FB Twitter

France Cottage

France Cottage

4.4
out of 5
Ratings from 9 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.1
Comfort
4.1
Condition
4.1
Location
4.6
Value
4.3
Customer
Service
4.9


Patching - Prices from £385 to £665 per week

An idyllic rural setting within the South Downs National Park offering lovely traditional cottage accommodation

One king sized bed and two single bedrooms

Arundel 4 miles

Storm Dennis

Review submitted on Tue, 25 Feb 2020
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Sara welcomed us on arrival and when storm Dennis filled the front garden with rain, she waded over in her wellies to assure us the flood would get no higher! Very reassuring and generous of our hostess's time.
In spite of the weather we enjoyed our few days' stay and wanted to discover more of the local walks.




Peace and quiet in a well equiped characterfull cottage

Review submitted on Fri, 02 Aug 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
After busy Londen we (family with two adolescent children) wanted a couple of quiet days in the country. In France Cottage we found what we were looking for and more. The cottage has everything you need (dishwasher, washingmachine, oven, microwave etc etc) and lots of character. Proprietor Sara is a wonderful host, who told us much about the history of Patching and surroundings. Gave us good tips as well, i.e for swimming and visiting a bizarre church nearby, where a local artist has copied the Sixtine Chapel! Really special. Patching is lovely, we had some great walks there. Sara makes you feel very welcome. Everything here has a genuine feel tot it. Not to forget: at the end of the street there is a pub called The World's End, a large but Beautiful restaurant actually, where you get not ony the basic pub food, but also more sofisticated meals at very decent prizes!!



A beautiful place for a relaxing break

Review submitted on Tue, 25 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have stayed in many cottages over the years and France Cottage is definitely one of the best. The cottage is comfortable, charming and has a delightful garden. It is in a lovely location with super views and a nice pub in walking distance (shops are rather further afield). The owner, who lives close by, did everything to make us welcome and ensure we got the best out of our stay. With lots of beautiful walks, beaches only a short drive away and lovely towns like Arundel to explore there is plenty to do! Our dogs had a great time too. We look forward to returning next year. .



Early spring in Patching

Review submitted on Wed, 27 Feb 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
An enjoyable stay in the cottage. It was nice to be surrounded by the garden birds and spring flowers so early in the year.



Nice but very authantic

Review submitted on Sun, 29 Jul 2018
3.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
2.0
Comfort
2.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Perfect garden, outdated shower, good beds, to many spiderwebbs in the house, great fridge, very very friendly owner



Sara replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your response, you are right that you should not have been bothered by the presence of cobwebs which obviously spoilt your enjoyment of the cottage. I was unaware of them when I was preparing the cottage for your stay and can only apologise. I would however have welcomed the opportunity to come and rectify the situation for you. With regards to the bathroom we currently provide a bath and not a shower, we have never sought to hide this. However, I am aware that increasingly guests require a shower and we are considering having one fitted.

Early spring get away

Review submitted on Thu, 15 Feb 2018
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Charming period cottage close to a variety of attractions, we particularly enjoyed the open fire and the owner was welcoming and helpful.



New Year break

Review submitted on Mon, 15 Jan 2018
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Mostly good/excellent and we enjoyed our stay. The 'ok' re condition relates to lack of carpeting in the sitting room and main bedroom which made those rooms less cosy than single bedrooms. Better lighting in the dining area of the front room would also be an improvement.



France Cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 08 Jan 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely peaceful weeks break and I would love to go back to France Cottage. It has two good pubs within walking distance. Firewood for the fireplace is down the road for ease sake. It is lovely and peaceful with a nice rural feel.



Sweet Cottage

Review submitted on Sun, 12 Nov 2017
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a pleasant stay at France Cottage. Sara welcomed us and was around if we needed anything. It was November so the weather wasn’t good enough to sit outside in Sara’s pretty cottage garden and l think the cottage would be really lovely for a spring or summer break. We had all we needed to make our stay a good one. Perfect if you want to take your doggies.