FB Twitter

Harbinger

Harbinger

4.5
out of 5
Ratings from 25 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.5
Comfort
4.5
Condition
4.6
Location
4.6
Value
4.4
Customer
Service
4.6


Well located for Goodwood, Chichester and Arundel, light filled, tranquil holiday home surrounded by a working dairy farm.

One double bedroom with king sized bed, one twin bedroom and option of sofa bed for extra flexibility.

Delightful Harbinger - an excellent base to explore this beautiful area of Sussex

Review submitted on Sun, 13 Oct 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Harbinger's large, airy living space with its Eames armchairs, its B&O tv and beautifully designed log burner make relaxing, after enjoying the many delights of the South Downs, a real pleasure. The property is placed within easy reach of the many seaside resorts, not to mention Petworth, Arundel, Chichester, Goodwood etc. There is so much to see and do that I found that a week is no where near long enough to fully appreciate this astounding area.



Amberley House Cottage Holidays replied 343 days ago
Thank you for your lovely informative review of the Harbinger and the richness of the local area for our future guests. Thank you too for leaving everything absolutely spotless and sparkling. It was a delight to meet you all. Jonathan & Josi

Wonderful spacious house in perfect location for coast / South Downs

Review submitted on Sun, 18 Aug 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We really enjoyed our time here. The house itself is gorgeous and we were made to feel very welcome by the owners. Our teenage son had the entire mezzanine to himself which he loved.
The house is about 5 mins from the local shops which are open until 11 for supplies. Within 45 mins drive there are many seaside towns and beautiful gardens / historic places to visit.




Andrew Gardner replied more than 1 year ago
It was a joy to meet you all , have you all stay in the Harbinger and despite the weather, that your time was full and peaceful. We wish you well in all your marvellous work. j&j

Lovely return visit to Harbinger

Review submitted on Mon, 15 Jul 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a great second stay at Harbinger, such a special place. We love the huge light and airy living space with comfy seating and views out over the garden and countryside. The owners (who live next door) are very friendly and helpful. The location feels very rural but is very convenient for Chichester, Arundel and exploring the coast and Sussex Downs. We will hopefully be returning soon!



Relaxing Holiday

Review submitted on Sun, 07 Jul 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful holiday staying in Harbinger. The owners who live next door are so lovely and helpful but not intrusive. Would love to go back again sometime.



Relaxing

Review submitted on Sun, 16 Jun 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
This property is so lovely to stay In, my husband & I had some great days out to the local beaches & Arundel Castle. At the end of these days it was a delight to come back to Harbinger to relax.



Short break at Harbinger

Review submitted on Tue, 26 Feb 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Date of stay: 19/02 - 23/02/2019
It was very much a last minute decision to get away, in fact only booked the day before and Amberley House Cottages gave us great service at such short notice, so many thanks for that
Harbinger is a wonderful place to stay, peaceful, warm and very comfortable. Such lovely views sitting in the Eames chairs especially first thing in the morning. We were also blessed with great weather
Our hosts and their lovely granddaughter were charming
I hope that we will stay there again




Not ideal for a young family but nice and very quiet location, better suited for the summer months

Review submitted on Mon, 07 Jan 2019
2.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
2.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
3.0
Value
2.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Very nice couple the owners. Not ideal if you have young children and its the winter months, as the property is a bit out of the way in the country, will need to travel by car, Barnham for food/supplies is a great as its only 10 mins by car. Train station also if you want to travel to the London sites. Property is better suited to a couple with older children as their room would be upstairs, mind you the upstairs bedroom and bathroom had no heating although there was a towel rail and radiator it was not working. Rest of the downstairs has underfloor heating so thats fine as well as downstairs main bedroom and bathroom. Very small kitchen so better suited for one to cook! Had an issue with flies in the property and I didn't expect to spend most of my holiday hovering live and dead ones up all the time, property has a very high ceiling so most of the live ones will eventually come down when they die!



Andrew Gardner replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your review and we are sorry to hear that you had issues with the heating upstairs which does have its own dedicated heating system and a separate thermostat. We understand that you spoke with the owners most days who would have certainly helped you with this. The property is situated in the heart of a dairy farm and the unseasonally clement weather did result in a number of flies in the building at that time. We can only apologise for this. We are told that you have written some very complimentary comments in the visitors book, so thank you for those and your wife said she loved the space and garden and she wanted to return. The owners have said they would like to ensure you have a most enjoyable stay next time, so we hope you will decide to return at some point.

Review of Harbinger

Review submitted on Wed, 31 Oct 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
From start to finish it was perfect. Fantastic place. Fantastic countryside. Lovely owners. Hope to return.



Wonderful week at Harbinger

Review submitted on Wed, 17 Oct 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very nice owners living next door who made our stay very pleasant and comfortable. The living room is big with comfortable Eames chairs in front of the big windows and the beds are good to sleep well. The location was ideal for visiting several interesting places around (Petworth, Arundel, Chichester, Winchester, seven sisters near Eastbourne, historic dockyards in Portsmouth). The kitchen is modern and well equipped. Shops are nearby - 10 min by bicycle, train station as well to get to London. The round trip to London by train included the day pass for London underground and was not to expensive when starting after 9:30 in the morning to avoid rush hour.



Cottage comments.

Review submitted on Sun, 07 Oct 2018
2.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
3.0
Value
2.0
Customer
Service
3.0
The facilities were adequate at the cottage although a few every day kitchen items were missing. The owner also needs to check the cottage for problems, ie toilet overflowing constantly, bathroom extractor not working and light bulbs needing replacement. Having said all that we did enjoy our stay.



Josie & Jonathan replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your comments and as we seek to provide a peaceful retreat for all our visitors, The Harbinger is checked and cleaned thoughout on each changeover. We will check the applicable points you have raised once the current guests have departed, but have never had anyone else comment about the lack of kitchen utensils and would have happily provided any specialist kitchen items if requested. It is also a shame you did not mention that the toilet was overflowing as this is something which could have easily been fixed immediately. The house also has a ‘whole house ventilation System’ negating specific extraction in the bathroom. The lights have multiple switches for convenience. However, we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay overall, but saddened its not reflected in your review. It’s at odd’s with your comments in the ‘Visitors Book’ and all you conveyed to us personally. Jonathan & Joanna

Harbinger

Review submitted on Mon, 03 Sep 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely house, good location within a few miles of the coast or the downs. Jonathan and Josi are very welcoming and have great local knowledge. Nice Safe cycleway at the bottom of the drive to the Downs or to the shops, (10 minutes away either direction. ) Very much enjoyed our stay.



Lovely house in a peaceful location

Review submitted on Mon, 30 Jul 2018
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
This is a lovely house with a huge, light and airy living room. We loved sitting in the Eames chairs looking out into the garden and stepping straight out of the living room onto a patio with table and chairs, perfect on the warm summer evenings we enjoyed during our stay. The owners who live next door were very helpful but not intrusive. Upstairs did get very warm during our stay due to the incredibly warm summer but was ok once all the windows were opened. The kitchen is very compact for the size of the property but contained everything we needed. We would definitely recommend this property for those who like the tranquillity of the countryside but also ease of access to Chichester and the surrounding area.



A lovely place

Review submitted on Sun, 15 Jul 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A lovely place,lovely owners and perfect weather,peace and tranquility personified!Ideal for a couple or family.



Quiet and peaceful

Review submitted on Tue, 29 May 2018
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed with the family and loved the house. We visited several gardens and many small villages in the area. The sea is so close and yet you are not in the hustle and bustle. The landlords are very friendly and helpful. We look forward to our next stay there.



Harbinger great

Review submitted on Sun, 26 Nov 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent. Vast space to relax in . Very comfortable. Helpful hosts. Great position in sussex. Go now!



One month stay at Harbinger

Review submitted on Sun, 19 Nov 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were between house moves and needed a solid base near our new home. Joanna and Jonathan were the perfect hosts from wine and nibbles on arrival to checking in from time to time to ensure everything was right for us.What a great place!




100/100

Review submitted on Mon, 16 Oct 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
thanks we were very impressed by the accommodation and would be happy to use this company again for future holidays



Lovely hosts, beautiful property.

Review submitted on Fri, 15 Sep 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Set in the Sussex countryside on a working farm. We were greeted by the hosts who are a delight. The property is fabulous to see and very comfortable to live in with everything needed for a great holiday.



Expirience

Review submitted on Mon, 21 Aug 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
House lies in silince, lovely nature.
The owners are verry friendly and helpful.
We enjoyed verry much to stay there.




Grand design and great location

Review submitted on Sun, 30 Jul 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We loved our stay in this unique property, so much space and light! Comfortable beds, everything you need in the kitchen, great garden surrounded by fields. Our three year old loved it in the upstairs bedroom and we had plenty of space in the master bedroom for us and our baby. Josi and Jonathan were really welcoming and set us up with a great welcome pack when we arrived. They were on hand to help with any questions but the property is very private as there is a fantastic topiary wall between the property and their farm house, and a separate stretch of garden for guests, which is more like a small field, perfect for football, chase and hide and seek. The location is perfect for exploring West Sussex, short drives to the beach, the downs, Arundel and Chichester. We were there visiting family and will definitely return.



What a wonderful week

Review submitted on Tue, 13 Jun 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a wonderful week we had. Beautiful property, exceptionally clean, very friendly owners. The kids loved the space to run around in the garden and we loved the style and design. We will be back :-)




Very nice holiday week

Review submitted on Mon, 24 Apr 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We enjoyed very much our stay at Harbinger during the easter week. The house is an excellent place for a family; the kitchen is fully equipped, there are two nice bathrooms, the bedrooms are very well with beds in which we slept perfectly, and the living room is very comfortable, too. The host couple is very friendly, they welcomed us with a lovely welcome present, included some fruits and local bread. Highly recommended!!



Relaxing holiday

Review submitted on Wed, 02 Nov 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We enjoyed a very relaxing holiday in this lovely property. It was very comfortable with everything you could wish for. A little more light in the sitting area would have helped. The weather was superb and the hosts very hospitable. Highly recommended.



Our Stay at Harbinger

Review submitted on Sun, 28 Aug 2016
3.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
3.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
We picked the hottest week of the year so far and found the barn very hot, the ventilation was struggling to keep it cool and was too noisy to leave on at night. We could have done with more instructions on how to use the equipment.



Urlaub in ländlicher Umgebung mit vielen Ausflugsmöglichkeiten

Review submitted on Sun, 21 Aug 2016
3.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
3.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Das Haus ist sehr großräumig und zweckmäßig eingerichtet. Alles, was man braucht, ist da. Einkaufsmöglichkeiten sind weit entfernt. Schade, dass der Garten und die Terasse nicht sehr einladend und gemütlich sind. Als Paar kann man das Haus gut bewohnen, allerdings wäre es dann sehr groß. Ein Aufenthalt in der oberen Etage zieht laute, knarrende Geräusche nach sich, die sich stark auf die untere Etage übertragen. Deshalb ist das Bewohnen des Hauses mit Familie oder 2 Paaren nicht zu empfehlen.