FB Twitter

Garden Cottage

Garden Cottage

4.5
out of 5
Ratings from 24 reviews
96% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.5
Comfort
4.5
Condition
4.7
Location
4.8
Value
4.3
Customer
Service
4.6


Quintessential English country cottage for four in the heart of this picturesque village, with easy access to the South Downs.

Two king sized bedrooms.

Excellent Stay in Amberley

Review submitted on Thu, 10 Sep 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Cottage was a perfect gateway for our family. Nestled in the South Downs National Park,the cottage has a perfect location in the one of the most idyllic villages in England. The garden cottage has real character - has maintained its old charm but at the same time, has some tasteful fittings. The White Horse is a great pub with amazing food right across the road. Would highly recommend this place, the pictures on the website don't do full justice to how nice the place really is!



Beautiful cottage & location

Review submitted on Fri, 27 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This cottage is excellent. Everything spotless. Beautiful garden. Is in a lovely village. Would definitely recommend a break in this cottage.



The perfect cottage

Review submitted on Tue, 24 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We spent a really lovely week in the Garden Cottage which is simply perfect. In particular, we enjoyed the conservatory and the AGA oven which we used regularly. The whole house was very well equiped. And its location is perfect too. Located at the food of the South Downs within the beautiful village of Amberley it is the ideal starting point to discover the area.



Aga

Review submitted on Thu, 27 Jun 2019
3.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
2.0
Condition
4.0
Location
2.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Saga heats up the kitchen, not a nice place to have breakfast in summer. Car park in the street.
Owner of house behind cottage parked his car just in front of our entrance.




Idyllic

Review submitted on Fri, 12 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
'Idyllic' is an overused word to describe most holiday cottages but in the case of Garden Cottage would be appropriate. Believed to have been built in 1625, the owners have retained all its charm while ensuring maximum modern comfort. This is clearly a much loved home as opposed to a professional holiday 'let'. The cottage is at the heart of the delightful village of Amberley, where large numbers of cottages are still thatched; The village still boasts a thirteenth century castle, a wonderful community shop which also retials the beautiful ceramics made by the local potter, a tea room which serves only home made cakes and scones, and a newly refurbished pub called the Black horse which serves outstandingly good food. Locals are welcoming and friendly.
The only draw back is that there is no parking with the cottage although we never had any difficulty finding a slot on one of the surrounding roads, and as the pub is directly opposite the cottage one imagines it might be noisy in the evenings when people are using the gardens outside. In fairness we were not disturbed even on a busy Friday and Saturday night and the pub owners do post notices by their front door asking patrons to respect the neighbours.
The country side around is breathtaking and for those not there to walk there are lots of first class places to visit. We particularly enjoyed a visit to Petworth and to Arundel castle. Arundel is a few minute's drive away and the delicatessen in the centre is well worth a visit.
We will be returning to Garden cottage. The walking is extensive and in a week we explored only a fraction of it. And having made friends with the Aga we can't wait to try more ambitious cooking!




Lovely old cottage in beautiful village

Review submitted on Wed, 03 Oct 2018
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The cottage is lovely and cosy with delightful old (but tastefully renovated) details. I especially enjoyed the conservatory in the private little garden with the light from all sides and from above; wonderful to sit in in all weathers.
Unfortunately the pub across the street is being renovated; it can get loud now and it might get loud once the pub and hotel will be open.




A great summer break

Review submitted on Thu, 06 Sep 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We very much enjoyed staying at the Garden Cottage which is beautifully presented and very comfortable. This lovely old cottage has fascinating features and was spotlessly clean, The cosy aga is a special feature and we knew the location would be good for walking and exploring Sussex. The nice quality linen and kitchenware was a bit of a treat and if the weather had been kinder we would have made good use of the well kept garden. A real treat of a cottage and a beautiful village - quiet yet with a fab shop and pub.



Fantastic cottage!

Review submitted on Wed, 15 Aug 2018
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fantastic cottage with authentic details in interiour. Nice old English atmosphere. Close to Village Shop. Very close to Black Horse pub (unfortunately closed, being renovated, when we were there). Walking distance to other pubs. Walking distance to train station.



A house full of character

Review submitted on Mon, 07 May 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We loved this cottage, especially the good mix of character and original features with modern comfort. The garden room was lovely.
We stay in a cottage every year and this is our favourite so far.




Lovely cottage in beautiful setting

Review submitted on Fri, 26 Jan 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We loved our stay in Garden cottage. It is beautifully furnished throughout and very homely.We particularly enjoyed the classical music CD collection and the piano was also a very pleasant surprise!



Cosy Christmas at Garden Cottage

Review submitted on Wed, 03 Jan 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Garden Cottage was the perfect location for our traditional and cosy Christmas. It was probably the best presented and equipped cottage we have stayed in so far and was spotlessly clean. Towels, bedding appeared new and the mattress was of very good quality. Furniture was an eclectic mix of styles and periods, but added to the charm of this beautiful property. The provision of wine, milk, mince pies and biscuits was a nice touch. The log burner was particularly welcome on cold evenings and helped to supplement the heating system.

A couple of small issues - The Aga was used daily, but struggled to reach the right temperature to cook roast potatoes even though the service engineer visited. We had to make use of the additional small electric oven to finish off vegetables and duck, but the combination of cooking methods worked. The chairs and sofa in the sitting room are not the most comfortable for a truly relaxing evening.

We would certainly recommend Garden Cottage for a couple or small family stay and would be happy to stay there again ourselves.





Cosy cottage

Review submitted on Sun, 24 Sep 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a very good stay at Garden Cottage.
We loved the cottage , cooking on the Aga and the beautifull village !
Thank you very much.




Excellent place for our weekend at goodwood revival

Review submitted on Wed, 13 Sep 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
I picked this property for its closeness to Goodwood , and was really pleased with the cottage it out did my expertationsickness, and I would deffinately book it again ,
Great ,comfy stay !




No decent place to sit for a week, except the garden chairs.

Review submitted on Thu, 31 Aug 2017
2.7
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
2.0
Comfort
1.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
2.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Garden cottage was nicely located and has aal the potential for a nice stay. Unfortunately, the furniture was not comfortable at all. The seats and sofas were small and need a total overhaul to put the springs and cushions back were they belong. We could not sit decently in any of them.
The AGA proved to be a challenge, but that was expected. The downside of having an AGA in warm weather is that the house is heated during the day when one goes out and closes doors and windows. On coming back, first thing to do is open all doors and windows and wait for an hour until the temp has dropped a bit.




Stunning cottage full of character

Review submitted on Thu, 31 Aug 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This cottage is beautifully furnished with great attention to detail. The guest feels instantly at home. It is quirky and like no other holiday cottage we have stayed in. Every room is special in its own way. The dining area in the garden is also very pleasant. We had not heard of Amberley before but found it to be full of character and the locals were incredibly friendly. We would love to stay again and in fact we wish we lived here! Great location for exploring the Sussex Downs and visiting the seaside.
We brought our 3 children aged 4, 6 and 1 and whilst we loved every minute of our stay and would visit again, please note that the cottage is not particularly suitable for young children. We had to bring our own travel cot and high chair. There is an aga which is on all the time (quite warm to the touch), and no microwave. The garden is raised and has some very high levels which a toddler could easily fall off onto hard paving, so young children mustn't be left unattended in the garden. I would advise bringing your own plastic plates and cups to avoid kids dropping and breaking anything on the hard tiled floors. There are cupboards in the kitchen at ground level filled with lovely crockery which our toddler was desperate to investigate, but we managed to deter her. There are beautiful vases on display which made us a little nervous, and there is no banister up the staircase which means a small child could fall. But basically, if you make sure that kids aren't left unattended, you'll be fine! Everyone loved staying here and we were grateful that our young family was allowed to stay in such a splendid place..A real holiday to remember.




Fabulous cottage in a beautiful village

Review submitted on Sun, 06 Aug 2017
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We stayed at garden cottage for the week to visit Goodwood races. We had a great time at the races & the cottage was a so homely & a haven to to return to. Amberley is a tranquil relaxing village. Lovely tea shop, excellent village store which is well stocked. We didn't want to leave the cottage when it was time to.



Perfect

Review submitted on Mon, 12 Jun 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The quintessential country home, the nicest Cottage we' ve ever been to.
Perfect for a family of four. Walks on your doorstep.




A Real Home in an Idyllic Village

Review submitted on Sun, 14 May 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Garden Cottage combines solid comfort with good taste, old features with modern facilities, and a lovely garden with complete privacy. It is beautifully maintained and full of extra conveniences rarely found in rentals. The beds are wonderfully comfortable. The glassed-in shower stall functions perfectly. The Aga stove is great to use. The bright conservatory with eye-level views of the flower borders is an exceptional bonus. And walks around the village itself afford a dream world of beauty.



A perfect stay !!

Review submitted on Sun, 30 Apr 2017
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We spent a perfect time in Amberley, which is a lovely town. The cottage was also great a we had everthing we need.
We recommend the little tearoom near by. This is a must be.




Garden Cittage

Review submitted on Sat, 11 Feb 2017
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Four family members came to Sussex for a funeral. We shared the accommodation which was more pleasant than staying in an hotel. The Cottage is lovely. Very authentic, roomy, nicely furnished. We used the Aga and found it did all we needed. The village is very pretty. It must be super in spring or summer and the well stocked garden must be a joy then. The villagers we met were friendly.



Beautiful cottage in lovely Sussex village

Review submitted on Tue, 01 Nov 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A splendid place to spend a relaxing week. The aga, the wood burning stove, the piano and the comfy beds all helped to make our stay very enjoyable. Amberley is such a pretty village and the surrounding area has lots to offer.



Home from Home

Review submitted on Fri, 14 Oct 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Garden Cottage is a fabulous place to stay - comfortable, excellently equipped and stylish.
We stayed while attending a family event at the Castle nearby - which was only a few minutes walk away. We loved the local shop which supplied us with all our needs. The Aga was fun to learn to use and the kitchen wonderfully appointed.
We hope to return.




A lovely property in an excellent position which was ideal for my needs.

Review submitted on Sun, 18 Sep 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A beautiful property, from the point of access, clearly someone's home rather than a 'for purpose' arrangement and that was telling throughout with many nice touches - the Welcome pack revealed all and confirm that this is the case. Particularly enjoyed having a piano to play as had not done so in ages! The only small niggle would be the AGA - never got on well with these and for me they just don't work - a microwave is a must these days and would complete the otherwise comprehensive equipment etc provided. Otherwise hard to fault in any way and thus happy not to! A refreshing change from some other self-catering accommodation I have been to before in various parts of the country - where available I will certainly be going back again. The Amberley Village Store is excellent and I received useful and friendly information and tips from the charming gentleman there too - recommended!



In August with 2 kids

Review submitted on Mon, 12 Sep 2016
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The cottage was lovely and old world, it would have been useful to have had a few tips on how to use the aga with the welcome pack, in the heat of August it was too hot to sleep with the aga on.
That aside there weren't too many low beams and the location of the cottage was perfect for holidaying with two kids ages 4 & 6