FB Twitter

Brooke's Cottage

Brooke's Cottage

4.8
out of 5
Ratings from 30 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.8
Condition
4.9
Location
4.9
Value
4.6
Customer
Service
4.9


In the heart of the South Downs and just a couple of miles from Beachy Head and the coast, this lovely cottage has fabulous views and is an ideal location for walkers.

One double bedroom.

Great place to stay

Review submitted on Tue, 06 Nov 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We really enjoyed our stay. Very well looked after accommodation, no short-cuts on fixtures and fittings! Great location and marvellous view of South Downs from the windows. We went for a short Autumn break so it was pretty cold which was a shame as it would have been nice to sit in the garden with a glass of wine and enjoy the view! Very handy location too for getting around, Beachy Head just a short drive away. Great pub just a couple minutes walk away serving very good food.



Ideal cottage for walking holiday

Review submitted on Tue, 18 Sep 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Wonderful cottage! Clean,very well equipped, very relaxing.
Lovely views from back of cottage.
Ideal loctation for walking in local area (stunning scenery)
Bonus of pub next door, good food & allows dogs.
Cottage owners very nice, there if you need them.
My dog Millie & myself had a very enjoyable break.
Will book again in the future!




Lovely property

Review submitted on Sat, 01 Sep 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Enjoyable week at lovely cottage with beautiful views over the hills. Well located for local walks as well as seaside towns. Extremely quiet at night. Good shower. Helpful local tips from Len.



Lovely Holiday.

Review submitted on Tue, 28 Aug 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I have just returned from a weeks stay at Brooke's Cottage, Jevington. Everything was new and fresh and everything I needed was there. The owners were very helpful and both my Dog and I enjoyed our stay. There are wonderful walks just across the road and up and out over the hills. One can walk for miles. Beachy head was a short car drive away, 15 Mins and as I like to do a bit of course fishing, there were three very good venue's all within half hour drive. ( the one I used most, Falkenvil Fishery, Hailsham being 15 Mins drive, that had four different lakes to choose from). Hearstmonceaux Castle well worth a visit. Also Eastbourne a short drive away. The road outside the property can be fast, even though it is signposted as 30mph so caution must be taken when entering and exiting the property or when crossing the road to go for walks over the hill. I found it OK though as I gave people enough warning I was stopping to enter the gates and held my Dog on the lead until up the steps and away. Steps almost opposite property by bus stop lead up and out over a glorious walk. Cattle and or sheep are sometimes in these fields so care should be taken when walking your Dog. Also if your Dog pulls when returning to property the steps are close to the road, so again care should be taken to hold the lead short in case of traffic. Obvious I know but just thought I'd say. There was nothing wrong with the property at all, everything was great. New cooker and grill all worked fine, after a little read of the manual :O), lovely views from the cottage out the back, especially as visited most mornings by a Green Woodpecker and Gold Finches, a Robin and a Wren. Also milk, biscuits and tea bags were there on my arrival. A Big Thank you to the owners, Len and Michele for a Lovely Holiday.



Brooke Cottage

Review submitted on Tue, 17 Jul 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a lovely stay in this super little cottage. Very nice touches from the owners with plenty of toilet rolls, hand wash etc, tea,coffee, biscuits and a pint of milk in the fridge. Very clean and everything in good condition. Views were lovely , would certainly stay again. Off road parking a bonus.



Great for dog walkers, and lovely views over the South Downs.

Review submitted on Thu, 28 Jun 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Lovely holiday cottage, especially enjoyed the views from the cottage and proximity of excellent walks across the South downs.



Second visit

Review submitted on Thu, 21 Jun 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We enjoyed our first visit last June so we booked again. We enjoyed the view across the fields from the cottage and my husband looked forward to the nightly visit of a fox as well as nightjars, bats and green woodpeckers on the owner's lawn. The cottage had everything we needed and we enjoyed the two seating areas outside for morning coffee or a cup of tea after a walk over the hills. There are walks in every direction - South Downs Way, Vanguard Way and Wealden walks. We made use of the local bus to Eastbourne, the open top bus tour Eastbourne round trip via Birling Gap and Beachy Head and train from Polegate to Brighton. We made the mistake of visiting Beachy Head and Birling Gap in the early afternoon when there were visiting tour buses and school parties.



Downland valley idyll

Review submitted on Mon, 04 Jun 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a lovely find - a super little flint walled cottage cosily tucked away from the outside world with uninterrupted views of pastoral fields giving way to the beautiful backdrop of picturesque Sussex downland. Although so favourably placed for easy access to Eastbourne and many other local attractions you'll find it hard to drag yourself away from the tranquility of the cottage and its small lawned garden and those views: we spent a day just sat in the garden reading and thoroughly enjoyed every relaxing minute of it. For those who enjoy country walking you will be spoiled for choice here too.
My wife and I, both pensioners, also appreciated ease of access to the property and 'all on one level living' inside the cottage.




Brookes

Review submitted on Mon, 23 Apr 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Wonderful location for the South Downs. Accomodation excellent and the views from Brookes suberb!!!!





Superb cottage on South Downs way

Review submitted on Tue, 17 Apr 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Everything about this cottage is superb. It is only a few years old so all fixtures and fittings are new. There is all you need for a cosy, comfortable and relaxing time away. Excellent walks from doorstep and easy access to more attractions. Lovely to have a small outdoor space if weather permits. Highly recommended.



Sue's review

Review submitted on Sun, 03 Dec 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Brooke's Cottage at Jevington is in an ideal location for walks heading in all directions - especially as the South Downs Way is a few steps from the door. The views from the accommodation are also spectacular across the open countryside. Just horses, birds and a few rabbits to interrupt the scene!
Our week stay was also improved by daily blue skies and sunshine. Although we did have a rainy start to one day and headed to the hills for the afternoon.
A brilliant holiday indeed.




Brooke's Cottage is a little gem

Review submitted on Wed, 22 Nov 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful views from the cottage, excellent pub 100 yards away and walks galore. A real home from home.



Brookes cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 13 Nov 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This lovely little cottage nestled in a small village, next door to village pub surrounded by the downs what more could you want.



Brookes Cottage, Jevington - A Real Gem

Review submitted on Tue, 26 Sep 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A great location for those quiet times away in beautiful settings. The cottage is a delight and immaculately maintained with only a step across the road and your on the Downs for great walks and views.
Nice little private garden for dog owners, too.
The pub next door - The Eight Bells - is a real boon and don't be put off by its proximity, you won't hear a thing. Great food , beer and hospitality. They're also dog friendly.
Will certainly be looking to going back again.




Comfortable, secluded with a stunning view

Review submitted on Thu, 14 Sep 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Really secluded, comfortable, clean and with a magnificent view of the Downs (best view from a holiday cottage I've ever seen!) The location of the cottage is superb;Just a walk through the churchyard brings you on to the South Downs way, and Birling Gap and the Seven Sisters is but a short drive away. Local shops at Polegate are nearby too.
Definitely one of the best cottages I've stayed in




Relaxing and peaceful.

Review submitted on Thu, 31 Aug 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautifully appointed cottage in a quiet location. Great for a relaxing break. The owners are very friendly and helpful but keep out of your way. Lovely enclosed garden for a dog. Great walks nearby.



Most beautiful cottage we ever booked at Amberley's.

Review submitted on Mon, 21 Aug 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful holiday at Brooks cottage. This cottage has a magnificant view over the South Downs. We have booked several cottages in the past in the same neighbourhood, but this is the most beautiful cottage we stayed in. Very clean and well equiped! Very helpful and kind owners. The coast is very nearby and nice to visit. We highly recommend this cottage!!



A perfect week

Review submitted on Tue, 13 Jun 2017
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Perfect week in a nice clean and well fitted out cottage.It is well situated for coastal visits as well as driving out into the
beautiful Sussex countryside We are already thinking of a return visit next year.




2 week break

Review submitted on Sun, 21 May 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is the second time we have stayed at this cottage. Perfect for two people as well as a small dog. Well maintained and not that far from shops etc. In fact the local pub is within 2 minutes walk. Would recommend the cottage for those who what peaceful holiday as well as those who like walking on The South Downs.



Brooke's Cottage

Review submitted on Sat, 22 Apr 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We would highly recommend Brooke's Cottage. It had everything you would need and more! We were really impressed! Would definitely stay there again and wished we had booked longer.



Our stay

Review submitted on Sun, 09 Apr 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful stay at Brooke's cottage with our dog - the location is fantastic with lots of walks right on the doorstep. The cottage has been furnished and decorated to a high standard and we loved the fact we could leave the door open for the dog to come in and out thanks to the enclosed garden. The pub next door does not cause any noise at all, and the food is lovely there. They do accept dogs which was very handy. Eastbourne is only a short drive away, beachy head was particularly stunning at sunset. We are already planning our next visit!



Excellent week at Brooke's Cottage

Review submitted on Sun, 02 Apr 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Quality clean cottage in excellent location. Great doggie walks locally and easy access to coastal resorts. Owners were on hand when needed and very friendly and helpful. Will definitely recommend.





Great location for lots of local walking.

Review submitted on Wed, 29 Mar 2017
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Our only disappointment was no access to wifi all week. However lots of positive things, lovely and quiet, countryside views from every aspect.



Excellent stay in a lovely house in a beautiful place

Review submitted on Tue, 03 Jan 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Brooke's Cottage is lovely little place just perfect for what I wanted with helpful owners. The access to walks on the South Downs and the local pub was excellent, and the place itself was clean and well kept. The owners were available if needed, but as I didn't need them, it was lovely to be left to my own space after them coming round to greet me on first arrival.
I would highly recommend this place to anyone who wishes to have some space in beautiful surroundings.




Holiday in autumn

Review submitted on Mon, 14 Nov 2016
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A wonderful place for making holidays. Very calm with a beautiful landscape with a nice town nearby.



A perfect cottage

Review submitted on Fri, 04 Nov 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
An excellent cottage with a beautiful view.The cottage is very comfortable (kitchen, bathroom, heating, wifi : everything is super). We made several walks in the neighbourhood : Beachy head-Stirling Gap; Cuckomere valley; The Long man. The pub next door is an asset.




Wonderful Break

Review submitted on Sun, 16 Oct 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Booked this cottage for a 1 week break to celebrate 70th Birthday. The cottage was ideally placed to be able to visit our friends in the area. Convenient for the local pub and walks on the South Downs. The cottage was modern and clean with a small enclosed garden. Would like to visit again.



A lovely cottage in a peaceful location

Review submitted on Sun, 09 Oct 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We spent a relaxing week in this lovely cottage. It is well equipped and comfortable to return to after a long day's walking. The enclosed south-facing garden was perfect for enjoying the last of the afternoon sun and safe for our dog. There are plenty of walking routes right from the front door and many more a short drive away. The local dog-friendly pub was a welcome addition.

The owners were very welcoming on arrival and on hand for any questions, but then left us to enjoy the peace and quiet of this peaceful cottage.




Lovely cottage in a peaceful location

Review submitted on Sun, 04 Sep 2016
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We had a restful short break here in this comfortable and well equipped cottage. Wonderful walks from our doorstep and our little dog loved the garden!



One of the best cottages we've stayed in

Review submitted on Sat, 13 Aug 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our stay in Brooke's Cottage was really great. The cottage was clean, well equipped and well thought out. Having our own private and enclosed garden was especially good as we had our old dog with us so there were no worries about her getting out and onto the road. There were walks from the doorstep and a decent pub next door but this did not cause us any disturbance. The bonus was the fantastic weather we had. We would recommend Brooke's Cottage and we will definitely be booking it again in the future.