FB Twitter

Freeland Farmhouse Stables

Freeland Farmhouse Stables

4.7
out of 5
Ratings from 35 reviews
97% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.6
Comfort
4.7
Condition
4.8
Location
4.9
Value
4.4
Customer
Service
4.7


Set in beautiful countryside surrounded by fields of horses and outstanding views, this lovingly converted stable is an idyllic getaway suitable for all of the family

One superking double (can be twin) and one kingsize double

A months break

Review submitted on Fri, 07 Feb 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Well what can I say..from when we first opened the door wow,the building is lovely,the underfloor heating is amazing,the beds are so comfortable,the views are fabulous,nothing negative to say.
So peaceful you would never know it was there we had 2 dogs with us and they loved the countryside walks just outside the front door.
The owners live next door and they were very welcoming,thankyou for letting us stay in your beautiful home.




holiday

Review submitted on Sat, 11 Jan 2020
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
it is a perfect place for us and nigel to stay and to meet the owners who are very nice.we will be coming down again in june.



Great stay

Review submitted on Wed, 01 Jan 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
It was a pleasure to stay at Freelands Stable Cottage. I stayed over Christmas week and was so delighted that the owners had left a decorated real Christmas tree - a welcome sight after such a long journey. The cottage was comfortable and cosy and well planned out. I chose this cottage because it is pet friendly and had an enclosed garden and it really was an enclosed garden. I look forward to returning in the warmer months when I can enjoy sitting in the garden. Thank you - I have no hesitation in recommending this delightful cottage.



holiday rest

Review submitted on Sun, 06 Oct 2019
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
It is a very peaceful place to stay Nigel our dog loves it and all the walks he has. We find it great for us and will be back again before the new year looking forward to our next visit Garry



Beautiful country cottage / stable conversion done with superb attention to detail

Review submitted on Sun, 29 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We spent three nights at the cottage in September, it worked perfectly. Very quiet picturesque countryside location just outside Storrington. Some pleasant early morning walks on your doorstep or if you want to hop up onto the South Downs, c10 minutes in the car. The cottage itself is a converted stable with 2 beds, generous lounge area & kitchenette and bathroom. The conversion has been well thought through by the owners. Two very elegant decent sized bedrooms (the beds were extremely comfy!). A very well equipped kitchen, comfy lounge area with TV, and outside terrace with table/chairs and a beautiful garden. Overall, we really enjoyed our stay and wouldn't hesitate to recommend it'



Lovely property in a great location

Review submitted on Sun, 01 Sep 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Have just come back from a glorious week at the Freeland, which is in a great location just outside the town so had peace and quiet and the sound of the birds chirping away was lovely in the morning while eating breakfast on the patio. When we arrived there was a jug of milk in the fridge, freshly laid eggs and some homemade chocolate brownies left for us. The property was done up to an excellent standard and had full amenities. The kitchen was well equipped including, the shower was great with a choice of a rain shower or a more powerful massage shower. The beds were lovely and comfortable as well. My elderly mother was with me and the only negative that we found is that she had trouble coming in and out of the front door as nothing to hold on too as the threshold was quite wide but otherwise could not fault the property and if we came back to this area would definitely book again.



A wonderful break

Review submitted on Fri, 30 Aug 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We've just spent a wonderful week in Freeland Farm Stables. Thought we had arrived at a 5 star hotel! The property is clean, bright and really well stocked with first class fittings. The garden is perfect for sitting out and totally secure for the two little dogs who loved it. Many things to visit around the area and some nice walks from the property. Highly recommended.



A lovely stay

Review submitted on Fri, 16 Aug 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Myself, my husband and 2 children have just had an amazing stay at Freeland Farmhouse Stables. Everything was all ready for us on arrival and the brownies, eggs and milk that were left for us were a lovely treat. Having read previous reviews, I was concerned that there would not be enough cooking utensils, but there were plenty. Enough crockery, that we weren’t constantly washing up and a large array of saucepans, and baking trays to cook with. The hosts were lovely and very helpful during a power outage, which was totally out of their control and due to high winds. It was great to have outside space for the kids to play in. Overall, the setting was beautiful and it was easy to access local footpaths for walking. We definitely hope to stay here again!



Wonderful week!

Review submitted on Sun, 31 Mar 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We enjoyed a wonderful week in this superb stable conversion which is in a lovely peaceful location. It was spotlessly clean, comfortable and the underfloor heating is excellent. Good shower and very comfy bed. This is a very dog-friendly property with a really secure garden. We walked miles from the door in the beautiful countryside of the South Downs, also Arundel and Petworth are worth a visit.



Kitchen utensils

Review submitted on Sun, 25 Nov 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The only thing we wanted to comment on was that we could have done with a few more kitchen utensils..spatula, serving spoons, bowls for the microwave...recognising that we are probably dinosaurs actually cooking!

The smaller shower head was a bit of an adventure..again maybe new to past their sell by date biddies.







Summer holiday

Review submitted on Sun, 05 Aug 2018
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We had a wonderful stay at this cottage. If I had to give one recommendation it would be to change the tablelegs of the diningtable as these get in the way when you sit at the table.

Overall we are very satisfied and would surely book this cottage again!




Cool and comfortable for a hot July week!

Review submitted on Wed, 01 Aug 2018
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
A great location and comfortable base for exploring the many places of interest a short drive/walk away.
Highlights for us were: Parham (house and stunning gardens), West Dean (amazing kitchen garden and glasshouses), Sussex Prairie Garden (a real Wow factor), Arundel (town and castle) and Petworth (the house and town).
A perfect lunch enjoyed at The Horse Guards Inn (Tillington )- fabulous food in a cool shady garden with free range chickens!
Lovely (and much needed) beaches at Littlehampton (West Beach) and West Wittering
Had to leave the dog behind, because the weather was so hot (who would have thought), so missed out on exploring the paths and trails of the south downs (another time).




Summer retreat

Review submitted on Wed, 04 Jul 2018
3.3
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
1.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is a beautifully located and newly renovated country cottage. It’s very tastefully designed and furnished. Unfortunately the cleanliness was awful. I know cobwebs build up quickly, but there are tons of it and amounts of dust everywhere, and especially in the corners. Unfortunately, even the beautiful bathroom was lacking hygienic cleaniness. It’s a shame, as the owners are extremely responsive and kind concerning small enquiries. They should definitely look for a new cleaner.



An excellent week in the South Downs

Review submitted on Sun, 29 Apr 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is a perfect location from which to explore the South Downs. The cottage is beautifully appointed, with a fully enclosed garden, surrounded by extensive grassland. Footpaths and bridleways are plentiful nearby the house, clearly signposted and a pleasure to explore. Parham House is not far away - the parkland also has a scenic right of way across it. Although the cottage is situated towards the end of a private road, it's easy to get to Storrington, two miles away, for anything you might need during your stay. I thoroughly recommend Freeland Farmhouse Stables as an ideal holiday destination, and I am already thinking about when I can visit again.



A brilliant first visit

Review submitted on Sun, 22 Apr 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I would willingly visit again. The enclosed garden was really enjoyed by the dog and the location superb . The cottage was well equipped and to a high standard. The beds very comfortable. The only reason I put good for comfort and not excellent was because I felt for 4 people it could have done with an extra chair. However as we were three it did not matter.



A quiet pretty cottage with good walks

Review submitted on Wed, 28 Mar 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage is clean and warm. The owners went out of their way to be helpful, thank you. The location is good for walks and days out. There are good views of the downs from the cottage. The shower was easy to use. We would stay there again. If you need dry firewood and kindling the hardware shop in the street in storington stores theirs inside and might be dryer than tesco garage.



January 2018

Review submitted on Mon, 12 Feb 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent property, beautifully presented. Well appointed & very comfortably furnished throughout, from beds & bedding, linens, etc. Due to inclement weather experienced whilst staying at Freeland Farmhouse Stables in January, the car-parking area became a little difficult to negotiate, but the owners very kindly saw to it that we were not inconvenienced by this during our stay. Only a couple of very minor points that were of note; the underfloor heating took a little while to set to the correct temperatures in the various rooms (however, this is inherent of such heating systems) and could perhaps have been better stocked with some of the household products (dishwasher tablets, bin bags, kitchen roll, toilet tissue paper, etc). But otherwise, a truly wonderful place to stay, immersed within the stunning backdrop of the South Downs. We hope to be able to return very soon.



Enjoyed

Review submitted on Sun, 28 Jan 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay there, the owner left the best brownies as a welcome gift my kids loved it, didn't have a chance to taste them.
Everything we need was there and very clean.

Thank you very much.




A lovely conversion in an ideal location for country lovers.

Review submitted on Tue, 05 Dec 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Freeland Stables has been expertly converted into a 2 bed holiday let. Warm & welcoming interiors. Ideal for our dog because it was detached with a secure garden. Lots of great Public Footpath walks on the doorstep & the S. Downs a few minutes drive away. Thank you for the brownies & jug of milk on arrival.

The only downsides were lack of serving spoons/ casserole dish in the kitchen.
Also the bathroom was draughty under the sink- we plugged it with a T Shirt.
Think there should have been a fire guard & tools for the log burner.

It is the first place we have stayed in that didn't have a Visitors Book or a vacuum cleaner too, & we holiday in the UK at least 2-3 times a year ! It is difficult to clean pet hairs up with a brush.




Lurcher holiday at freeland stables

Review submitted on Tue, 21 Nov 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Fantastic location for exploring the South Downs the stables had everything we could possibly need for our holiday . Have already recommended it on Facebook to other sighthound owners . Lovely dog friendly pubs as well so we shall be back .



Perfect for us and perfect for dogs

Review submitted on Tue, 14 Nov 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was the perfect place for us to stay with our dogs while helping with a family move. Light, airy, comfortable and beautifully warm, the cottage had everything we needed. The secure garden was great for the dogs and they loved the underfloor heating and the wood burner.



Freeland Farmhouse Stables

Review submitted on Sun, 15 Oct 2017
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Customer service throughout my booking was excellent.

Not over clean in places i.e. oven/grill. All bedlinen etc. very clean and fresh but could do with individual hand towels not just one hand towel in shower room.

All bathroom furniture was excellent and heating was great.

Insufficient comfortable seating for 4 adults, also not enough cups/mugs and no egg cups! No point in supplying a dishwasher with very little crockery.

Hard standing for 2 vehicles could be improved if only to cut the long grass nearest the property to improve reversing etc. when 2 vehicles are parked. Got wet feet on several occasions.





A very good place to stay

Review submitted on Tue, 26 Sep 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The original building has been beautifully converted. We loved the spaciousness, the underfloor heating and the lighting. Our dog much appreciated the safe space to run on the doorstep. A few points to make since we parents are both reliant on sticks and safe design - the shower layout is tricky to manage in terms of using controls and finding support; and the door threshold we found particularly hazardous. Not easily remedied but worth bearing in mind in future. They did' not seriously detract from our overall enjoyment of the building.
Stephen Thorpe




Freeland Farmhouse Stables

Review submitted on Mon, 25 Sep 2017
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We stayed at Freeland Farmhouse Stables from 9th September to 15th. We enjoyed our stay and found it very convenient to Goodwood, We were in Sussex to attend the Revival.The cottage has been done very tastefully and has some nice features. As previous guests commented, there are areas where there is room for improvement. Although the kitchen has most things, it lacks in quantity, i.e only 4 mugs/cups, no large tumblers. We were continually washing up or putting the dishwasher on . The cottage is for 4 persons, but really did not have a large enough saucepan/casserole dish. There was an electric whisk, but not a bowl to be able to whisk anything. This is a self-catering property. The second bedroom did not have a wardrobe/cupboard. For us really was not a problem, as the 3&4th guests were our sons, but if it had been friends would have been difficult. The only hanging space was coat hooks on the wall. We had to go out and purchase hand towels, as the cottage only had one.
However, we would visit this cottage again and recommend it to family and friends.




A real get away from it all

Review submitted on Mon, 18 Sep 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
A beautifully converted stables in a lovely rural location. The stables were very comfortable and so peaceful with no traffic noise. Some noise from the gliding school nearby at the weekend, which did not bother us, it was quite interesting to watch. A secure garden so we did not need to worry about our dog wandering in & out. All in all a real get away from it all, and one of the best cottages we have stayed in.



Our Yearly Getting Grandsons Together Sussex Holiday

Review submitted on Wed, 16 Aug 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This turned out to be the cleanest, most idyllic venue ever so far for us and our family. It was perfect for our little dog and the space for our grandsons to kick a ball about proved a real hit. Also it was a real plus to find the games in the chest to keep us all entertained when the weather was bad. The only thing we would have liked would have been to have Mum(daughter), Dad and 4 year old to stay for a night ! The bed was big enough. Also Dad(son) and two young sons would also easily have slept for two nights with room in the bed! However we respected the promise not to allow more than 4 so in the event nobody joined us - they all bunked down at my daughter's house. We would have liked to be able to ask if this would have been acceptable.We appreciated the welcoming touches of brownies, milk, flowers, the brand new cloth and scourer and the goal post moved for our benefit! We very much liked the decor, furnishing, bedding and television. It was a really lovely family week in a gorgeous peaceful spot.



Just the Ticket

Review submitted on Sat, 08 Jul 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent stay in a clean, comfortable conversion. Just what we were looking for. Secure garden area for the dog, easy access to public footpaths right on the doorstep.



Visit to the South Downs

Review submitted on Sat, 24 Jun 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We would definitely recommend staying here. Beautiful location, ideal for visiting the South Downs and surrounding area. Clean and comfortable with a lovely garden which the dog loved. We will be back!



Exploring Sussex

Review submitted on Mon, 22 May 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Ideal location for exploring Sussex, very peaceful and the wildlife was amazing,.
Great Stable !!!!!




Amberley House Cottage Holidays replied more than 1 year ago
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at Freeland Farmhouse Stables and great to hear that the wildlife was also very welcoming!

Relaxing

Review submitted on Sun, 14 May 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is a lovely barn. It is in an excellent location, and very quiet. Nearest shops are about 1mile away. Excellent train station at Pullborough 2miles away.

The garden was nice and enclosed. The only downside was three vegetable patches to one side. Not a problem if your dog doesn't like to dig. We had to make sure our dog stayed off the patches, and so couldn't just leave her outside alone. Otherwise we could have left the door open and let Rosie come in and out playing.

This wouldn't stop us though going to this lovely barn.




A good find in the countryside

Review submitted on Sun, 07 May 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Stables are very comfortable and surrounded by fields and offers a quiet break. The location is excellent for exploring either the South Downs or surrounding towns.



First class conversion.

Review submitted on Mon, 01 May 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The property is perfectly situated for visiting the South Downs or coast. Storrington is close by for all amenities and good road network. The barn is bright and fresh with all facilities you require. For walkers the owners have provided a number of guidebooks and maps. Garden is safe for dog and many walks from property itself. Excellent.



Stylish but more work needed

Review submitted on Sun, 16 Apr 2017
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
A stylish conversion with high end appliances and a brilliant shower. The kitchen is well equipped but some items are missing - for instance a couple of " Pyrex " casseroles would be useful. The heating is very effective but the overall effect isn't cosy - a result of the slate floor and lack of rugs.
The playing area at the back is a good idea. The garden is obviously a work in progress and needs improving quickly as, at the moment, it is not a very attractive place to sit.
It is a recent conversion so I am sure that little touches will be added in the near future.




March short stay

Review submitted on Wed, 05 Apr 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely cottage in a very quiet environment. We enjoyed the place and would definitely recommend this to others.



Had a wonderful break

Review submitted on Thu, 16 Mar 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Stayed for 3 days excellent cottage and views total tranquility but easy reach of the village with main towns of Bognor, & Portsmouth within 40 mins and Arundel & Chichester 15 mins
Lovely refurbishment everything you need is there and dogs enjoyed themselves would highly recommend this property