FB Twitter

Beacon Cottage

Beacon Cottage

4.9
out of 5
Ratings from 37 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.9
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.9
Value
4.8
Customer
Service
5.0


Modern clean lines and superb comfort just perfect for enjoying the Downs, Brighton and the coast.

One double bedroom.

The comforts of home in the South Downs

Review submitted on Thu, 10 Jun 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We really loved this comfortable, clean, large cottage. The place is attached to the owner's home, but after greeting us, they left us alone. However, they were readily available if we needed anything. It felt and was very private. The location is excellent for a short drive up to the beacon, or a short walk to the village high road, where there are pubs, tea rooms, and shops. Brighton is a short drive away. It's a perfect, quiet getaway for two.



Marvellous stay

Review submitted on Tue, 08 Jun 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a marvellous stay at the cottage. The hosts Eileen and Chris were so lovely and friendly and were helpful in providing local tips.

Would definitely recommend this cottage and stay here again if I was nearby!




Excellent accommodation in wonderful setting.

Review submitted on Mon, 07 Jun 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our hosts were very welcoming and helpful. The accommodation is five star, well equipped and very comfortable. Lovely countryside below the South Downs with plenty of local walks. A haven very close to the city of Brighton.



Brilliant 100/100

Review submitted on Mon, 24 May 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We loved our stay couldn't,t have asked for more it was perfect for the visits we had planned to different woods and walks , the top of ditchling beacon excellent loved it going again next year



Beacon Cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 19 Apr 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Eileen and Chris welcomed us on our arrival and went through all the information we needed to know. The accommodation, location and hosts are excellent. THANK YOU for a fabulous stay!



Home from home.

Review submitted on Mon, 26 Oct 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a lovely break during this extremely difficult time of COVID. Property was excellent and hosts were very helpful. Ideal base and would defo recommend!



Walkers delight

Review submitted on Mon, 05 Oct 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great cottage, such a good location for walks on the South Downs. 2 really good pubs in the village.



Wonderful place to stay with n quiet location

Review submitted on Mon, 21 Sep 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely spacious accommodation in a quiet location attached to owners house. One mile walk across the fields to Ditchling village. With two pubs and tea shops serving good quality food. 20 minutes walk from the house on to the South Downs bridle way with views to Brighton and Lewes. On the last night we spent the evening watching the sunset on top of the downs, stunning. Thanks to Chris & Eileen for making us welcome and the treats.



A welcome break in Sussex

Review submitted on Fri, 04 Sep 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A lovely spacious well fitted out quiet cottage. A perfect location for walking the South Downs and visiting the surrounding area.
The owners' warmth of welcome and use of the garden were a special bonus.




An excellent stay at Beacon Cottage

Review submitted on Tue, 25 Aug 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is a lovely spacious cottage in a location just at the foot of the South Downs. We received a very friendly welcome from the owners, Chris and Eileen. Easy access to Ditchling Beacon with hours of walking on the downs. Lewes, Brighton and Eastbourne are within easy reach, as are the Bluebell Steam Railway and Sheffield Park Gardens (NT).
The kitchen and bathroom are very spacious with all necessary appliances. The lounge is large with a nice comfortable sofa, and there is plenty of reading material as well as a large TV with multiple channels. The upstairs bedroom is also large, with plenty of storage and hanging space (including hangers). Lovely views to the downs from the bedroom rooflights. There is plenty of car parking space and guests have the benefit of use of the owners' garden. The owners' property has automatic gates for added security.




Beacon Cottage, Ditchling, East Sussex

Review submitted on Mon, 17 Aug 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is a lovely, modern cottage. Kitchen and shower room very nicely fitted out, good size bedroom with comfy bed and spacious lounge to relax in with very nice seating. Put all this into it's quiet, secluded surrounds and the very warm welcome from the lovely owners and we felt right at home from the moment we arrived. Top marks all round from us!



Perfect break, lovely cottage & location

Review submitted on Mon, 30 Mar 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very comfortable cottage in ideal position for exploring/walking in South Downs. Warm welcome from lovely, helpful owners. Hours of walking each way from Ditchling Beacon right on the doorstep & also from car park at Devil's Dyke (good food at pub). Close to plenty of National Trust properties & other gardens & plenty of beautiful villages to explore on route. 2 good pubs in the village for meals & welcome drinks by an open fire. Cottage is fully & tastefully kitted out plus lots of reading matter - much appreciated when got too wild to walk! We/family will stay again.



Lovely Cottage in a Lovely Spot

Review submitted on Mon, 11 Nov 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I've been to Beacon Cottage before - loved it last time and loved it again this time. It manages to be both compact and roomy and is well-equipped and immaculately turned out. Always snug too. I was using it as base for a weekend walking on the South Downs, for which its situation by the foot of Ditchling Beacon is perfect, allowing me to start my walks from the front door. Although in quite a quiet place, it is only a few minutes off the A23, so is easy to get to, and only a few miles from Brighton. The owners are so kind and friendly too, and always make me feel welcome. Highly recommended.



Great Space

Review submitted on Wed, 09 Oct 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely time. The layout of the cottage was spacious and a pleasure to be in. Eileen and Chris made us feel very welcome.

It’s a great location for long walks and a quick drive to centre the of Ditchling village.

Quiet and relaxing.





Beacon Cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 30 Sep 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
An excellent cottage with very friendly owners, location at the foot of the chalk scarp and nearness to the South Downs Way made it a good choice.



A relaxing break in Sussex

Review submitted on Fri, 06 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A lovely cottage which has been very well modernised. There's plenty of space and overall the cottage is very comfortable with a great view from the bedroom window. The cottage provided us with a perfect base from which to explore the South Downs, various gardens, and the spectacular coast. Its also near some great places to eat. The owners, Chris and Eileen, have made great efforts to ensure that guests enjoy their stay.



Super holiday home!

Review submitted on Sun, 21 Jul 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beacon Cottage is indeed a five star holiday home and we had a warm welcome from our hosts. The cottage is conveniently close to the South Downs Way for many walking opportunities and nearby Ditchling Beacon Nature Reserve was beautiful and peaceful too - so many wild flowers.
Apart from walks from the door, Beacon Cottage is a good base for visits to the area for 'rest days', especially Sussex Prairies near Henfield which was stunning. The excellent Ditchling Museum of Art and Craft was also impressive.
Sue from Deal.




fantastisch!

Review submitted on Tue, 02 Jul 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
beautyfull cottage, friendly landlords, lovely garden, infact: the garden of Eden!!!

the village is very pretty.




Another great stay

Review submitted on Sun, 02 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our second visit to Beacon Cottage. The owners, Chris and Eileen, are very welcoming. The cottage is delightful and the position (just under Ditching Beacon) is fantastic if you want easy access to South Downs walks/Lewes/Brighton. Can't recommend highly enough and have no doubt there will be a third visit.



Excellent stay at Beacon Cottage

Review submitted on Tue, 05 Mar 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We cannot recommend Beacon Cottage highly enough.
The hosts are wonderful.
The cottage is pristine.
The location is ideal for exploring the area.
Do not hesitate to make a booking.




Beacon cottage

Review submitted on Sun, 21 Oct 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very friendly helpful owners who were only next door if needed. We had all we needed. Especially very up to date kitchen. Would go again.



Beacon Cottage Review

Review submitted on Wed, 17 Oct 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have now stayed at Beacon Cottage twice and for 2 people its the perfect location for a break exploring the South Downs to the North of Brighton. There is a really warm welcome from the owners and you are made to feel very much at home. The property is of an exceptionally high standard. It's spacious, comfortable, warm and very cosy. There's a lovely big television for entertainment on a wet day or of an evening. We'll definitely be back.



Downstairs bathroom

Review submitted on Mon, 01 Oct 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
As there is no upstairs toilet , I as a 77 year old, found it difficult going downstairs during the night! This was not realised on booking though did see plans at a later date. A warning to anyone with mobility or bladder problems would be useful. Alongside no pets and unsuitable for young children. No complaints otherwise



Excellent, well equipped faultless cottage in a good location for exploring Sussex.

Review submitted on Sun, 09 Sep 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A great deal of thought has gone into making this cottage an excellent holiday home. The moment we pulled into drive we received a very warm welcome from the owners. Inside certainly didn't disappoint, even down to the smallest of detail. The cottage had everything we could possibly need and more. The cottage is bigger than the photos make it look, but certainly as lovely as they make it look. It's very clean, well equipped, and extremely comfortable. The owners ,Eileen and Chris made us feel very welcome and only too pleased to help on any hints and tips on the area should we need it. We were able to explore their beautiful garden and make use of the seats scattered around.
This is a great location for exploring Sussex both the surrounding areas and The Downs. Would not hesitate to recommend Beacon Cottage to anyone. It's definitely 5 star and more !
Would we go back ? 100% yes.
Book it you will not be disappointed.




Lovely cottage, excellent location!

Review submitted on Wed, 29 Aug 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This cottage is a gem. It is very well equipped, clean, cosy and set in wonderful surroundings. The owners are very welcoming and they made us feel at home right away. The location of the cottage is perfect for exploring the beautiful surroundings, as well as being close to Brighton, and even London. We had a lovely time here, therefore we can recommend wholeheartedly!



A comfortable stay at the foot of Ditchling Beacon.

Review submitted on Wed, 08 Aug 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a fabulous week in Amberley Cottage. Beautiful garden, level of comfort in the cottage is very high. Everything you need is there. Good bed, wonderful sofa. Great hosts, very warm welcome. The location itself is good as far as accessibility is concerned an distance to various places of interest. The road itself is quite busy, more than I expected. Which is why I didn't put Excellent in that category.




Delightful cottage on the South Downs

Review submitted on Tue, 17 Apr 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My wife and I had a lovely 3 night stay at Beacon Cottage. The welcome from the owners was very friendly and the accommodation was of the highest quality. Plenty of information available and things to entertain us if the weather was poor.



A delightful stay in a beautiful cottage

Review submitted on Tue, 03 Apr 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beacon Cottage is an extremely well presented rental cottage, well equipped and in a beautiful location. Eileen and Chris, the owners, were very hospitable and nothing was too much trouble. They are knowledgeable on the area and keen to make you feel at home. I would definitely recommend this property and hope we can return again soon.



Short summary

Review submitted on Fri, 01 Dec 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A superb property in a stunning location at the foot of the Beacon. Ideal for walking the downs.
Chris and Eileen were both lovely - they left us to ourselves but were there when needed.




Comfort & Achievement!

Review submitted on Mon, 07 Aug 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We found the cottage very comfortable with plenty of space for 2. Every room has been furnished to a very high standard, particularly the kitchen and bathroom, they also have a beautiful garden which you are able to use. This is by far one of the best cottages we have stayed in. The location was also ideal for us as we were able to achieve everything we had planned to do. Thank you Chris & Eileen for a memorable stay.



Thoroughly recommended to anyone wanting excellent accommodation

Review submitted on Sun, 30 Jul 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Chris & Eileen have given a great deal of thought in providing an excellently appointed country cottage experience. They have thought of everything to make ones stay comfortable and memorable from arrival with their enthusiastic cheery welcome. The garden and surrounds are quite magnificent, well manicured and the owners are happy for one to enjoy spending time exploring them at ones leisure and making friends with Goose " Gerty " and Bantoms, "William & Kate". Truly worth a stay, Nigel & Susan ( Simon's Town, South Africa )



Brilliant Holiday

Review submitted on Mon, 10 Jul 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a fantastic week at Beacon Cottage obviously helped by the superb weather.Chris and Eileen are very knowledgable and gracious hosts and having the use of their private garden was an added bonus.The cottage is ideally situated for exploring the surrounding area and has all of the amenities required,and is decorated to a very high standard.
We hope to return next year.




Beacon cottage

Review submitted on Fri, 30 Jun 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage was great had everything we needed. Everything was good quality really comfortable bed, excellent power and rain shower in a spacious cubicle. Lots of fluffy towels. Very spacious lounge really comfy setting, kitchen with everything you need. Access to a huge garden friendly chickens!
The hosts Eileen and Chris are really welcoming friendly and helpful without being intrusive they are really kind lovely people.
I would really recommend the cottage it's in a beautiful village and a good position for getting about.




A brilliant place to stay just north of Brighton

Review submitted on Thu, 25 May 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have stayed here before and were determined to return. Chris and Eileen are the most delightful hosts and always welcome you as old friends. The property could not be better and is equipped to the highest standard in every room. It is a real home from home set in the most wonderful location.
Choose to stay here and you will not be disappointed




Lovely cottage with excellent attention to detail

Review submitted on Fri, 07 Apr 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Stayed here with my wife for one week in March 2017. We have stayed in many holiday cottages previously and this was easily one of the best. It was clean and spacious, with lots of room for our walking kit, and a big enough extending table to accommodate our board games (these two things are our holiday cottage checklist essentials!) It really felt that the owners have very carefully considered the experience of being a guest here. We found everything we needed in the kitchen to self-cater all week, and there were lots of little luxuries we haven't seen in a holiday cottage before like a heated bathroom mirror and lockable safe. The wifi worked well and we were also able to run our netflix account through the TV with no problems. The house is just off the South Downs way so well placed for walking, etc, and we were lucky to have good weather to do this. Chris & Eileen were great hosts, with the right mixture of friendly curiosity but completely respectful of privacy. Thank you very much for a lovely stay.



Just what we needed!

Review submitted on Sun, 26 Mar 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fabulous modern cottage, so luxurious, spotless and very spacious for two. Every little detail had been thought of for our comfort, even milk and 'posh' butter in the fridge. The house was soothing to return to after days out sightseeing in the immediate area, and although there are many facilities to use and enjoy at 'home' such as the large garden, huge TV etc we were drawn most of all to walk on the hills nearby, which we did morning and afternoon with a quick lunch back at the cottage in between. Now and then we popped into Brighton for shopping and to see our son who lives there.
This cottage's position is really convenient for the South Downs Way, less than five minutes drive away. The views are breathtaking.
Overall we were very grateful to the hosts for their discreet presence (their house is next door should you need anything) and for making it such a peaceful and refreshing place to stay.Thank you!




October trip to Ditchling

Review submitted on Tue, 25 Oct 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a fantastic week in Sussex with a very very pleasant contact to the landlords. They gave us beautiful advices to eat, to walk, to make sightseeing etc.
The Cottage is really great and full appointed with love. We have missed nothing in the kitchen and felt very comfortable. The garden is amazing and we will come back when the spring is showing his nature...
Thanks a lot to Chris and Eileen (and Andrea and Aaron and and and)