FB Twitter

Echo House

Echo House

4.6
out of 5
Ratings from 17 reviews
94% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.7
Comfort
4.7
Condition
4.8
Location
4.5
Value
4.3
Customer
Service
4.7


A truly relaxing home, superbly presented that sits right on the National Park boundary.

One king sized bed, one double bedroom that can be configured as a twin, one room with four foot bed, and one single bedroom.

A very comfortable house with views to the South Downs

Review submitted on Wed, 18 Dec 2019
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A spacious house with a very well equipped kitchen and comfortable sitting room. Loved the fire in the kitchen. It would be good to stay in better weather as the garden, with numerous sitting areas and bbq, would be well used. We intend to stay again.







Birthday weekend

Review submitted on Sun, 24 Nov 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A lovely stay at echo house to celebrate a family birthday. We loved the open plan kitchen and the amazing central fire. The house was well equipped and very comfortable. We loved being able to enjoy walks from the house on both days didn’t use the car at all, thank you



Weekend at Goodwood Revival

Review submitted on Wed, 18 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is the second time we have stayed at Echo House for Goodwood. It has everything we need and is a two minute walk to The White Horse Pub which serves really good food. Getting to Goodwood across country is easy. We will definitely be staying here again in the future.



Probably our favourite holiday home ever...

Review submitted on Tue, 16 Jul 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We often self cater in holiday homes like this. Echo House was wonderfully equipped, great for families who want a home from home. It was really comfortable, with a pretty garden. We were able to entertain family who live nearby with a bbq under the delightful pergola. Lots of space to park cars out front. Well situated for beautiful walks across Pulborough Brooks, easy drives to the coast, Arundel, Chicester... We would love to stay here again.



fabulous property, spacious and amazingly well equipped

Review submitted on Mon, 08 Jul 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely stay at Echo house for our family of four, we took our 2 children age 21 & 25 and the property was perfect, wifi, netflix etc. Beautifully presented rooms and bathrooms and spotlessly clean. Perfect location for Goodwood. Plus local walking distance pub and other pubs nearby for meals etc. Arundel Castle and the coast are within easy distance. Would highly recommend this property.



A very comfortable stay in lovely countryside.

Review submitted on Tue, 28 May 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The house was very spacious, comfortable and well equipped. It is very convenient for visiting. coast, countryside and stately homes and castles, as well as having a pub with good food within walking distance.
The only downside was the loo in the upstairs bathroom which was not easily accessible.
We thoroughly enjoyed our short break in sunny West Sussex.









A very spacious and well-equipped holiday house

Review submitted on Sat, 12 Jan 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A very spacious and well-equipped holiday house, ideal for our New Year break. The kitchen had everything our family needed and the adjoining comfortably-furnished area was where we spent most of our time when indoors, with the separate lounge as an optional 'quiet' room. The house was warm and everyone had easy access to a bathroom. We particularly appreciated the Christmas decorations which had clearly taken someone a while to put up!
Overall we were delighted with our choice and would happily return for another stay.
In addition, I felt that Amberley House provided a very good level of service, with timely emails and offering additional information about the house, etc.




Haven for a Group Gathering

Review submitted on Wed, 14 Mar 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our group has stayed at Echo House many times. We look forward to preparing meals together in the well-equipped kitchen, and lounging and chatting on the comfy sofas in the adjacent lounge, both warmed by the double-fronted fireplace. When the weather is fine, we enjoy chatting, drinking, and eating in the well-landscaped back garden. Beds, linens, and bathrooms are stylish and comfortable. There’s a lovely, welcoming atmosphere and we know why the owner treasures this place.



Uncomfortable use of air fresheners which spoilt my stay.

Review submitted on Sat, 30 Dec 2017
3.7
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
We were very comfortable.

BUT

I have never lived in or visited a property with so much air freshener, either plugged into sockets or spray canisters placed around the house.

Considering the fact that pets were not allowed I do wonder what all the toxic fumes (and they can be allergenic) were trying to hide.

It obviously does not bother some people but there was no getting away from it as bed clothes and everything seemed to be sprayed. I wonder does the owner know that the cleaners use so much of it.

I therefore have to say I would not stay here again under the present circumstances.




Gill Dunsfold replied more than 1 year ago
Dear Ann, Many thanks for your review, and for taking the trouble to write. I am glad you found Echo House comfortable, but very sorry that you found the plug-ins overbearing. As you will have noticed having provided Christmas decorations I was trying to make it smell ‘christmassy’ and didn’t think it was overbearing - but they can be switched off at the plug by guests if required. My cleaners do not spray the bedlinen, but we do use fabric conditioner when doing the laundry. I am not aware that we are trying to cover any smells - we take pride in a high standard of property maintenance and cleanliness - but occasionally if guests have been cooking spiced foods, it is important that the next guests don’t have to suffer. If this was the only reason that you would not return, then I would be more than happy to ensure that fabric conditioner is not used for your bed linen, and that the plug ins are switched off, and indeed the same would apply for any other guests who may require the same. I have been letting Echo House for 5 years now, and always have very favourable comments so again I am sorry that you were disappointed. Kind regards, Gill Dunsford, owner, Echo House

Home from Home

Review submitted on Fri, 01 Sep 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
First impressions, lovely spacious well appointed house. Every time we visit local beaches and local attractions,we always felt we were coming back home. Cannot fault the house or gardens and location, ideal for visiting all the seaside towns and sights. Having spent many years staying in the local area,with family members living in West Chiltington,I would highly recommend Echo House and would not hesitate to stay here again.



Relaxing and comfortable place to stay

Review submitted on Thu, 04 May 2017
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We really loved the large L shaped sofas. They we so comfortable it was difficult to do anything but relax. Our favourite room was the open plan kitchen/dining room/lounge and in particular the feature gas fire. Overall the best thing was it had a feel of a home from home. Everything you could need was provided and it was furnished and decorated to a very high standard.



our home from home

Review submitted on Thu, 09 Mar 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have stayed at Echo House on several occasions and it is always just what we need. It is comfortable, clean with the bedroom/bathroom/living space ratio well balanced. There is always enough room to all hang out together or have a quiet corner for some personal space. Loads of hot water even when the house is full.



Andrew Gardner replied more than 1 year ago
That's really good to hear that Echo House works so well for you. To be able to share space or have your own space is often what a successful and relaxing holiday is all about.

Short stay at Echo House

Review submitted on Tue, 07 Feb 2017
3.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
3.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The house is very well laid out and has everything you could ask for. It really is a home from home. We stayed there in early February and we found the front lounge cold, partly due to one radiator not working and also that the heating was timed to start at 4.30 in the afternoon. However there were fires in both the lounges so we were able to light those. There was plenty of parking in the drive but we were not aware until we got there that the house is situated on a busy road. The entrance to the drive is rather tight too. Once in the house you could not hear the road.
The house is situated close to the RSBP bird reserve and within easy driving distance to many other attractions.
We had a very enjoyable stay.




Andrew Gardner replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your comments and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay. We are sorry that you found the house cold and it is just unfortunate that you did not find the instructions in the house welcome folder that explain how to override the timing controls. The heating is on from 6.30-10am and then 4.30-10.30pm as it is not practical to keep the house warm all day, especially when empty. However if guests are in the house during the day, then they are very welcome to change the heating timer. The welcome folder is always left on the kitchen table for when guests arrive.

Enjoy!

Review submitted on Mon, 02 Jan 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Echo House proved to be a great place to stay for our Christmas vacation. It was warm and inviting and every effort had been made to make the accommodation look festive. The large open kitchen with massive corner sofa and fantastic easy to use fireplace soon becomes the hub of the home. The house is very well set up with every gadget available in the kitchen. Echo House is spacious and easily accommodates 6/7 people.
I had never heard of Pulborough Brooks before and was delighted to find great walks over the road from the house. Pulborough Brooks on a clear frosty day was an unexpected winter wonderland! Be sure to visit the delightful Wigginholt church a tiny little gem on one of the many trails available.If ever in this area be sure to visit the RSPB nature reserve with paths and hides for all abilities including wheelchair users.Having stayed in many places I would not hesitate to recommend Echo House to others. Enjoy!




Home from Home for a special occasion

Review submitted on Sat, 29 Oct 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We booked the property as our daughter was getting married in Horsham and we wanted a home that would allow her to get ready for her big day in the same way she would have done had she been at our family home. This house was perfect, it is spacious and has a fabulous Kitchen, dining, family area that is great for entertaining. The bedrooms were very comfortable and the beds and bedding of good quality. Three bathroom/ shower rooms make this house really flexible when a number of adults are staying. The kitchen was well stocked and had every kitchen utensil, pot, pan or crockery that you would need. We were blessed with the weather (October) and were able to enjoy the garden, relaxing and having tea in the sun. The location is excellent and we shopped locally and easy access for the motorway, airport. Highly admired by our wedding photographer and stylist. Will definitely return.



A very enjoyable and relaxing week

Review submitted on Sat, 08 Oct 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We really enjoyed our stay and were very impressed with the kitchen facilities and supplies - great to have some of the basics (tea bags, sugar, seasonings and sauces) left available. A busy road but not noticeable from the house. Good food at the local pub and a lovely location for nature reserves and culture.



Beautiful holiday home, great location

Review submitted on Sun, 04 Sep 2016
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Lovely spacious holiday home, beautifully decorated and spotlessly clean. Very comfortable and welcoming. There are lovely walks nearby - as wells as footpaths across the Pulborough Brooks if you walk up the road towards the local pub, there are nice walks going out of the back garden gate. Be aware that the road the house is situated on is quite busy and there is a constant stream of traffic. Also, the gardener visits for a couple of hours during the week.

Plenty to see and do nearby and we particularly recommend Parham House for its beautiful gardens and the Amberley Museum which had so much to see that we visited twice.

A bottle of wine and a pint of milk were left in the fridge and were gratefully received but every other holiday home we have stayed in have provided a more extensive welcome pack - eg cake, jam, bread, butter, eggs. Perhaps this could be considered?

We had a lovely stay and really hope to return.