at the bottom of the stairs rather than 'off the lounge' as such, and the whole cottage was spotlessly clean ). A great supermarket and pub (Cock Inn) just down the road.
Also a great location for exploring the surrounding areas of East Sussex and Kent.




I would not stay here again unless the cleaner was fired

Review submitted on Mon, 10 Oct 2016
3.0
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
2.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
We were pre warned about the toilet but unfortunately the smell was throughout the cottage.

The dining table had crumbs all over it. There were dead flies on the window sill of the bathroom

The rug in the bedroom was filthy

There were cobwebs throughout




Andrew Gardner replied more than 1 year ago
We are very sorry that you found the property in such a poor state of cleanliness. Such poor presentation is unacceptable. Thank you for alerting us, we thought we had corrected this before but clearly not. I can confirm the housekeeper has now been replaced. We hope you otherwise had a good holiday and enjoyed the area all around Rye.

Disappointed

Review submitted on Sun, 25 Sep 2016
2.7
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
2.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
3.0
Value
2.0
Customer
Service
3.0
We eventually arrived at the cottage after driving up and down the road several times and ended up calling the housekeeper for further directions. He said that most people have this issue due to it being badly sign posted. We entered and noticed that the Fridge /Microwave and cooker were very dirty and had to be cleaned also the fridge was not on! The cottage is very Cobweby and needs to be more thoroughly cleaned, E.g. in the corners !The bathroom to our horror was also in the living area and made it feel very uncomfortable when this was being used. On the Saturday morning when I came down the stairs I fell of the step down and hit myself on the red sofa.This a dangerous last step and needs more than just some little red squares at the end of it! The sofas look very tired and should be replaced. We (my sister and I ) were woken up every morning due to the building works of the house next door. Perhaps we should have been warned of this, as going on holiday you don't expect to be next to a building site!! Another issue with sign post is that you CANNOT SEE IT IN THE DARK!!
We decided that we had enough of this cottage and left before our holiday was due to end!




Sue Harnett replied more than 1 year ago
I am so very sorry that you had problems with your holiday. Not having a clean house to come to is unacceptable and I have been in contact with the housekeepers to rectify this, it will not happen again. I have new leather sofas on order too. The building going up nearby has been a surprise and on occasions it can be busy as you found. I am sorry for the inconvenience this caused but I have agreed with the contractors that they are respectful during the hours they work. I do hope you did manage to enjoy some of the attractions and beautiful countryside while you were there. Once again my apologies for the problems you had. Sue Harnett

A nice and cosy little cottage

Review submitted on Sat, 17 Sep 2016
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
3.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Appletree Cottage is a nice and cosy cottage providing everything you need for up to 4 persons. We enjoyed our stay and can highly recommend Appletree Cottage :)