FB Twitter

London House

London House

4.4
out of 5
Ratings from 8 reviews
75% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.8
Comfort
4.5
Condition
4.5
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.4


This traditional double fronted home, once the village post office is perfect for exploring everything 1066!

Two double bedrooms (one with an additional single bed).

A short break with friends

Review submitted on Sun, 16 Jun 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We had a 4 night break with friends (and the dog). We were all delighted with the standard of the cottage which is very well equipped and in an excellent location for visiting the local area.



Well-equipped, clean and comfortable

Review submitted on Mon, 24 Sep 2018
3.5
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
3.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
We quite enjoyed our stay; the accommodation was clean, comfortable and well equipped on the whole. But the hot water supply to the upstairs washbasin was very poor, and the upstairs double bed and bedding was not good; bed rather hard and creaked, and the duvet and cover were poor. Some heating would be needed for cooler weather - became cold when the weather deteriorated during our stay.

Overall, OK but not brilliant. Would not return there.




Lovely house

Review submitted on Mon, 24 Sep 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had an excellent stay at London House, Wendy and Bernard were very friendly and welcoming.It is well equipped and clean.
And base for exploring the area.




Enjoyable Holiday in Sussex

Review submitted on Mon, 16 Jul 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely well-appointed cottage; conveniently located for walking in the South Downs and for exploring the south coast



Fantastic house close to lots of attractions

Review submitted on Sat, 24 Feb 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This place for us as a family of four and dog was ideal when we came to the area to visit family and we had a really lovely stay. Ninfield itself does not have much to offer but this should not put anyone who has a car off staying here. The house is in a nice quiet area and the location is a great base to visit lots of different parts of Sussex, many of which are just a short drive away. We found the road outside to be quiet, the house was more spacious than we expected from the photos. The bedroom upstairs was amazing as was the bathroom- just a shame the kids bagged that room and bathroom! The house was really warm and cosy through our whole week's stay just after Xmas. We had none of the problems with showers someone else referred to in a review and we found the owners to be really considerate and welcoming. We arrived late, the lights had been left on and the house was lovely and warm and welcoming. Just what we needed to arrive to after a long trip. The house was really clean and had everything we needed. I couldn't fault it at all. You may find other places nearer to the beach but you also end up paying higher prices for somewhere not as nice inside. This is a lovely place , close to so many attractions and is really great value for money. I would have no hesitation in recommending it as a great place to stay.



Comfortable cottage in a good location for touring

Review submitted on Mon, 04 Sep 2017
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The cottage is clean, comfortable and well equipped. The bedrooms are spacious, the upstairs bedroom being particularly attractive. Negatives? The upstairs shower was occasionally hit and miss, sometimes running hot then cold. We were not so keen on the downstairs toilet being entered from the lounge and the dining room door has to be closed in order to open the fridge. The courtyard is good for al fresco dining but would not be suitable for anyone wanting to stretch out for sunbathing. These are all small points however, and did not detract from a very nice stay.



Enjoyable break

Review submitted on Mon, 16 Jan 2017
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Clean(thank you),comfortable and well equipped cottage. Owners vey welcoming and helpful. Four adults and a dog had an enjoyable winter break.



Disappointed stay.

Review submitted on Mon, 19 Sep 2016
3.7
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
3.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
This unfortunately was not the stay for us. I don't feel this is a child friendly property. The front door opens virtually on to the road which isn't good when you have a toddler.
The house was clean and tidy with everything you needed for a holiday stay but again, things around the house were not suitable with an inquisitive child. The bedside lights in the upstairs room were on extension leads, with cable showing.
The vacuum smelt of dog when it was on and the door opening to the dining area was so low that I kept hitting my head, and I am only 5 foot 6 inches, not to mention the low beam on the stairs. The fridge in the kitchen was in a corner which, when the door was open to the dining area was across the front of the fridge, so during the day when you wanted the doors open to use the fridge you had to constantly unclip the stable door use the fridge and clip it back up again. Sounds petty but try it on a very hot day when you are trying to prepare food.
On arrival the owner showed us around and pointed out the things I wasn't to do, eg slide the pans on the new hob and preferred if I use the washing machine at night because of tariffs. This is not a safe idea, ask a fire officer!
The thing that really upset us was when we returned home after a day out and someone had been in and opened the windows. We had left valuable computer and photographic equipment in he house. If we had been burgled and lost these having locked up well nothing we could do, but we had locked up all the windows. I feel this is a breach of privacy when you have rented a property. Also we were asked not to lock the back patio doors but to use the interior kitchen door lock. Not very secure!
Fortunately the weather was good and the house was used just as a base. Not the usual type of accommodation we book. It was last minute decision.




Andrew Gardner replied more than 1 year ago
I am sorry that you found London House not to your satisfaction. We don't actually advertise the house as child friendly and the photographs we display do show the front door opens onto a residential lane. We would have been very happy to have discussed your choice of accommodation with you at the time of your booking given that finding child friendly accommodation was important to you. The vacuum cleaner is less than one month old and is used solely in London House, we apologise if it did smell but it should not have and the owner will investigate. The building forms part of the original old Post Office in Ninfield, and the kitchen dates back to 1684. Unfortunately there are a couple of low door frames and ceilings as a result. It won't suit everyone but it adds to the character of the property which some people love. The owner assures us that she did not and never enters the property, however the windows were cleaned by a hose system during your stay and there was a distinct possibility some of the windows might have been pulled open following the clean. The owner was very concerned to think you felt your privacy had been invaded and your personal property put at risk. She apologises for the fact you felt this way but was disappointed you had not felt it necessary to raise it with her at the time given she lives immediately next door. She would have wanted to address your general concerns and explain fully why the rear patio door is not locked. Rural properties sometimes will not suit all guests and as you say a last minute decision possibly meant you could not fully evaluate whether this property would work for you.